We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs AirCon”
Review of Elga Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Elga Apartments
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Wicked place if you wanna get drunk and have a party! I had an awesome holiday and laughed like you wouldn't believe. However the rooms neeeeeeed aircon! You can pay for a fan but they don't really do anything on the hotter days! I would advise this place for a first holiday, its loud and fun! 18-30 is good, but if I'm honest the reps in the hotel only talked to you if they were trying to get you to pay for the package (which is far too expensive and not at all worth the money) or if they want to pull you! Apart from that I had an awesome time and the people that work in the Elga are wicked! I would definitely recommend, just make sure you don't mind the heat!

Room Tip: Choose top floor... its a nightmare getting your suitcase up there, but its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 167 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

July 2012. Where do I start!! I don't mind not having a shower curtain but when your bathroom gets flooded and you have to get ready paddling in two inches of water it is not fun! I got in to have a show on our second day and realised the water was running YELLOW I went and told reception who told me this was normal! I don't think so!! Also Elga bar is the only bar open till 8 am so EVERYONE comes back to this hotel and it is so so loud no sleep! As for the nightlife it was shocking the bars are just bars that you only sit and drink in NO getting up to dance! Go Malia or Ibiza even Zante is better then this s*** hole!! I'm booking another holiday after that one!! But loved the pool bar boy xx

Room Tip: Top floor or not at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I stayed at Elga for two weeks in august with one friend.
This is the perfect hotel if you're looking for a fun club 18-30 party holiday, its basic but you get what you pay for. The rooms are clean, and have what you need, only fault would be that there is no shower curtain so the bathroom gets soaking and you have to hold the shower head. The maid came into our room every day and cleaned up, made beds, emptied bins etc. She normally came whilst we were sleeping, but she always came back later and she changed the sheets about once a week. She also gave us spare toilet roll when we asked for it. One thing I would say though is do NOT break anything, as they will charge you a fortune to replace them, there is a list of prices on the back of your door. The staff were lovely and friendly, always up for a chat especially the night time barman Luke and if you had any problems they would fix it. Recommend leaving your key at the reception as if you lose it, you have to pay. Also if you get locked out, you can get the master key from reception. The pool was lovely, very clean and you saw them cleaning it every night. Loads of sun loungers and food from pool bar was very good, however they don't let you bring any food or drink down with you but prices aren't too bad so its ok. They play music around the pool from about 8am 'til 7pm, and the 24hour bar plays music through the night, so don't expect it to be quiet. People come in drunk at all hours and want to continue the party, but if like us thats what you want then it is perfect.. It really is 'go hard or go home'. Don't expect to get much sleep, but if your going club 18-30, why would you want to waste time sleeping? Rooms get really hot, you can hire a fan from reception but mostly it just circulated hot air, better to just leave your balcony doors open. Hotel is in perfect location, you can see the two clubs from hotel but cant hear the noise which is good. Shop next door and supermarket 2min walk away, if that.

The reps come to your room straight away &try to make you pay 220 euros for a week of events. Would recommend that you don't do the events with the reps, as apart from the Frat party, they are not worth the money. They take you out about half7-8 which is far to early then take you to empty bars that are super expensive then they take you to the clubs when no one is in them. Would recommend pre- drinking in your room or at hotel bar then heading down to bar street where you will get amazing deals like triple mixer &2 shots for 4euros. Either that or head to the harbour and go to Crackers or Bonkers, best bars down that bit. The reps will tell you that you can't get the tickets to the events anywhere else but as soon as you hit the square people are selling the events for 5-10euros.. much better than rep deals. Definitely do the foam party and the glow party.. Best nights ever! Watch out for the gypsy kids trying to sell you glow sticks they are everywhere and won't leave you alone!
There are loads of really good restaurants on the harbour, especially Captain's and Lustros.. amazing food. But there is also loads of fast food places, perfect for when you're staggering home in the early hours drunk! Everything is within close distance so no need to stagger too far.

Over all I would definitely go back to Kos and to the Elga, if your looking for a fun party filled holiday then this is the place to stay, if your looking for a nice quiet relaxing holiday, why are you going to club 18-30?!

Would recommend this hotel to everyone. Best holiday ever.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have two balcony doors, so much cooler. Second or third floor rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Tanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The elga was dirty, people knock on your door at silly o clock. One toilet roll per week. It's very hot especially in the morning no matter how much you open the balcony it's still so hot and you get bitten everywhere! No washing up liquid for the glasses, plates etc or even a sponge! Can't call the shower a shower, p*ss water runs out of it.. The 24 hr bar is open all night, loud music played from 6am, very difficult to sleep through it. Cleaners come 2-3 times a week. On the bright side.. The hotel staff were very kind but they had a dog who would bark at any vehicle driving past. Kos was disappointing, only 2 clubs, rep Vicky from 18-30 is very rude and makes you feel I've cr*ap if you don't spend all your money on watered down booze. Restaurants in kos are rubbish was ill after eating from the kebab shop and restaurant at the beach. REPS R A RIP OFF tried to sell us a weeks activities for £160 when the locals sold it for £45! Rip off! NEVER AGAIN. Your better off going Aiya Napa

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The hotel itself is decent, staff were nice. Location was perfect for going out, pool was good. Showers were freezing 24 hours a day and you had to hold the shower head up with your hand. towels and bed sheets got changed twice in 2 weeks (rotten). The owner has a dog called Figro or something he is cool but they also have a Magpie who flys onto your balcony and eats your clothes and craps all over your towels.

Stay away from the reps, they get everyone in a room together and try and pressure you into buying this package for 220 Euros. RIP OFF. they are on the jam toast. Do not listen to them all the nights they had planned you can do them for free aswell. Absolute joke if you ask me, how they are allowed to do this I do not know. We got threatened to be thrown out the hotel because we told other people not to buy the package. And when new arrivals came they sent us (15 scottish boys) to another hotel to be picked up because they knew we would tell the newbies not to buy it aswell. Which is dirty if you ask me.

Vicky is horrible so is the other one. Wilcox is a legend you only see him at night time on his own staggering about the place.

his review would have been much worse but Im not allowed to post it if it contains 'profanity' so had to clean it up abit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

As a group of 4 girls we were really looking forward to getting away in the sun and for the nightlife. When we arrived we were pleased with our apartment - it was good value for money and you get what you pay for. Beds were basic but the pool and loungers were amazing and staff were generally friendly and the place was clean.
It had a central location and basically next to 2 of the resorts main clubs. (it can get noisy but the convenient location was perfect!) We were looking forward to going out the Thursday evening we arrived but we were told by the 18-30 reps that there was nothing on. But don't believe them!! we were woken up by people out all night/morning.
We were pressured into buying a package deal with the Rep who comes to your room - it sounded amazing until the punchline: €220! Which for 5 nights and a boat party was overpriced. We later found out you could buy wristbands/tickets for clubs for about €5-10 a night (big nights could get up to €20max) So we were very disappointed!
Additionally the Reps (who tbf were good fun) took us on a barcrawl every night before going to the club but some started as early as 7:30pm! We spent far too much money on drinks in bars (drinks could be €5 each) when we could be pre-drinking at the hotel instead for much cheaper.

When we went out on nights not organised by the Reps - we found drinks to be much cheaper as they need to get you in, whereas on the organised barcrawl you're already in so can get away with charging high prices. Another thing - a triple vodka coke out there will taste like water. Alcohol out there is really watered down, but you get that wherever you go on the island.

The weather was amazing and the availability of the loungers by the pool was great! The pool cafe was very reasonable and sometimes we ate there and meals were cheap and large portions. Our apartment was cleaned regularly during the week so place was clean - however bring a shower curtain as they don't supply one and the whole bathroom ends up a swimming pool!

Overall, we really enjoyed ourselves and the location was perfect! Basic but clean accommodation was all we needed and the pool was a real added bonus. However we would not recommend getting the package wristband with the Reps - you can get much much better deals elsewhere. The hotel was good but the 18-30 club was what disappointed us.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lt00086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Me and 3 friends spent 2 weeks in the ELGA and had the holiday of a lifetime!!! Kos is such a good place to go on a clubbing holiday.
This hotel is probably in the best location for a clubbing holiday, you could see the two main clubs from either side of our apartment. Every week the clubs have a famous visitor (e.g. Reggie Yates, Joey Essex and Danny Dyer when we were there). Photos of one club are on facebook: search ‘starlight club’ and you’ll get an idea of the atmosphere.
Do not buy the entire package of events from your reps!! The only things I would recommend buying is the FRAT party and maybe the booze cruise. The rest is just a rip off basically all you do is go on a bar crawl before going to a club(some nights there is a free bar or 2euro bar but its still not worth the money). The drinks in the bar crawl cost more than if you just go out with your friends because they don’t do any deals. I would recommend Mario’s by the harbour (5euros for 3 shots and 2 cocktails!) or just ask for deals when you go to bars.
The hotel room wasn’t amazing. In the kitchen all we got was a toaster, one hob, a fridge and a kettle. So all we could really cook was supernoodles and pasta. One day the electricity was down for a few hours and so everything in the fridge got warm and our milk went off. Oh and you have to keep bread in the fridge, ours went mouldy in less than 24hours. There are loads of restaurants and cafes, some quite cheap so we ate out every lunchtime. We had two twin rooms with decent beds. One room had a mirror and wardrobe and both rooms had a bedside table. We were lucky because we were at one of the corners of the hotel and so had two good sized balconies. The bathroom was okay, clean and simple. The shower was odd, you basically had to use it like a hose and without a shower curtain the water got everywhere so we used a towel to soak it up then hung it on our balcony. It dried pretty quickly so it didn’t bother us. The shower was almost always cold but it was nice and refreshing. If you wash clothes and put them on the balcony and they fall off, you probably won’t see them again. I have a feeling that the hotel manager collects them because I saw them with bin bags full of clothes. We lost a top and 2 towels.
The maids were crap. They did as little as possible. You were lucky if they swept the floor or emptied the bins. We were there for 2 weeks and they didn’t change our sheets until 3 days before we were leaving. But to be fair we did live like tramps and it didn’t bother us much because we didn’t spend much time in the hotel. I wouldn’t leave anything like tickets or paperwork hanging around, we almost lost our Joey Essex autograph because they sometimes go around your room with a bin liner and throw away anything that looks like rubbish.
Probably less than 10 meters away from the hotel is a tiny shop which sells all the basics you may need and a larger supermarket about 3mins walk away. There are a lot of cashpoints around Kardamena. There are a few nice beaches, nearest is only 10min walk. It has watersports there if you’re brave enough.
The worst thing about the hotel was if you broke anything you have to pay, a lot. We broke 4 glasses and had to pay 8euros, so we ended up buying plastic cups from the shop to save anymore accidents and washing up! Some boys next door broke a balcony chair (25euros) and then swapped it with one of ours, don’t worry if this happens to you, they have room numbers on the bottom so you just have to let the hotel know and they sort it. We didn’t realise this for a few days so we were hiding our chairs inside and planning to jump the balconies to swap ours back.
The hotel pool was good, always enough sun loungers and never really very busy. It plays music and there’s a bar which also sells food. The bar in the hotel reception was really good, 24HOURS.
I would certainly return to Kos and stay at the Elga. This hotel is perfect for CLUBBERS, which means noisy all day and all night. Definitely not for families. Heres a few tips…
• Wear shoes in clubs.. I cut my toe on glass
• Pre-drink, even before going to the bars, you’ll have so much more fun. We even popped home from the clubs to have a few shots (they write a time on your wrist so you have to run) to save some money.
• Don’t leave valuables on the beach, lots of people decide to go swimming after the clubs and get robbed. There are a lot of gypsy kids who try to sell glow bands at the bars, I felt sorry for them on the first night but they are not nice people. The teenage boys offered us ‘free blow jobs’, we got rocks thrown at us and some kid hit this girls boob. They are fine as long as you ignore them, we stupidly started an argument.
• Be nice to the hotel owners, they can easily kick you out. We got a warning on our first night because our neighbours threw water at us!
• If any of you have seen sun, sex and suspicious parents, Ronnie and his friend are out there at the moment working for one of the clubs. The programme was all a set up and he was already working in Kos before filming. I think he’s really embarrassed about it so if you see him, he probably wont admit he’s Ronnie.
• We think that the small Glens vodka from the small shop may be fake, just be careful with that one
• The hotel managers don’t like guests at night (if you get what I mean) you either have to pretend that they are staying at the elga or go to the beach.

Room Tip: Get a corner apartment for two balconies 1st floor is good, any higher and you have to climb a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gracev530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamena
1.4 mi away
Sunny View Hotel
Sunny View Hotel
#24 of 39 in Kardamena
308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Origin Hotel Apartments
Origin Hotel Apartments
#17 of 39 in Kardamena
239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andavis Hotel
Andavis Hotel
#33 of 39 in Kardamena
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Golden Sun Apartments
Golden Sun Apartments
#19 of 24 in Tigaki
18 reviews
11.6 mi away
Hotel Iris
Hotel Iris
#17 of 19 in Psalidi
255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stergia Apartments
Stergia Apartments
#35 of 39 in Kardamena
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elga Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elga Apartments

Address: Kardamena 85302, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Price Range: $27 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elga Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elga Hotel is a family run busines which is only few meters away from the beautiful town of kardamena were you will find tourist shops,tasty traditional taverns,bars,and many other things to do on your stay.The sea of Kardamena is only 400 meters away from the resort. The hotel offers a pool with a snak bar with varius food and deferent coctails and many other things. All Elga rooms are spacy with a huge balcony with montain and pool view,or city view to relax on your stay.All Elga rooms have private bathroom. The reception is 24 houers and the hotel bar is open also 24 houers.Do not forget asking for a MOJITO at the bar! Kos Airport is only 5 kilometers away from the resort and kos harbour is 25 kilometers away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Elga Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elga Apartments Kardamena
Elga Apartments Hotel Kardamena
Elga Apartments Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing