We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Family Holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lakitira Resort & Village
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Lovely Family Holiday!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Had a great time here with other friends and family. The resort is well placed in a quieter area of this island (away from the younger drunken crowd) and has great faciltiies, including two seprate beaches so you can have fun with the kids before they hit kids club in the morning or afternoon, then onto the adutbeach for a little peace and quiet.

The sports facilities are really good here with free use of lazers and other sail boats, plus the canoes etc The beach s great if you want an early morning or evening run as it streches for miles and is accessible for all to use. The water is typically Med and is pretty shallow a long way out making it perfect for watersports.

The nanies are all Brtish and max numbers are observed which is comforting - the boys had a great time whilst with the kids club which also takes the out to do stuff.

Had a ground floor room which was a little pokey, bubt he kids half of the room was a nice feature, again a little pokey thyough.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms open up nicely onto the grassy areas but bring a bike D lock for the doors as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CityGuy1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakitira-Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Lakitira Resort & Village, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is encouraging to read positive comments about our Resort. We thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Lakitira Resort and Village with other travelers. We are very glad you enjoyed the hotel and the area and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    195
    62
    21
    9
See reviews for
289
132
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

The resort is less than 15 minutes away from the airport. It is great you don't need a long transfer, but it also means that at least once an hour a plane comes over quite low from morning until evening (latest I heard was 23:15).

Arrival at the resort was managed well with a smooth check in and all our luggage delivered to the room. We had some queries about the room and were offered an alternative at no charge and no quibles.

The room was nice, especially the 'new' one on the ground floor with garden access. Everything was comfortable and clean with one exception. In addition to our double bed we had two sleeping sofas. These were actual sofas, not sofabeds, which were very firm and uncomfortable. also these sofas were short, so anyone taller than 5'4" would probably struggle.

The included breakfast and dinner buffet was great with a nice choice of foods. The breakfast buffet was vast and unchanged, whilst the dinner included quite a bit of variation in the dishes. We tried the restaurant one night, but that was not worth the extra money. One comment about the food, the children's options were much more limited especially the healthy options. Apart from the pizza, nuggets, pasta etc there was usually 1 veg option like broccoli, peas or carrots. It was difficult to maintain a diet similar to what they get at home.

The staff was great both from Mark Warner as well as the hotel. They all worked very hard to help and ensure our stay was great.

We also loved all the activities, most of them free. The sailing, surfing, and I even went diving one day. Some also went mountainbiking and that was fun, although it was getting bit too warm for the 30+km rides. The hotel animation team also organised some other acitvities like beach volleyball and waterpolo during the day and on one of the evenings we had karaoke. That was good fun.

For us the most important thing was probably the child care. There are some great positives in that, and we would love to do that again. Both our kids (4 & 2) loved the care and gladly went there. They did some wonderful things like crafts, sailing, kayaking etc. In the evening the toddlers watched a movie and therein lies some of the improvement. I would suggest getting a bigger tv, that old tv should be replaced really. On the other hand I think it is worth considering a different evening activity. The children did go to bed very late.

If we would do something different is charge everything to our room. We had a massive room charge, more than double any of the others in our group had and unfortuantely the information on the bill does not really allow you to check it. The system could be better, but ultimately it is our own responsibility I would bring enough euros and pay cash.

I have tried to share the positives and the negatives to provide a balanced view, hopefully it shines through that there are many positives. We would love to go again

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor facing the sea are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micbiel70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakitira-Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Lakitira Resort & Village, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about Lakitira Resort and Village. We are very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel.

Thank you as well for providing us with some usefull feedback regarding children's menu. We will address the point to our chefs to improve the vegetavle choices.

We wish you all the best and we look forward to welcoming you back!

With kind regards,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed at the Lakitira resort booked through Mark Warner. The resort is very handy for the airport as it is a short 15 min coach journey away, (we booked the transfers through Resorthoppa, half the price of a taxi). We had a deluxe sea view room which was very spacious and had a great view through the patio doors .....of the sea ! Very clean and bed was a good standard, aircon worked well when needed.
The restaurant was excellent with a huge variety of salads, meats and deserts, wine was reasonably priced and the selection was good too.
Mark Warner activities were well organised and I particularly enjoyed the mountain biking led by "Matty" he showed us some great trails and we got to see a good bit of the island (some real tough climbs too to challenge us). Tried the windsurfing too but we decided to stick to dry land and wheels !! The activities led by the local "Animation Team" were good too, we liked the yoga class everyday at 4:30pm led by Agnes from Hungary. The night time entertainment was a bit cheesy though and could have been better.
Only downside is that it is situated on the flight path to the very busy airport, planes at all times during day and night. We live near and airport so it did not bother us but it is something to bear in mind !
All in all a great week and we would definitely go back.....

Room Tip: Get a deluxe sea view if you can , 423 was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skyeten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakitira-Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Lakitira Resort & Village, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. It is particularly warming to receive an evaluation like yours and to know that our efforts to provide superior service and hospitality are represented by all our team members.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Lakitira Resort and VIllage in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

We went to Lakitira 9 years ago, so it was interesting to see how it had changed. Unfortunately it is no longer an exclusive Mark Warner resort and this does make a difference. The animation team are friendly and enthusiastic but the entertainment resembles something you would have seen in Spain in the 1970s. The rooms are looking a little tired but were kept beautifully clean, although I would have like fresh towels on a more regular basis.
On the upside and there were many ups, the Breeze bar is a lovely place to relax and enjoy a drink as the sun goes down. It is a beautiful spot. The snack bar is an excellent choice for lunch, the food is freshly prepared and extremely good value. The Mark Warner staff are are as enthusiastic as ever and we really enjoyed all the tennis that was on offer this week.
The food at breakfast and dinner was very good although I really didn't want to eat fruit out of a plastic bowl. The staff are much more thoughtful when clearing plates and are very friendly and attentive. However the problem with drinks orders in the restaurant still remains. You wait ages to have your order taken then even longer for it to come to the table.
These are all small points. Overall we had a fantastic holiday and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakitira-Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Lakitira Resort & Village, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is always a pleasure to see Guests returning to our Resort. Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay at Lakitira Resort and Village. We really appreciate your positive feelings and great comments. With regards to the delays of the orders you mention althought there are some peak times where many of our guests are entering the restaurant at the same time and this can lead to some delays with the orders, further training of our restaurant staff is in place to avoid similar inconvenience in the future.

We will be looking forward to seeing you again!

With kind regards,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Home tomorrow after a terrific fortnight meeting some great people. Staff, both hotel and the Mark Warner crew were spot on. Professional, polite and friendly.Special mention - Claire, the Mark Warner aerobics instructor. Bags of energy, enthusiasm and smiles.Really knows her stuff and provides a very varied timetable to cater for everyone at all levels. Excellent. As you would expect from a Mark Warner resort, the tennis and watersports available are first rate. Shame it's not an exclusive resort as they tear strips off the in house Animation Team (more fitness and entertainment) who really look a bit ropey by comparison although they are all very friendly.
If you want a no nonsense, no frills, sporty family holiday, this is a no brainer. Clean and comfortable rooms, perfect childcare and suitable food for the kids and there's always a 'getaway' hangout (recommend Breeze Bar) when the cacophony of kid noise gets too much!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank isabelle r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakitira-Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Lakitira Resort & Village, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay at Lakitira Resort and Village. We are very pleased to read that your stay with us was a pleasant and rewarding experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Sincerely,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

Spent short holiday in Lakitira hotel and really enjoyed the stay. Spacious and clean rooms, well equipped, very helpful staff at reception, in restaurants and bars. Pool size and design really smart, very close to beach, which is not big, but easy to access and also sea access was partly very easy. Food and beverages of very good quality, especially the sweets and cakes are really excellent. Variety of choice is fully okay. The beer on draught was called Berlin, never heard, quality was not bad, but treatment was not so good - beer is not a coctail to be served in frozen glass, maybe some nice Czech beer would be good option to be replacement of this sort. Very nice staff everywhere. Wi-Fi in the lobby and bar fully okay, in the rooms no connection, even with cable, but not an issue at all. Nice tennis courts. Connection to Kardamena by local public bus is fine. Were in almost pre-season there, in the high season the place will be much vibrant, but we liked fully the atmosphere. Would recommend to anyone insteady of several other complexes we could partly see on the bus collect tour to airport. Did not like only the bed so much - size is splendid, just mattress used is not the right one. Just one large mattress makes the sleeping by pair to a bit sailing on the waves when one has bit wilder dreams. Would replace by two mattresses, or different type.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jirsed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakitira-Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Lakitira Resort & Village, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. It is particularly warming to receive an evaluation like yours and to know that our efforts to provide superior service and hospitality are represented by all our team members.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Lakitira REsort and VIllage in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

In short, pick another mark warner resort. All the other parents we have met, a few who have been here or to other resorts before, have all said it has gone down hill and is the worst mark warner they have been to.

To expand ...we went on this Hoilday wanting peaceful mornings together while our children were entertained in a kids club. Followed by afternoons having fun with the children and long delicious Greek dinners.

That's is what we thought mark warner offered ... We were in no way prepared for what we got ... Or our getting. I am writing this mid Hoilday as I feel you should be informed what you will be spending your money on ...

Morning peace ... You sit by the adults pool for two hours (one yesterday as the numatic drill started up after we had been there an hour. No one bothered to come in and tell us what was happening) and just as you are relaxing aqua aerobics starts. Pumping music and a shouting teenager. You move to the beach and a dance workout has just started with more pumping music. You now have the kids pool or kids beach to spend your last hour before you pick up the children ... You just relax by the pool blocking out other peoples children and you are being shouted at to win a cocktail ... For your last 30 mins of your peaceful morning, where you are moved twice in two hours ... teenagers shout into a microphone while a couple of guests throw things to win a beer (at this point you feel trapped in a bad 18-30 Hoilday and want to buy them all beers, if they need them at 11.30 in a children's resort, to go away)

The mark warner staff are very kind, kids club is great, the staff our wonderful ... But they have no authority to stop the animations team who massively cheapen the Hoilday and are in no way needed as they just copy what mark warner does, but badly and annoy everyone in the process.

Delicious Long dinners - The food is not good. You can not sit in the bar before dinner as it is filled with older guests smoking - not very child friendly.

Mark warner only use half the hotel rooms the other half are a very different cliental.

After our first night in the main Resturant (there was a scrum for a table, drinks came after starter had been cleared and the staff spent the whole time clearing away plates before the whole table had finished) we have eaten in the smaller Italian. Still buffet but you have cloth napkins and wonderful staff.

We also found the beach bar ... No one smoking and a great relaxed vibe with wonderful Harris the bar man ... This was shattered at ten by the animations MTV show. They blared out gangam style and dance around in wigs ... Not to entertain the children but adults. We felt very sorry for anyone who had paid extra for sea view room at this point. As it was really load and would have woken our children up.

The rooms are tiny, we could not believe they were meant for four. You have two feet round the bed. The bathroom can hold or person. Not ideal for bathing children.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Myopentable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakitira-Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Lakitira Resort & Village, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Τhank you for taking the time to post your feedback from your recent stay at Lakitira Resort and Village in such detail. Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences you describe.

We will address all the points of your dissatisfaction with our hotel team.

With kind regards,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kardamena hotels
0.2 mi away
Lakitira Suites
Lakitira Suites
#7 of 39 in Kardamena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
#4 of 39 in Kardamena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sovereign Beach Hotel
Sovereign Beach Hotel
#18 of 39 in Kardamena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
5.3 mi away
Mitsis Norida Beach Hotel
4.6 mi away
Kalimera Mare Hotel
Kalimera Mare Hotel
#14 of 39 in Kardamena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakitira Resort & Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakitira Resort & Village

Property: Lakitira Resort & Village
Address: Gourniati, Kardamena 853 02, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Kardamena
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#18 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakitira Resort & Village 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lakitira Resort & Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakitira Beach Resort Mark Warner Hotel Kardamena
Lakitira Hotel Mark Warner
Lakitira Hotel Kardamena
Lakitira Resort & Village Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing