We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be at least 3*”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Apartamentos Blancala
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Should be at least 3*”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We spent two weeks here last month and at first we could not quite settle into it but must admit after three days into holiday our views completely changed. Guests who had visited these apartments year after year gave us good tips and places to go and how to get there. We took the bus into the town and also into Calla Bosch, which were both worth a visit. Two small beaches are within walking distance with small bars/restaurants. The apartments offer good clean comfortable accommodation and the staff are very friendly and nothing a bother to them. Towels and bedding changed whenever you need them. We had a room with sea view which was stunning. We enjoyed our holiday so much we have booked again for May.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Izzymcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    133
    49
    17
    11
See reviews for
78
185
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales, UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My husband and I had a week in Blancarla from 4th October. Probably because of the lateness of the season,we had a full sea view at no additional cost. The views are fantastic, any closer to the sea and you'd be in it and it was lovely to sit on the balcony and listen to the waves as the sun slipped down the horizon. The nearest beach is Santandria, which can be reached in about a 10 minute walk through the streets - read the map before you start walking to make sure you get the shortest route as it's not the driving route, for which you have to go round the way one system. Cala Blanca beach is in the other direction but is a bit further to walk. Apparently the bus system is good but we hired a car for the week so didn't use it. Plenty of free parking on the road outside. There's a supermarket about 50 yards away and another one a few hundred yards further on, in the commercial centre (where there are also bars, cafes and a huge gift shop). I didn't notice too much difference in their prices, as usual each is cheaper in some things and dearer in others.

The apartment itself was very clean and towels were changed every day. The furniture and coverings are looking a bit tired and the cupboards all smelt very musty, the smell attaching to the dishes as well but they washed up okay. The basic equipment was all there, except for an electric kettle (although a hob-top kettle was available). Two hobs, a toaster, a microwave, frdige. Bins are not emptied, you have to take your bag down to the skips outside the apartment block every day. Washing up liquid was provided as was liquid soap in the bathroom, also a scouring pad, dishcloth and a very small tea towel. Our room (201) didn't have any aircon or ceiling fans but a freestanding fan was provided (as well as an electric heater!). Extra pillows and blankets were in the wardrobe. Plenty of hangers available, also a safe in the wardrobe which we didn't use so have no idea how much it would have cost.

Niggles - no door on the freezing compartment of the fridge so it frosted up very quickly; the fridge door had seen better days, it looked as if it had been painted to cover up broken enamel; the microwave switch wouldn't count down so you had to manually time the food and switch it off; knobs very loose on the cupboards and kept falling off. All in all though, the apartment is good value for relatively low cost and so some downsides have to be expected and lived with. What let the apartment down for us was the incredibly bad smell coming from the drains - we arrived at about 9pm after a long day's travelling and the smell hit us hard as soon as we opened the door - it literally smelt like an open sewer. As we were so very tired and the reception desk had closed at eight (we knew where to go because they left us a note by the desk and the keys in the apartment door) we gritted our teeth and went in anyway - fortunately it was a very hot night so we could leave the window open. We hardly slept though because the smell was really so bad, and we were going to ask to move to another room but in the morning we were talking to neighbours in another flat and they said they also had a bad smell so we didn't see the point, as at least this room had an excellent view. To be fair, as the week went on and we lived in the flat then the smell did improve, and of course we also bought air freshener, left on the bathroom light (and consequently the fan) and kept the bathroom door firmly shut at all times. It's hard to say if the owners could do anything about this, as I suspect drain smells are one of the hazards of living on a small island, certainly you get whiffs just walking down some of the town streets. But perhaps they could provide toilet blocks and air fresheners rather than expecting customers to do so?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKWelsh_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Certainly should be more than the official 2* rating. We picked a quick end of season holiday here at the beginning of October 2013 and were not quite sure what to expect as it is rated as a 2* hotel. We normally would not stay in a 2* but this hotel had very good reviews and the deal was very good.

The hotel is on the front at Cala Blanca and had great views out to sea. The frontage was all (volcanic?) Rock with a sea inlet on one side of the hotel. No beach at the hotel but a short walk in either direction bought you to clean sandy beaches.

The room we had was perhaps a little old but absolutely spotlessly clean. The bathroom was excellent and had been nicely redecorated - clean towels every day. There was no air conditioning, but the room and the bedroom both had fans which kept us cool at night. The kitchenette was also very clean.

There was a spacious balcony with partial sea view. The hotel has two swimming pools, one of which looked as if it was in need of cleaning. It also had crazy golf, pool and football games.

There is a restaurant at the hotel but as we like to try a different restaurant every night we did not eat there so cannot comment.

No onsite parking but we left the car on the quiet road outside the hotel and this was fine.

The area the hotel in appeared very quiet, but this was the first week in October, but lots of restaurants were still open just a short walk down the road (great - did not have to drive at night so we could have a few drinks without worrying about driving)

All in all, we had a cracking late holiday in a really good hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a room directly facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rin1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This last minute break was good value for money. The location of the apartment was lovely overlooking the sea with magnificent sunsets. We went half board as it was nearing the end of the season and we expected the resort to be quiet and it was very quiet. The restaurant at the apartments offered a different choice of starters, mains and desserts every night and the restaurant owner offered safe choices as well as authentic Menorcan dishes which we really enjoyed. The staff were very friendly and seemed to have boundless energy even though they must have been on their knees after a busy season. Good on you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I was slightly worried when i booked this hotel because the reveiws at the time werent great and it was very very cheap!! However, i needed not be! The hotel is in an amazing location, nothing is further than a short walk! And cuitadella is a short bus ride, less than 2euro each! (Bus stop near enough outside hotel!) the room was clean and the veiw from our balcony was lovely, and amazing at night as the sun sets behind hotel! There are 2 pools, which are spotless! There is also a bar and resturaunt area by one of the pools which is open all day! The bar staff in this bar/ resturaunt are fantastic, especially the main guy who went out of his way to make everyone feel welcome!! They also have free wifi here which is handy! I very rarely write a reveiw but this hotel was great value and perfect for what we wanted! (Chilled out honeymoon!) thank u Blancala!! We will be back!! X

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dani T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Great apartments in nice quiet location, with fantastic views of sunset and across to Cuitadella. Close enough to shops (Julia's is well stocked), bars and restaurants. Has two swimming pools and a bar and restaurant on site and Cala Blanca beach within a 10 minute walk. Staff great. Apartment furniture a little dated, but very practical, comfortable and clean. Note, no kettle, but 10 hangers in cupboard and safe is free with a reasonable deposit. No air con but upper floors have windows and patio doors that fully open. Want a base for exploring island or a nice place for a relaxing holiday, this is perfect!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Clean, tidy, location, peaceful and kid free what more can I say!! The staff at the complex were friendly and polite. We had cleaners everyday with towels and bedding when we needed them and extra if we required. The Apartments are in an idea location which can be used as a base if you wish to explore the island and if your really feeling energetic within walking distance of the old capital Cuitadella. Beautiful sunsets every night with excellent views from the apartments and restaurants further along the road for those romantics out there. Two beaches within walking distance if you prefer a change from the pools (x2). I would recommend Il Vespro for eating/drinking and The Blarney Stone Pub (especially for those who don't want to miss their footie). Restaurant Jennys is also nice if you fancy an alternative with a 3 course meal including wine or water at 9,95 euros per head. We are already on the case to book for next summer!!!!! Don't stay here if you want lively as when we say peaceful we mean peaceful - Lovely it is indeed!!

Room Tip: Choose a room with sea view for the sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pooee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Blanca
0.4 mi away
Prinsotel La Caleta
Prinsotel La Caleta
#1 of 2 in Cala Santandria
1,177 reviews
3.4 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,198 reviews
13.3 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Port Ciutadella
Port Ciutadella
#3 of 56 in Ciutadella
803 reviews
2.8 mi away
HYB Sea Club
HYB Sea Club
#11 of 56 in Ciutadella
729 reviews
14.1 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Blancala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Blancala

Property: Apartamentos Blancala
Address: Avenida Cala Blanca, 10 | Ciutadella de Menorca, 07760 Cala Blanca, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Cala Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Cala Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Apartamentos Blancala 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments Blancala Menorca are ideal for those who travel by family, couple or with your group of friends. Our quiet complex of 80 apartments is located just 3km from the Centre of Ciutadella, 300 metres from the beach of Santandria and 600 metres from Cala Blanca. The complex consists of 4 buildings of 20 apartments each, distributed in 3 different plants. Enjoy our prime location next to the sea and discover the wonderful views over the Bay of Ciutadella. The best sunsets on the island are insured. Ciutadella is the second town of the island of Menorca, behind Mahon. Blancala has two swimming pools for adults and children, solarium with deck chairs and awnings, as well as a children's playground. Enjoy your holidays in Menorca with our wide range of services in which you will find, for example, a high quality Wi-Fi access in all our common areas. Our staff will advise you and help you in everything you could possibly need during your stay in our apartments. Live a nice day in our minigolf course or take the challenge of taking excursions. You can ask for information and hire them in our reception. Besides, we offer complete breakfasts for those who love to start the day with a delicious moment. You will be able to choose between 6 different types of breakfast, form the Continental to the English breakfast and we also offer a special breakfast for children. *INFORMATION ABOUT HALF-BOARD ACCOMMODATION: This rate includes accommodation, breakfast and dinner. There is a possibility of changing dinner for lunch but this change must be informed at the reception of the establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartamentos Blancala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Blancala Hotel Cala Blanca
Apartamentos Blancala Ciudadela
Apartamentos Blancala Hotel Ciudadela
Apartamentos Blancala Cala Blanca, Spain - Minorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing