We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls holiday amazing, elga not so much”
Review of Elga Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elga Apartments
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Girls holiday amazing, elga not so much”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Hotel
Myself and 4 friends stayed at the Elga between June 20th and 28th. We stayed in rooms 2 and 20. The room were basic but had 3 beds, balconies and a bathroom/wet room with zero air con so we had to ask for a fan each at reception (this cost us £25 euro each which I think is ridiculous even for a hotel this basic) one of the fans broke as soon as we got it and we had to swap for another less broken fan haha. Next we were 4 days in and decided since we didn't have fresh sheets or towels that we would go to reception and query this. I was not surprised when the nice reception man told me the cleaners had signed the book to say they had been into room 2 and after some debate he agreed this what utter rubbish and that it would be the next day before they would actually provide this aka day 5!!
On day 6 the woman who we assume is the owner really messed us around, she walked into room 20 without so much as a knock completely invading my friends privacy! She was just out of the shower, the hotel owner claimed that she was looking for damages then left. She then came to room 2 and looked around our hotel room also claiming that we had broken the fan. Before we left on the final night we handed in our hotel keys to be met with the most ridiculous hotel charges and we weren't the only ones!
Our room aka room 2 was charged 28 euro for a broken fan and a broken balcony door stopper, we still have no idea what that is!!!? But she had our friends passports and were worried she would somehow make it nightmare for us to go home if we didn't pay up.
Our friends in room 20 were charged for broken mugs the exact mugs were in the sink completely in tact! After speaking to other groups of people it seems the Elga have a reputation for charging holiday makers on 18-30 for damages including one other group of scottish girls who were charged 50 euros for Make up stains on towels and sheets. We quickly realised that every week new holiday makers arrive and the same damage charges must be made each week, I suggest checking the entire room before unpacking.

The Reps
Do not ever ever ever take the package ever. It is a complete rip off! I'll start with James who came into our hotel room minutes after we arrived at 2am extremely tired to tell us all sorts of information and just wouldn't take no for an answer, pressuring a group of nice 21 year olds who want to do their own thing for literally half an hour! He told us many lies about the status/starlight reps who sell tickets along the strip saying that they charge a fortune, when in actual fact they gave us great discounts. After being repeatedly told we were not interested he told us one of the nights aka the silent disco was exclusive to 18-30 and we wouldn't get ticket for it anywhere else and We paid 30 euro each up front of these tickets because he told us we could meet him there at any time.. Also lies because it turns out it finished at 12! By the time we go there it was over, we told Simon the other rep the next day who said he would look into I but heard ZERO.
A separate night we had paid 15 euro each for was the paint party, since it was the one everyone was going to we paid for these tickets up front also, James told us we could meet up with him and the 18-30 crowd at any time to pick up the tickets, yet another lie when we found him and the other very drunken mess rep Katie they refused to give us the tickets until we joined them to the next bar.

Amazing holiday with the girls! Beautiful beach, cool bars, lovely restaurants and plenty of good times regardless of the 0 star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Connie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    41
    14
    10
    13
See reviews for
13
29
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gumbet, Turkey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Hi Guys, I'm Simon the Club 18-30 rep at the elga this year. Just wanted to introduce myself to those of you preparing to come out this year. the elga has had an awful lot of work done this year and is in great shape and so far out of 300 guests we have only had one unhappy one! Which is nice! . We don't have yellow water! haha the maintenance man will definitely no steal your toilet seat. Unless you break it when you are drunk.. And as for no English myself and Katie the other rep are on hand to help you out at all times. There are three bar staff who all speak perfect english and one of them even is english! The Elga is a palace !

Should you have any concerns or queries before coming out please feel free to contact me! I look forward to seeing you all :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sbell10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Firstly, we opened the door to our room (15- first floor) and had countless amounts of cockroaches (their bodies about 2/3 inches in length). We then moved rooms (20) and everything was fine, if you like cold yellow water in the showers and sinks, a broken fridge, cutlery draws with insects in, 1 toilet roll to share for the week, stained sheets, no shower curtain (we have better bathrooms at UNI!!), a maid service who where rude and hated you being in the room at the same time as them, only Pedro can speak English and he's a really nice guy, but he's just left so good luck! The pool area is nice but no heated water, refreshing but cold and horrible at the same time. Look out for the maintainence guy (I will attach a photo of him) don't allow him in your room at all! On the 5th day of our holiday me and my friends where sat in our room when the maids came in followed by him... He was carrying 2 screwdrivers and intentionally pulled out toilet seat off and broke all of the hinges (there was absolutely nothing wrong with it) accused us

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sthomas94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Been to other Greece islands so was looking forward to coming here. The hotel is good basic better than I had first expected. Staff friendly. Was on club 18-30 and as we seemed to be older than most of the crowd mostly just out of school 17 year olds acting "wild" downing WKDs I would advise not to pay the 200 euros to go with the reps.
Had nothing but hassle with them I think they were forgetting that we were ages with them and not idiots. I could have arranged better party games etc at the pool and I did. Complained to Thomas Cook on arrival back in the UK and spoke to the head rep over there.

The island it's self is very run down compared to other parts of Greece and I found the bars to be quite expensive it was an average week but we paid reasonable for it so cant compain we made our own good time with other girls we met on the plane and had great weather so cant complain.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nmcateer56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed here with 8 friends and we split two rooms next to each other.
Positives; great location between 2 clubs, bars and village centre (near the beach). Pool was big, snack bar did a wide ranch of food from burgers, baguettes, jacket potatoes & breakfast's. Rooms were good size, balcony's were nice to sit out on (our room had 2) and kitchen had basic facilities that all work. Now the negatives; 24 bar which let anyone in ment constant noise, pool let anyone in - resident or not. Reps were pushy, our flight got in at 3am after being delayed and they wanted to talk about us paying over 200 euros for all the 'amazing' trips (DON'T go on boat party, was terrible) as soon as we arrived?! No air-con, useless fans were expensive, master key ment anyone could get into any room at anytime! Shower was pathetic, flooded the bathroom as no curtain and the other room didn't have a shower holder! 1 toilet roll between 4 of us for the week!
All in all, if you want to pay hundreds of euros for a bad apartment, stay here but look around for better deals; our other friends who we met out there stayed in a 4 star just round the corner with air con and own restaurant for much less.

Room Tip: As far away from the bar as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanwells619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

THE HOTEL
The elga was without doubt the best hotel to stay at in Kos, it was the only 24 hour bar so everybody returns here after a night out, and it also is exclusive to 18-30s so everyones up for it and you find people from other hotels woll come to the elga during the day as their hotel is too quiet and boring. The rooms are suprisingly really nice, basic but clean. Although the shower is useless, runs out yellow and is freezing half the time. The pool is so clean, and the pool bar amazing, Christian behind the bar is the ultimate cutie, he serves brilliant coaktails and really good food!! You must must must have a dogs bollox cocktail here, one gets you mortal. They became a ritual whilst we were out there! Anything goes at this hotel, make as much noise as you want, do what you want, its brilliant!

THE REPS/THE PACKAGE
Willcox was a legend, Nick is grumpy who makes no real effort to make your time in Kos worth while, he chats up everyone but sorry Nick you have no chance honey. Vicky was probably the best rep, although if you are female you won't see her half as much as you would if you were male, sticky vicky i had to call her after noticing this! They try and get you to book the package as soon as you arrive in Kos, 3am in our case. It was woth it to us as it was our first girls holiday and we didnt really know how it all works, also as 90% of people in the hotel have booked the hole package this is what everyone follows and you meet so many friends as you are with them 24/7. The frat party, UV party and foam party were brilliant, but the pub crawl you can do so much better if you do it on ur own trust me!! The boat party was shocking, whale watching would probably be more lively than the 18-30s one we went on. After getting friendly with the bar staff you will find they run there own one which is meant to be mental so i would advise definatley going on that! OH and the nightouts with 18-30s start sooooo early, sometimes meeting at 7pm????

RESTARAUNTS
Do not go to mataroa, little chef is more appealing. But definatley go to Captains!

BARS/CLUBS
Crackers bar is by far the best bar in Kos! went for a few quiet drinks before the plane, but the bar man got us all so drunk we nearly couldnt board! it's so worth it. Status and Starlight are good, You can see from the outside whats lively and they are all pretty good with some such cheap offers but definatly get down to crackers!

OVERALL
Because Kos is fairly small and 18-30s do dominate it we met some great friends that we still keep in touch with and had an amazing time, if you have been ibiza and napa maybe this might be too quiet for you on a clubbing scale but definatley still fun overall. Would so reccomend it for a first or second holiday. Sam the camera man comes on all the 18-30s events and at the end of the week you get every single photo he has taken that week, seems fun but when everysingle person in Kos has a photo of you with your noon out being sick on the toilet its a slight problem so be careful! DEFINATLEY RECCOMEND KOS!! LOVED IT

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

After booking a week at the Elga Apartments and reading some of the reviews prior to our arrival, we were slightly dubious on what to expect....

As a group of 4 girls, we had an absolutely amazing week. Yes we went the last week of the season so it wasn't as busy as previous girls holidays, but we still had the best time!

The apartments were basic, but just what we needed, somewhere to sleep (for a couple of hours after getting in at around 7am!) and a shower. Well - I use the word shower loosely. This was the only downside to our trip. After reading other reviews, about there not being shower curtains, we took it upon ourselves to take our own. This however was a complete waste of time as there was nowhere to hang it! (It's the thought that counts though!) We didn't have any hot water the whole time we were there, which wasn't great to start with, but we soon got used to it.

Stella and the team are great. You are able to pay an extra 40euros to have your room until 8pm, which was fab as we had a midnight flight home. When we found out it was delayed for 2 hours, they were extremely accommodating and let us have the room until 10pm without any additional charge.

The pool area was great - this is the first year where we haven't had to argue with people over sun loungers as there were plenty to go around. Yes the guys have a dog (as detailed in other reviews) however it kept itself to itself and didn't bother any of the guests. As for 'Ellie' the magpie....she is a little more interactive. Make sure you keep your valuables safe when she is around.

The resort had everything required for a girlie holiday....nice bars/restaurants/pool/beach/shops etc. We would definitely recommend Kardamena to anyone looking for a lively break.

The only downside to the week was the 18-30 hard sell/lies that we encountered. After being on an 18-30s to Ibiza in previous years, we kind of knew what to expect. The package seems a good deal at 199euros all in. Especially when you get told that its 20euros per night to the clubs on the doors and also that bar street with charge 5-7euros PER DRINK and that if one of the clubs is open the other shuts as there isn't enough people to fill both....HOWEVER THIS IS NOT TRUE!!!! We went out the first night, and the entrance to the club was 5euros with a free drink, and we managed to get a triple spirit and mixer plus 3 shots for 5euros on bar street....and....surprise surprise both clubs were open every night (apart from one night!)!!!! So be careful and don't get tricked into buying a package when you really don't need to!!!

To those people complaining that its noisy at night....don't stay at a Club 18-30s hotel in future as that tends to be the case!

All in all a great holiday which I am sure we will still be talking about in months to come!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cruton87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamena
0.1 mi away
Origin Hotel Apartments
Origin Hotel Apartments
#18 of 39 in Kardamena
214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Agrelli Hotel
Agrelli Hotel
#24 of 39 in Kardamena
177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stergia Apartments
Stergia Apartments
#33 of 39 in Kardamena
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Andavis Hotel
Andavis Hotel
#32 of 39 in Kardamena
51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fania Apartments
Fania Apartments
#34 of 39 in Kardamena
42 reviews
0.2 mi away
Studios Ladikos Beach
Studios Ladikos Beach
#193 of 217 in Kos
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elga Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elga Apartments

Property: Elga Apartments
Address: Kardamena 85302, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elga Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elga Hotel is a family run busines which is only few meters away from the beautiful town of kardamena were you will find tourist shops,tasty traditional taverns,bars,and many other things to do on your stay.The sea of Kardamena is only 400 meters away from the resort. The hotel offers a pool with a snak bar with varius food and deferent coctails and many other things. All Elga rooms are spacy with a huge balcony with montain and pool view,or city view to relax on your stay.All Elga rooms have private bathroom. The reception is 24 houers and the hotel bar is open also 24 houers.Do not forget asking for a MOJITO at the bar! Kos Airport is only 5 kilometers away from the resort and kos harbour is 25 kilometers away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Elga Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elga Apartments Kardamena
Elga Apartments Hotel Kardamena
Elga Apartments Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing