We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel....but....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Atlantica Mikri Poli Kos
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Crewe
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel....but....”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had a lovely time at this hotel The food was good, plentiful and always fresh. The hotel grounds were lovely and cared for and the staff are a credit to the hotel. Katerina and Popi on reception were always very helpful and polite, Elli and Katerina in the restaurants were also very nice, always giving our baby lots of attention, to the point where he would spend the whole meal looking for them.

There are a few things, which could easily be rectified that would really give this hotel the finishing touch.

1. The beds are so hard. Mr Vassilopoulos, I urge you to sleep 1 night (let alone 10) on these beds. It would have been more comfortable sleeping on the floor and I'm not exagerrating.

2. The soft drinks are not nice. The greek brand used by the hotel are overly sweet. We had several friends staying in Kos in Kardemena (in 4 star hotels) where actual sprite, pepsi, fanta etc were included in the all inclusive, and the drinks were free as long as the bar was open (1am).

3. A few of the kids activities (air hockey in reception), table tennis (in the outdoor fitness studio) were broken / out of use - and it's a shame, as these should have been available for use.

4. I understand the premise of paying a deposit for the beach towels, but I don;t understand the additional 5 euro per towel charge (I assume this is to do with the cleaning costs?). I would suggest that as standard the cost of the towels should be incorporated into the cost of the room and transparent to the guest. If this was a 3 star, I would understand the policy... but not in a 5 star.


To end of a positive note, the animation team were great. We weren't sure about the shows at first, but having given them a chance, they were actually quite funny, in a childish, silly way - but they kept our kids amused and as long as they were happy, we were happy. we loved how the shows ended with the Opa Opa song and dance, which we have been trying to remember, but can't. so please can you post this on a youtube so we can remember our holiday dance.

Room Tip: We picked a sea view room.... so I would recommend this, as all the other rooms, seem to look out on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moorph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George V, Manager at Atlantica Mikri Poli Kos, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Moorph

Thank you for your recent stay and positive feedback about our staff and services.

We are happy to have provided you with an enjoyable experience and to know that our brand concept focusing on quality at a value was so much appreciated by yourself.

Your good words abouth the Animation Team, Popi & Katerina at Reception and Ellie & Katerina at the Restaurant have been passed on to them.

All the issues you faced during your stay such as the beds, the drinks and the costs are truly taken under serious consideration and be sure that they will be tackled appropriately.

We are so happy that you reward in such a way the efforts of all our staff in providing a great experience. They all work very hard to do that.

All my colleagues join me in wishing you the best and we await your next stay at our hotel.

With our warmest regards from the island of the Sun -Kos-.
Sincerely.

*George Vassilopoulos, Hotel Manager, gm.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com ,
tel: +30 22420 92414
*Kostas Zois – Front of House Manager, info.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com ,
tel: +30 22420 92411
*Rosana Pasaris – Reservations Manager, reservations.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com
tel: +30 22420 91332
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    205
    98
    30
    13
See reviews for
289
130
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a ten day holiday 2 adults and 2 children aged 11 and 14 at the mikri poli kos. We had a great time there where plenty of activities to do in the day with the animation team such pilates, water aerobics,zumba and fun games such as darts and bingo. The animation team came round and asked everyone if they wanted to join in everytime there was an activity, but if you wanted to chill out and said no you weren't hassled. A big special thank you to Barbara from the animation team for the water aerobic and zumba classes which were great fun she is brilliant. Entertainment at night is very kind of butlinsish with the team getting people up on stage etc. The food had lots of choice but had a theme of rice pasta and French fries then salads meat vegetarian stuff at lunch and dinner.we had a Greek and Mexican themed night. Some of the curry dishes had chicken on the bone and the pork had alot of fat on it but that's my opinion. Rudolf and the girls at the pool bar worked so hard and where so friendly so a big thankyou to them.

I would give this hotel a general 3 star if it was an English hotel with such as Hilton being a 5 here in UK.

We had a fab time just a couple of drawbacks.when we arrived we were told they hadn't got the room we booked so we had to sleep in the carda beach hotel a stone throw away next door which is the sister hotel but adults only so we couldn't use there pool etc because we had children. But the room was fantastic and we were compensated with a free safe beach towels and a late room check out which came to around 70 euros equivalent. We were told by our rep that a few people had been put in carda beach as mistakes had been made with overbookIng.

The only thing I though was very bad was at the peak of high season there wasn't enough sunbeds to go round even though there is so much room by the pool and grass area it didn't make sense? Our 1st day we arrived at 8am by the pool to find every sun bed taken which was shocking back to the old days of towels on beds of the past!!. We were advised by a English couple who had been there for a week to get down at 6am to get a bed. This ended up being the theme of the 10days with having to set an alarm at 6am to get up put towels down then go back to bed which you dont want to be doing when your on holiday. This is a serious issue which could be fixed so easily with just having more sunbeds.

So overall a good holiday great staff a good mix of English German Italian French holiday makers. A amendment in the overbooked rooms and sunbed situation would have made it a excellent holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikki E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George V, Manager at Atlantica Mikri Poli Kos, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Nikki E

Thank you for your recent stay and positive feedback about our staff and services.

We are happy to have provided you with an enjoyable experience and to know that our brand concept focusing on quality at a value was so much appreciated by yourself.

Your good words abouth Barbara and the Animation Team have been passed on to them.
All my colleagues join me in wishing you the best and we await your next stay at our hotel.

The problem with the sun beds has been solved with adding another 100 sundebds at the swimming pool. We apologise, that this happened after your departure but still, it shows that we try to tackle every issue we face.

We are so happy that you reward in such a way the efforts of all our staff in providing a great experience. They all work very hard to do that.

With our warmest regards from the island of the Sun -Kos-.
Sincerely.

*George Vassilopoulos, Hotel Manager, gm.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com ,
tel: +30 22420 92414
*Kostas Zois – Front of House Manager, info.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com ,
tel: +30 22420 92411
*Rosana Pasaris – Reservations Manager, reservations.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com
tel: +30 22420 91332
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hotel is great . we stayed in a family room , 2 single beds with a sliding partition to separate from the double bed . room was spacious ,clean and modern . it had a fridge , a tv ,( news only) the bathroom had a good shower , hairdryer and plenty of towels.
The food was plentiful and fresh , something for everyone . plenty of Greek dishes . they made an effort with themed evenings. Manager made an effort to meet and greet.
Staff worked hard and were pleasant.
The animation team made a lot of effort , were friendly and the evening shows were good holiday fun
The pools are fantastic
The beach is across the road , with complimentary sunbeds and umbrellas .it is a narrow beach , sandy but rocky when getting in the sea , there is a pontoon to get you in the water without going over the rocks.
The hotel is 10 mins walk from kardemena where there are bars , restaurants ,beach and clubs
All inclusive soft drinks are quite sugary , buy bottled water from the shop ( 1 euro for big bottle)
All inclusive ice cream in the afternoon and snacks , are OK.
We hired a car for a day for £35 , just went to kos town and paradise beach.should have probably hired it for another day to visit Zia . the car hire company at the hotel were very good.
Take a look at the other sent I do hotels , they all look good :)

Room Tip: If you end up at the top part of the hotel , you will need to climb 40 steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louieSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George V, Manager at Atlantica Mikri Poli Kos, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear louieSurrey

Thanks for awarding us the highest possible rating for your recent stay.

We are happy to have provided you with an enjoyable experience and to know that our brand concept focusing on quality at a value was so much appreciated by yourself.

All my colleagues join me in wishing you the best and we await your next stay at our hotel.

With our warmest regards from the island of the Sun -Kos-.
Sincerely.

George Vassilopoulos, Hotel Manager, gm.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com ,
tel: +30 22420 92414
Kostas Zois – Front of House Manager, info.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com ,
tel: +30 22420 92411
Rosana Pasaris – Reservations Manager, reservations.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com
tel: +30 22420 91332
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed here with 2 young children I must say the kids entertainers were the best I have come across my kids thought they were brilliant and evening entertainment was very good. Rooms were very clean and plenty of room for all 4 of us. Pool a very good size. Food was good and restaurant was open longer than where I have been before. The only let down was the all inclusive drinks the kids didnt like the cheaper brands and as for the wine was like water. This was the only thing that needs improving but over all a good holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pchad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George V, Manager at Atlantica Mikri Poli Kos, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear pchad

Thank you for your recent stay and positive feedback about our staff and services.

We are happy to have provided you with an enjoyable experience and to know that our brand concept focusing on quality at a value was so much appreciated by yourself.

Our focus remains on practicality and affordability and offering all the essentials for todays' travelers at a value.

All my colleagues join me in wishing you the best and we await your next stay at our hotel.

With our warmest regards from the island of the Sun -Kos-.
Sincerely.

*George Vassilopoulos, Hotel Manager, gm.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com ,
tel: +30 22420 92414
*Kostas Zois – Front of House Manager, info.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com ,
tel: +30 22420 92411
*Rosana Pasaris – Reservations Manager, reservations.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com
tel: +30 22420 91332
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the Mikri Poli and had a great holiday. We travelled as a family of 4 (children aged 18 and 13). This is a beautiful hotel in a great location with very friendly staff. Our daughter celebrated her birthday whilst we were there and they provided a lovely birthday cake which was really appreciated. The beach is fine, yes it's a bit rocky on the edge of the sea but once you are over the rocks then it is beautiful and sandy under foot and the water is really clear, there are walkways dotted along the shore line to help you to get into the sea without walking over the rocks (but be careful because they can be a bit slippy). The sunbeds on the beach are also included in the AI package and on the couple of occasions where we were unable to get sunbeds by the pool we always got them at the beach.
Positives :-
- very clean hotel
- great, clean, large pool (very cold but just what you need on a really hot day)
- great food with plenty of choice
- great staff, the animation team were fantastic and really friendly. We only went to one evening show so can't really comment on the shows but during the day they were great and worked really hard, special mention to Claudio, Barbara and Arthur but they were all great. The bar staff were always friendly despite being really busy at certain times of the day. Staff in the restaurant also worked really hard and special thanks to Spas who always greeted us with a smile and a hello.

The only reason I have not given this hotel a 5 rating is for the following reasons (and it wouldn't take much to put right):-
- Air con is great but very noisy and it took us a few nights to get used to the noise
- Often ran out of glasses in the restaurant and sometimes had to wait a few minutes before they were replaced
- not enough sunbeds in high season, there is loads of space around the pool and on the grass so space isn't the issue
- not enough outside seating for the blue bar in the evening
- blue bar is very busy in the evening as it is the only bar open. There is not enough staff on this bar in high season. The pool bar closed at 6pm, it would be better to keep this open as an alternative bar as it would be lovely in the evening to sit out overlooking the sea.

Overall we had a great holiday and met some lovely people, the walk into Kardamena is pleasant enough (although very hot in the day) and there are some lovely bars and restaurants there as an alternative. I would recommend this hotel particularly for families and would return without hesitation. It is great hotel and it wouldn't take much at all to make it fantastic.

(On a side note although it states that men have to wear long trousers in the restaurants for dinner this was not enforced and most men wore shorts, which my husband was very pleased about)

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, some rooms look out onto the back of other rooms so not all rooms have a view. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hols2010x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George V, Manager at Atlantica Mikri Poli Kos, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear hols2010x

Thank you for your recent stay and positive feedback about our staff and services.

We are happy to know that our brand concept focusing on quality at a value were appreciated by yourself.

As you have mentioned, - Our location is much appreciated by most guests like yourself, being close to the airport and walking distance to Kardamena, beautiful beaches around the island and a lot more.

Our focus remains on practicality and affordability and offering all the essentials for todays' travelers at a value.

All my colleagues join me in wishing you the best and we await your next stay at our hotel.

We are so happy that you reward in such a way the efforts of all our staff in providing a great experience. They all work very hard to do that.

With our warmest regards from the island of the Sun -Kos-.
Sincerely.

*George Vassilopoulos, Hotel Manager, gm.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com ,
tel: +30 22420 92414
*Kostas Zois – Front of House Manager, info.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com ,
tel: +30 22420 92411
*Rosana Pasaris – Reservations Manager, reservations.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com
tel: +30 22420 91332
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Having been recently diagnosed with coeliac disease I was worried about the food as we had booked this all inclusive holiday prior to the diagnosis. I emailed the hotel and received a very friendly email in response, saying all I had to do was speak to the chef. I did - Chef Petros was FAB! I wouldn't suggest that this hotel become the Coeliac holiday centre of Kos but I had no problems at all. Even bread was freshly baked for me.
Our room was spotless, as was the entire hotel. The staff in both the pool bar and the blue bar (Rudolf and co and especially Tia) worked their socks off but these bars aren't well designed for the staff and delays in service are inevitable. Tea and coffee are not replenished throughout your stay and only 1 bottle of water is supplied.
Sunbeds are a different matter though and there simply aren't enough. 6.30am and not one to be had. We had sun beds on 1 day out of 14.
Special mention has to be made of the reception staff, especially Katerina who tracked down my luggage which had not arrived in Kos when I did and appears to have been on a tour of he middle east judging by the labels. She did what the Cosmos rep couldn't.
The animation team could not have been friendlier and although we had no kids in tow still tried to involve us in their antics. Barbara from Hungary teaches tai chi, pilates and water aerobics, so take advantage.
Our 2 weeks was over too soon but you should be aware that the Greek economy is in freefall and everything is much more expensive than it is at home or just a year ago in Greece so be prepared to pay more for your day trips, water and any meals out you decide to take.

Room Tip: Some rooms are high up a long stone staircase or up steep slopes, not realy suitable for anyone with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreyLady_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George V, Manager at Atlantica Mikri Poli Kos, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear GreyLady_11

Thank you for your recent stay and positive feedback about our staff and services.

We are happy to have provided you with an enjoyable experience and to know that our brand concept focusing on quality at a value was so much appreciated by yourself.

Your good words regarding the food have been passed on to the Chef .
"" Chef Petros was FAB! I wouldn't suggest that this hotel become the Coeliac holiday centre of Kos but I had no problems at all. Even bread was freshly baked for me. ""

Your good words regarding "Katerina" at Reception and the Animation Team were passed on to her too .

All my colleagues join me in wishing you the best and we await your next stay at our hotel.

We are so happy that you reward in such a way the efforts of all our staff in providing a great experience. They all work very hard to do that.

As far as the Greek Economy is concerned we are positive that very soon we will be back on track always being an ideal and SAFE destination for your vacations.

With our warmest regards from the island of the Sun -Kos-.
Sincerely.

*George Vassilopoulos, Hotel Manager, gm.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com ,
tel: +30 22420 92414
*Kostas Zois – Front of House Manager, info.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com ,
tel: +30 22420 92411
*Rosana Pasaris – Reservations Manager, reservations.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com
tel: +30 22420 91332
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We have been there only 3 days and were very satisfied with all aspects of this beautiful and clean Hotel. although there was a misunderstanding about the room reservation, the Hotel staff, and especially Mr Kostas and Mrs Christina from the reception, worked hard to solve the problem, and they succeed to do it on the best side. It was really a remarkable human relation experience, characterized by politness, efficacy and good will!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 326Saul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George V, Manager at Atlantica Mikri Poli Kos, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear 326 Saul

Thanks for awarding us the highest possible rating for your recent stay. We are happy to have provided you with an enjoyable experience and to know that our brand concept focusing on quality at a value was so much appreciated by yourself.

Your good words regarding Mr Kostas and Mrs Katerina at Reception have been passed on to them individually.

All my colleagues join me in wishing you the best and we await your next stay at our hotel.

With our warmest regards from the island of the Sun -Kos-.
Sincerely.

George Vassilopoulos, Hotel Manager, gm.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com ,
tel: +30 22420 92414
Kostas Zois – Front of House Manager, info.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com ,
tel: +30 22420 92411
Rosana Pasaris – Reservations Manager, reservations.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com
tel: +30 22420 91332
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamena
0.2 mi away
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
#2 of 39 in Kardamena
258 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sovereign Beach Hotel
Sovereign Beach Hotel
#16 of 39 in Kardamena
772 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lakitira Suites
Lakitira Suites
#12 of 39 in Kardamena
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Mitsis Norida Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Nissia Kamares Hotel Apartments
5.7 mi away
Kouros Palace
Kouros Palace
#6 of 15 in Mastichari
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantica Mikri Poli Kos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Mikri Poli Kos

Property: Atlantica Mikri Poli Kos
Address: Kardamena, Kardamena 853 02, Greece (Formerly Mikri Poli Kos)
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kardamena
#8 Spa Hotel in Kardamena
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#15 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#20 Family Hotel in Kardamena
#21 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlantica Mikri Poli Kos 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mikri Poli Kos is located on Kos island…amphitheatrically built on a rocky slope running down to the beach.This family friendly resort presents 175 guestrooms in two-level buildings, elegant, fresh and comfortable.Enjoy magnificent views from your balcony or simply open your door and dive into the pool! Warm blue waters, intoxicating sea views, relaxed and stylish interiors, delightful dining, exciting family activities… a special place with a special kind of hospitality that welcomes each guest and creates everlasting memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Atlantica Mikri Poli Kos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mikri Poli Kos Hotel Kardamena
Mikri Poli Kos Kardamena
Atlantica Mikri Poli Kos Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing