We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Royal Family"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“"Royal Family"”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The exceptional service from the very courteous and friendly staff throughout our recent 11 night stay was the main reason I decided to write this first review.
Upon arrival we were greeted by Ross who made us feel very welcome and our room requests had exceeded expectations,my thanks go to Monika (front of house manager) for arranging our lovely Royal Suite with the most excellent sea & island views!
The pools are one of the key features to the hotels layout and give it almost a "villa" feel.
This hotel has in excess of 1000 guests most of the season but around the pools you'd never know as there's 13 of them and they make for a good relax in the sun, thank you Anna & Maria for the excellent pool towel service.
If you need a drink there's the pool bar which makes a great cappuccino or cocktail served always with a smile by the lovely pool bar staff - Eva & Karol thanks for those "nice" measures of Bacardi & Red Label.
The food choice is both well presented and prepared in all the restaurants, our favourite at lunch was the Epicure (Greek Tavern) with fabulous views and the great selection of traditional Greek starters, salads & main courses on offer, Captain Fotis always made us feel welcome and Goran ensured we were well watered.
If you still need something in between lunch & your evening meals try the gelateria where you can get lovely milkshakes & ice cream.
We also visited both the Italian & Asian restaurants on a couple of evenings and the food quality and service was always excellent.
The main buffet "Ambrosia" restaurant whilst busier as its larger and is serving more guests was always an enjoyable "restaurant experience".
This family friendly hotel goes the extra mile and any special requests are accommodated, like
the lovely chocolate cake that the hotel made for my children's birthday celebration during our stay.


  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bodcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Royal, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your great feedback.
I am delighted you found our resort to be a very comfortable oasis!
I am absolutely thrilled to hear your gracious words about the extremely positive impression our Team Members left you with.
I am glad you enjoyed our Royal Suite and the unbeatable view form your balcony.
I will be sure to pass your compliments to our Chef- he will be delighted!
Thank you for staying with us, and hope to see you again next time!
Stay Connected… Find us on Facebook/Twitter/Pinterest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,147
    485
    148
    54
    13
See reviews for
721
819
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a relaxing week long stay. We were greeted by reception and our bags were taken to the room. We were too late for dinner when we arrived and unfortunately were only given a sandwich and bottle of water in the room, so were left feeling hungry.

Room - It was close to the main building with a view of the grounds and was very clean. Only criticism would be that the beds were a little hard and TV only had 2x English channels.

Pools - 13 beautiful salt water pools and were extremely clean. There didn't seem to be very many sun beds although plenty of room for more. Suggest getting up early an putting a towel down even though they say not to do that, everyone does.

Food - the food in the main food hall was really good and had a different choice every day. Highly recommend the Asian and Greek restaurants. We were however disappointed with the Italian as they served the same food that had been available to eat in the main food hall and lacked any flavour.

Entertainment/ Activities - there were volleyball, darts, yoga, aqua gym etc. on every day at the pool by the Fish Restaurant and the animation team ask if you would like to join in sometimes. The evening shows were a bit hit or miss and could have been better, however the dance show was great fun. The gentleman playing the keyboard and singing was OK but a bit tedious every night. There are disco's at the beach bar some nights but were very poorly attended. The two nights we went to them, there were only a couple of people there, so we left.

Staff - the staff were really pleasant, helpful and extremely hard working. Vivi from the animation team made the effort to talk to us every day and was very helpful.

Thomson rep - Nick was friendly and helpful at or welcome meeting and throughout our stay. Only criticism would be that he did not accompany us on the transfer from the airport to the hotel and was not around to advise when we were getting the transfer from the hotel to the airport as there were two flights at the same time and people were unsure of which coach to get.

Boat Trip - we went on the Aegean Cruise through Thomson, it would have been a great trip if we had a comfortable place to sit. Unfortunately the boat was small and quite a lot of people on the trip with limited cushioned seating. My partner and I spent the whole day sat at the front by the anchor and were very uncomfortable and had paid 46 Euros each for a relaxing trip. Be aware it is a long day, you get picked up at 8.45am and don't get back at 7pm.

Kos Airport - if you have never been to Kos airport before the airport if very small and therefore have to queue for everything and was a bit confusing, so I would recommend taking some water with you as you may be queuing a long time.

Planes - quite a few planes fly over the hotel daily, however it didn't bother us as you get used to it.

We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing trip but please be aware that the evenings are very quiet. It was more of a 4 star hotel but a beautiful place none the less.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

As the title suggests, this was our third visit in as many years. We did search the internet to try and go somewhere else but couldn't find anywhere that appeared to match up to the PB Royal - at least not without spending considerably more.

It was interesting to note some changes - seemingly in response to comments on this website from guests, which reflects well on the management - and nice to see some familiar faces amongst the staff.

There are two previous reviews from us on this site so I won't repeat the contents, but will say a couple of things in response to more recent reviews.

Just to mention again that the Royal beach is rocky which makes it brilliant for snorkelling, but the neighbouring beach (Porto Bello Beach) is virtually stone-free which is so much kinder on the feet if you don't have swimming shoes.

Personally, we found the music and singing from Kostas perfect for the environment for guests sitting outside on a beautiful summer's evening chatting, relaxing and drinking the drinks that are served to the tables. This has always been such a relaxing hotel - please don't change!!! The addition of discos at the beach bar seems to us to strike the right balance, as it's somewhere to go for those who want loud music but it doesn't appear to disturb the rest of the site.

Once again we found all of the hard-working staff in all areas of the hotel to be polite and friendly, and it's so impressive how they all seem able to switch effortlessly between languages for their guests. It feels a little unfair to single out anyone in particular but we did spend our whole week on the beach so inevitably spent a lot of time at the beach bar! So another big thank you to Mateus for his great rolls and toasties, and to the brilliant Karina who has a great sense of humour and made us feel so welcome.

We will keep this place top of our list for a relaxing, pampered week in the sun.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KentWonderWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Royal, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am honored that you chose us for the third time and elated to learn that you had a great time!
I am glad that you noticed some of the changes we have done this year. We are following our guests’ reviews and trying to improve our product and service.
Thank you for mentioning our fantastic team members- we are very proud to have such a friendly and dedicated team. I’ll pass on your comments to Mr. Kostas- I am sure he will be delighted.
Again, thank you for your comments, as well as your continued loyalty.
You are more that welcome to return anytime, when we will again be pleased to have you as our guests!
Stay Connected… Find us on Facebook/ Twitter/ Pinterest!
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here at the end of June as other reviews say it can be hard to find your room
But once you find it it's easy , your cases are delivered to your room .
We had a royal suite it was very spacious and very clean was views over 3 of the pools and sea.
There was such a large choice of food in the main resturant and the other restaurants were lovely ( remember to book a table at reception the day before !
The beach bar is loud and pumping in the evenings and so much better than the organ player in the main hotel bar (your waited on in the main bar)
Location is a little out of the way and the mini market makes the most of this with its prices redbull in mini market 2.50 euros in kardamina 1.50 euros .
All in all we had a lovely stay here quiet and relaxing , it was lovely chatting to vivian from the anamation team every day such a lovely girl (sponge bob) lol
big thank you to all at the Porto bello royal .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daverazey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Just returned after 2 weeks holiday, a lovely hotel rather a lot of steps to consider though. loads of lovely clean pools to swim in all salt water though so take your goggles.Overall a very good holiday just a few little niggles, didn't feel maids cleaning & replenishing what was used was very good, I did phone rec to find out how often fridge was supposed to be restocked to be told daily which ours was'nt. We had a family room on higher level which was nice it had two bedrooms & two bathrooms even though there was only two of us.Food was one of the best I've had & we have stayed at some other lovely hotels so much choice & didn't even find it repetitive after 2 wks, Asian was lovely & nice to be served. We found staff all very happy & helpful, special mention to mateus & Thomas at beach bar, also raffela & George in lounge bar, & Eva & karol in pool bar not forgetting the lady who worked hard on her own keeping up with all the milk shakes & ice creams. Also felt the water sport team was very good as well & not over priced at all. Did find birds & the mess they left behind on the chairs etc not very nice, 1 day this man went to get something & the birds started eating his pancakes. only other thing that was poor was evening entertainment same man playing an organ & singing every night & shows in neighbouring hotel not very good either. Did have a jeep out & enjoyed a drive around the island. Would most deffently return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dippy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Royal, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback.
We appreciate your kind words about the friendly, helpful nature of our Team. At the same time though, we’d be remiss if we didn’t apologize for the various problems you had in your unit and assure you we are continuing to challenge ourselves to do a better job of identifying any potential housekeeping related issues as part of our normal inspection process.
Again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you in the near future!
Stay Connected… Find us on Facebook/Twitter/Pinerest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on the 19th June for 7 nights we were immediately upgraded to a royal suite from 2standard rooms at no cost the staff are fantastic as is the food the buffet restaurant has so much choice. The Asian restaurant is excellent as is the Italian. All the pools are superb and kept very clean in the bars the service is excellent we just could not fault the hotel and would reccomend it worth every penny

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank martin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Royal, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words!
It is great to know that you found our staff “fantastic”, as well as our food and pools!
I am glad you found us recommendation worthy.
Thank you again and hope to see you again in the near future!
Stay Connected… Find us on Facebook/ Twitter/ Pinterenst!
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

room was on the 1st floor (ground floor). ants in a bathroom. they promised to resolve it, but didn't even try.
everythin inside the room is well seen from outside and be sure quite a lot of ppl pass by your glass panorama window. which means no privacy or sacrifice comfort and keep the windows blinded
staff is not friendly (in most cases, especially in the bars), they are not eager to work and service.
stones in the sea, just a couple of meters in the water where you can get in without stones.
wifi internet only in reception and in "rush hours" works awful - either not allowing to connect at all or slow. you can get a cable for the room if you have a laptop. speed is better (124 kb per sec) but it also fails from time to time.
room cleaning is not perfect at all.
service, rooms (especially bathroom), convenience are not at 5 stars level at all.
food and all the rest is not bad.
but maybe it's Kos trouble - I may suppose that there might not be a better hotel on Hos..

Room Tip: try the houses closer to the beach and definitely not on the 1st floor to get some privacy in a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vadim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Royal, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
We do thank you for taking the time to share your experience/point of view regarding your stay with us.
We wish to convey to you our gratitude for choosing our hotel and our sincerest apologies for any dissatisfaction you seemingly encountered.
The issues noted, especially concerning room’s cleaning or unfriendly staff, are truly rare for our property and in that concern us as we care deeply about each and every guest's experience- that most certainly includes yours.
Our Management Team would be more than happy to discuss this with you directly as we wish to clarify or correct the issue after examining further. Please contact us at your convenience and we will be happy to work through the issues mentioned in hopes to find a happy resolution to you, our Valued Guest. Email: info@portobelloroyal.gr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamena
4.9 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
3.5 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
1,382 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
#3 of 39 in Kardamena
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
11.0 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
14.1 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantica Porto Bello Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Porto Bello Royal

Property: Atlantica Porto Bello Royal
Address: Kardamena 85302, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#1 Spa Hotel in Kardamena
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kardamena
#3 Family Hotel in Kardamena
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlantica Porto Bello Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Atlantica Porto Bello Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Bello Royal Hotel Kardamena
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal Kardamena
Porto Bello Beach
Kos Porto Bello Beach
Porto Bella Beach
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal Hotel
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing