We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week was not enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas Park
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Playa de Jandia
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A week was not enough”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

One of the best hotels I have stayed at without a doubt. Not a lot to add to all the other well deserved great reviews. Spacious, light room with mini kitchenette (not that it was needed as the food was fantastic and so much choice), well maintained grounds with plenty of sunbeds, two pools (the one nearest the pool bar was heated, the other one wasn't and was a bit chilly to say the least) and helpful, friendly staff, everything you need for a perfect holiday.
A tip if you have a massage at the Spa, it was pretty powerful and I had sore shoulders and neck for a couple of days, so if you are not used to massages, ask for a gentle one!
Sadly the local buses are no longer running and it is a bit of a trek down into the main town, and harbour and back, even if it is a beautiful walk along the beach, or promenade, and gives you the opportunity to feed the chipmunks and paraquets along the way, maybe the hotel could provide a courtesy bus service, or even make a small charge for the service, a couple of times a day, I'm sure plenty of people would use it.

Room Tip: I had a ground floor room overlooking the pool, sun all afternoon on the patio and could pull a sunb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolphinsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    324
    71
    29
    8
See reviews for
530
343
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Have stayed twice at this hotel and already thinking of booking for next year. The hotel is set on a cliff above the beach, with stunning views. The area around is quiet with two sister hotels nearby. Firstly, the bedroom was huge with plenty of wardrobe space and the beds very comfortable. We had a suite so had a lounge with seating area and dining table and chairs,as well. Had to pay for use of safe but there was a fridge that you could use for free.
All the hotel and grounds were kept immaculate.
The all inclusive food was probably the best we have had and have stayed in many hotels. Plenty of cloice at breakfast, lunch and dinner and branded spirits free of charge.
Entertainment was fairly good with the 'in house' team working very hard. Also some evenings there were professional acts. The Beatles Tribute Band was GREAT!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fay w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This was our second visit to this hotel, and we are booked in already for next autumn. From start to finish this was a great hotel experiance. Staff fantastic, food great and a superb location. The hotel was well maintained and kept spotlessly clean. Thankyou Iberostar and your fantastic team at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mhbonam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas Park, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear guest,

We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort that you gave yourself to share the experience of your recent holiday with us and Tripadvisor readers.

To succeed, it fills us with proud to read that you find the meals excellent and the staff nice. These features are our prime pillars because we are convinced that only through their excellence we will be able to reach complete client satisfaction. We will pass your compliments to the concerning colleagues, as this kind of reconfirming mentions, help us to continue working motivated in the future. It is also a pleasure to read that the clean room, the value for money and the location, were satisfactory to you.

Looking forward to may serve you again next autumn we send you our best regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We have just returned from 11 nights at our 6th Iberostar Hotel.
This was the first time we had travelled as a party of 5 – my hubby, little boy and myself and my parents.
It was quite late (after 11pm) when we arrived and we were checked in by the lovely night porter who didn’t speak English (and we don’t speak much Spanish!).
Our first room was a room above the bar – which we were quite concerned about but thought we would give it a go (we had requested quiet rooms). When we opened the door, we were pleasantly surprised to see we had been upgraded to a suite which had a separate bedroom. We had booked a junior suite, which was one long room with bed and sofa bed in it and a bathroom. My parents had also been upgraded to a suite from a standard room, so they were very happy.
We unpacked and went to bed. Our room had 2 patio doors – one from the lounge and one from the bedroom on to our balcony, which was great when putting our son to bed and then going to sit on the balcony without disturbing him leaving the lounge door open etc. We went All Inclusive and were able to bring bottles of wine back to our room which we have not experienced before but it was greatly appreciated as we were in our room/balcony after our son had gone to bed. The wine was lovely!

As previously mentioned this is our 6th IB and my parent’s first trip (they are usually Riu people so the pressure was on!). We met for breakfast, which was ok if you like eggs! Compared to other Iberostars, we felt this one was weaker on food than the other IBs we have stayed in. I would like to point out this is nothing to do with the chefs we met or spoke to – each and everyone was absolutely lovely, we just thought the ‘range’, general quality and selection was not as good as we have previously been used to. On several evenings they had a ‘guest chef’ and for us, these meals saved the day! We enjoyed Sweet and Sour chicken, Thai curries, Chinese, Mexican, Caribbean – all of these were delicious.
The waiting staff were very friendly and efficient. They all made a point of saying ‘hola’ to our little boy who was quite shy to begin with but was soon ‘Hola’ing back to them!

The swimming pools were nice and clean, if a bit chilly when you first went in. We had no problem getting a sun lounger (even 5 in a row).

We had a voucher to use the Spa and my husband and I went there for a day whilst my parents had junior. It was fabulous and very relaxing. We were able to leave to have lunch etc and to go back in as we pleased. I would recommend the Spa. The indoor pool is part of the Spa and not a general use pool.

On our 5th night, we went to bed quite early as we had an early start for our excursion to the Oasis Park the following day. The music from the bar area below was unbearable. It was like our bed was in the bar area, it was that loud. I could tell you what songs were being played and was in some cases singing along! Not good when all you can think is that you have to get up early tomorrow.
At 12.40, I went down to reception to ask when the music would stop (I spoke / signed languaged the nice night porter) and to their credit, it was stopped immediately. I was too wound up to sleep properly after that.
We were at reception at 7.30 the following day to say about the noise and although they had ‘innocent faces’ we could tell it was not the first time someone from our room had mentioned the noise. We were offered 2 alternative rooms – both at were the upgraded suite level (which we were grateful for) and we moved to a room which was in front of the pools. The only difference between our new room and old was that it was slightly narrower than the old room and that the bedroom had a window and not patio door. But it was SILENT when we went to bed ,,,,,,, bliss. We cannot fault the reception staff who changed our room immediately.

The rooms were very clean and spotless and the maids were very friendly when we spoke to them. The whole area around the hotel was kept spotless and our son enjoyed saying ‘hola’ to everyone he met!

Our trip to Oasis Park was one of the best value excursions we have ever been on. The park have a free bus that picks you up from your hotel and takes you to the park and home again. The park is vast, the food reasonable and quite tasty! They had shows which were very good. A visit to Oasis Park would be recommended.

The mini club were very good with our little boy who is very shy and not quite 3 yet. They were happy for him to do the activities as long as one of us was there with him (lucky nanny got that job!) he even came 3rd in a game and got a ‘diploma’ at the mini disco! As it was mainly German families there, they were obviously speaking mostly in German but once we started to go there then they spoke a lot more English. So don’t be put off if you go there and they are not speaking English, they will when your child/ren are there.

To get to the beach we went through the hotel next door – Iberostar Gaviotas Park – which is also a 4* the feel if it was a slightly higher standard and probably where we should have gone on holiday!

All in all we had a good holiday. The hotel and staff were very good but it was let down by the food.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tarango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We arrived in the daytime on 12th September with Thomas Cook and had a choice of rooms - we ended up in a junior suite with a side sea view.

The hotel is spotlessly clean and has an excellent choice of food and drinks available all day long. It is a bonus that guests can also use the Gaviotas Playa Hotel next door for drinking.

The only let down was that we believed there to be free WiFi available in the hotel so I would be able to continue my studies whilst away for my Uni course. Unfortunately (and nowadays unusually) there was a substancial charge for using WiFi and the computers in the reception area. Come on Iberostar - get with the rest of world and offer WiFi for free !!!

The staff were all very friendly and cheerful and we would definately stay here again as a beautiful beach is a very short walk away and the hotel was an excellent choice for our holiday expectations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wsm-mart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Another faultless iberostar holiday. We are a family of 7 with 3 small children who all thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the gaviotas park. We found the standards to be very high with exceptional service as you do with all Iberostar hotels. The food was delicious and plentiful, the rooms spacious and clean, the pool area safe with the availability of sunbeds whatever the time, the self service bar a pleasure, the staff amongst the friendliest I have met and the entertainment team fantastic! My children would never forgive me for failing to mention the miniclub - 10/10, they really could not have worked harder. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We booked our stay direct through the Iberostar website which we found very easy to use, even being able to pre book a late checkout saved us from any worry.

A week before our arrival, we received an email asking if we would like to choose the position of our room from several available at our price selection. A nice touch I thought and after researching some images from website and others found on trip advisor, We chose our room.

Our arrival was around 22:30 hrs, and even at this time we were greeted with a friendly reception and something was put by to eat.

Not the Ritz, but kept very clean throughout and the friendly and polite nature of the staff outweighed any short comings we found.

A good selection of Quality food from both restaurants catering for most tastes with themed meals every evening.

A good all round Hotel, with access to some lovely beaches.

Only one real criticism, the bed could have been a bit more comfortable.

Well done.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jemolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Jandia
0.4 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
0.4 mi away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
54.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Playa Gaviotas
Iberostar Playa Gaviotas
#1 of 13 in Playa de Jandia
1,052 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Fuerteventura Palace
Iberostar Fuerteventura Palace
#2 of 13 in Playa de Jandia
1,225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Occidental Jandia Mar
Occidental Jandia Mar
#18 of 71 in Pajara
4,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas Park

Property: IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas Park
Address: Pasaje Playa 3 | Urb. Las Gaviotas, 35626 Playa de Jandia, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Playa de Jandia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de Jandia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas Park 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connect with the spirit of the oldest of the Canary Islands! At the IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas Park hotel in Jandia, in the south of Fuerteventura, you can enjoy a spiritual experience in an authentic encounter with nature. Beautiful suites with sea views designed for families with children who seek to blend in with the landscape of this incredible nature reserve. Breathe in the essence of the island from your window. Look forward to rooms and suites from which you can enjoy views of the pool or the Atlantic Ocean. From some, you can even choose the spot on the beach where you plan to put down your towel. Sixty seconds. It really only takes one minute to get to the beach from the hotel. Dive into the crystal clear sea with the whole family and discover its abundant sea life together. Search for your inner self. You’re on an incredibly spiritual island. An unparalleled setting for looking after your body and soul with a yoga session in the fitness room or a lomi lomi nui massage in the spa. Experience the magic of this wonderful island without even leaving the hotel. Activities especially for children. The youngest members of the family can truly enjoy themselves in the games pool, with a complete activity programme and an array of crafts to keep them entertained. They could even go home with their own medal! Discover the amazing cuisine. Have you ever tried young goat or Fuerteventura goat meat? At the hotel restaurant, you can try authentic, locally inspired dishes together with the best Spanish and international dishes. There’s also a specially designed children’s menu for youngsters to enjoy. Leave your coat at home. It’s a lovely day today. And tomorrow. And the day after. Fuerteventura boasts an average temperature of 21º, so the greeting “good morning” is always fitting here. You’ll only pick up your suitcase to put your warm clothes back in. Looking forward to seeing you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Gaviotas Park Hotel Playa De Jandia
IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas Park Playa De Jandia, Fuerteventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing