We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“did not quite live up to reviews.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cleopatra Superior Hotel
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“did not quite live up to reviews.”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Cleopatra Superior was extremely clean and very well appointed from the rooms and public areas to the pool. Air con in room was the best we have experienced on recent travels in Europe. Staff were pleasant and approachable and willing to help when needed.
Views of the bay spectacular on one side of the building.....other sides overlooked typical Greek hotels, apartments and rubbish dumps (this brought back great memories of 1980s "Simply Greek" holidays.)
The pool was beautiful but the sun loungers did not go round and there was limited shade so we used Phillipos pool and bar just a few minutes away where we enjoyed lots of choice of very comfortable sunloungers and shaded areas and good music/tv...a great little pool and the hospitality of the owner and his family.
We only bothered with the breakfast at Cleopatra on the first two mornings. We found the food very dry, boring and repetative ....rubber cheese slices, tinned fruit, watery carton juice, dry bread and cereals and not an egg or ham in sight. We chose and preferred to eat on the beautiful harbour front were the food was plentiful, varied and cheap and we also discovered Posidonean bar and restaurant right beside the sea, passed the drain bridge at the other of town, where we ate and thoroughly enjoyed really great cheap authentic meals and refreshing drinks at breakfast, lunch and dinner whilst looking out over the Agean to Nissyros .(we were also welcome to use the narrow strip of beach there and the sunbeds for nothing)

Room Tip: overlooking the pool will probably get a sea view too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 400sue8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    99
    40
    12
    4
See reviews for
83
178
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
WIRRAL
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Have recently returned from staying at the Cleopatra Superior, for one week. We booked this hotel as we have been twice before and we knew what to expect. Things have not changed much in the last four years which I suppose is a good thing. Although I did give the breakfast another try. I only gave it one chance and that was enough! There are nine tables set for breakfast say no more. Don’t be put off by this as the lady who arranges the breakfast also assists the cook, you can’t go wrong with the bar meals they are nicely prepared to whatever you want. If I was the Manager I would give these guys a pay rise.
As with all the other reviews the staff are really pleasant, from George the barman to all the reception staff.

My only negative criticism would be the pool, although the water appeared to be fine, it was a bit off putting to see the build up of dirt accumulating on the white plastic edging around the pool.
It could be due to the fact that people are not having a shower before entering pool. Is this because the showers are down a number of steps?

Don't know if it's because I'm getting older but I would also like to suggest that the hotel installs handrails at the enterance, it would help the old folk!

Other than this, a really good Greek hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WirralGirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We opted for this hotel based on price and location - both were very good.

Nice airy room overlooking the front of the property - although currently an unmaintained car park so if you prefer a view ask for a room at the back overlooking the pool and mountains. Room was modern and clean.

3 minute walk to the nice sandy beach, and roughly 7 mins to the bars and restaurants. There are loads of restaurants along the harbour.

We also rented a car and went up the mountains - had a meal with a perfect view at sunset - waiter told us Michael Douglas and family had been there the night before, shame we missed them as I like him. Felt a bit sorry for him in Fatal Attraction though.

We had a really nice holiday here and would def recommend.

Room Tip: At the back overlooking pool and mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blablablablaBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Me and my husband went to the Cleopatra Superior Hotel at the beginning of July. Although we found the hotel, and its staff very nice, the location was brilliant and met some lovely people. I would not advise families and older couples to stay at this hotel during the months of June to late August as it is full of groups of under 25's that stroll in at between 3 and 6am, making noise, banging on each others doors and in and out of each others rooms. The hotel has signs stipulating that you have to adhere to the hotel rules, but they showed a total lack of respect for rules, the hotel management and staff and everyone else who was staying at the hotel.
Me and my husband ended up complaining and changed our room to the third floor from the ground floor.

Room Tip: If you are over 30, choose a room on the 3rd or 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqui F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

we have been going to kardamena for 20 years and stay at this hotel most of the time,rooms very clean, great staff, near to the beach and bars but not to near, nice food, cheap bar prices a nice pool area with plenty of sun bed.If you get the chance to do some day trips go to Harriots travel near the square they do the best trips at great prices especially if you have children with you or groups, also ask for a free safey deposit box save yourself £20 the hotels charge.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mark19Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I dont normally write reviews, but on this occasion i wanted to as i was grateful for the other reviews of this hotel, which are spot on. This place is perfect for a couple, wanting to be close enough to the action, but far enough to get a good nights sleep when needed! The hotel staff are fantastic, really helpful, and friendly! The hotel itself is spotless, cleaned every day bar Sunday when we were there for 7 days. Kardemina resort itself is the best in Kos, as its very authentic, if you are looking for starbucks or McD's its not here, only good local restaurants run by locals!
Dont look any further, just book this one! I know whats its like trying to find somewhere to make your holiday perfect! I am trying to work out how i can get back to Kardemina before the end of the year! I dont normally like going back to places I have been before, but I will this time!
Have fun!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool toward the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kewegirlnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We (me and my girlfriend both aged 25) stayed at this hotel for two weeks. The hotel was lovely nice food and drink all at reasonable prices. The bedrooms were adequate basic but comfortable with balconies and they came with basic TV and a fridge all with air con and safe deposit boxes (paid locally about 70 euro for both for two weeks), which was paid on arrival.

The pool area was lovely with lots of sun bed’s and parasols and a pool bar. The only downside was that when it was windy they closed off all of the parasols, so they didn’t get damaged. This then took away all of the shaded areas around the pool.

When we where there in July it was average temp of 42 in day 35 at night (this is far too hot without shaded areas in the day time). This hotel is also owned by the same people of kis Mari and Cleopatra classic, and you can use all the facilities in all if you stay in any one of them.

All in all the hotel was very nice and we would definitely recommend it and we would go back there tomorrow.

Room Tip: rooms away from the pool area where generally quieter but dont hav sun on balconies in the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gav967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kardamena hotels
0.1 mi away
Cleopatra Classic Hotel
Cleopatra Classic Hotel
#20 of 39 in Kardamena
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cleopatra Hotels Kris Mari
Cleopatra Hotels Kris Mari
#21 of 39 in Kardamena
287 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nissia Kamares Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kalimera Mare Hotel
Kalimera Mare Hotel
#14 of 39 in Kardamena
295 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
#2 of 39 in Kardamena
259 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sunny View Hotel
Sunny View Hotel
#26 of 39 in Kardamena
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleopatra Superior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleopatra Superior Hotel

Property: Cleopatra Superior Hotel
Address: Kardamena 85302, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kardamena
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cleopatra Superior Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cleopatra Superior is part of Cleopatra Hotels. All 3 hotels are located in Kardamena, Kos, Greece. Cleopatra Hotels offer accommodation on Bed & Breakfast basis (continental buffet style), employ local staff & offer proper Greek hospitality ! Our Hotels are ideal for couples of any age and families. For people that want to be near the center, where everything is happening, but also want to relax and get a good night's sleep. Large groups of youngsters should reconsider before booking in our hotels. Manos Hatzikonstantinos, Cleopatra Hotels General Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cleopatra Superior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleopatra Superior Kardamena
Hotel Cleopatra Superior
Cleopatra Superior Hotel Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing