We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Holiday, booking up for next year!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Elga Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elga Apartments
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Holiday, booking up for next year!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

Recently back from a week staying at this hotel, there were 16 of us and we have never had such an amazing holiday as we have here! Hotel staff were lovely and reps were amazing, really helpful!
Location was amazing, right next to main nightclubs and short walk to bars/restaurant, plus 24hour bar at the hotel helped!! The maids cleaned every 2nd day and apartments were basic but really nice, apart from the small and open shower, but it wasnt a bother! Would love to go back next year and will deffo recommend it to anyone looking to go away with friends!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jenjen2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    41
    14
    10
    13
See reviews for
13
27
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

This was my 1st girly holiday and was by far the lowest standard of hotel in living memory. My first impression of the inside was terrible, the reception looks like a miniature bar (very tacky). There was a lift but only 3 ppl could fit so that was a no no. The rooms were very basic and old school, although they were fairly clean. The bathroom was shocking because the shower didn’t even have a shower curtain or shower glass, therefore it was very difficult to shower and also the floor got very wet. Then again the room size isn’t bad the balcony was fine. However the staff only cleaned the room once or twice for the week, and there definition of house cleaning is changing the bins and changing the bed sheets just once in a week, which in my opinion should be daily. Another thing is that they don’t give you is toilet tissue, you get one that you start with and thats it. The overall look and standard of the room was disappointing and nothing im used to. DEFINATLY NOT 3STAR.
Another thing that was annoying was that the pool was a public pool, which meant that everyone whos anyone could walk in to pool area. The reps are friendly but quite annoying they try get you involved in the activities but to be honest its a rip off, we just done our own thing and it was fun.
Everyone you meet on the island including the staff are real nice and very friendly and thats a pro but if you decide to stay there in Kos go somewhere with better standards.

Room Tip: find another hotel this is a very low standard hotel (1*)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dolla2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malpas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

My friends and I have just come back from a week on 18-30's staying in The Elga. Our girly holiday didn't dissapoint at all.

The Elga has got a perfect location, literally 2 minutes away from the main club, Starlight and then less than 5 minutes from all the other bars on Bar Street.

The staff at The Elga were all friendly and the 24 hour bar was always there to serve drinks- alcoholic or non! The pool was lovely, big and clean and plenty of loungers around it to snooze on. There was always music playing by the pool which created a great atmosphere but after a week of the same playlist, it got a little tiresome. Another tiny negative was that the pool music started playing at around 9AM, some nights we were out until then so music blaring through our open balcony doors (because of the heat) was not what you wanted when you were trying to sleep!

The room itself was clean and the beds were comfy. Maid service came every other day to empty bins and our bed sheets and towels were changed mid-week of the holiday. The shower however, was not the best. You had to hold the nozzle up over your head which made shampooing difficult and there was no curtain or door around the shower which meant the whole bathroom got inevitably soaked while you washed! Another little problem was that the kitchenette wasn't well equipped at all. We were highly frustrated after having bought a large tin of Heinz Beans from the supermarket for beans on toast, that there was no can opener in the kitchen. We asked around but with no luck so we settled for stabbing the can open with a sharp knife!

Overall though, the hotel's brilliant location overruled all my other gripes because we weren't expecting 5 star quality for such a good price and to be honest, The Elga exceeded expectations of a 2 star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoannaRosemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

Where do i begin? I loved Elga! Such a friendly hotel - relaxed atmosphere in the day but the odd pool party and loud group of people can liven that up any time. there were 3 of us girls staying in one room, very basic but we only needed it for sleeping in and a shower ... which wasnt too great. More like a wet room and the shower varies so prepare for an odd trickle one day..! The bar downstairs and round the pool was great, nice food! Stella was great (hotel owner) and the dog Figo is adorable!! The hotel couldnt be in a better location - far enough from the nightlife but literally 2 mins away from the main nightclubs - which are AMAZING! every night we went to either or, and they were both great clubs. we booked 1830 and thought we might get hassled a lot but our rep was there just enough, not too much. We booked on some of the stuff but some of it is a real rip off - even so, we are glad we did it because we had so much fun! You have to go to captains restaurant and see Theo - top guy! and wow bar for a purple passion! Watch out for the little kids selling glow bands, they will just poke it in ur face - you literally cant be polite because they wont leave you alone. Also, theres no deposit to pay... but a damage list on the door so do NOT break anyting because u WILL be charged. if you get on the right side of everyone its all good! I would DEFFO go back! had the most amazing holiday!!! If you r on 1830 --- do the silent disco/uv party - TOP NIGHTS!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LancashireLaura88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

Me and 3 other girls stayed at the Elga in July 2010 for a girlie holiday. We had never been away with Club 18-30 before and were very impressed it! We got picked up from the airport and got on a coach, which could have well easily been a private limo as it only took around 10 minutes to get the hotel which meant we could get on with our holiday straight away.

Our rep Dobbo introduced himself as soon as we arrived, helping us carry our bags up the narrow stairs - although there was a lift! We had our welcome meeting and got involved with all the trips which made our holiday as well as saving us quite a bit of money.
The hotel is a family run hotel and they are all very friendly, the rooms are of a high quality compared to other ones we have stayed at. The pool was always lively (thanks to our rep!), good food & range of drinks.

As I mentioned before the trips were amazing and Dobbo our rep looked after us really well making sure we had a good night every night, he made us feel like it was our night! It was one of my mates 21st birthdays at the end of the holiday and he even bought her a cake with 21 candles!

We're booked for Bulgaria this year for our 2nd Club 1830 holiday! Bring it on!
x

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ManchesterSam888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2011

I went in July 2006 and the hotel back them was ace. Not far off the main strip and close to the night clubs. Rooms were good for 4 lads, the pool is a bit small for such a big hotel, but that's the only complaint I have really.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mintyfrenchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

My favouite Club 18-30 hotel by far!
We arrived at this hotel after being promised that this hotels comes highly recommended - and we weren't dissapointed! Staff were friendly enough, but the reps were brilliant. They couldn't do enough for you. The rooms are basic, but too be honest we don't need much, just need it to be clean. The only thing with the rooms was that we had no air-con and no shower curtain! So everytime you go for a shower the whole room is soaked! We did have to hire a fan for the week at €30 but that was money well spent. The balconies are massive, perfect to sit out on for early evening drinks whilst your getting ready.
During the day, we spent more time by the beach than the pool. But the pool was a good size with a pool bar which served drinks and snacks. From what other people said, the satff were really friendly. The beach was only a 10min walk away and sunbeds were too much to hire.
Nightlife in Kos is OK for a more quieter holiday than the standard Club 18-30 holiday. The bars are not far and Status Club is only 2 secs away from the hotel, so no taxi's needed!
Overall, this is the perfect place to relax, catch some rays and have a bit of fun. For those wanting a mad holiday, Kos really isn't the place to be. If I could stay in a hotel like the Elga on every holiday I go on, I would never complain!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieMegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kardamena hotels
0.3 mi away
Agrelli Hotel
Agrelli Hotel
#25 of 39 in Kardamena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Origin Hotel Apartments
Origin Hotel Apartments
#20 of 39 in Kardamena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fania Apartments
Fania Apartments
#34 of 39 in Kardamena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stergia Apartments
Stergia Apartments
#32 of 39 in Kardamena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andavis Hotel
Andavis Hotel
#31 of 39 in Kardamena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sunny View Hotel
Sunny View Hotel
#27 of 39 in Kardamena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elga Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elga Apartments

Property: Elga Apartments
Address: Kardamena 85302, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elga Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elga Hotel is a family run busines which is only few meters away from the beautiful town of kardamena were you will find tourist shops,tasty traditional taverns,bars,and many other things to do on your stay.The sea of Kardamena is only 400 meters away from the resort. The hotel offers a pool with a snak bar with varius food and deferent coctails and many other things. All Elga rooms are spacy with a huge balcony with montain and pool view,or city view to relax on your stay.All Elga rooms have private bathroom. The reception is 24 houers and the hotel bar is open also 24 houers.Do not forget asking for a MOJITO at the bar! Kos Airport is only 5 kilometers away from the resort and kos harbour is 25 kilometers away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Elga Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elga Apartments Kardamena
Elga Apartments Hotel Kardamena
Elga Apartments Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing