We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely hotel spoilt by dreadful bar service”
Review of XQ El Palacete

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
XQ El Palacete
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Playa de Jandia
Certificate of Excellence
merseyside
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“lovely hotel spoilt by dreadful bar service”
Reviewed October 7, 2010

lovely hotel ,clean rooms amazing views great food,but the one thing that lets this hotel down is the bar service,we paid £7 20 for a cocktail that looked nothing like the one on the menu,no fruit nothing ,just a straw placed in it,felt like it was too much trouble for the bar staff,sangria also dreadful,if you want a drink walk to one of the bars a stones throw from the hotel,we have stayed in many four star hotels, this hotel served the worst drinks by far,also we stayed eleven nights and had one nights entertainment,i would only reccomend this hotel if you dont drink or care about entertainment.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quentana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    34
    15
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
122
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halsall
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

What a place
Fantastic from beginning to end
Reception excellent - glass of sparkling on arrival
Room superb with views to die for.
Cleanliness excellent - bed change every other day
Restaurant was also very good indeed. Chefs on hand at breakfast to cook omelettes etc and also at dinner for individual cooking of steaks, fish etc etc. Such a wide variety of food.
Hotel is managed by a very adept and capable female. She runs an excellent team who all seem to know exactly what needs doing without being asked.
The hotel is in a fab position hovering over a superb beach.
Dont go if you want entertainment and night life
Do go if you want perfect peace and tranquility in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jangeo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
English in Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2009

Bedooms, all with sea views are first-rate and it's about 50 yards down to the promenade & splendid beach. We spent an enjoyable & peaceful week here and the only criticism I would offer relates to the quality of the food for evening meals - for which there are two sittings. It seemed at times as if some of the cooked food, for the 2030 sitting, had been around since the 1830 sitting. The food cooked to order by the visible chef was fine - mostly fish. So you're not going to starve there but don't expect gourmet food. Staff throughout i.e. reception, cleaners, bar & restaurant, are all fine though restaurant staff at night are in a bit of a hurry to get things set up for breakfast. A German lady, making her 8th visit to the hotel. said the standard of cleanliness & general organisation is now substantially higher than when the hotel was part of the Riu group. Little English is spoken but it's not a problem. A bonus is that within a 100 yd walk there is a superb 'hipermercado', part of the Spar group and rather different from the average UK Spar!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slightlybrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2008

OK - I admit that both my husband and I are committed fans of the RIU chain of hotels, and I also admit that this is the 15th time we've stayed at one of their hotels. BUT - this is the best European experience we've had (the others have been in Mexico and the Dominican Republic).
El Palacete was a bit like staying on a plane which hovered above Jandia's glimmering sandy beach. People-watching was easy and great fun, and there was never any noise in the hotel itself. The turquoise-blue and sparkly-clean sea was a tantalising 2-minute stroll away, and then we returned to the clean, well-kept pool area for a quiet read and a much longed-for kip. Other hotels have cats - this one has a pedigree Siamese roaming the grounds for errant mice and small birds.
ALL the staff were great fun and very courteous, and the lady chef was a force to be reckoned with - watch this space, Gordon Ramsey, for a get-as-good-as-you-give attitude, packed with the rudest laugh I've ever heard in my life. Breakfast wonderful, dinner quiet and reserved, but beware all you sad monoglots out there - the English language is not spoken by all the staff. In fact, their German is exemplary, and as 99.9% of our fellow guests were Germans, it made perfect sense to us. We have enough Spanish to order food and wine, make the odd joke and to back Spain in the World Cup which was on telly while we were there, so we passed their test.
Morro Jable itself is an old fishing village with a traditional village centre filled with old men who were visibly shaken by their quiet village's progress into the bad, bad world of 21st century tourism. If it is only for this reason, we will be rushing back there as often as we can before the rest of you spoil it all for us...
Tried, tested, loved, and most importantly, respected. Don't go there if you're a fan of British pubs, fish'n'chips, Guinness and loud pop music. You'll just be disappointed.

  • Liked — THE PEOPLE
  • Disliked — NOTHING TO DISLIKE
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank BUSTYBIRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 27, 2005

We have visited this hotel regularly for the past six years during the months of January and February. The hotel is small (55 rooms all with sea views) and the staff are very friendly. The food is excellent and we have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to our friends.

Helpful?
32 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Jandia
1.5 mi away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Jandia
Hotel Riu Palace Jandia
#2 of 16 in Morro del Jable
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sensimar Calypso Resort & Spa
Sensimar Calypso Resort & Spa
#6 of 13 in Playa de Jandia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Faro Jandia & Spa
Hotel Faro Jandia & Spa
#3 of 16 in Morro del Jable
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
55.8 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
56.0 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to XQ El Palacete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about XQ El Palacete

Property: XQ El Palacete
Address: C/ Acantilado, s/n, 35625 Playa de Jandia, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly Riu Palace El Palacete)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Playa de Jandia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#4 Family Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Jandia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — XQ El Palacete 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Morro Jable. 2-storey building. Located on the beachfront in Jandia beach (several steps lead to the beach). 300 m from Morro Jable. 1 km from a shopping centre. 90 km from the airport. 200 m from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your XQ El Palacete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xq El Palacete Hotel Playa De Jandia
XQ El Palacete Playa De Jandia, Fuerteventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing