We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Akti Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Akti Palace Hotel
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We had soo nice stay with my family. All the hotel staff were so nice and helpful and I mean all of them. Everyone from Akti Palace could be using playgrounds and all others of the sister hotel Akti Beach which we did with my two little daugters. All the food was excellent. The only minus was the rocky beach and enterance to the see.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
5  Thank Ondrej H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (660)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

415 - 421 of 660 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2014

I have just returned from a week's holiday at this hotel. The views from the pool are stunning, surrounded by the mountains and the sea. The rooms are lovely. They are very modern, stylish and simplistic. Upon arrival I was impressed immediately with the hotel which really is 5 star and is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed at. The food was fantastic, the staff were very friendly and hard working!! My teenage son was particularly impressed with the constant supply of freshly made pizzas and burgers at the pool bar! I have been on a couple of all inclusive holidays previously but I have never been keen on "all inclusives". However, this hotel changed my mind and I would definitely go back again. Very relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank bigbumbetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We returned home just a few days ago after a really lovely relaxing week at this hotel where the staff must be the best we have ever come across. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they are so friendly and helpful. We particularly liked Mary (Maria) on Reception whose smile was so warm and friendly, she is just gorgeous, and also Joseph in the Bar who worked so hard night after night. However, I hasten to add that all of the staff in all 4 Restaurants as well as the Beach Bar are exceptional, friendly, helpful and all hard working. Food in the main restaurant is in abundance and very good with plenty of choice, however it is a bit repetitive day after day, so a visit to the other 3 themed restaurants is essential and certainly worth a visit, but you will need to book in advance; food and service was excellent in all 4. We were lucky to have a south-west facing balcony on the top level which meant we had the sun all day. Our room was really nice, beautiful comfortable bed and pillows; we slept like logs, best sleep ever! Although it does state it is a 5* Hotel, it does not however quite match the same quality we have experienced in other 5* hotels we have stayed at; eg the complimentary toiletries in the bathroom were almost non-existent, we only had one half used body lotion bottle obviously left from the previous occupants and no replacements were made for the entire week. There was a hand-wash and body-wash container fixed to the walls by the wash-hand basin and shower, but nothing else. No bathrobes or slippers either as one would expect from a 5* hotel. However, on the plus side, we did have a large bowl of fruit in our room on arrival as well as a bottle of wine and water in the fridge and the latter were replaced on a daily basis, which was a really nice touch. There was also a kettle with Tea/coffee and milk provided; however, it is a pity they didn't think to instal an extra electric socket to accommodate the kettle as we had to unplug the table lamp in order to boil the kettle; no extra electric sockets in the room at all; obviously a huge oversight in a newly built modern complex such as this is. We did use the free courtesy bus from the hotel into Kardamena on a couple of occasions, but I think it needs to be a bit more frequent as there was always a long queue and a bit of a free-for-all getting on it. Overall, we did thoroughly enjoy our week at this Hotel; it was quiet, which is what we like, very comfortable with a lovely pool and beach area with lots of sun-beds and set in a beautifully laid-out modern sleek- style complex. Maybe this hotel is more suited to singles/couples as there didn't appear to be much activity for children; perhaps the Akti Beach Hotel next door is more suitable for families with young children. We did think a bit more atmosphere could have been created in the restaurants and bars by playing some lovely background Greek music; maybe this will be addressed for the future as we did make this known to the PR lady at the Hotel. I would most certainly recommend this Hotel and Resort if you are looking for a quiet and relaxing holiday with sunshine and very friendly, hard working staff included. And finally, it was excellent value for the price we paid in May.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AnJea_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a thoroughly enjoyable week at the Akti Palace Hotel. We were greeted with a champagne reception upon our arrival and were then golf buggied to our room with our cases which was a lovely start to the week. The room was clean and modern with a good sized balcony which overlooked the sea. Rooms were cleaned daily with new bottles of wine, water and cartons of juice placed in the fridge whenever they ran out. The pool is large with lots of sun loungers which you don't have to be up at the crack of dawn to secure. The towel man arrives around 8am and provides a happy welcome greeting to start each day. The staff are absolutley lovely, particularly Mary and Lucy who work on reception, nothing is too much trouble for them. I would definitely recommend trying each of the themed restaurants as they are lovely and tasty, they also provide a break from the usual food available in the main restaurant. This food is always fresh and plentiful, however it got a little monotonous towards the end of the week and could be a little cold at times. We visited the sister hotel Akti Beach Club only once. That was enough for us to realise that the standards between the two hotels varied wildly and we much preferred that of our own hotel. We took regular walks into Kardamena which took around 50 mins each way. There is a free bus service from the hotel on a regular basis, however we found walking on the beach road to be a lovely experience. Car hire is freely available from a number of companies. We had booked a car for 3 days prior to arriving, however we soon realised that we could visit most of the island in a day! We therefore visited our car hire company http://iliasrentacar.com/welcome/ who were more than happy to change the booking and instead provided us with a quad for the day which was a great way to see the island. There are several boat trips available from Kardemena. We took the 3 bay trip which included a BBQ lunch for just 20 euro's each. Great day out and a good way to meet and chat to new people. All in all, I would happily recommend both Kardemana and the Akti Palace Hotel to everyody. It is a wonderful place to relax in the peace and quiet whilst surrounded by stunning scenary. I only wish we had booked 2 weeks instead of one as I was no where near ready to come home when our holiday ended. Rachel and Chris Benn

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RachelB1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful weeks stay at this friendly hotel. We had paid for a sea view room but on viewing the room which had a very small outside balcony we asked would it be possible to move to a pool sharing room and to our delight the very friendly and helpful lady on Reception was able to arrange this for us.

To be honest I was slightly disappointed in the room and in particular the bathroom as they were smaller than I have experienced in a previous 5 star Greek hotel. I would say the actual rooms are more a 4 star standard. That said it was very clean and modern and we didn't spend much time in it as we very much enjoyed the whole sharing pool experience. To be able to get up in the morning, open the patio doors and enjoy the use of the allotted sun beds around our own pool area was a great bonus. However note these rooms are on the ground floor so net curtains would have been useful for privacy when the curtains are open.

The food and drink served in the hotel was always of a very good standard but tended to get a bit monotonous in the main restaurant after a while so we visited the hotels other three themed restaurants, the Fish, Asian and Greek all of which which we thoroughly enjoyed and would highly recommend.

However, the best feature of this hotel has to be all the staff working at the hotel. From the moment we checked in to the moment we left nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff we encountered. We have never encountered such friendly and helpful service anywhere we have ever stayed and this is why we would rate the hotel as 5. A particular mention has to be made of Christina on Reception who was particularly helpful and friendly to us during our stay.

Room Tip: Highly recommend booking a pool sharing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mini0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We have just returned from a week at the Akti Palace and were delighted with the hotel.
we arrived late, @ 11 pm tired and hungry and were delighted to be told the restaurant was about to open for us.
This was an excellent start to the holiday, and the feel good factor continued for the whole week. the staff were all wonderfully polite and well trained with nothing being too much for them.
Our room was on the first floor with sea view and much bigger than we normally get in a European hotel, and the free WI Fi was a real bonus although it was as expected quite slow in the evening, but much faster in the morning.
The food was perfectly acceptable for a buffet all inclusive, so if food is the most important part of a holiday I would say this isn't the place to go. Our deal included 3 meals in the speciality restaurants, one Asian, one fish and one Greek. These meals are a meze were the food keeps on coming, our preference was the fish without doubt.
Location wise the hotel is quite remote from Kardamena and the walk along the sea road is wonderful, it takes about 45 mins, with two or three bars on the way for refreshments!
The hotel does put on a shuttle bus service into town but we found the people wanting to go exceeded the bus size both ways. Don't be put off, ask the reception for the local bus service timetable, it runs past the hotel gate, drops off in the centre of town, is more frequent and is cheap.
The restaurants on the waterfront in Kardamena are well worth the walk into town for lunch for no other reason than to support the local economy, the food served is a cut above the food in the hotel and there's no need to have anything more than their local house wine.
All in all this was one of the best holidays we have had in years.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, may sound obvious but some rooms were overlooked, for us the pool rooms would no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wyndcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

My husband & I have just returned (21st May) from a lovely relaxing holiday at the Akti Palace. This being the start of the season, our first few days were very quiet with not many people around, but during the week this changed and the hotel became a lot busier.
Our arrival was late at night but the restaurant was still open for us, not a lot of choice but enough to keep us going until the next morning. The rooms are really lovely. Very modern and clean. Definitely five star rating, with wine, water, juice and fresh fruit waiting on us. These were replaced when empty all week. We had a lovely small pool right outside our room with our own private sun beds but the sun did not hit this area until lunch time leaving the water a bit cold to swim in till late afternoon. This I am sure will change as the summer goes on. We used the main pool in the morning and never once saw all the sun beds being used. If a towel is on a bed for longer than 2 hours and not used, it is then removed. A member of staff came to our room each evening to change our beach towels - great idea. My idea of heaven on holiday is lying in the sun listening to my music and reading, and this was bliss, no loud music spoiling the peace and quiet. The only music at the pool was during the aqua aerobics and the music from the hotel next door which was not too bad.
Food was good, but could have been a bit hotter. Was fine if you got the food as soon as it was cooked but it did not stay hot very long. Plenty of choice at breakfast, lunch and dinner, and the good thing was you were not just served yesterdays leftovers. One let down for food was the snack bar at the pool. For the first few days the choice was pizza or burgers but by the end of the week salad stuff had also appeared. Only one chap cooking the burgers which were made to order and this made it a very slow process.
We tried all three themed restaurants and they were all fantastic especially the fish one. The staff are all so happy and helpful.
The manager and his team have a very high profile at all times and can be found wandering the hotel making sure everyone is happy. Christina will make a point of trying to speak to you during the week to see if you have any suggestions on how to make the hotel better. We commented that the bar at night was very small and with only one barman and a waiter working service was slow. By the following evening, a further two staff were also working there. Quick service and glad to think the customers are being listened to.
Only a few things to watch out for. We were not leaving until late at night but the cost was 50 euros to keep the room on for the extra few hours which we felt too expensive. Instead we hung about the pool and used the shower room which we got for 30 minutes. Plenty time to get ready to go home.
A bus runs from the hotel into Kardamena through out the day but as this bus is also shared with the Akti Palace's sister hotel next door, it is difficult to actually get a seat on the bus back. We twice had to get a taxi (only 9 euros) rather than waiting on the bus going back and forward. It is a lovely walk from the hotel into the town though and it seems most people tend to walk in and bus back.
There are trips arranged to Kos but what should only have been a 1/2 hour journey took 1 1/2 hours so may be better looking into the local buses rather than the organised trips.
There is next to no entertainment at night. Again not sure if this is just being so early in the season but if you need more excitement you can go through to the hotel next door.
This was a lovely relaxing holiday and I would not think twice about recommending it for a peaceful relaxing holiday. Thanks to all the staff.

Room Tip: Ground floors have a small shared pool and private sun beds each which is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lynn1961_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamena
0.1 mi away
Akti Beach Club Hotel
Akti Beach Club Hotel
#11 of 39 in Kardamena
1,462 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
3.0 mi away
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
#4 of 39 in Kardamena
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Mitsis Summer Palace Beach Hotel
10.1 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akti Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akti Palace Hotel

Address: Kardamena 853 04, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kardamena
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#14 Family Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range: $130 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Akti Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Akti Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akti Palace Hotel Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing