We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday hell!! at Sunrise Jandia Resort.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of SBH Jandia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
SBH Jandia Resort
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Playa de Jandia
Fairlie, Largs, Ayrshire.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Holiday hell!! at Sunrise Jandia Resort.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

I arrived at Jandia Resort @ 21.00 on 9/3/12-and was shown my room-which was awful-tatty and dated, with stains on carpets-not what I expected for a ***+ hotel- and certainly not for what I paid!

I said that I was not at happy- but ,as the hotel was full- I would have to wait till next day- eventually- after being offered 3 other options-which were worse- I was finally transferred to Monica Beach Club, in Costa Calma-what a difference- quality of rooms, and all other things to make a great holiday were fantastic- so at least- my final week was the best out of three!!

To conclude- Jandia Resort is long past its best- and should be closed for a full refurbish- although, it is very clean, and food is great- if you can get past all these rude people who claim their own place, even tho' they are told they can't!!

Room Tip: Monica Beach has an older dated part-but I was lucky to get a new build part to the left, looking at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Crian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    185
    140
    86
    69
See reviews for
179
237
43
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

We booked a room and paid the extra for a sea view, and on our arrival we were offered an `upgrade` to an apartment which we thought would be better, but of course it was not, do not accept this, after exploring all the hotel, and there were three made into one, only the rooms in the hotel itself are of an acceptable standard. My tip to anyone booking is any room with a four figure number is going to be in the old sections and the better rooms have three figure numbers.The staff surely know the apartments are not nice, so after asking for a change straight away we were moved the following day.
The food is ok and there is a lot of it. The drinks are also ok. The staff are very good and friendly and the whole hotel is kept very clean.
The beach is lovely and clean and i found on one day there were a lot of jellyfish washed up and on trying a swim in the afternoon was stung, but all other days there were none so a look before a swim would be a good idea.
I would go back to this hotel but only if i could guarantee getting the right room.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank malcolmcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

I stayed at the Sunrise Beach Resort, Jandia, for 4 nights during March 2012 on an all inclusive basis.

I arrived at the accommodation 3 hours early, having taken the ferry from Gran Canaria that morning. Although my room wasn’t yet ready the receptionist gave me my magic wristband and suggested I leave my case in storage, and make use of the facilities. I had a tongue like an unmetalled desert road so the gesture was very much appreciated.

The Sunrise Beach resort actually comprises two hotels and several blocks of apartments and I was allocated an aged but adequate apartment, with an unobstructed sea view as requested.

The apartment had a separate bedroom with twin beds and a large lounge/kitchen. The kitchen comprised a two ring hob and a fridge, and although on all inclusive terms it was nice to be able to go to the fridge for the occasional cold beer.

The lounge area also contained two bed/settees making it suitable for at least a family of four. The large patio received the sun for most of the day but alas there were no sunbeds. (It crossed my mind that the mattress from the bed settee would make a very comfortable sun bed ;). There were however lots of vacant sunbeds around the pools.

The apartment was very clean which was consistent with the cleanliness throughout the Sunrise Beach Resort.

The food in the restaurant was more than satisfactory with an array of hot and cold dishes and I particularly liked the self service chilled Cava at breakfast, ideal for DIY Bucks Fizz. I dined at different times each day and was always able to quickly find a table.

An important mention for the staff who were efficient and friendly throughout, from reception to bar and restaurant and the maids that serviced the rooms.

The clientele were predominantly German so it wasn’t common to hear English spoken. There is an ‘Irish’ pub on the promenade a few minutes walk away if you find you want to chat to other Brits.

Also a few minutes walk away is a small but interesting zoo, well worth the entrance fee which gives you unlimited access for a week. If you don’t want to fork out the minimal cost for the zoo, across the road from the apartments, a handful of sesame seeds will attract a gathering of Parakeets who you will be most likely to feed out of your hand and left out of the apartments Chipmunks, who are very willing to take food from your hand.

Overall, the Sun Beach Resort is ideal for a relaxing holiday, very good value for money and in a prime location and is already on my list of places to revisit.

The lack of sun beds aside I find it hard to fault. However, as is the case with most hotels these days they levy a charge for the safe in your room which considering the cost of hotels and apartments should in my view be inclusive.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Andy_1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velez Blanco, Spain
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

I only stayed one night, food wasn't brilliant but good enough. As other reviews have said would get a bit tedious after a few days. The rooms are a little 'dated', but good standard of cleanliness.

On the whole though, great value - double room for one person was just £35 all inclusive.

Entertainment is mostly for a German audience which reflects the hotels clientèle.

Room Tip: You'll need to get up pretty early to claim the prime location sun-beds. The competition is fier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanGNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
156 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

Not a bad hotel at all, food and drink on the all inclusive was generally very good.

We stayed in an apartment in El Cotillo for the first half of our holiday and were eating out every night so being restricted to the hotel food for three days wasn't a hardship.

The cost of all inclusive over room only was a no brainer and offered great value for money.

We were the only two Brits with the vast majority of the guests being German, this shouldn't be seen as a problem as all we met were very polite. (amazing that the Mullet hairdo never went out of style! It was like we travelled back to the eighties)

Overall, a good value for money hotel, great location with fine food. If you prefer being surrounded by Brits, full English breakfast and Tetley tea followed by a Sunday roast, then Jandia isn't for you and you may be better of stopping in the north of the island.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Njh131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

Stayed for a week Feb 2012. Room had patio with amazing sea and lighthouse view. Hotel cleanliness was faultless.

Food and drinks on the all inclusive was v generous- no time limits like so many other hotels. Food and drink were available from 8.30am to midnight.

the food was very samey every day and i would have preferred more local dishes- too much bland stuff while we were there too.

The staff were wonderful. They were friendly and attentive, probably some of the nicest staff on any holiday I've ever been on!

Unfortunately one thing that really let it down was the other guests who were so rude, and treated the poor old staff like skivvies! Lots of pushing and shoving at bar and buffet too which was so pointless cos food was never allowed to run out.

pools were a bit too cold but it was only Feb.

Short walk into morro jable, which is worth a visit. Keep walking on the sea front to find a more sheltered beach and lovely bars about half a mile beyond the main strip.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ruthalicewalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgirlwould
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Enjoyed my time here close to the beach. Accommodation was clean and adequate, staff very efficient and friendly. Was not overly impressed with the food and ate out a couple of times was put of by some raw chicken i was given and fatty cuts of meat. I am not a fussy eater but seriously would not rate the main meal. .i think kids who do not have an adventurous appetite would struggle here. However was a good safe location. Infirm people might struggle with all the steps. Close to shops. Complex shop very expensive for things like water. 90% of clients were German and very few kids which may have been the reason there was little choice at time I stayed for kids. Location

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dgirlwould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Jandia
0.3 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
0.2 mi away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - ...
#4 of 14 in Playa de Jandia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sol Jandia Mar Apartments
Sol Jandia Mar Apartments
#5 of 16 in Morro del Jable
3.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Iberostar Fuerteventura Palace
Iberostar Fuerteventura Palace
#2 of 14 in Playa de Jandia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
0.6 mi away
Iberostar Playa Gaviotas
Iberostar Playa Gaviotas
#1 of 14 in Playa de Jandia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
0.4 mi away
Occidental Jandia Mar
Occidental Jandia Mar
#15 of 71 in Pajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SBH Jandia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SBH Jandia Resort

Property: SBH Jandia Resort
Address: Calle Biocho 4, 35625 Playa de Jandia, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Playa de Jandia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Jandia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SBH Jandia Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A resort offering rooms and apartments. Situated right at the long white beach of Jandia, just separated by the natural protected area of the "Salar de Jandia" and close to the little harbour town of Morro Jable. Discover the beaches of Fuerteventura, the sea and the natural environment staying in Sunrise Jandia Resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your SBH Jandia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Jandia Hotel Playa De Jandia
Sunrise Jandia Resort
Hotel Sunrise Jandia
SBH Jandia Resort Playa De Jandia, Fuerteventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing