We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel - Shame about the Food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Globales Mediterrani
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cala Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel - Shame about the Food”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Mediterrani in Cala Blanca. The resort was very quiet (mid May 2014) and unspoilt and the hotel was clean and comfortable set in delightful grounds. The staff were generally friendly and helpful, especially the reception staff who were always cheerful. The entertainments couple worked tirelessly days and evenings and there were always a couple of activities each morning and afternoon that they organised. These included archery, rifle shooting, boules and quoit darts and other simple group activities. In the evening there was bingo, quizzes and displays of flamenco dancing as well as live or taped music.. There were always quiet places to drink coffee or beer and read if one desired. The Saga lounge was small but adequate and free tea and coffee making facilities always available. Biscuits arrived at 4.00pm!

The local busses stopped right outside the hotel garden so it was easy to get around and visit lots of other places in the area. Reception had bus time tables and other information.

A stunning but small local beach was just over the road (it had a bar!) and ten minutes up the road brought you to local shops, restaurants and bars. The hotel pool was served well with sun loungers and with easy access to the outside bar if desired although drinks were generally expensive.

The holiday was let down somewhat by the restaurant. The breakfasts were very good and orderable packed lunches were a delight with rolls and fresh fruit and we couldn't eat all that they put in our lunch bag! However, the main meals were a bit of a disappointment. They were remarkably similar each day - lunchtime or evening - and were rather bland. The soups tasted nothing like their description and seemed to be the same, whatever the title, with a grey or khaki colour added. There was very little meat on the menu and those dishes that purported to contain meat were either gristle or lumps of bone with very little meat on them. Most of the fish was very overcooked and, again, very very boney. The deserts were the same each day with the slight variation in that the large chocolate blancmange was in a different shaped bowl or mould. Some of the staff at the restaurant were rather grumpy and lacked any "bedside manner". We often spoke of ordering a packed lunch and eating it instead of a main meal at the hotel. Wine was provided with main meals but (as mentioned in a previous review) was very unpalatable. We felt that the hotel was possibly having to drastically economise on food quality and wine in the current financial climate. Such a shame as the hotel is lovely and in the most delightful position with uninterrupted views to the sea at the back and across the fields and woods at the front.
We would consider a return visit if the food was upgraded.

Room Tip: High floor. Rooms at the back overlook pool and garden with views to the sea. Rooms at the front h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    333
    173
    49
    18
See reviews for
136
468
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Didn't actually book this Hotel, we were booked into the sister Hotel Almirante Farragut in Cala'n Forcat. On arrival we were asked if we were prepared to change Hotels and resort (with no explanation as to why) and we would be upgraded to all inclusive free of charge.
Being intrigued we agreed.
On arrival we were given a really nice room, spotlessly clean and were very impressed.
Throughout our 5 day stay the bed sheets were changed every day as were the towels. The food was quite good although buffet style for every meal becomes very repetitive, but the quality was good, always fresh and well presented, the choice at every meal included meat and fish, lots of fresh salad and fruit.
Being all inclusive, you did not get the branded names of drinks - only local brands, although branded drinks were available if you were prepare to pay extra.
We were one of a small number of English guests under the age of 75, the rest were all on Saga Holidays, the majority of guests were from Spain or Italy and we did find the British were left out of things - the Bingo being called in Spanish of an evening for example.
As we are both quite young we did find the Hotel was not really for us.
We felt the staff paid more attention to Spanish and Italian visitors than any British guests.
This hotel seems to cater for weekend guests and not full holiday makers. Although it says you can't reserve beds by the pool, there were plenty with towels on them and not a lot of bodies in the pool.
Cala Blanca, were the Hotel is situated, is quite run down, with few shops, restaurants and bars and would not be my choice for a future stay in this lovely Island.
Overall, although the Hotel is quite nice, we would not go back again or recommend this area.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the car park would not be an obvious choice, but they are quieter and have the sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank COB1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

My wife and I were on a seven days SAGA holiday .We enjoyed our stay very much .The rooms were very pleasant and cleaned every day .The shower was not very good as the shower head could not be adjusted and was too high for my wife to reach .So each day she had a bath instead .The food was very good and the staff were very obliging ..Most spoke or understood English .The situation of the hotel is ideal for exploring the area with delightful little beaches within walking distance .
Our only disappointment was that although we overlooked the pool this meant we were also right above the bar area and the subsequent noise from people shouting and laughing etc. underneath our window .On a couple of occasions I rang reception but was told nothing could be done before 12 o`clock ,When, if necessary, the police could be contacted .
My wife and I would love to go back to this hotel but would insist on a room facing the other direction .

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front of the hotel are quieter .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NickibeeCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Lovely Hotel, very clean. Rooms cleaned every day and towels changed also. Lovely view of the sea and pool and also on clear days we could see the islands of Majorca and Ibiza from our balcony. Beach also lovely which is situated just across the road, great for snorkeling as the water is very clear, lots of fish. Sunbeds on the beach were expensive 15 Euros for two whether you stay all day or just an hour. Plenty of sunbeds around the pool at the Hotel which are free. Pool not heated, but OK once you get in. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food very nice. Drinks from the Hotel bar are expensive we found some bars 5 mins walk away are much cheaper. Bus stop is just outside the hotel and the bus fare is 1.65 Euro to travel into Cala Bosh and Citudella. The only downside is if the weather is bad, there isn't anything to do in the hotel.

On the whole we had a lovely weeks holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for the pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Clemy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aveley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I Stayed For I Week In May This Year. All Staff Very Helpful Especial The Lady And Gent Who Arranged The Activities If Required Each Day! The Food Was Good With Excellent Choice At All Meals. The Room Was Clean And Tidy Overlooking The Pool And Garden Which Is A Credit To The Hotel. It Is A Good Location For Getting About. A Five Minute Walk To Center Of Town. A Good Selection Of Shops And Bars. A Good Place To Watch Sunset! There Is A Beach Opposite The Hotel. I Hired A Car For 3 Days And Enjoyed Traveling All Round The Island. Will Go Back Again!

Room Tip: Ask For Room Overlooking Pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I would say that the location of the Hotel is good. We were there for 7 days 12th to 19th May 2014.
We arrived late due to Airline delay. Food was Okay but nothing really to rave about.
The quality of the House wine was awfull. All three of the choices were equally of very poor quality. Having suffered three days of this wine in the reataurant my wife and I tried a glass each of red and white in the Hotel Bar. We wish we had'nt. it was of the same poor standard.
I felt that customers on wine included with lunch and dinner were being treated as uneducated Moorons who would not know the diffenence in quality of wine. I have been on other Saga Holidays and always found the house wines to be of a quaffable standard... I complained to the Hotel manager and was informed that a higher entity that he had chosen the house wines and his hands were tied. He did however give us a discount on any wines bought for lunch and dinner for the remainder of our stay.

Hotel staff were friendly and cleanliness was standard. I would not recommend a wine included holiday at this hotel.

Room Tip: sea view definately
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Donald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We had our first Saga Holiday at this hotel, but have stayed there some years ago also. Lovely location in a quiet resort We had full board and there was plenty of choice even for me who is a vegetarian !! Pool was a bit cold but pool towels are available for a €10 deposit and can be changed daily. Lovely clean spacious rooms with a pool and sea view and a fridge Staff were helpful and friendly. Lots of day time activities if you wish to participate Evening entertainment a little disappointing Only had BBC world news on our TV Bus stop right outside and taxi nearby if required Not a resort for lively entertainment but great for relaxing and chilling out
The Saga lounge was great with tea and coffee available all the time also daily quiz or crosswords kept the grey matter working !!!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hazel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Blanca
2.8 mi away
Globales Club Almirante Farragut Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cala Blanca Sun Hotel
Cala Blanca Sun Hotel
#1 of 6 in Cala Blanca
1,240 reviews
7.0 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Sagitario Playa
Hotel Spa Sagitario Playa
#2 of 6 in Cala Blanca
422 reviews
0.7 mi away
Prinsotel La Caleta
Prinsotel La Caleta
#1 of 2 in Cala Santandria
1,107 reviews
11.2 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globales Mediterrani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Mediterrani

Property: Globales Mediterrani
Address: Urbanizacion de Cala Blanca, Poligono B, 07760 Cala Blanca, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Cala Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cala Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Globales Mediterrani 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Globales Mediterrani Hotel is located in the friendly residential area of Cala Blanca, 4km from Ciutadella, the former capital of Menorca and 50km from the airport. The hotel a few meters from the beach with its crystal blue waters and just outside the hotel you will find a bus stop with connections to the historical centre of Ciutadella. The virgin coves of the southern coast are only 12km away. The hotel has 180 comfortable non-smoking rooms and are fully equipped and surrounded by tranquil gardens. Most of the rooms have a sea view from which on a clear day it’s possible to see the island of Mallorca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Globales Mediterrani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterrani Hotel Cala Blanca
Globales Mediterrani Cala Blanca, Spain - Minorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing