We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Palace...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Iberostar Fuerteventura Palace
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Playa de Jandia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at the Iberostar Fuerteventura Palace for 10 days in October 2012.

I have read many reviews on tripadvisor before we arrived at this resort and I sometimes wonder if people are writing about the same resort. Having stayed at 3 Iberostar resorts in Mexico, there is no comparison. The Mexican Iberostar resorts have outstanding service and high standards of accommodation and facilities compared to this resort. I would classify this resort as a solid 3 star based on having stayed at other Iberostar resorts.

This hotel is in need of a major renovation; it seems to be stuck in the 70’s. We booked a suite, as these rooms seem to be updated, spacious and had very nice ocean views. What annoyed us the most was the all-inclusive package. We have stayed at many all-inclusive resorts and this was the first resort where there were many additional charges. The Internet fee, safe fee, extra charges for certain drinks, only house wine included even extra charges for nicer ice cream and a charge for lounge chairs on the beach. There are two areas to eat; the main buffet, breakfast, lunch and dinner and the outdoor patio restaurant only open for lunch. At the outdoor patio restaurant again there were only a few basic meal choices that were included in the all-inclusive and everything else on the menu you were charged for.

On a positive note, the food at the buffet was good and the items in the buffet changed daily. The breakfast crepes were my favorite. The wine served with meals were not very good, to get a decent bottle of wine was an additional charge. Many reviewers commented that they had difficulty finding staff who spoke English but we found the waiters, bartenders and front desk all spoke English.

Fuerteventura has wonderful beaches and this would be the main reason for visiting this island. We would also recommend visiting Corralejo area where the dunes are and the village of Betancuria, the drive through the mountains was quite spectacular.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mollyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Fuerteventura Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear guest,

Although we feel very sad to read that your stay was not as enjoyable as it could have been, we would like to thank you for sharing your observations with us because this gives us the opportunity to make improvements and thus offer all our guests a better service, which ultimately is the goal of Iberostar.

Regarding the all-inclusive service, we would like to apologies that on this occasion it could not satisfy you. Nevertheless, we want to point out that for your next holiday we would be more than happy to assist you in our call center to choose the service that best suits you, as in Iberostar you have the possibility to book all inclusive premium, all inclusive 24 hours, all inclusive plus, etc.

It is unfortunate to hear you got the feeling that there are too many additional costs, so please allow us to explain why these extra charges exist. We want to be able to offer a wide choice in disposable services, but as we have studied the needs and desire of the average guest that visits us, we know that not all of them are willing to spend on items they consider unnecessary. Therefore we established the method and policy to offer the possibility to amplify according to personal wishes and preferences. Like this everybody is welcome to decide for themselves which services they want to enjoy and pay for. We hope that this explanation clears the doubts you had, but we stay at your entire disposal for any further enquiry you might have on this or any other issue related to the planning of your next holidays with Iberostar.

We are aware that the Iberostar Fuerteventura Palace isn´t of new construction, nevertheless, we maintain and preserve it the best we can. We strive to offer comfortable accommodation to all our guests.

On the other hand, we are satisfied that you did enjoy the culinary highlights which our chefs delicately prepare for our guests. Iberostar strives to delight all palates and reading that we could conquest yours, is a source of motivation to continue our daily efforts to surprise and delight with our gastronomic offer.

Regarding our staff we assure you that we choose and school them to cover as many languages as possible as we understand that good communication and service orientation are of prime importance to achieve maximum customer satisfaction, and we are glad that on this occasion their performance met your expectations.

We empathize with you and we understand your frustration as you mentioned that you have already encountered the Iberostar experience, and therefore you awaited your stay with high expectations. We would be delighted if you give us another opportunity to confirm that at Iberostar we do know how to facilitate an unforgettable vacation.

Yours faithfully,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

302 - 308 of 1,338 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

We spend a week early November at this hotel in order to enjoy sun, sea, and beach. All in all, the hotel is relatively avrage, what you would expect for such a touristy packaged holiday type of destination.

On the positives: the hotel is well located, we booked a suite and had stunning views over the beach and the ocean, facilities are quite clean, and staff is overall helpful. The VIP section at the pool provides the calm needed.

On the negatives: The resort caters on all fronts for the German taste, as > 90% of guests are German. Nothing against it, but the type of clientèle tends to be habit-prone: getting up at 6, reserving sunbeds at pool and breakfast at 7, leaving pool at 4.30 and dinner at 6, followed by drink at bar. You're the weirdo if not adhering to these habits...
Hotel staff tends to address EVERYONE in German. We speak Spanish and it bothered us to remind staff every single time that we do speak their language.
Hotel infrastructure as well as rooms are outdated and is in need of a total renovation.
Hotel restaurant is noisy and has a canteen type of atmosphere. The "outside" area is actually covered by a plastic tent: nicer than inside, but not our taste.
Food is typical of mass cuisine buffet that caters for quantity over quality. Overall very average.
Hotel bar and drinks served is a shame: house wine and cava of mediocre quality and their "cocktails" are purchased and bottled (and awful). This is not done.

All in all an average stay, though this has more to do with the type of package holidays that we are definitely not used to, as other guests seemed to have the time of their life!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlainAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Fuerteventura Palace, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear Alain,

We are very grateful that you took the time to post your comments. We have read them carefully. Your opinion is very important and valuable. We are convinced that this is the best way to gain your trust for Iberostar. It is our goal to achieve excellence in our daily work and no one better than our guests can indicate us how to improve day after day.

We do our utmost to ensure that our customers can enjoy an enriching dining experience in an unrivaled setting and with an excellent service. Therefore, we take no pleasure in presenting mediocre buffets or drinks. Our culinary team will continue working to surprise you with delicious drinks, international and local dishes and a lovely atmosphere at your next visit.

On the other hand, we are satisfied to read that we were successful in many of our services. As you wrote that you enjoyed the excellent location, the breathtaking views, and the efforts of our outstanding staff we know you took some beautiful holiday memories back home, and to us this is part of our goal.

Feedback like yours is very important to us, so we know what we can improve to reach an even higher and more exclusive service for our guests. We will certainly take your comments into our consideration and we will do our utmost to improve the points you mentioned.

Yours faithfully,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have just returned from a week's holiday with our two children (aged 12 and 3). We had a family interconnecting room which was a little tired looking but nice and large. Unfortunately we were on the road side so it was very noisy but it did not spoil our holiday.

Good points;

Fantastic beach with miles of clean sand and clear warm water
Amazing food with a huge choice for every taste, wonderful for the children
Large rooms
Air con
Entertainment was fantastic and the children loved the clubs. The entertainment staff were awesome and really friendly, we have never been interested in hotel entertainment but this was fantastic and great fun to watch
Great choice of pools and load of sun loungers which were comfy
Fridges in the room
Children's pool really great depth, my 3 year old played in it all day
Life guards
Play area for the little ones
The Centrico Medico is wonderful should you need medical care just take out insurance!

Bad points;
If you are not all inclusive the drinks are extremely expensive, a non-alcoholic fruit cocktail is €5,50 (simply fruit juice). During the day a small plastic beaker of flat coke with loads of ice is €2,50. Decent wine is €18 at least
Pool's freezing, should be heated in October
Tiles are really slippy around the pool area, when they are wet it is like an ice rink and we witnessed several children and adults slip over, very dangerous
Bar staff at the pool bar were unfriendly and generally unhelpful
Reception staff unfriendly and sarcastic
Room was dirty when we arrived (toe nails on the floor, cigarette butts, hair etc) however the room was spotless for the rest of the week.

Tips;

Watch out for the nudists, lots on the beach. Quite funny and not offensive but I have to edit my holiday pics as I have more than I bargained for in the background of my holiday pics!
Lovely beach bar as you come out of the Iberostar (beachside) and turn left walking along the beach road. Really friendly, nice drinks and food and the children can feed the chipmunks that live in the rocks.

Room Tip: Avoid the road side as it is very noisy, beach side rooms looked lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dalessandros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Just returned from the Fuerteventura Palace. My girlfriend and I are 26. I'm British, and she's American. I mention this straight off the buck because this hotel, indeed the entire southern coast of the island, caters almost uniquely to German tourists aged forty-five and up. I'll echo the other reviews and place a big warning flag for any other young English speakers thinking of the Jandia area for a potential holiday; prepare yourself to be in the minority, and for seeing the odd wrinkly German bottom go plodding by every now and again. Of course, this isn't the hotel's fault in itself, but it does mar the experience somewhat; as the staff and entertainment are geared mainly towards catering to the Hun. Cliches about the Germans being rude, and arrogant, and nicking sunbeds early in the day are in evidence to a fair degree, but no one really bothered us too badly, as I say - it's just difficult not to feel like the odd ones out.

As to the hotel itself, we found the staff to be really, really pleasant. Both friendly and hardworking. The linguistic barrier was there, but not overly restrictive, and I found that if I pointed at things and said 'Espanol?' - and actually made a bit of an effort to learn a word or two, that raised a smile and went a long way.

Our room was basic. Don't be misled by the promotional photographs; the swanky four-poster beds, the sea-views, and the snazzy sun-deck are all off limits (literally, in a restricted, off-access part of the building); if you pay for a standard room, that's just what you get - standard. Not really four-star quality. Walls are pretty thin, and our terrace-view was of a fairly derelict piece of land with the odd shrub sticking out of it. Yeah, so the TV only has Sky News and CNN in English, but then to be honest, you don't really go on a beach holiday to watch the telly as far as I'm concerned. Beds were okay; standard hotel fare - bit too hard, pillows a bit naff, but fine. Room decor mid eighties. In fact the whole interior of the hotel was a bit tired, a bit cheesy, a bit nineteen-eighty nine, but then the Germans are a bit, aren't they? Perhaps this works. Certainly the mullets fitted in with the overall theme of the place. So it's a little tacky, perhaps too much so when you've paid a considerable sum per person for a week.

Unless you're under twelve, or over fifty (or, perhaps - I hasten to add, German) the entertainment is like something out of a Butlins nightmare. I don't want to take away from the team doing it, they seemed really, really into it - and very good - enthusiastic and dedicated, but it was just pure cheese, and we didn't touch it with a barge pole. But then young people are used to finding their own entertainment - and to this end the resort/town itself - Morro Jable, doesn't really deliver. In fact, it's pretty dead. Bear in mind we visited out of season in October, but still - we didn't see anywhere you'd want to go even if the place was packed. No quaint taverns or bars here - just fairly generic, fairly empty, slightly depressing establishments, blaring out Michael Buble and Tom Jones, serving Weiss Beir and Schnapps to a handful of surly, overweight, ridiculously tanned Germans (apologies for the increasingly xenophobic tone of this review). No, unfortunately, you're out of options if you feel like an evening out on the town.

But that brings me to a major plus of the place: it's proximity to the beach. It's a thirty-second walk to the turquoise waters of the great Atlantic ocean. Okay, so you have to pay six euros for a lounger, that was a little annoying, but you can happily wile away the hours reading in the sun, running along the beach front, and at night - gazing up at the stars. And this is what we did most nights; buying a ludicrously cheap bottle of wine from the Spar across the road (well-stocked, five minute walk), and drinking it beneath one of the most amazing star-scapes you could ever wish to see, lying on those loungers in the balmy night air. We always had the whole stretch of beach to ourselves - the Germans (quite sadly, I thought, though fortunate for us) tended to overlook this wonderful little opportunity, and kept to the confines of the hotel. Really quite special, it was.

The food is good. Lots of choice. Breakfast is amazing - omelettes, crepes, cereals, pastries, yoghurt, whatever you want - they've got it. We didn't really find anywhere decent for lunch, the Spanish don't really do it, they're too busy sleeping off the worst of the day's heat (and it is hot - 30 degrees C in mid October) and so I'd advise stocking up on your own snacks for nibbling down on the beach.

The pool seemed fine; very clean, I didn't really use it much - the sundeck gets so hot without the direct sea-breeze that lying down for longer than twenty minutes feels as if you're about to ignite. We stole into the pool after dark (you're not aloud to do this - they 'close' it at six, which is a bit rubbish, and true to form the Germans abide by this rule diligently), but I thought s*d it, so we slipped in quietly and had it to ourselves for a few minutes, an elderly, sinister Frau so-and-so looking on disapprovingly.

There's no internet. Well, there is, but you have to pay to use one of two computers (four euros for half an hour) in reception. This is just plain bad, and they have to remedy this. Again, it's not going to ruin your holiday, but it can be a fairly big inconvenience - especially if you want information on places to see, or car rentals, etc.

And you should rent a car. There's nothing to do in Morro Jable, and after a few days on the beach we would have gone pretty nuts if we hadn't have been able to get about. I think we paid about a hundred quid for a little Skoda to zip about in for four days. And boy did we use it; we discovered La Pared, a twenty-five minute drive north into the mountains, with an incredible stretch of beach; absolutely stunning, and far quieter than Jandia. North of that again is Paraja, a sleepy, picturesque little place, good for a sandwich and a little walk around. North again is Betancuria, the oldest settlement on the island (15th century), and this is worth a visit - though the drive is decidedly dicey; (one lane, hair-pin turning sheer-drop mountain road). Aside from Betancuria, there is next to no history, or culture, or archaeological sights to visit as far as I can tell, on the whole of the island. That was a real downer for me. We tried to find the 'undiscovered' parts of Fuerteventura as opposed to the 'touristy' side, but unfortunately, the two have intermingled to such an extent as to be indistinguishable. This is assembly-line tourism, and by and large it leaves one feeling like the whole place is rather charmless. The closest we found to the genuine thing was a good hour's drive away in a little fishing village called Las Playitas. It was a pretty, rustic little place, and if you go, be sure to stop for dinner; I had the best fish there I think I've ever eaten in my life - freshly caught, and served up in what seemed to be a man's living room which he'd opened up into a restaurant. Real, quietly understated charm, and a welcome touch of class to the holiday.

All in all, we wouldn’t go back to Fuerta. But we had a nice time here, and if you get a good deal, you could do a lot worse than stay at the Iberostar Palace if all you want is a week with your feet up lounging on the beach.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Fyrdracca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Fuerteventura Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your recent visit. They help us to understand how our guests experience their stay with us. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are delighted to hear that your holiday at Iberostar Fuerteventura Palace was an enjoyable one. We continuously strive to deliver high standards and to ensure that all our guests leave with beautiful vacation memories.

To continue, we would like to point out that we are very sorry not to have been able to meet your expectations on animation and entertaining. We will continue doing our best to bring performances which are of good taste and variety as well as suitable for all publics no matter where they come from or what their background is.

Also, we took good note of your comments regarding the offered facility to use internet and we lament it couldn´t satisfy you. We´ve passed your remark to the head office which establishes the concerning rates and conditions so that these can be considered.

Further, we would like to point out that despite the fact that our hotel was built a few years ago, we do our utmost to take good care of it, maintaining all of the installations the best we can. Even so, we took good note of your commentary and we understand that each guest has a subjective preference and although our goal is to satisfy all tastes, we can´t always do so. Nevertheless, we do offer many different hotels, room types and also a variety of views and rates. Therefore, we would be more than happy to assist you with a very personal booking guidance in our call center to choose the accommodation that best suits your preferences and thus make sure you become what you actually desire to live your dream holiday.

On the other hand, we are very satisfied that you are so enthusiastic about all of our company´s prime pillars to offer a splendid stay to all our guests. Service orientation and helpfulness of our staff, cleanliness of the in- and outside installations and gastronomical delights that satisfy the most exigent palates, are the three most important elements of Iberostar. Reading that you find all three marvelous, fills us with joy and proud. We thank you for highlighting these aspects of your holiday because your praise motivates and stimulates us to continue fulfilling the compliance of our outstanding quality standards.

Once more we thank you for sharing your experience, through it we could learn how we can still improve some of our services and offer all our guests an even more enjoyable stay. In name of all of the staff we thank you again for your visit, we were all delighted to have you among us, and we would be honored if in the not too distant future we have the pleasure to welcome you back in Iberostar Fuerteventura Palace.

Yours faithfully,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Nice and clean rooms, seaview... Staff mostly kind but doesn't speak English or French but only German (due do the high percentage of German tourists)... and Spanish...Nice sandy beach but not easy to access (stairs)- for people having walking problems...a negative thing for the beach was that you had to pay every day for yr chair and umbrella (8 euro)....which were in very BAD condition!!!...
Food was excellent and various...and hygienic!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zoitsa_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Iberostar fuerteventura palace is a very good hotel to relax.
Big sandy white beach, nice sea, big swimming pools, and good all-in.
In Jandia you can walk around and browse the shops, there is windsurfing and diving available, and a good animation team.
But there is absolutely nothing to do if you're looking for something historical, archaeological, cultural,...
Rooms are very good, just basic hotel rooms, and clean, not too old.
The food is awesome, there is so much variety, every other day a new special dish with the chef, and meat and fish available every day. The quality is also very good.

The staff are very helpful and do their best, also for all inclusive guests. There is however one thing which is very annoying, it is packed, absolutely packed with germans. Of course this is not the hotel's fault, they can't do anything about it. The staff is so friendly that they try to speak German to everyone since 90% is German, however I'm not from Germany, can't blame them though, they do their best, and the Germans only speak German.

After all it's a very good hotel, with good food, friendly staff and excellent for relaxation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twinvalor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

As my first experience in a holidays resort, I'm quite happy with the Iberostar Fuerteventura Palace.

The best: the staff is very nice and makes you feel special, the pool, the views and the beach are excellent and there are plenty of activities to do both for kids and adults.

The worst: installations are a bit old, with a crappy tv, no free internet, a dubious taste for decoration... and there are not enough umbrellas in the pool, forcing you to go there early to get one and hold on it all day - not acceptable for a ****.

Overall, 100% recommendable if you're looking for relaxation at an affordable price.

Room Tip: Clearly worth to pick a room with views to the see (even if they're more expensive). The views a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlgerOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Jandia
0.3 mi away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
0.3 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
54.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
54.6 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Playa Gaviotas
Iberostar Playa Gaviotas
#1 of 14 in Playa de Jandia
1,145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Playa Gaviotas Park
Iberostar Playa Gaviotas Park
#3 of 14 in Playa de Jandia
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Fuerteventura Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Fuerteventura Palace

Address: Las Gaviotas, s/n, 35626 Playa de Jandia, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Playa de Jandia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#3 Family Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Jandia
Price Range: $198 - $1,279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Fuerteventura Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 437
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NOTE: The hotel will be closed from 1 November 2017 to May 2018. We will be improving the facilities so that you can enjoy your holiday at IBEROSTAR even more! We apologise for any inconvenience. The IBEROSTAR Fuerteventura Palace hotel is an excellent choice to spend a few days packed with culinary delights, rest, relaxation, and sports on the island of Fuerteventura. Its location next to the immense beach of Jandia - which is 25 kilometres long - is undoubtedly privileged and is an invitation to tour all of the points of interest and most famous beaches in Fuerteventura. The Fuerteventura Palace hotel offers comfortable, refurbished rooms and suites as well as a restaurant with show cooking, three bars, SPA Sensations with a thermal circuit and body treatments, a solarium with sea views, entertainment for , free premium Wi-Fi, four pools, all inclusive, fitness room, meeting rooms, golf courses nearby and many more services and facilities and Star Prestige services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iberostar Fuerteventura Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Fuerteventura Palace Hotel Playa De Jandia
Iberostar Playa De Jandia
Iberostar Hotel Palace Fuerteventura
Iberostar Fuerteventura Palace Playa De Jandia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing