We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent! Cant understand the bad reviews?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Me and my boyfriend (both in our 20's) stayed here for 11 nights in May/June 2012. The weather was amazing, clear and very hot even though still May. This hotel is on a complex along with all the other Mitis Blue Domes, Norida Beach etc. The whole place feels like a village and is very tasteful. Lots of scattered gardens between the resorts and makes them feel all as one. Blue Domes is right at the bottom and Mitis Family Village at the very top. Its a steep walk up the hill but there's constantly a beach buggy driving you and down from hotel to beach all day every day, for free! The view from the pool is amazing, looking over all the 'village' and down to the sea and beach. We had a swim up room which was very very nice. Modern clean rooms, in fact the whole place was cleaned immaculately. The food was the best we've had, a pizza chef, a pasta chef,a chef cooking fresh kebabs, fresh pancakes being made etc. All quality! Different food everyday as well. The pool bar had ice cream, cakes and doughnuts all day too. The best part was the glass 'box bar' on the beach, all part of the all inclusive. Frozen 'slush' cocktails which were gorgeous. Also any spirt, beer or soft drink available all day. Also with sandwiches and cakes all day. The beach was incredible, crystal clear brilliant to snorkel!! We loved this hotel. There is a go kart track a ten minute walk which away and was expensive but fun. Kardemena was a 10 euro ride away so we spent a lot on taxis as that's the closest place! There were no shops etc near the hotel at all. I would recommend anyone to go to this hotel its one of the best we've been to. Must recommend you email the hotel and ask for a swim up room, we did and it made the holiday!!!

Room Tip: Email for a swim up room well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank sarah r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,004)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

518 - 524 of 1,004 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

As I have said before on previous reviews you only need to read mine for a frank assessment on a hotel. Have stayed at the Family Village previously 5 years ago and as we got such a good deal for a week in October we decided to go over again for the last of the October sun.

However upon landing it was freezing!!! The taxi driver told us that they had had bad weather for almost a week.

We arrived at the hotel at about 4am and was greeted by the lovely as ever night porter, Demetri.
He drove us to our room which was slightly up the hill. We had paid extra for a Maisonette as I wanted one the last time and none were available. They are well worth the upgrade as the views alone from our block are amazing.

They consist of a full bathroom and lounge downstairs and a large bedroom and another bathroom upstairs. There is also wardrobe space downstairs as well as up so my holiday wardrobe was not short of hangers!

Despite a very early morning arrival we were awake again at 8 and what a view from our downstairs balcony doors. There was a swim up pool, lovely views of the Aegean beyond and the islands. I would say that this hotel has the best position of them all in Kardamaina.

It was a short walk down to the main hotel and restaurant and OMG that first morning was cold!
People were in coats and jumpers! !t is a lovely dining room. Not too big which we prefer when the meals are served buffet style.

There was always a good choice at breakfast lunch and dinner. The waiters work very hard and serve drinks to your table and the manager was always visible in the restaurant, even to the point of laying tables etc. As I have said even the fussiest of eaters should not go hungry here.
There is an omelette and egg station in the morning, various cold cuts,pastries and bread. At lunch and dinner there is always a soup, hot and cold dishes and the greek corner is to die for!
The bakclava is probably one of the best we have tasted!

As mentioned the weather was not too good on our first morning, but from the lunchtime it started getting warmer from then on. We used to spend the morning on sunbeds on our terrace and go to the main pool for the afternoon. Due to it being low season there were plenty of sunbeds free around the pool, but even in the summer I would not think there would be a problem. Again being up the hill the main pool had beautiful views. There is only one bar at the hotel but the two barmen who do the shifts are very competent and you never had to wait long.

There is entertainment apparently in the theatre down the road, but me and my husband preferred to sit on the peaceful terrace with an after dinner drink. Lets just say we were never bored.

We had also upgraded to black bands which allowed us to eat and drink at the Norida and Summer Palace (the two other Mitsis hotels next door) Please note though that you are NOT allowed to use the Blue Domes with these bands, as I have read that some reviewers thought they were.

We ate once at the Norida Chinese which was good, but very dark inside. There is also an Adults only bar there which is nice,but it was too cold to sit outside on the night we went and the indoor part of it was full.

All the staff at the Family Village are wonderful and are a credit to their Manager.

Finally to sum up how happy we were here, we changed our flights and stayed ANOTHER week!Can,t get a better recommendation that that I think!

Thank you so much for a wonderful stay and will we be back next year? WITHOUT A DOUBT!

Lots of love and kind regards

Jo and Mart xxx

Room Tip: Room 865 or any maisonette in that block for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank HullyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Absolutely gorgeous, I went there for my honeymoon and we went to the Island from one end of the island to the other , breath taking views with lots to do.

Staff were always happy and smiling, cleaners came round everyday, towels left with rose petals on them.

Kardemena town was the highlight of the night life, shops open until 4am. Water sports were amazing.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Baj B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Family Village is 1 hotel in a complex of 4 hotels situated about 5 Kilometers out of Kardemena.
All 4 hotels are on the side of a mountain and F.V. is the highest at the top with fantastic views. The hills to walk anywhere are serious cardiac work outs. But don't let that put you off, there is a free electric people mover that runs people round the site and is available on demand - excellent.

The downside for me at this hotel is that there is no entertainment whatsoever (apart from a nice swimming pool). You can visit the other 3 hotels for entertainment (which is not very good) but you will have to buy an upgrade arm band to get your drinks (about 15 Euros per day). This disappointed me.

The rooms are very spacious and nice. Cleaned everyday. I got a great room by reception (544) great view from balcony).

The staff, and I mean ALL staff were fantastic. Very eager to please and attentive.

Food - Unfortunately it was very limited but plentiful but ALWAYS cold! The chefs would reheat it on request and very willingly but a drag to keep asking.

The Island - If you are a beach / pool / sun person then this is ideal for you. We like to get out and see the sights - Kos does not have a lot to offer. The volcano trip is worthwhile and passes a day very pleasantly. (Take the bus to Kardemena and book it yourself save lots)

We visited the other hotels Summer Palace and Norida - staff were not as friendly and there was constant noise pollution

Hope this is useful.

Room Tip: Close to reception gives you the lease hill to climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed for a week 8th - 15th October. A group of 3 ladies aged 20's to 30's we were looking for a relaxing holiday in the sun and this is exactly what we got.

Complex: Hotel is located on the Mitsis resort outside of Kardamera, situated on a hillside so you get magnificent views. The resort is kept spotlessly clean and staff could not be more friendly or helpful. There are quite steep hills around family village but saying this they do provide a free buggy service up and down to the beach.

We were lucky enough to have a superior family room on one of the sharing pools looking out to the sea (room 891) a view not to be missed.

Food & drink: The food is of good quality with plenty of fresh salad, pasta, risotto and yummy deserts however more choice would be nice as does become repetitive but I do find this with most all inclusive, but there are some very good restaurants in Kardamena which is €1.80 on the bus or €10 each way in a taxi, so nice to pop out for an evening, there's also plenty of bars and shops etc. The hotel bar does a nice selection or cocktails etc all with local brands and the barman Juliano does not suffer people trying to queue jump so that's not a problem!

Entertainment: We visited end of season and there was entertainment in the theatre but we didn't attend so cant really comment on it. There is a place called Club Zone on site which shows live sport and a night club for those who wish to dance the night away. Entry is free but you will need to pay for drinks here, a pint of larger was €3 so not too bad.

Day trips: can be booked through the hotel but cheaper in town, we visited Paradise beach which has a sand beach and shallow warm waters, water sports are much cheaper here too.

All in all a nice holiday with a good mix of nationalities which was good value for money, will return again :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pat-pat1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

On the whole this is a good value 3 star all inclusive resort in the lovely island of Kos. There are one or two things that could be improved such as the variety of food in the one and only restaurant. We visited at the very end of the season and found the staff to be helpful and friendly but all entertainment had been closed down and no alternative was offered at the adjacent Summer Palace or Norida Beach complexes. This did not bother us as we wanted a laid back relaxing holiday which we certainly had. The room was a "Superior" family room which opened directly onto a shared pool and had a lovely view of the Aegean Sea and the adjacent islands. Only problem was that all of the pools were freezing and in a 1.5m pool there was no easy way to exit to our room (no steps) fine if you are agile and fit but no good if you are a bit overweight and middle aged! Also the safety aspects of the pools left a little to be desired if you have small children - there is a 3m drop between pools at the rear of the family rooms with no guard rail and a narrow slippery edge that will attract children like a magnet!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed here 2nd-9th Oct after previously staying at the Mitsis Rinela Beach Hotel in Crete. Arrived 9pm at the hotel complex and first impressions of the whole complex of the Family Village/Blue Domes/Summer Palace and Norida, was of being inside a purpose built holiday resort which was security conscious and clean. We checked in at reception and were told to leave our suitcases and go for dinner. We were then taken to our room by Aglint in a people carrier to the top of the hill which is when I realised how steep the hill was. Our room 611 was large but looked like it had been previously been a self catering room with kitchenette. The room was very clean but needed modernising and had a a concrete framed bed. We were happy with the room apart from the shower didn't have a shower head holder so I went to reception and asked if there was a room available with one. The lovely Despina on reception said she would sort it out and would also show me around some other rooms the next day. The next day woke up to glorious sunshine with wonderful views of Turkey and other islands and after returning from sunbathing a shower head holder had been fitted so I thought no more of it but 2 days later a note had been pushed under the door to say contact reception. In the mean time I had hired a car because of the hill for 6 days. Despina had been looking for us to show us another room even though we were happy where we were. We were shown a maisonette with a swim up pool and 2 bathrooms so gladly took up Despina's offer. The room 809 was modernised and a nice upgrade with only a short walk to reception/restaurant which was better. The second day it became very wind with a cold wind so you needed a jumper/coat in the evening but was told the cold wind was very unusual this early in Oct. If you have been to a Mitsis hotel before the difference between this one 4 star and other 5 star ones is that you don't get extra's like complimentary shampoo/soap/dressing gown/slippers/mini bar drinks and waiter service for drinks after 6pm apart from your evening meal. The food was as I expected brilliant and meal time was not hectic like others can be. We enjoyed the drinks also and you have to queue at the bar for them but Juliano does a brilliant job serving always with a smile. There was no entertainment unless you were prepared to travel a distance to a onsite open theatre by the Blue Domes, but this suited us with just light music playing all day. The pools were quite cold because of the cold wind for 3 days but we still managed to sunbathe every day and got into the mid 20's as the week went on. You can walk to the beach or use the golf cart type shuttle driven by the Captain. The beach is nothing special which is shingle but the sea looked calm and went deep quickly so we stayed around the pool with the slides by the Norida, and on 2 days there were only 6 of us sunbathing with the pool bar shut and slides water flow turned off. There were snacks available from this pool bar and the main pool and there were plenty of beds available. Long trousers/jeans are required in the evening as with most Mitsis Hotels. I would like to say a special Thankyou to Despina and the rest of the staff/cleaners who do a brilliant job and are always at hand if you require them. I only wish there were more Mitsis Hotels around the Greek Isles as I would always stay at one given a choice and wish they were more spread out instead of being close to one another. Overall really enjoyed our holiday and would return after visiting every other Greek Island.

Room Tip: Rooms nearer the the reception as the hills are a bit of a struggle preferably with a swim up pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamena
0.2 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Mitsis Summer Palace Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Mitsis Norida Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
1.9 mi away
Sovereign Beach Hotel
Sovereign Beach Hotel
#18 of 39 in Kardamena
862 reviews
0.7 mi away
Akti Beach Club Hotel
Akti Beach Club Hotel
#11 of 39 in Kardamena
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel

Address: Kardamena 85302, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kardamena
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#17 Family Hotel in Kardamena
#20 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range: $62 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Village is a peaceful ALL-INCLUSIVE Family Hotel, only a 5 minute walk from a crystal-clear pebble beach. It is located south-east of the island of Kos, 6 km from the lively resort of Kardamena, which can be reached within 10 min by the local bus, taxi or if someone’s feeling fit within 30min on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mitsis Family Village Beach
Family Village Kos
Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing