We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good, but...........”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Iberostar Playa Gaviotas
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Playa de Jandia
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, Dorset
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very good, but...........”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

All previous comments about this hotel i would wholeheardedly agree with but....they need to seriously sort out the room problems. They seems to have something going on with the sister hotel next door (Playa Gaviotas Park) . We arrived fairly late and very tired to be told we were in the wrong hotel even though the booking documentation said to book in at the Playa Gaviotas, the receiption staff prceeded to tell us that we couldn't be in this hotel as they don't have any Junior suites that we had booked. As it was late, went to the Park hotel for the night. Returned to the Gavitas in the morning where we found 'Pepi' very helpful and offered us two rooms neither of which were what we booked. We decided to go for the Double room which overlooked the bar veranda as we were only there for one week and didn't want to waste the time. Unfortunately, we found out later in the week that they 'did' in fact do Junior Suites as per the information displayed on their reception. We also found out that they don't mind if the hotel is overbooked as they are happy to send people to the Park instead. This we were told by the staff themselves. Can't fault the rest of the hotel, all very good especially the staff in the restaurant and the animation team who are lovely people. The bar needs to be bigger and have more staff but overall a very good hotel. I agree with a previous comment that they could use another English channel on the TV as CNN and Sky news does get a bit boring. If you don't mind going to a hotel that caters mainly for Germans then you will probably enjoy your stay but please make sure you get the room you paid for.

Room Tip: Just make sure you get what you paid for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank PEN54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    345
    79
    19
    11
See reviews for
360
514
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We visited in March 2013, which was our second visit. The Hotel does not disappoint in any category.
Food - the food is very good and served to a high standard, The fish dishes are excellent and varied, Steaks, Chicken lamb duck as well as goat were all available during our stay. Salads are always plentiful and varied, The deserts are predominately European but you would really need to be fussy not to enjoy the variety.
Rooms - The last time we booked we were given the fourth floor, which had an excellent view of the whole of Jandia beach, on arrival we were given the first floor which is a long walk from the main facilities of the hotel, our room had a good sea view, but when I asked about a higher floor we were told that anything above the first was considered a superior room and would cost about £150 more, we declined and were happy with our room with the exception of a rain storm which occurred and caused flooding on our tiled passageway which was very slippy.
Staff - The staff were all very good without exception, although they predominately cater for German clients their English was passable.
Entertainment - All the entertainment staff were very friendly and wanted to involve you at all times but without being obtrusive or annoying. the nightly entertainment varied between the Hotel own entertainment staff and other Acts brought in.
If I did have a complaint it would be for the hotel to get an English TV channel which could allow watching movies etc, as BBC and SKY news can be repetitive. there were other movie channels which catered for Italian, French Polish as well as Spanish and German. Although you don't go on holiday to watch TV it can be useful if poor weather keeps you inside.

Room Tip: You will need to pay extra for any room above first floor. Air con wasn't working at the time o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scot5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Playa Gaviotas, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Scot,

We are very grateful that you took the time to post your comments. We have read them carefully. Your opinion is very important and valuable. We are convinced that this is the best way to gain your trust for Iberostar. It is our goal to achieve excellence in our daily work and no one better than our guests can indicate us how to improve day after day.

Regarding the tips you kindly offered to make improvements in the offered TV channels, we will study the possibility to put them in practice and our heads of the departments involved are informed. We will work intern to see how to organize this proposal.

Further, we are grateful and satisfied that you described the hotel as lovely with welcoming staff. In our opinion, the human forces in Iberostar Playa Gaviotas are the most important pillars to build a hotel that offers wellbeing, comfort and splendid holidays. Therefore, we are delighted that you enjoyed this part so much!

We also do our best to offer our guests the opportunity to enjoy the rich and traditional recipes from the Canaries islands in our restaurant which is run by chefs of great recognition who only use products of prime quality. This is why we are grateful that you underlined your concerning satisfaction.

It is very nice to read that you felt well whilst being among us. At Iberostar we try our very best to offer comfortable accommodation in great locations, your affirmation to have enjoyed this, fills us with joy and is the best reward for our daily efforts . We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Sunny regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Recently returned from a wonderful weeks holiday at this excellent hotel. We found that the accomodation was first class, as was the food. The staff should be congratulated on their courteous and helpful qualities. Most guests were German, but that seemed to encourage
the management of this hotel, to achieve the highest standards possible to please all the guests.Would definately say the extra supplement paid for top floor, sea facing balcony is
worth the money, the views are excellent. The weather in February was a little changeable,
but never cold enough to don long trousers or sleeves. The drinks were plentiful and did
include international brands, rather than just the local brands.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Clifford C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Playa Gaviotas, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Clifford,

In the first place, we would like to thank you for your stay in our Iberostar Playa Gaviotas and for your praising comments. It is a pleasure for us to read how much you have enjoyed your stay with us.

On the other hand, we are proud and happy to see that you enjoyed our other services and we will certainly congratulate all of our staff that contributed to delight you with the culinary highlights, the immaculate cleaning and the friendliness whilst serving you. This positive feedback keeps us motivated to achieve the compliance of our demanding quality standards.

Last but not least, we are really proud to read that you highly recommend the Iberostar Playa Gaviotas. This is a beautiful award for our daily labors and a source of strength to continue striving to fulfill each and every demanding quality standard prescribed by our company. Once more, we thank you for posting this nice review and we look forward to may serve you again soon.

Sincerely yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Absolutely no problems with this hotel. Mainly German clientele but the staff spoke more than enough english to get by. There were plenty of waiters and discrete cleaners to ensure that everything ran smoothly. The restaurants offered unlimited high quality food, even grilled lobster one evening, and everything was freshly cooked and "real", not microwaved freezer bulk packs.  The entertainment, both from the inhouse team and visiting acts was very good. Despite the hotel being full and overwhelming German we never had a problem finding sun beds. Only disappointment was that while most quality hotels these days offer free wi-fi in the lobby, here there was a 16€ a day charge, a bit strange when everything else was all inclusive, including good quality spirits. Can recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: All rooms are more than adequate with good views, but floors below 5 might be a bit far from the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wrinklytravellerYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Playa Gaviotas, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear guest,

What a delight to read your extensive review full of wonderful comments on our Iberostar Playa Gaviotas. We always strive to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and it is very motivating and pleasant to see that on this occasion we reached our goal.

We do our best to ensure that the culture of warm hospitality is imbued in every person who works at the Iberostar Playa Gaviotas and to capture perfectly the exact balance between courtesy and friendliness which is different for each guest. We are delighted that you underlined your satisfaction with this aspect of your stay with us.

To succeed, it fills us with proud to read that you find the meals excellent and with plenty of choices. We will pass these compliments to our chefs, as this kind off praising mentions, help us to keep on working enthused in the future.

Further, we are really pleased to hear what a wonderful time you had under the dedication and care of our professional entertaining team. In Iberostar we believe that the real holiday feeling goes hand in hand with good fun and lovely animation and activities. It is the best reward for our daily labors to hear that our guests take some unforgettable memories of it back home.

Iberostar tries it´s very best to offer comfortable accommodation in great locations. It is always our intention to enrich your stay with local and international delis and pamper you with a service characterized by its excellence and proximity. Your affirmation to have enjoyed all our prime pillars fills us with joy and is the best reward for our daily efforts. We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Kindest regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Looks like all has been said about this excellent hotel with ideal location!

Iberostar Gaviotas deserves a medal for their wonderful staff who are discreet, helpful and know how to make guests feel welcome. Thank you

It is hard to come up with ANYTHING to improve, but our suggestions would be

-we are aware that the hotel caters primarily for older german guests so dishes were adapted (which is understandable) and a little bland in our humble opinion, we lacked some authenticity in the food. The choice and very friendly service does make up for it! We also enjoyed the poolbar menu which was relaxed and had more choice than you could hope for

-we thoroughly enjoyed being able to eat outside,morning, midday AND evening which was a real treat but there is limited outside seating

- tea and coffee making facility in the rooms would be nice although we understand these are available in the superior rooms

Although not fans of "All in" type hotels,we are recommending Gaviotas to all who would like a relaxing holiday, next to one of the best beaches we know, with good food and great friendly service. This was our first time at Gaviotas ...and definitely not the last!

Room Tip: get room with sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank naftalinabrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
85 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

This hotel is one of three all on the same site, and they are very similarly named. So please make sure you know which one you are boking as it is rather confusing. The hotel mainly consists of German guests, we were the only Brits for our two week stay.
We stayed for two weeks in November. The weather was mixed with hot sunny days, cloud and some rain. Apparently rain and cloud is unusual for this time of year as it normally wall to wall sunshine.
The transfer is about and hour and 15 mins from the airport.
Check in was rather slow,considering we were the only people checking in, but the hotel staff were polite and very friendly.
The rooms are very nice, we paid extra for a sea view. There was shampoo and shower gel provided. There was no coffee/tea making facilities in the room.
The area is very nice and you can walk into the shopping centre where there are shops and cafes and it is about a 15 minute walk.
The beach is right on the doorstep of this particular hotel. As it is a public beach you have to pay for sunbeds and umbrellas unless you want to lie on the sand.
There are lots and lots of nude people wandering around, walking, sun bathing, playing games and sunbathing. So you do ned to bear this in mind.
The beachmis huge and lovely to walk along both to the right and left.
The food is very good and all self service. There is a speciality restaurant, but it's is a fixed menu, so may not suit all.
There are plenty of sun beds around the pool and there is also a sun terrace which does get pretty busy.
The massage we had was amazing and one of the best we have had.
In summary we would go back for two weeks in November (or any other time) again.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GuernseyDonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Playa Gaviotas, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear guest,

We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort that you gave yourself to share the experience of your recent holiday with us and Tripadvisor readers.

To succeed, it fills us with proud to read that you find the meals excellent and the staff nice. These features are our prime pillars because we are convinced that only through their excellence we will be able to reach complete client satisfaction. We will pass your compliments to the concerning colleagues, as this kind of reconfirming mentions, help us to continue working motivated in the future. It is also a pleasure to read that the clean room, the beach and the location in wonderful surroundings, were satisfactory to you.

On behalf of the staff and myself, I must say we were all enchanted to have you at the Iberostar Playa Gaviotas. We trust it will not be long before you will be back with us for another visit. We assure you in advance of our utmost care and attention and, we look forward to thank you personally for your encouraging review.

Our best regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

I took my mum on holiday here at the end of september this year. It was actually the best holiday and hotel ever!!! We wanted a chill, relax and recharge time and that is exactly what we got.

I booked a VIP room and we got the best room in the hotel, on the corner-most amazing sea view and the biggest balcony with loungers that the hotel has- we arrived there in the middle of the night and what a treat it was when we stepped onto the balcony...

Hotel staff were great, friendly, extremely helpful and very attentitive, i was ill one night and couldng leave the room so my mum went down to the restaurant to ask if i could take some food to the room and the waiters were unbelievably helpful- cant fault the staff at all.

Food is great, such a wide choice of everything- breakfast was definitly my favourite meal of the day with all those pastries! Wide selection of drinks and a few cocktails- could help yourself to soft drinks,beer and champagne 24/7. The bar is open until about 1am and its so lovely, really nice vibe in there.

The pool Activities around lunch time were so much fun especially the pool aerobics! And then a new cocktail or sangria served after bu the pool. The reps are a lot of fun, very friendly and make wveryone laugh - kids club looked great for the little ones to. The night time entertainment wAs cheesy and most in german but we had a great laugh.

Beds were comfy, everywhere was clean, we enjoyed our robes! We slept A LOT of the time!!! Theres an on site shop selling essentials and a shopping centre 10 minutes walk away with souveneir shops, clotges shops like mango and a decent size spar. If you walk further along thw beach to the lighthouse youll find your huge holiday strip! With the usual and some lovely restaurants - we ate out a few nights.

The beach is gorgeous, so clean and quiet- it was about 12 euros for 2 beds and umbrellas fof the day - we headed back to our hotel to eat and came back down after. We got tipped off by the only other english person at the hotel (a lovely irish girl who was one of the reps) about the beach at morro jable so we got a taxi to there one day....wow that beach is something else- the sea is SO beautiful and clear, almost tropical. Warm ans clean it was a dream honestly- if you head ovet i beg you go to that beach you wont be dissapointed! We ate lunch at a beach side restaurant called the gaviotas (we were told the gaviota is a bird) and i had the nicest chicken i ever tasted and im a big chicken fan!

Great if you want a chill holiday, our batteries really felt recharged after a week, or a family holiday. Transfer takes about an hour and a half but its worth it for such a perfect holiday. Honestly the best we ever had, would go back tomorrow, cant fault it. I wish everyone could experience what we did. Thank you x

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Emilydarbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Jandia
54.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
0.4 mi away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
0.4 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.7 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Fuerteventura Palace
Iberostar Fuerteventura Palace
#2 of 13 in Playa de Jandia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
0.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas Park
IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas Park
#3 of 13 in Playa de Jandia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Playa Gaviotas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Playa Gaviotas

Property: Iberostar Playa Gaviotas
Address: Pasaje Playa N 2 | Urb. Las Gaviotas, 35626 Playa de Jandia, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Playa de Jandia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#2 Family Hotel in Playa de Jandia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Playa Gaviotas 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas is the perfect place to indulge yourself. A space where you can lose track of time altogether gazing out to sea, find unimagined depths of relaxation in the spa and lose yourself to the flavours on offer in the restaurants. Whether you're travelling with kids or looking for a relaxing break with your partner, this all inclusive hotel in Fuerteventura has only one rule: let yourself be pampered! Wrapped in cotton wool. This is how you'll feel when you go to sleep in your room. There are rooms with a balcony and sea views, for families or a romantic getaway, even rooms with Balinese beds. Feel like a VIP. Feel the sensation of the bubbles in the whirlpool bath, sunbathe on the chill out terrace or pack up at your leisure thanks to the late check-out. These are just a few of the advantages to enjoy when you choose a Star Prestige adults only room. Bathe yourself in sensations. In the sauna, lie back and unwind on the bubble beds or treat yourself to a relaxing massage. There’s not a nerve ending in your body that’ll resist the relaxing effects of SPA Sensations. Pleasure at your table. You can sample Canary Island, national and international cuisine, get a quick bite to eat, be transported to exotic destinations at the themed dinners or enjoy a show cooking session. Ah! You can also stretch out by the pool and sip on a piña colada. 25 km of sand. This hotel in Fuerteventura is located right beside Jandia beach. A paradise of transparent waters and an infinite shoreline on which to run in the mornings or make giant sandcastles with your children. Liven up your holiday. Fuerteventura with the kids, or without? Either way. There’s something here for everyone! From the children's pool and Miniclub full of activities for the little ones, to sports such as tennis, yoga or sailing for the grown-ups. There’s even a child-minding service available so that you can have some time with your partner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Iberostar Playa Gaviotas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Gaviotas Hotel Playa De Jandia
Iberostar Playa De Jandia
Iberostar Hotel Playa Gaviotas
Iberostar Playa Gaviotas Playa De Jandia, Fuerteventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing