We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, lovely hotel but "all inclusive" tag was disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Club Jandia Princess Hotel
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Playa de Jandia
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I had a week at this lovely hotel. Overall I enjoyed it, the food was excellent, lots of choice, and if you like fish as I do there was a good selection. The room was very clean and comfortable and I had a sea view. It was extremely windy whilst I was there, but down on the beach if you could find a spot out of the wind it was fantastic. The beach was beautiful, went on for miles and mainly empty. The sea was lovely and warm, in fact warmer than the hotel pools which were distinctly cold. On the down side, the all inclusive was very restrictive. No bottled water in rooms once you had finished the one in the room on the day of arrival. Drinks only up to 11.00pm (on the dot!) and limited local spirits. You had to pay extra for a beach bed and pool towels. To use the 'adult only' area you had to upgrade at a further additional cost (If you wanted to use the naturist area - the pool here though was tiny - you needed this upgrade). This was not I believe adequately made clear at booking time, the 'adult area' being described as the 'chill out' zone. Consequently I spent most of my time on the beach and didn't use the pools. Having said all that I would go back, it was a very relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager De Vera... R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Club Jandia Princess Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear guest,

First and foremost we want to thank you for your feedback. This is really important to us as it our pursuit of continuously improving our hotel and hence your holiday.

It makes us enormously pleased that you enjoyed your overall holiday, especially that you liked the food, the accommodation and the closeness to the sea.

We are terribly sorry that you were not satisfied with the all-inclusive offer. Usually you get beach towels for free at the reception, including some free changes depending on the length of your stay. If you want to rent a Balinese Bed for one day to enjoy the calm and the sea view, you will also receive a bottle of Spanish Cava, fruit and some water. All the other sun beds next to the pool are for free. We apologize if you had any inconvenience due to this.

Still we hope to be able to welcome you again one day.

Yours sincerely
The Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,901 - 1,907 of 3,299 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed at club jandia princess for the first time from 12th June for one week in the adults only section.Weeks leading up to travelling I relied on reviews, which had me a little worried, however after staying there I couldn't disagree more with the bad reviews.

Food
Some people commented how the food is only at a 3 star level, I have stayed at 3 star before and there had never been hot dog stands, crepe stands or pizzas made fresh in front of you in their pizzeria. Full English of a morning as well as fruit, cereal an freshly made pancakes. Enjoyed eating a late breakfast at la choza with a gorgeous view of the sea. Snacks are also served in la choza, yes there are birds but that didn't bother us, they were tiny and cute, all food was covered so they did not get at the food if you just covered it back up when you were done.
Food was varied and in opinion not repetitive, they had something for everyone and occasionally themed nights such as Mexican were you got a shot of tequila too.
The chocolate fountain was a personal favourite!
The two free a la carte meals were absolutely gorgeous! After choosing your menu when booking in advanced I was a little worried I wouldn't enjoy the food but could not fault it one bit!

Staff
Staff would bend over backwards to help you! We met a really lovely man from the animation team called bobby, would recommend his classes such as yoga were he takes you to a lovely spot in the garden looking down to the beach, he became a great friend! Eric is another member of staff that should get a mention for his happy personality, we had seen he had employee of the month and could honestly say it was well deserved.

General
The hotel was spotlessly clean! The room was spacious and modern with plenty of mirrors!
Pools were a little on the cold side but this depended on the weather as they were not heated. This did not bother a lot of people, once you were in it was fine.
Bar coco loco was our favourite at night, nice and chilled and no ques to get served. Of a day the chill out bar was the best place to sunbathe with a swim up bar. Entertainment was good, enjoyed the magician and Chinese acrobats! If your not fussed on the entertainment simply don't go and watch them, stay in bars like coco loco and enjoy your night there instead.
Cocktails were available from a machine however I never had one of these and still had many cocktails! There is a different fresh one made everyday an once a week the chill out bar is open of a night for a mini party were all cocktails were fresh and the strawberry daiquiris were lovely! We were introduced to honey rum here and loved it, worth a try!
The oasis park was fantastic and definitely worth a visit for 24 euros each! You get to feed giraffes and camels and horses an all kinds with 4 shows which were all enjoyable to watch! The hotel provide us with a packed lunch that we had asked for the night before.
Jandia is good for cheap shopping, you don't pay tax so perfumes and makeup was cheaper than the airport! We took a taxi to morro jable and then took a nice walk along the beach to jandia.
Overall our stay here was perfect and we are already looking on returning soon!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Ruuruu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Just back from two weeks with the wife at Club Jandia Princess Hotel, the beautiful resort where every table wobbles and every ashtray is missing. Here's what's good (and what's not so good) about it...

Pros

- STAFF: Some really helpful staff made all the difference to our stay. Real warmth and a willingness to help.
- PROFESSIONAL ENTERTAINMENT: Amazing acts for the evening entertainment include African Footprints, Beijing Acrobats and the Million Dollar Elvis and Co. act. Top drawer.
- PICTURESQUE: The resort is beautiful and well maintained.
- LOCATION: Beautiful golden sand beaches that never seem to end.
- ROOM: Huge room with a huge bed, lounge area, big bathroom and stunning sea view

Cons

- UNDERSTAFFED: The staff were excellent, but the bar areas and the restaurant areas could definitely do with a few more bodies. And the Wellness Centre was a ghost town.
- MORE PROFESSIONAL ENTERTAINMENT: The pro entertainment was great and should have been on every night. However, in a penny pinching move by the management the animation team fill in for half the nights. They're funny, likeable and give it some welly, but miming to Grease, Moulin Rouge etc. doesn't cut it. Sorry.
- LACK OF INFO: Little to no info from Thomson on the region. The 90 minute transfer would have been a good opportunity for this, but nothing. The reps were rarely there and getting sense from Reception very much depends on who you get to speak to. Still don't know how to get a locker.
- CASTE SYSTEM: You really will get judged on the colour of your wrist band (right down to what kind of coffee they'll make you!), so be sure to go silver.
- PENNY PINCHING MANAGEMENT: Other than the shortage of staff, the intermittent pro shows and the coffee, there are literally dozens of examples of penny pinching from the Princess management team. These include water in polystyrene cups for ashtrays, charging for beach beds, Balinese beds and bottled water for the room, not having rooms ready for when guests arrive, not having enough porters to help carry bags etc. I would like the management to be pro-active in putting the customer first. For instance, If there's outside evening entertainment and it's blowing a gale, give your guests a few blankets. Put on a waiter service. It's this tightness that will always keep a potentially 5 star resort in a 5 star location struggle to hit its 4 star rating. Please sort it out.

I would recommend this resort as it is beautiful and the staff are so nice, but management is missing a trick here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NiceWeather?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager De Vera... R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Club Jandia Princess Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your recommendation and your detailed feedback. Your opinion is highly important to us as we are continuously striving for improvement.

It makes us very pleased to hear, that you enjoyed your overall stay here at Jandía Princess. Particularly we are glad that you liked the staff, the accommodation and its sea view.

We are terribly sorry that you were not completely satisfied with the animation programme and were missing some things, as ashtrays or blankets. As far as the waiting for your room at your arrival is concerned, we strongly apologize. However our maids are busy all day cleaning the rooms until 4 o’clock to prepare them for the new arrivals.

In our hotel we offer two different areas to be able to response to the different needs of our different customers the best as possible. On the one hand we have the family area with special locations for children, like our farm. On the other hand we want to enable adults to relax silently and therefore installed the Only Adults Area.

We hope to welcome you again once.

Yours sincerely
The Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I went for two weeks in the adult section for a chill out holiday, overall it was an enjoyable experience however there are a few problems staying here.

Good points:

* hotel is lovely and clean.
* Food is consistently good and offers a wide range on choice for the evening meal.
* Reception staff very helpful

Bad points:

* Blue band holders get exactly the same holiday for a cheaper price, they can even upgrade to silver (adult only area) for €5 pp per day.
* Cocktails are terrible, out of a machine.
* Self service drinks at breakfast, dinner, tea however evening drinks are behind the bar which causes long queues to get a drink due to small number of staff.
* Can't wear formal shorts for the evening meal, you have to wear full length pants. Which results in most people wearing track suit bottoms which are acceptable...
* The evening entertainment done by the hotel's in house entertainment team is horrendous, would be better suited to a children's birthday party.

I would recommend you check the price between staying in the normal area vs. the adult only area as there is not much difference. This was the most disappointing thing for me as I was lead to believe that this resort was largely for adults only.

One thing that is worth highlighting is the wind, worth bringing a jacket as the evenings do get chilly.

Room Tip: If you get a twin room, reception will provide a double mattress if you ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager De Vera... R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Club Jandia Princess Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your recommendation and detailed feedback. Your opinion is highly important to us as we are constantly striving for improvement in order to make your dream of the unforgettable holiday come true.

Therefore we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially that you liked the food, the accommodation and the staff.

However we are terribly sorry you for your dissatisfaction because of the waiting time at the bars and the cocktails. We already contacted the corresponding department. Moreover we apologize that you were not satisfied with the entertainment, we transmitted this to the team.
Moreover we created the two separate areas to respond the best as possible to the different needs of our different clients. On the one hand we want to create an enjoyable stay for families within the Family Area, where we therefore installed special institutions as our little farm. On the other hand we offer a Wellness and Chill Out Zone in our Only Adult Area for adults who want a calm and relaxing stay.


Eventually we hope to welcome you once again.

Yours sincerely
The Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Went on 12th June 2013 for one week. This was the first time we had been to this island and resort. People told us before going it is a little breezy but on arriving it was blowing a little harder than a breeze [more like a gale]. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, whole complex was clean and tidy, food was acceptable but I wouldn't class it as five or even four stars.There are different coloured wrist bands blue for family pool only, silver for adult section and black for vip's. How you actually book these bands from the outset I do not know. The beach is clean and the sea is warm, walks along the beach to Morro Jable is enjoyable. We went by taxi to the church [service Thursday, Saturday 8pm and Sunday 12 noon] 13 euro's there and 8 euro's back; expensive. If you decide to visit consider a hire car as there are no local places to visit. The weather on one morning it did rain but on the whole it was sunny and warm if out of the wind!! If you want cheering up take the blanket trip[half-day] with Paul Davies he will have your side's splitting.

Room Tip: Rooms nearer to the main reception block are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rod f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Food was excellent, accommodation was spot on, entertainment was....Entertaining, to say the least, some shows were slightly weird- but done the job!. Decent selection of drinks (although being all inclusive one barman told me certain drinks weren't available whereas a different bar in the hotel included everything!. Being we went in May, the weather was good! ranging between 23-28 degree's mainly, fairly windy so sometimes can be cold - although refreshing. The only downside I have of the holiday, is the pool! it was freezing! all 5 of them (well, apart from the nudist pool....I wouldn't know about that one.The staff (both the reps and the hotel staff) were excellent, i'd agree with the trend of reviews - that it is more of a 3 star hotel- but a very very good one at that, and most hotels state they are a 4-5* but end up being 1 below. The trip from the airport to the hotel was about 1 hour, but seeing the sea most of the way and sleeping a bit, doesn't end up seeming too long. Definitely recommend going here, especially as a couple :).

Room Tip: Sea view room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here for two weeks recently and have to agree with other reviewers that it is probably
a 3 star property not 4 star. The transfer from the airport is at least 1 hour. Check in was very good and we found our room in the adult section very easily. The room was lovely and clean with a lovely outlook.
The food in the main restaurant was fine but the birds landing on the food at the La Choza restaurant was not acceptable and we did bring this up with the hotel and the Thomson rep as whilst we were there they stopped using the main restaurant for lunch and everybody had to use La Choza which was not able to cope with the high number of people wanting to eat at the same time. The litter on the floor and the bird mess on the table and chairs as well as in the food was very poor for any hotel let alone one which claims to be 4 star.
We did enjoy our holiday but would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ddbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Jandia
0.2 mi away
Fuerteventura Princess
1.7 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
1.7 mi away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.3 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
5.8 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
53.0 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Jandia Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Jandia Princess Hotel

Address: Gran Canaria, 11 | Urb. Butihondo, 35626 Playa de Jandia, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Playa de Jandia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#5 Family Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Jandia
Price Range: $174 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Jandia Princess Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Club Jandía Princess consists of the exclusive areas: one especially for families and the other one for adults only. The all inclusive hotel is located in the south of Fuerteventura, close to the resorts Jandía (4,5 km) and Morro Jable (6,5 km). The Club Jandía Princess in the urbanization Esquinzo is situated above Esquinzo beach, which can be reached via steps or a path. The main restaurant Antigua offers buffet-style breakfast and lunch with live cooking. The La Choza restaurant (with terrace and grill) serves buffet-style lunch. Furthermore guests have the possibility to enjoy one free à-la-carte-dinner per week at the restaurant "El Lager". The "La Choza" also offers an à-la-carte-dinner, which is included once a week for guests of the adults-only area. Both restaurants provide a separate area for adults. The Club Jandía Princess has 6 bars, including lobby bar, pool bars, sports bar, disco bar and a chill out bar in the adults only zone of the hotel. There is a total of 6 outdoor pools at the Club Jandía Princess: 3 in the family area (including a kids pool) and 3 in the adults area (Chill-Out-Pool, Relax-Pool, Nudisten-Pool). Balinese beds offering sea view are located close to the main pool and may be rented for a fee (incl. cava, water, fruits). For the little guests the family area provides Mini-Club, Mini-Disco and a small farm with animals and vegetable patch. The entertainment team offers activities such as: aerobics, aqua gym, beach-volleyball, beach-soccer, darts and archery. The Club Jandía Princess has a total of 512 renovated and refurbished rooms and suites. Standard features include air conditioning, minibar-fridge, satellite TV (flat screen), balcony or terrace and hairdryer and amenities in the bathroom. WI-FI (€) is available throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Jandia Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jandia Princess
Hotel Club Jandia Princess
Hotel Jandia Princess
Club Jandia Princess Hotel Playa De Jandia, Fuerteventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing