We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant....food a bit so so”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kalimera Mare Hotel
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2012

My partner and I spent 10 days here back in 2007 (it wont let you select earlier than 2011) and it was our first holiday as a couple. We went all inclusive.
Our room was very clean and the bed was huge. We paid thirty euro for a deposite on the air con control which was well worth it as it was very hot and some nights we left it running all night. There was a TV in the room but wasnt used but then again who watches TV on holiday unless its raining?
The room was cleaned everyday along with fresh towels and the bed was made up. Some people moan that the bedding isnt changed daily but do you change your bed at home daily? Our mini fridge wasnt working but as it was all inclusive we didnt need it anyway.
The best part of the food was the breakfast; endless rounds of toast, fried eggs and baked beans was enough to fill us up. They had cereal but the milk was warm and in a jug on the side so we left it well alone. We couldn't understand why they had chips out at breakfast? Just because we are British doesn't meant we eat chips all of the time.
Non of the hotplates were labelled so you didn't know what you were eating, One night we had what resembled meatballs in sauce with pasta which was the only nice hot meal we had apart from breakfast so we opted to eat out at night. Bit of a shame considering we paid for all inclusive, the travel agent we booked with gave us an out of date menu.
The pool bar was nice. We are not big drinkers so we drank mainly soft drinks but they were ice cold which was refreshing. For snacks we had cheese and ham toasties which were like doorsteps. There was also a mini market near the pool which sold things like cigarettes, news papers, crisps, ice lollies etc so that was very handy to have. On the odd occasion we did have a drink in the bar we found their spirit measures very generous. I had to tell them to put a little bit of Vodka in my drink as I think they put a tripple measure in it!
The pool itself was clean and well looked after and there were plenty of sunbeds to go around.
Everynight there was a free mini bus that took you to Kos town and then bought you back just before midnight. Might we recoment Aramis as the place to eat. The lady outside talked us through the entire menu of seafood, steaks and greek dishes.
There are some nice little bars in the town area with some little querky shops.
Overall we found our stay at this place very peaceful. We already knew it was in the middle of nowhere which suits us fine as we are not into hussle and bussle. The nearby beach was ok but not soft sand, mind you we are more pool dwellers than beach dwellers.
We would rate it 4 out of 5, the one mark lost due to the food. We stayed when it was under different ownership so we would love to go back and see what its like under the new owenership and see if it still measures up.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spamhead_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 324 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2012

just walked in to-night.I had forgotten my plug adapter in Montreal.they went out of their way to find one for me.they helped out with internet.
I checked the different reviews and I feel that some people should stay home for holidays as I am fairly satisfied with my room,bathroom and overall impression.I won't comment about the food.breakfast overall in Greece is for Germans so be it.same in Turkey where I was last night but being neither Brit nor Cesk,I go to small tavernas for lunch and dinner and I drink local wines.
I must add that I was very satisfied when the young woman at reception addressed in french,and you could tell from her accent that she also spoke Italian.would come back any time.ROBERT

Room Tip: near the airport.near good restaurants,and beautiful beaches I feel that you should rent a car at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robert p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

The hotel is not as close to Kardamena as the map suggests and is set in lovely countryside. We booked for 2 nights in May 2012 but managed with the excellent service of booking.com to extend our stay for two further nights and change subsequent reservations. May is not a busy month in Kos and the restaurant was not open so we needed to walk out to a taverna which suited us fine. Our room was all a good hotel room should be. Staff were very helpful and breakfast was excellent. The only downside were a few mosquitos which liked my wife more than I. We have been to many of the Greek Islands and if and when we return to Kos (first visited by us in 1984) we will be sure to stay at the Kalimera Mare.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPDYW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

In spite of mixed opinions on this hotel, we went to Kalimera Mare mid May 2012 for one week and we had an EXCELLENT stay (10/10). You should definitely disregard negative comments before May 2011! (the hotel changed owners).
Great location if what you want is sun, beautiful beech starting just outside the hotel (one of the best in this part of the island), sea/ mountain/ countryside - all in one place, with healthy food, jogging&sports, walks along the sea (+/-3,5 km to Kardamena). The hotel: comfortable, very clean, with extremely friendly and helpful staff, bar for drinks/snacks, very good breakfast (with both local and continental choices), pool (open in 2012 from last week of May), very nice open terrace outside the bar, wifi free.
Possibility to rent a car, bicycles, motos, etc very close to the hotel.
10 km form the airport (taxi +/- 20 euros); Kardamena / Kalimera Mare in taxi is 9 euros. We went to eat in Kardamena by foot in the evening (nice road along the beech) and came back either by foot or by taxi. Kardamena: many restaurants all along the seaside or in the parallel street (best rated by us: "Yannis's"), big supermarket in the center and all the facilities that you may need (farmacy, etc).

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

This small hotel is on the outskirts of Kardamena, has just been taken over by a family....they opened its doors in May 2011.....as a bed and breakfast Hotel. Fantastic breakfasts served by the family ....please disregard any reviews previous to May 2011. The Hotel is a good 40 minute walk from the centre of Kardamena but there is a local bus that passes the Hotel 10 times a day. The Hotel has a very quiet beach just in front and this year the Pool Bar is going to be open plus the bar at night. The family cannot do enough for you a pleasant surprise after reading the reviews perhaps someone should tell Trip Advisor of the change of ownership.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christinefromkos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in august 2011 just in high season. First of all i would like to say BIG thanks to hotel management and staff, as not of all even 5star hotel staff so friendly and helpful. Hotel located in very quite area of Kardamena, so very good for families. 2 minutes walk to private beach was a good surprise. Our room was good value for money and also very clean. Breakfast was good also, not all hotel of same level provide breakfast such Kalimera Mare's. Hotel provide FREE Wi-Fi!!! Yes, free, in any room! Was surprised when we receive a cold drink service at the beach, hotel staff often comes to beach and you can place the order for cold drinks, coffee or even some snacks. Very handy when you enjoying the sun and lazy enough to go and buy something yourself. Sun beds and umbrellas provided by hotel to all residents free of charge. You know some hotels charge you 5 euro or so a day!

OK then. And now a bit of downside...

Hotel is too far from any restaurants or shops. Travel to Kardamena town will set you back on 3.60 euro return per person on local bus service and taxi cost you 9 euro one way. To far to walk (about an hour). Hotel don't serve any meals apart of snacks so to get something to eat you will need to go to Kardamena town or order the takeaway (hotel staff was happy to help to ring takeaway and order the food). One more thing which let us down a bit - poll not working. But hotel manager said it will work on next season.

at the end....

Do I wish to come back next time?

Yes, definitely !!!

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mihassik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Surprisingly good and cheap hotel! The staff was friendly and the cleaning was excelent! The breakfast buffet was also very nice with fresh fruit, yoghurt, croissants, bread, spreads...and so on. The only remarkable thing was that the supermarkets was quite far away. The closest one was in an all-inclusive hotel complex 10-15 minutes walk from Kalimera Mare. The other one was approx 5 kilometers away. Otherwise I strongly recomend this hotel in this calm and beach-close area!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angopucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamena
2.4 mi away
Nissia Kamares Hotel Apartments
0.8 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
6.8 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mitsis Summer Palace Beach Hotel
2.8 mi away
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
#4 of 39 in Kardamena
484 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cleopatra Superior Hotel
Cleopatra Superior Hotel
#16 of 39 in Kardamena
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalimera Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalimera Mare Hotel

Address: Kardamena 85302, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kardamena
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range: $38 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalimera Mare Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kalimera Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kalimera Mare
Kalimera Mare Hotel Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing