We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor relation of the mitsis group”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Mitsis Family Village Hotel for two weeks from 19th September. We had chosen fully inclusive as my husband is disabled to we wanted it to be a complete break. I try to give an honest opinion so that you can make you own mind up, so here it is, Booked the holiday with Monarch Holidays who are owned by Cosmos, very helpful in advance of the holiday booking wheelchair etc. Travelled with Small Planet Airlines apart from the very long wait to check in (no fast lane for wheelchairs), the plane and staff were great. The Mitsis Hotels are all together, they take up most of the hillside outside Kardamenia. The FV is at the top so is there are quite a few steep hills to manage, which are not easy going unless you are super fit. The reception is very basis but clean and all the staff are extremely helpful and friendly all the time. The bar area was actually just a basic counter where one member of staff served the whole hotel. The alcoholic drinks were a choice of about four and very poor brands, they were also watered down as was all the fruit juices. There was no air conditioning in the bar area was it was boiling hot which made the area full of flies, food containers on the counter were cracked so the flies were able to walk all over the food. the wrought iron table and chairs outside were exremely uncomfortable and there were not enough for holidaymakers so a lot of people ended up going to their room. Some of the tables didn't have glass so they couldn't be used, and some of the chairs had no cushions, whilst this doesn't seem important note that these were the only places to sit after your meal apart from reception which was busy due to people logging on the wifi.

Turning to the "restaurant", this is not a restaurant in any stretch of the imagination, it is a canteen, even the evening was the same, just bare tables like school hall. Again no fly control so you spent most of the time trying to keep them off your food.

Food was regularly cooked throughout all sessions, however it became very repetitive after the first week and lacked imagination. So much so, that we ate out a couple of nights which annoyed me as we had paid for fully inclusive. For example, there was only one toasting machine for the whole hotel, which hadn't been cleaned ever and broke down every day, lots of little instances like this which you do not expect or should have to put up with on your holiday.

Our room was really big and opened up to one of the private pools which was lovely, but I understand other rooms were very basic greek rooms with concrete beds and lumpy mattresses.

I went over to see what the other hotels were like and they are WOW exactly what we expected for our holiday, just walking into their receptions was amazing.

Most evenings there was an awful sewerage smell which seemed to becoming from their jewel in the crown, the Blue Domes Hotel..

No entertainment at all, the night club is down a steep hill from the FV and you have to buy your drinks when you get in there, this is also the place showing all the sports fixtures.

We are bitterly disappointed with our two weeks holiday, the Family Village hotel is not in any way a 4 star hotel, we would only give it 2 star in its current state, it is the poor relation of the group and needs some serious money spending on it to make it a 4 star hotel.

Completely not fair to us, as we specifically booked a four star hotel as a treat and didn't get this, totally misled.

I agree with some of the other reviews that I could go on and on, but sadly we will not be going back to any of the Mitsis group hotels as we feel very let down. We saved very hard for this holiday.

Room Tip: Room 814 is really nice and has its own pool, but beware the air con unit is over the bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sh2605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,017)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

541 - 547 of 1,017 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed on the 7th July for a week travelling with my partner and 18month old. This was our 2nd hotel option that we were given by onthebeach.com who had origianally booked us into a hotel that didn't exist and only told us 24 hours before departure and this hotel was are only option! 4* it is NOT! Where do I start.... On arrival reception staff rude not helpful stuck a wristband on and gave us a key had to move rooms twice as poor location with a child steps and steep hills everywhere nightmare with a pram. Any problems that we reported to hotel they didnt seem to care. i work in a hotel on reception myself and we make sure we go all out for are guests the staff at this hotel need some training in customer services. disgusting food very repetitive hotel was full of Germans who took over the place don't think they know what ques are in their country damn right rudeness. It's suppose to be a family hotel and its right at the top of a steep hill very dangerous all the better hotels were at the bottom of the hill next to beach why put a family hotel at the top ridiculous! So dangerous for children bikes buses and cars fly out from eveywhere at top speed the pool area really slippy dirty pool. Entertainment extremely poor was in Greek and German. There's so so much i could go in to I would be writing for weeks overall definitely not an ideal family hotel facilities are very poor everything that they have tried to put in place for children is just dangerous never felt so trapped in a place before. Major Health and safety issues.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RGGB6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This Mitsis Hotel is one of a number of Mitsis Hotels located within the complex. It is the smallest on the site, but is by far the most friendly and personal. It really feels like a Family Village. The Hotel was kept meticulously clean, the staff work tirelessly to ensure that all of your needs are met and are so so friendly. I would definitely recommend this Hotel to anyone considering a visit to the island of Kos. Whilst it isn't cheap, the quality of the Hotel and the service provided, makes it feel like you are getting value for money. The only downside was the salt water swimming pool, it would have been superb if it had been freshwater, and the tiny Reception Area (mind you .... How long do you actually spend in the Reception?). Certainly worth a look in

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DickieBow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Yet again we had a wonderful Holiday at the Family Village , This Year we stayed at room 840 which has amazing views of the Turkish coast and the Kardamena Bay , The Food Quality was as good if not better than our previous years we have stayed here. It was nice to see the same friendly staff who provide a great service with a smile and will always past the time of day with you.

We Hope to see you all next year .

John and lisa

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Hotel is situated on a rather steep hill, you walk from the restaurant to the beach aproximately 5 minutes but you can take the "beach hopper" which we usually did on our way back with the children. It´s something kids really looked forward to. There are several bars on the beach, animation programmes, sunbeds for free.
Food is excelent, plenty of fresh salads, always fish available, crepes ... as we went for dinner pretty early (7pm) we usually went for a walk afterwards and took second dinner for our children to our room. We really appreciated this possibility - taking food to our room.
The room was cleaned every day, we could jump from our balcony straight into the pool! We enjoyed this as much as we could, usually spent afternoons at the pool.
We went on a trip to capital Kos, it cost us 35 euro one way by the taxi. However it is possible to take the bus that goes straight there.

Room Tip: Family rooms with the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eva H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

First of all we would like to thank everybody (all of the staff) at this hotel a big hearted "Thank you" for making our stay so pleasant for us both and for helping me by making it extra special for partners 50th birthday on which the manager arranged for us an free up grade to the wonderful room that you see pictured on their web page...I couldn't of asked for anything more for this birthday treat, it was beautiful....this was our first visit to Greece and certainly wont be our last and we certainly will be back next year to your hotel. We would like to say a special thank you to the two sisters (who by the way are not real sisters but they do look alike) at reception "Chrysoula" and "Katerina" as they made use feel so very welcome and they made time to speak to all the guests at reception each time you paassed. We would also like to say a very special thank you to the restaurant manager "Vasilis Lallos" and doing such a wonderful job in making meal times really relaxed, nothing was to much trouble even when we came in for one of our meals he was on helping hand making the pancakes.....We did read one or two negative views on here before we came away but we try not to judge the hotels until we experience them for ourselves as so many people have so many different views and expectations. But what we would recommend is that you judge the hotel by your own opinion as you will be certainly be pleased of your stay here and if you do come across a problem go to any of the reception staff and they are always happy to help and the manager is always there at the hotel, as he was there everyday and he is very approachable and nothing is to much trouble for him he is very passionate about the hotel and he certainly keeps it to a very high standard......The food was fantastic, there was so much choice and different speciality dishes each day and there was always plenty of fresh salads and fruits and fantastic dishes made by the chefs in front of you so if you wanted something cooked a particular way they were always willing to help make your dish extra special. Plenty of pizzas with different toppings freshly made and cooked in the stone oven in the restaurant....also so many pasta dishes and traditional greek food every day. The deserts were also great just so many of them of them to choose from. The hotel complex is also very clean and your rooms are cleaned everyday and it has such beautiful scenic views all around with the beach only a few minutes walk away or you could hop on the little shuttle buggies who where always on hand to drop you off anywhere on the complex. There where plenty of daily buses into the complex to take you out and about the island at just a couple of euros and it was a great way to explore the island or if you are more daring as we where, we rented a quad for 7 days and experienced the different places and beaches across the island. The hotel complex covers about everything you want on a lovely holiday from the beach, food, drinks and fun pools espically for the children (or if you fancied just to sit by the quieter pools) to the entertainment for both adults and the children available through out the complex. We certainly had a wonderful time on our stay and for us a week was not long enough so we will certainly be back next year and the year after that....we have found a little gem in the heart of Greece and that made for us all the difference in our stay. So to everyone here's our heart felt thank you for making our holiday so special...see you next year xXx

Room Tip: Certainly try to upgrade to the rooms that you walk straight out to your pool, very quiet area and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrayC W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We went as group to the Family Village for 3 nites and I have to say it was one of the most enjoyable experiences ever. For starters the staff were so friendly. Despena met us a lovely girl and Chrisoula and Maria too, could not have done enough for us.Rooms were super, clean, big and our ownpool right outside the patio door. Large Communal pool too with plenty of beds as well. All inclusive offered food and drink day and nite. Food was very goodif a bit repetitive but thats the norm in all inclusive.It was served well and plenty of it. Overall we had a most relaxing few days and will be back next year for the service, smiles, great value and of course the most friendly staff ever.

Room Tip: Ask for room near to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 562Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamena
0.1 mi away
Mitsis Summer Palace Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Mitsis Norida Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
6 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
9.4 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel

Address: Kardamena 85302, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kardamena
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#12 Family Hotel in Kardamena
#20 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range: $77 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cozy and friendly atmosphere, along with a superb view, is the main feature of the four-star all-inclusive FAMILY VILLAGE BEACH HOTEL. The hotel offers 219 rooms including 21 suites, 24 maisonettes and 54 family rooms with a Mediterranean style décor and an impressive view to the Aegean Sea and the colorful gardens. The seawater swimming pools and the water slides, the clean pebbled beach, which is ideal for children, a tennis court, beach volley, beach soccer and numerous sports and other activities guarantee carefree and enjoyable holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mitsis Family Village Beach
Family Village Kos
Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing