We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing holiday!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Atlantica Porto Bello Beach
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2014

MAY 6th-13th
This was our first holiday together! It was also the best holiday ever!
The rooms were pretty average, but it was clean so it didn't matter! we had a lovely view from our balcony, the beach one side and rocky hills the other side!
Everyone in the hotel was VERY friendly and helpful, we couldn't have asked for more!
We got to do some amazing things that we'd never done before!- We went paracending, jet skiing and even went to Turkey for the day!
The weather was so good 31 degrees! There was only one day where it rained, but it was hot and didnt last for long!
The only things i can fault is that at meal times you've got your food then you are standing around with hot food waiting for a table and the bus times are awful if you want to go to kardamena or kos town.. you can get there, but getting back.. there are big gaps so you are stuck there!
I would 10000000% go again!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Hannahmpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay in our hotel, and thank you for your suggestions.

I am glad you enjoyed the view from the balcony. We are lucky to have this unbeatable panorama.

I am so proud to hear your opinion about our working team and I know that their hard work is recognized by most of our guests.

Thank you once more and I hope to see you again in our hotel soon!

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management.
Atlantica Porto Bello Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

510 - 516 of 1,132 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

Just returned from 7 nights at the porto bello beach.When we arrived we were asked for 25e for the safe,not a deposit but a payment.Never been to any 4* hotel where we have been asked to pay for the safe.Next we were taken to a dark depressing room that was more like a 1*,we spent all night tring to get through to the so called helpline,we got no joy there so went to meet the rep the following day,he didnt seem too interested but in all fairness he did eventually get us moved to another room,vast improvement on the previous one.So after a bad start we did have a lovely week here.We have previously stayed at the Carda beach just down the road which I have to say is what 4* hotels should be like.However the beach at porto bello is beautiful and better than the Carda,the beach was spotless and lots of sunbeds.All sand and gently shelving into the sea.The food was very good but gets repetitive after a few days,but always hot.There were only 8 of us that were Brits the rest were germans,It would have been lovely to have a conversation with other guests.Lovely pool area and friendly staff,always smiling and polite.We were bored at night as nothing to do so went into Kardenema a couple of evenings,The Stone Roses Bar is great although at this time of year theres not many people around,its very quiet everywhere.All in all it turned out ok but 4*??? maybe the reception area and the beach,but not the rooms.Nearly forgot!! dont bother with the italian restaurant! its exactly the same as main restaurant,buffet and not waiter service! terrible and not an italian restaurant!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank dragonflyDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear DragonflyDerbyshire,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel.

It is a pleasure to hear that you spent a lovely week with us and that you enjoyed our fantastic beach, the food, the pool area and our friendly staff.

I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced and I deeply regret to hear your disappointment on the level of services that took place during your first evening.

Thank you ones more for your feedback.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management.

Atlantica Porto Bello Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This hotel has all the basic ingredients for paradise. Fabulous sandy beach gently shelving into the Aegean with views if a clutch of small islands. Beautiful pool with swim up bar set in lovely gardens. Rooms are well appointed and no more than two storey in a random layout which adds interest some have sea views but those over the garden are peaceful. Bathroom with large walk in shower. TV with numerous entertainment channels but only CNN news is in english. Fridge with nothing in it even though its an all inclusive hotel and maybe if this had been filled it would have avoided the massive queue at the one bar open in the evening and the inadequate number of seats which meant when you got a drink you had to stand or sit on the marble steps. Food was not 4 star quality and we had beef disguised as veal and chicken described as rabbit and fish that was just mushy and white. All the food was luke warm and they provided a microwave. Enough said? However what Thomson/First Choice dont mention is their allocation of rooms is a drop in the ocean of every european country you can name and some you can't. We returned yesterday and for the first 5 days of our stay never heard another british voice. We were in fact 2 of 6. Entertainment in the evening is in a large concrete ampitheatre which meant it cannot operate in bad weather and when that happens there is no attempt to organise anything in the hotel. Staff are good at their job but there is very limited interaction . Free wifi becomes overloaded as everyone tries to find their own entertainment. If only they employed a director with vision this hotel could be superb. Atlantica group take note.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Maggie5357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Maggie5357,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

I am really glad to hear your opinion about the hotel in general, the beautiful beach, pool and rooms.

I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced and I deeply regret to hear your disappointment on the level of services that took place during your stay. It seems like the weather wasn't very nice and you couldn't enjoy our outdoor facilities.

Thank you very much for your suggestions. This helps us to improve our services.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management.

Atlantica Porto Bello Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Clean modern hotel and that's the best points. There is no atmosphere here at all. Yes it's peaceful but please let someone try and make it more fun!!! There are not enough seats in lounge in the evening and no music. Standing up all night and queuing at the bar is not my idea of holiday. Also hot food would be nice, sorry won't go back there again

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Janice,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor.
I am glad you found our hotel clean, modern and peaceful.
I am sorry if you didn’t enjoy our evening entertainment.
I would like to know if you have visited our theater in the evening or the Beach Bar with the music until 1am.
I apology if the food wasn’t hot enough for you. There is always an option to warm up the food if there is a need.
Thank you once more for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here beginning Sept.
All reports you read are basically correct.
What you have to bare in mind is that the Porto Bello Beach is next to its sister hotel the Royal, which is a 5 star, so the beach doesn't want to improve or they they wouldn't be able to offer anything different and be able to cater for the guests that cant afford a 5 star.
But saying that the beach is much better at this hotel, but guests from the Royal can use it.
There is noise from low airplanes, but you get used to it.
Reserving sunbeds, you might get a bed on the beach before 10 if you are lucky, but not around pool, also a lot of beds have towels on all day or at least half day. I have stayed at hotels before where they would be taken off.
Restaurants, don't know why they say long trouser both in room information and big sign as you go into the restaurants, allow guests with sports shorts and football shirts in. Could have at least enforced this rule for specialist restaurants.
The majority of guests are Italians and Russians, but I would say that the Russians here are a lot better behaved than I have come across in the past, mostly families.
But saying all the negatives, like everyone says, what makes this hotel is the staff, from the cleaners to the bar/restaurant staff, they are some of the friendless I have ever come across and unlike a lot, don't do it for tips.
I would like to mention all the girls at the hotel bar, Angela and her team, Zaneta, Louba and Milena. The terrace is a great place to sit, I have never seen anywhere that is looked after so well, tables always kept clean and always in line, she does a great job.
There is a bus into local town, went in to watch football and also had a good Indian meal at the Taj Mayal, made change.

Room Tip: We stayed at the top. There are some nice rooms right on the beach. But it is a small complex so no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pete11419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Pete11419,

Thank you very much for your review.

It is a please to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the service provided by our staff.

Valuable feedback like yours, help us to improve our service and standard.

Once again thank you very much for your review and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management.
Atlantica Porto Bello Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Good points - Excellent location and despite being full, very peaceful. All Staff are excellent and always happy to help, reception staff - Tamara and Melke (not sure name spelt correctly) were professional and so helpful, Food choice good and all food areas clean - beach bar and pool bar staff worked hard and kept all areas tidy and clean, ladies in mini market friendly and we got some gifts 'on tick' for a day as they didn't have change! Rooms by pools have great views and you feel spoilt in such beautiful surrroundings. The hotel manager was visible daily as he went around all the bars and public rooms - he was obviously interested in what was going on and no doubt it gave the staff a boost to see his interest. Waling into see is best at the Portobello Beach end past the watersports hut as there are no rocks as you go in, trip to Vocanic Island very good
Not so good points - room and bathrooms not cleaned properly daily. Very surprised as all public areas clean. Thomson rep was noticeable by his absence and total lack of interest, speciality Italian restaurant wasn't as good as the main restaurant.
General - Good to have less Brits and different nationalities- fab choice of food, keen motivated staff, lovely location , plane noise not remotely intrusive

Room Tip: Rooms facing pools best. We has 312. Family had 215. Ask to change if you feel unhappy. We did and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geraldine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

my wife and I returned for our second visit to this hotel and again we enjoyed a lovely holiday . We had a lovely room overlooking the pool which was comfortable and well maintained .The staff again were a credit to the hotel , very friendly and helpful .We got the impression more Greek people were working there this year , last year we felt there were more from other countries .The reception staff were particularily helpful and spoke excellent English .

This year we noticed considerably more Russian guests , last year more Italians .Most guests were polite and friendly but the older Russians could be very rude at times to the staff who were clearly unimpressed .Very few English guests this year .

The food standard was generally very good , however sometimes lukewarm if not eating from the show cooking .The Greek and Italian restaraunts are also buffet style and the food is very similar to the main buffet , the staff just clear tables and we wondered if they could have not perhaps served you a drink at the table to make the experience a bit different .

The beach is great and the sea clear and warm . There is also a lovely beach bar which serves snack food and ice creams .Again lovely staff there .

We would certainly return at some stage .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank harveyheights8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Harveyheights8,

Thank you very much for your kind review, and for choosing our hotel for the second time.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your opinion is very valuable to our future guests.

Once more thank you for your feedback and hope to see you for he third time in our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management.
Atlantica Porto Bello Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamena
4.9 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
10.9 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
4.4 mi away
Akti Beach Club Hotel
Akti Beach Club Hotel
#9 of 39 in Kardamena
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Mitsis Norida Beach Hotel
1.4 mi away
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
#4 of 39 in Kardamena
488 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kalimera Mare Hotel
Kalimera Mare Hotel
#10 of 39 in Kardamena
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantica Porto Bello Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Porto Bello Beach

Address: Kardamena 85302, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kardamena
#7 Family Hotel in Kardamena
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range: $86 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantica Porto Bello Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Bookgreece.com so you can book your Atlantica Porto Bello Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantica Hotel Kardamena
Atlantica Hotel Porto Bello Beach
Atlantica Porto Bello Beach Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing