We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kalimera Mare..a small paradise!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kalimera Mare Hotel
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Kardamena, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Kalimera Mare..a small paradise!!!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Having spend enough time among the palm trees that cover the whole exterior space of Kalimera Mare, I really feel like being in a small paradise! A place quiet, clean and exactly by the sea, suitable for couples, families and even friend groups that are looking for relax and entertainment. The rooms are comfortable,with king size beds and always clean. The staff is very polite and always available. The breakfast is rich and of very good quality, with sweet and salty choices for every kind of taste! The dinner equally worths it! Tasty food, mediterranean tastes with products of good quality bring many people every night in the restaurant. Having being lucky, I have enjoyed also a greek night at the hotel that happens once every week. They offer a spectacle with greek traditional music and dancers along with a barbeque in the lovely balcony of the bar. What's more, the position of the hotel in the middle of the island brings closer every desirable destination, which you can easily reach by car or scooter.
Perfect holidays, in a friendly and warm environment, reccomended to everyone!
Going back to Kos one day, I know for sure where i will stay!

Room Tip: Better choose a sea view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fckf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    101
    24
    9
    4
See reviews for
81
143
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

This hotel is not 4 star! It's only 3 stars:(. We spend here 4 nights, our price was 65e/night. It's nice hotel for 3 star, but not for 4 star! Ok, positive stuff: Very nice swimming pool; Excellent stuff, speak English, Russian, Italian. Really good breakfast! Great location if you want sun, beautiful quiet beech starting just outside the hotel. We visited all beaches of the island and this one is the best. Kardamena(most appropriate city from hotel) is at 4 km. At Kardamena you will find restaurants, big supermarket, pharmacy, etc. Just 20 seconds from hotel to beach, this is cool! Our recommendation not to take bus(2-2.5euro/person) or taxi(aeroport-hotel 30-35euro). Just take a scooter(15euro/day) or ATV(15euro/day) or Buggy(50euro/day), because you need some transport on the island. From hotel to Kos Town are 25km. Negative: We arrived at 14:30, stuff from lobby said to wait 30minutes! We wait 1 hour before to enter in the room!!! We was tired from the road and they said to wait!!! Most annoying thing is anything you need to pay: air conditioner(4 euro/day), lounges on the beach(4euro), massage chair(1euro), billiard(1euro), etc... Air conditioner is exact in front of the bed :(, it's easy to be get ill... INTERNET! All my devices, like ipad3, notebook, iphone 4s can't connect to internet from the room! You need to go bar or lobby for connection! But...All time you need to ask for reset the router...

Room Tip: For good internet take near lobby. For relax take near pool:)
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sveatoslav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunas, Lithuania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

very clean rooms,very good food,service was just brilliant!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NERINGAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kos
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The Hotel now has an up and running full size swimming pool and pool bar in operation, offering all day snacks, drinks and ice creams, plus the fantastic beach now has beds, umbrellas and two walkaways which makes getting into the sea much easier. Half Board is also now available with amazing greek meals, make by the chef and the family....so much nicer than fully inclusive mass produced food. Quite frankly you cannot go wrong....and please dont forget to ignore any reveiws that were posted before May 2011, this is when the family who run it now took over.....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christinefromkos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

My partner and I spent 10 days here back in 2007 (it wont let you select earlier than 2011) and it was our first holiday as a couple. We went all inclusive.
Our room was very clean and the bed was huge. We paid thirty euro for a deposite on the air con control which was well worth it as it was very hot and some nights we left it running all night. There was a TV in the room but wasnt used but then again who watches TV on holiday unless its raining?
The room was cleaned everyday along with fresh towels and the bed was made up. Some people moan that the bedding isnt changed daily but do you change your bed at home daily? Our mini fridge wasnt working but as it was all inclusive we didnt need it anyway.
The best part of the food was the breakfast; endless rounds of toast, fried eggs and baked beans was enough to fill us up. They had cereal but the milk was warm and in a jug on the side so we left it well alone. We couldn't understand why they had chips out at breakfast? Just because we are British doesn't meant we eat chips all of the time.
Non of the hotplates were labelled so you didn't know what you were eating, One night we had what resembled meatballs in sauce with pasta which was the only nice hot meal we had apart from breakfast so we opted to eat out at night. Bit of a shame considering we paid for all inclusive, the travel agent we booked with gave us an out of date menu.
The pool bar was nice. We are not big drinkers so we drank mainly soft drinks but they were ice cold which was refreshing. For snacks we had cheese and ham toasties which were like doorsteps. There was also a mini market near the pool which sold things like cigarettes, news papers, crisps, ice lollies etc so that was very handy to have. On the odd occasion we did have a drink in the bar we found their spirit measures very generous. I had to tell them to put a little bit of Vodka in my drink as I think they put a tripple measure in it!
The pool itself was clean and well looked after and there were plenty of sunbeds to go around.
Everynight there was a free mini bus that took you to Kos town and then bought you back just before midnight. Might we recoment Aramis as the place to eat. The lady outside talked us through the entire menu of seafood, steaks and greek dishes.
There are some nice little bars in the town area with some little querky shops.
Overall we found our stay at this place very peaceful. We already knew it was in the middle of nowhere which suits us fine as we are not into hussle and bussle. The nearby beach was ok but not soft sand, mind you we are more pool dwellers than beach dwellers.
We would rate it 4 out of 5, the one mark lost due to the food. We stayed when it was under different ownership so we would love to go back and see what its like under the new owenership and see if it still measures up.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spamhead_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

just walked in to-night.I had forgotten my plug adapter in Montreal.they went out of their way to find one for me.they helped out with internet.
I checked the different reviews and I feel that some people should stay home for holidays as I am fairly satisfied with my room,bathroom and overall impression.I won't comment about the food.breakfast overall in Greece is for Germans so be it.same in Turkey where I was last night but being neither Brit nor Cesk,I go to small tavernas for lunch and dinner and I drink local wines.
I must add that I was very satisfied when the young woman at reception addressed in french,and you could tell from her accent that she also spoke Italian.would come back any time.ROBERT

Room Tip: near the airport.near good restaurants,and beautiful beaches I feel that you should rent a car at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

The hotel is not as close to Kardamena as the map suggests and is set in lovely countryside. We booked for 2 nights in May 2012 but managed with the excellent service of booking.com to extend our stay for two further nights and change subsequent reservations. May is not a busy month in Kos and the restaurant was not open so we needed to walk out to a taverna which suited us fine. Our room was all a good hotel room should be. Staff were very helpful and breakfast was excellent. The only downside were a few mosquitos which liked my wife more than I. We have been to many of the Greek Islands and if and when we return to Kos (first visited by us in 1984) we will be sure to stay at the Kalimera Mare.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DPDYW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamena
2.8 mi away
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
#3 of 39 in Kardamena
370 reviews
2.4 mi away
Nissia Kamares Hotel Apartments
1.8 mi away
Cleopatra Superior Hotel
Cleopatra Superior Hotel
#15 of 39 in Kardamena
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Aslanis Village
Aslanis Village
#7 of 15 in Marmari
290 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sovereign Beach Hotel
Sovereign Beach Hotel
#19 of 39 in Kardamena
822 reviews
6.1 mi away
Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel
Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel
#6 of 16 in Mastichari
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalimera Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalimera Mare Hotel

Property: Kalimera Mare Hotel
Address: Kardamena 85302, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kardamena
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalimera Mare Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kalimera Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kalimera Mare
Kalimera Mare Hotel Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing