We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveler rating
173
39
18
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
39
18
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall hotelpremium roommorro jableboutique hotelcovered terracebalcony overlooking the searestaurant and bar staffthe location is perfectcomfortable sunbedsworld cupevery guestbars and restaurantssoupsjandia beachlittle extrasfrom manchesterwifi is free
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 235 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel on three previous occasions when it was part of the Riu Group.
After a gap of 3 years, we returned in 2011 and found the hotel had been quite extensively re- furbished. The loungers, outside tables & chairs and balcony furniture were all high quality rattan (in lieu of the previous plastic) and both outside and internal areas of the hotel had been refreshed and improved.

Better still, I don't think there was any change in the staff, who are always cheery and helpful.

The hotel director even kindly let me charge my ebook reader via her computer usb port when I encountered difficulties with the mains charger I had newly bought.

If you are looking for a quality hotel in a superb location, next to the beach and seek primarily a chill-out holiday with generally excellent weather - look no further.

Anne & Sandy

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandy5547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

lovely hotel ,clean rooms amazing views great food,but the one thing that lets this hotel down is the bar service,we paid £7 20 for a cocktail that looked nothing like the one on the menu,no fruit nothing ,just a straw placed in it,felt like it was too much trouble for the bar staff,sangria also dreadful,if you want a drink walk to one of the bars a stones throw from the hotel,we have stayed in many four star hotels, this hotel served the worst drinks by far,also we stayed eleven nights and had one nights entertainment,i would only reccomend this hotel if you dont drink or care about entertainment.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quentana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

What a place
Fantastic from beginning to end
Reception excellent - glass of sparkling on arrival
Room superb with views to die for.
Cleanliness excellent - bed change every other day
Restaurant was also very good indeed. Chefs on hand at breakfast to cook omelettes etc and also at dinner for individual cooking of steaks, fish etc etc. Such a wide variety of food.
Hotel is managed by a very adept and capable female. She runs an excellent team who all seem to know exactly what needs doing without being asked.
The hotel is in a fab position hovering over a superb beach.
Dont go if you want entertainment and night life
Do go if you want perfect peace and tranquility in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jangeo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2009

Bedooms, all with sea views are first-rate and it's about 50 yards down to the promenade & splendid beach. We spent an enjoyable & peaceful week here and the only criticism I would offer relates to the quality of the food for evening meals - for which there are two sittings. It seemed at times as if some of the cooked food, for the 2030 sitting, had been around since the 1830 sitting. The food cooked to order by the visible chef was fine - mostly fish. So you're not going to starve there but don't expect gourmet food. Staff throughout i.e. reception, cleaners, bar & restaurant, are all fine though restaurant staff at night are in a bit of a hurry to get things set up for breakfast. A German lady, making her 8th visit to the hotel. said the standard of cleanliness & general organisation is now substantially higher than when the hotel was part of the Riu group. Little English is spoken but it's not a problem. A bonus is that within a 100 yd walk there is a superb 'hipermercado', part of the Spar group and rather different from the average UK Spar!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slightlybrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2008

OK - I admit that both my husband and I are committed fans of the RIU chain of hotels, and I also admit that this is the 15th time we've stayed at one of their hotels. BUT - this is the best European experience we've had (the others have been in Mexico and the Dominican Republic).
El Palacete was a bit like staying on a plane which hovered above Jandia's glimmering sandy beach. People-watching was easy and great fun, and there was never any noise in the hotel itself. The turquoise-blue and sparkly-clean sea was a tantalising 2-minute stroll away, and then we returned to the clean, well-kept pool area for a quiet read and a much longed-for kip. Other hotels have cats - this one has a pedigree Siamese roaming the grounds for errant mice and small birds.
ALL the staff were great fun and very courteous, and the lady chef was a force to be reckoned with - watch this space, Gordon Ramsey, for a get-as-good-as-you-give attitude, packed with the rudest laugh I've ever heard in my life. Breakfast wonderful, dinner quiet and reserved, but beware all you sad monoglots out there - the English language is not spoken by all the staff. In fact, their German is exemplary, and as 99.9% of our fellow guests were Germans, it made perfect sense to us. We have enough Spanish to order food and wine, make the odd joke and to back Spain in the World Cup which was on telly while we were there, so we passed their test.
Morro Jable itself is an old fishing village with a traditional village centre filled with old men who were visibly shaken by their quiet village's progress into the bad, bad world of 21st century tourism. If it is only for this reason, we will be rushing back there as often as we can before the rest of you spoil it all for us...
Tried, tested, loved, and most importantly, respected. Don't go there if you're a fan of British pubs, fish'n'chips, Guinness and loud pop music. You'll just be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank BUSTYBIRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews