We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel ”
Review of Elga Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elga Apartments
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good hotel ”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel a night before we came hotel is very clean and staff are lovely food and drinks are a good price and we had a wondefull stay here it was hot. They have a nice pool area and a bar which serves drinks 24hrs. Close to all shops and restraunts in the town.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Suki N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    41
    14
    10
    13
See reviews for
13
27
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

We got a late deal for Kos and definitely exceeded our expectations.

We arrived late Wednesday night and went out immediately down bar St.

We missed the original reps meeting however signed up for a block booking with Jabran and Jamie.

Paint parties, foam parties as well as BBQS on the beach and €1 bars most nights.

Hotel was basic but clean and the staff are so friendly.

The pool area has a music system which plays most of the day and is a good atmosphere all day.

We met Katie the other 2wentys rep and we had a great week with all the reps.

We will definitely book up again for the same hotel and company.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I went on a lads holiday with 3 of my mates here in august 2013. it is literally perfect for your first lads holiday, Charlie behind the bar was cool, Carlos the club 18-30 rep is definitely on speed but he's an alright guy, don't buy the whole package that he offers you like straight away! you can get most of the stuff he's offering off PR's on the street. saying that my best night was 2 hour free bar event he sold us. everything is cleaner than you expect and you wont have a problem sleeping, there is a large supermarket like 50m away and then the town square is 2 minutes away. the room was much better than expected I don't know how there are bad reviews on this hotel. they have a guard/family dog that lives there.... he's alright for a dog. I wouldn't do Ibiza but I f@$cki#g loved this holiday. when going down the strip keep going to the end to "black magic"I am a guy and they gave me 2 vodka mixers and 5 shots of Sambuca for 5euro! pushy PR's all the way down the strip it got to the point where we just ignored them and ran past em and don't buy the over priced glow sticks off the starving children... bloody rip off. everyone we met seemed to go to seva but I preferred this place, less pretentious. and on a final note do the paint party at the club that isn't starlight it was sweet ( yes there is only 2 clubs)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Josh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed at Elga with a friend for the last week of season in September.
The rooms are awful - the sheets and towels were ripped and stained when we arrived and the floor was black with dirt and dust. The bathroom was a joke - no shower curtain/screen or even a hook for the shower head so you end up spraying water everywhere! The tile floor gets dangerously slippery and there's just a tiny drain in the centre of the bathroom floor which the water doesn't seem to even drain down, leaving the floor soaking the whole week! The maid only came once to empty our overflowing bin and exchange our sheets and towels for more stained ones - lovely!
Our room was ground floor, despite asking for a high floor and right next to the 24hour bar which was ridiculous! It was impossible to sleep at all with the same songs booming on repeat constantly! There is no aircon in any part of the hotel and even in September we were boiling so god knows how hot it gets in the summer... And if you leave your doors open to keep slightly cooler, you get bitten to death by mosquitoes - so you can't win! Also, get a safety deposit box - someone tried breaking into our room.
The only positives about the rooms is that they're big and our balcony overlooked the pool.
The pool was a good size, plenty of sunbeds and the pool bar was cheapish (had to be though cause they don't let you take any drinks or food by it - not even water!)
The hotel is sociable - especially if you do the rep package, you'll meet loads of people and have some great nights. The location of Elga is great, right near to 2 main clubs and a few minutes walk to the main square, supermarket and beach and Kardamena itself is lively but not mad, with nice harbour restaurants and even in mid September the weather was great.
I would not recommend staying at the Elga to anyone but if you can get it dirt, dirt cheap and really don't care at all, you'd probably tolerate it?!? I go abroad every year and never miss home but staying at the Elga, I couldn't wait to get home.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJones-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We paid such little as a group of four and to be honest we were surprised at what we actually got for our money!!! Ok so people are banging on about not having a shower curtain, but there was a small drain in the bathroom so any water dries up quickly, and at the end of the day the main thing is the shower worked well, we got warm water and it was perfectly clear clean water.
We had an apartment with 2 separate rooms fitting all four of us very well. A balcony looking over the sea and also a balcony looking over the pool - plenty of room to have a party!!!
The reception staff were all polite and the English workers are hilarious. The pool is fantastic with a great atmosphere with all the music and partays/bbqs.
The hotel is situated next to the two big nightclubs and literally about 5/10 min walk to the shops/restaurants and beach.
All four of us Watford girls thought we had got a really good deal staying in Elga, for goodness sake your going on an 18-30's holiday, why would you want it perfect and quiet - its all part of the fun!!! Plus it has a 24 hour bar so you cant go wrong really. DEFINATLEY recommend Elga!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We arrived at Elga on 12/9/13 for one week - the last week of season.

The rooms definitely are basic but it's all you really need cos we didn't spend much time in there. We were surprised to find that our room could fit 4, and so me and my friend had a bedroom each which was great. The bed sheets were slightly stained and yes there was no shower curtain but for the low price we paid, we really couldn't moan. The maids come pretty regularly too so your bins aren't too full for long. Elga is in such a great, central location too with the supermarket literally a 2 minute walk away and the central square just across the road from there.

The real problem was the mosquitoes. On the first morning I woke up to 40+ bites on my legs/feet. We ended up going on (hilarious) mossie hunts before bed each night, hunting down every single mossie in our apartment and swatting them with our shoes. Defo get a mossie plug and stock up on spray or you will be itching for weeks - I still am :(

As it was end of season, Kardamena was quiet but we still met some cool people and had a great time. The weather was still amazing with sunshine almost all day every day. We aren't 24/7 party people so we enjoyed the hotel/town being slightly quieter. We knew not to buy the packages with the reps and so we paid 15 euro to go on a bar crawl on the first night, just so we didn't look like the unsociable ones. It was as crap as we expected, I have no idea what we paid 15 euro for. We were basically escorted around 3 bars. That doesn't reflect on the reps themselves though, they were all nice people just doing their jobs.

On sunday night we went to the foam party and paid 10 euro to get in- 5 euro cheaper than the others had paid to get in with the reps. It was a laugh and worth going to although drinks were like 4 euro a drink so definitely worth pre drinking in your room first - get the peach schnapps from Louis' supermarket its so yummy!!

The pool area is great - pool is a good size and the bar serves food and drink all day. Best food was the chips and gravy which we pretty much lived off. But beware a 5 euro chicken burger is literally just a burger.... no chips which we found a bit odd. There were plenty of sun beds available and although it is a public pool there was rarely anyone there who wasn't staying at the hotel. The pool area is nice but the beach is beautiful, there are sun beds all along it and they are dead cheap at only 2 euro for the day. They are really spaced out so you have your own little bit of beach, so luxurious.

Kardamena is a beautiful, safe place. We didn't see one police car or ambulance with it's sirens on, not one beggar and we didn't hear about any crime. The locals are absolutely lovely too, it's so endearing, makes you not want to go home. Along the harbor front are some great restaurants including our two favorites. Pepperoni's Italian serves bloody lush food- the pizzas are amazing. They are really nice blokes and don't hassle you to come in which was what attracted us in the first place. We also got free cocktails after our meal woo! The other place we became very fond of was Scala restaurant. The food was top quality- but the best bit was probably the gorgeous watier Petros who made us laugh so much (and who I completely want to marry). Another highlight is local celeb Dj Smoochi who our rep bigged up so much, we had to laugh every time we saw him. Definitely met some characters in Kos!!

My week at Elga went so fast and I'm so upset :( I really fell in love with the place and I can't wait to go back. Definitely got the post-Kos blues.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor which was nice. We were on the front of the hotel over looking the old po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aymeelewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Place is a hellhole no shower curtain the maids would literally change sheets that was it not clear a soaked bathroom due to there being no shower curtain and no hook to even put the shower! the club 18-30 reps are a rip off dont want to know ya unless your spending money on excursions or poxy reunions and the reps and they only time you saw em was when they were trying to make money out of ya 4 days out of 7 we saw and told us events that would be happening that didnt for no apparent reason! We didnt pay for excursions but i feel for the people that did! The owners of the hotel told us we broke a chair which we clearly didnt and had to folk out money for something we didnt to apart from the hotel owners and reps it is a great place just dont go to the elga and avoid rip off reps who are always trying to sell rubbish that isnt needed when u got bar street wher u get better deals just down the road and is also alot more fun and meet in the clubs later rather than following some thick rep around in overpriced bars all night as if ur on a school trip!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whippy018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kardamena hotels
0.3 mi away
Agrelli Hotel
Agrelli Hotel
#25 of 39 in Kardamena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Origin Hotel Apartments
Origin Hotel Apartments
#20 of 39 in Kardamena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fania Apartments
Fania Apartments
#34 of 39 in Kardamena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stergia Apartments
Stergia Apartments
#33 of 39 in Kardamena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andavis Hotel
Andavis Hotel
#31 of 39 in Kardamena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sunny View Hotel
Sunny View Hotel
#27 of 39 in Kardamena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elga Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elga Apartments

Property: Elga Apartments
Address: Kardamena 85302, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elga Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elga Hotel is a family run busines which is only few meters away from the beautiful town of kardamena were you will find tourist shops,tasty traditional taverns,bars,and many other things to do on your stay.The sea of Kardamena is only 400 meters away from the resort. The hotel offers a pool with a snak bar with varius food and deferent coctails and many other things. All Elga rooms are spacy with a huge balcony with montain and pool view,or city view to relax on your stay.All Elga rooms have private bathroom. The reception is 24 houers and the hotel bar is open also 24 houers.Do not forget asking for a MOJITO at the bar! Kos Airport is only 5 kilometers away from the resort and kos harbour is 25 kilometers away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Elga Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elga Apartments Kardamena
Elga Apartments Hotel Kardamena
Elga Apartments Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing