We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Their website promises much more than you will find when you check in...”
Review of XQ El Palacete

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
XQ El Palacete
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Playa de Jandia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The website of this hotel promises an exclusive and very beautiful place. Once we arrived here we were quite disappointed as it seems much more than it is in reality.
We arrived at 17 hrs and were told that it is not possible to eat something until dinner time. We found it lousy that the bar did not offer salads, toasts and little snacks.
Dinner is buffet only, you can not even choose à la carte, and room service is not available! Is this a good hotel? No, for sure not!
Our room was nice, the bathroom as well. No bath tub, just a shower there...
However, downstairs was the restaurant and we had all the noise from the people having their dinner there.
The pool area is quite nice, but never as beautiful as on their website. The beach and colour of the ocean is also much nicer on the pictures than in reality.
Breakfast is nice, 4* standard.
A big disappointment was the rude and not very polite german lady at the front desk. We originally booked in for 1 night only, but evaluated to stay one night more to discover nearby beaches and sights. I checked on booking.com if there were rooms available, and there were. At 10.30hrs I asked the receptionist if we could keep our room for one more night. She looked at me in quite an unfriendly way (well, sorry for offending you asking if we could stay for one more night...prrrr) and told me "no, you have to leave your room by 11 and move to another room because this morning at 8 I have already promised your room to another couple". Mmmmh, I really felt to be treated like an idiot. The receptionist seemed to kick us out of our rooms by 11, but at the same time promised our room to someone else at 8 in the morning...
We did not feel any desire to stay here longer, the hotel and its service disappointed us, as well as the very built up and not beautiful area around. We would not come back here, as we felt disappointed in every way. It is not really bad here, but looking at their website one really expects much more in every way...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelmaniaccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel X, Director General at XQ El Palacete, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear guest,

First of all we want to say sorry about the troubles you had during your stay at XQ El Palacete, we are working hard to solve the main problem you had concerning the personal at the front desk. We always try to offer to all our guest the highest standards, and that is what we show through our website .The last thing we want to say you is that we hope that you give us another chance to change your opinion, and see that we learn from our guest feedback.

Kindest regards,
XQ El Palacete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 215 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

In some ways, this hotel has everything going for it. It's not too big (about 50 rooms). It's in a great location, just 5 minutes' amble from the restaurants of Morro Jable and 1 minute from the white sands of Jandia beach which stretches 20 km. All rooms have a spectacular sea view (as does the pool area), are a decent size, have their own balconies, and are comfortably furnished. Beds are comfortable and ceiling fans provide a welcome alternative to the aircon. It has a pleasant and clean, if rather small, pool, together with a separate children's pool (though, surprisingly in August, at the time of our visit the latter was out of use).

But after a week there with my family, it would be misleading to describe it as more than average (particularly given that it boasts not only 4 stars, but also a special "quality" rating). How can that be? The answer I am afraid lies in large part with the way in which the hotel is managed and run. The impression given - presumably inadvertently - is that it is run primarily for the benefit of the management, and that guests are something of an inconvenience who should simply do what they are told.

A couple of examples: the first fairly trivial, the second less so.

We are a family of five. At our first breakfast none of the tables outside, where we wanted to eat, was laid for five, most being for two and a few for four. On asking for a table for five, we were told that we would have to be inside. In fact, it proved perfectly simple for two tables to be put together and laid for five, but we had to insist on it. Nor, on any of the following mornings, had a table for five been laid outside. We could again have insisted, but it was easier just to huddle round a smaller table.

Secondly, when booking the rooms (four months in advance) I had requested a quiet room for my wife and me and been told that "we will do our best to fulfil your wish". Sadly, our wish remained unfulfilled. We were allocated a room over the restaurant which meant we were woken every morning at 7 a.m. by breakfast operations beneath our room.

I was told that the hotel was too full to move us to a quieter room. By early August, that was probably true, which was why I had made the request in April. As it turned out, the reason that the hotel had been unable to fulfil my wish was that all the quietest and best rooms (on the top floor - room tip) had been allocated to friends and family of the owners with whose stay our visit coincided. The fact that we were paying customers rather than mates of the owners cut no ice.

So the risk is that this hotel will drift downhill and downmarket, as it focuses on parting the tourist from his cash rather than delivering service levels likely to ensure repeat business. Whether that would be a matter of concern to the management, it is hard to say.

Room Tip: Top floor - preferably at east or west end, and definitely not over restaurant or bar or next to rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel X, Director General at XQ El Palacete, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to make a review about your stay at XQ El Palacete. First of all, we have to say sorry for not been able to achieve the high standards that we always try to offer to all our guest. We will analyze your comments about the noise problem and the outside tables at our restaurant, with our staff, so this complications do not happen again. We feel sorry you believe that our staff did not try to be helpfull and attentive with you, and the only thing we can say is that we hope that you will give us another chance to change your opinion.

Kindest regards,
XQ El Palacete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We loved this friendly little hotel! Ok, the rooms are a tad dated, but they are clean and spacious. The hotel is on a great position near the beautiful Jandia Beach. We had amazing sea views from our balcony. The resort is a little hilly, so you need to be quite mobile on your feet. We stayed half board and enjoyed the buffet dinner, although I'm not a big fan of buffet. Also, it was great drinking complimentary Cava with breakfast every day.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jools3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel X, Director General at XQ El Palacete, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for review about your stay at XQ El Palacete. We are glad you enjoy our services but we will take deeply in consideration your opinions to improve the hotel quality. Thank you for pointing out our buffet dinner, specially because your are not a big fan of them. We are looking forward to greet you again in the near future at your home away from home: XQ El Palacete.

Kind Regards,
XQ El Palacete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The XQ El Palacete is a fairly small hotel but it has a very warm and caring atmosphere. Upon arriving we were met by a very friendly polite and professional reception team who allowed us into our rooms early. The room was very clean and had everything that we needed. We asked for a quiet room in the booking and we got this. The hotel was mostly adult which gave it a classy air, no screaming kids to ruin the sun drenched relaxation. All rooms also have sea views and balconies.

The food was excellent. It has a German bias but since the majority of customers are German it makes sence. It was still very delicious. Served in a buffet format with a grill for fresh steaks and amazingly flavored fish. I always looked forward to meal time and with the heat half board was enough. There was a nice snack menu if you got hungry. If you get bored of the bar there is an excellent cocktail bar just around the corner.

The location is the best. The side gate is on the ramp to the main beach. But with the excellent pool that always has a spare sun bed and the view there isn't really any need to venture down there but if you do you will see crystal clear see, clean golden sand and a short walk from the lighthouse with the main shops. The east side of the island is too windy and from the other complaining Brits on the aircraft the north is too British with lots of rubbish on the beach and cigarette ends. Stick with the civilised Germans you cant go wrong.

The only negative was slightly average water pressure in the shower and if that's all I have to moan about then it shows what a great place this is.

I will definitely be back to this gem.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barroi78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel X, Director General at XQ El Palacete, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to make such wonderfull review about your stay with us, on Tripadvisor. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the wondeful place where we are located and we feel very honoured to have been your option for these vacations. Thank you for pointing out our delightful breakfast and generally the high quality of our gastronomy. We will take in consideration your opinion to improve our services, and offer you a better experience in your next visit.

Kindest regards,
XQ El Palacete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Feel compelled to write my first Trip Advisor review. Perfect location right on the beach (and what a beach with crystal clear water) with a beautiful pool tool. We loved the area. Everything we needed on our doorstop (not for clubbers though but we just wanted to chill out). Ate so well, with so much fresh fish available in the local restaurants. We didn't eat dinner in the hotel as we became obsessed with La Laja and felt local restaurants were better value but the breakfast was delicious with lots of fruit, crepes, fresh bread, hams and omelettes, loved the omelettes!
The staff were wonderful. So Helpful & friendly. They let us have a late check out so we could enjoy the last few hours in the sun. Not always possible I know but this was a wonderful end to the trip.
For the relaxed easy holiday we wanted, this was perfect. They should join the hospitality industry's move to free wifi but forced lack of Internet was probably good for us. Just a wonderful time and we want to see more of the island next time. We will be back.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel X, Director General at XQ El Palacete, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Emma,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to make such wonderfull review, about your stay with us, and for having chosen your stay at XQ El Palacete as your first review in TripAdvisor. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the wondeful place where we are located, and that you are already thinking in coming back and discover more spots of Fuerteventura. We would also want to tell you that we have improve our services, and right now, you can enjoy of free WIFI in our hotel. We are looking forward to greet you again in the near future at your home away from home: XQ El Palacete

Kindest regards,
XQ El Palacete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We have just returned from this 54 room hotel which we have to say has the most perfect location. The hotel is about an hour or so from the Airport. Situated, we feel, in the most picturesque part of the island, this hotel is perched minutes from the beach. Being a small hotel you have much more of a personal touch..chocolates left in your room. chef bringing melon round when lounging around the pool, drink on arrival, a room to shower in before leaving etc... The staff are the most polite we have ever come across on our travels. mix of guest, mainly german and odd english, scot.. That didnt bother us at all as we came to get away from England ! Rooms were spacious, well needed air conditioning and ceiling fan and comfortable balcony. All rooms have sea views. Promenade just below leads you to stretches of golden sand and the clear blue sea. The path to the left takes you to jandia shops and bars and right to Morro Jable old town with restaurants, very authentic.. back to the hotel !! towels are given daily to bathe with and a sufficient pool (not ideal for children,but then the hotel isn't really recommended for children ). Food is buffet style, the choice is endless and they have thought of everything..My partner is vegetarian and never had a problem finding anything to eat and the chef would be happy to cook anything on request anyway. Breakfast, again choice is endless, hot , cold, cereals, meats, yoghurts, choices of breads and fruit. Entertainment is kept to a bare minimum so dont expect live acts daily. you'll likely get singer/music twice per week.. This didn't really bother us as we just had quiet drinks outside after dinner or went for a stroll..Wifi was very reasonable or free in the foyer and we had access outside whilst lounging. If you want a quiet, relaxing holiday with sun, sea and beach then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel X, Director General at XQ El Palacete, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Stuart,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen XQ El Palacete as your holiday destination in Fuerteventura. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you have notice our hard work to offer a high level of service and quality. Thank you also for pointing out that the hotel is faultless clean, that the staff is the most polite and that the food offer is superb. We feel very honoured to be rewarded with such a positive feedback and rest assured that a warm welcome awaits you anytime you decide to visit us again.

Kindest regards,
XQ El Palacete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I have just returned from a 7 day break staying at this fantastic hotel.I was impressed that all 53 rooms offer sea views at no extra cost, it was similar to being on a cruise ship. The rooms are spacious, very clean and pleasing to the eye.Towels and linen changed daily if required and the rooms always kept spotless.I was HB and was amazed by the quality of food ,buffet and show cooking,never repetitive. The restaurant staff are very polite, professional and always happy, especially Estrella. This hotel is not suitable for families and younger people who want entertainment.There are only 2 floors and a lift and suitable for those with limited ability.A 5 minute walk will take you down to the beach and the old fishing town of Morro Jable where there are numerous restaurants and cafe/bars. I had a relaxing stay and would definately return here in the future.

Room Tip: Top floor and not above the restaurant if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank daisybSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel X, Director General at XQ El Palacete, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Daisy,

Thank you for review about your recent stay at XQ El Palacete. It is with delight that we read about your positive impressions of our hotel. As you mention the hotel team do a great work to keep all the facilities and services at the higjest level. Thank you for pointing out our delightful breakfast and generally the high quality of our gastronomy. We are looking forward to greet you again in the near future at your home away from home: XQ El Palacete.

Kind Regards,
XQ El Palacete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Jandia
1.5 mi away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
56 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Jandia
Hotel Riu Palace Jandia
#2 of 16 in Morro del Jable
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Calypso Resort & Spa
TUI SENSIMAR Calypso Resort & Sp...
#7 of 14 in Playa de Jandia
262 reviews
55.8 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
1.6 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to XQ El Palacete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about XQ El Palacete

Address: C/ Acantilado, s/n, 35625 Playa de Jandia, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly Riu Palace El Palacete)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Playa de Jandia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Jandia
Price Range: $247 - $479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — XQ El Palacete 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Morro Jable. 2-storey building. Located on the beachfront in Jandia beach (several steps lead to the beach). 300 m from Morro Jable. 1 km from a shopping centre. 90 km from the airport. 200 m from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelPower, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your XQ El Palacete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xq El Palacete Hotel Playa De Jandia
XQ El Palacete Playa De Jandia, Fuerteventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing