We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fantastic resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We have just returned from a week all inclusive at this fantastic resort. This location and hotel are just fantastic. We stayed in a royal apartment and it was lovely, very clean and very spacious. The food is the best we have had in an all inclusive and the drinks are all local and they do lovely cocktails in all the bars and the service is excellent. There are several places to eat in the afternoons you can book the fish restaurant or the Greek restaurant or have a snack on the beach or the main restaurant. They also have an Italian and a Asian restaurant that you can book for an evening meal. One down side for my husband was you need to wear long trousers all the time in all the restaurants at night. We thought they would be lenient and let you wear dressy shorts like other resorts in the summer time but there are notices as you arrive at the restaurant on the board explaining the dress code. I do agree with other reviews regarding the flight path but the hotel is only 15 minutes away from the airport so you are not travelling a long way to your destination.We found all the staff very friendly and the lady in the beach bar was so much fun with everyone. The beach is a bit rocky in places but the sea and water are amazing. They have padloes and canoes included with the all inclusive so you can use them as often as you want.
The staff on reception are more than helpful if you need anything and will go out of there way to solve any issue you have. This is one of those locations we would return to as we had a lovely relaxing holiday. We would like to say thank you to all the staff at the Porta bello for a lovely holiday and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea few as the views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,031
    435
    129
    47
    9
See reviews for
613
754
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Just returned from the Portobello Royal, i can safely say it was a pleasure, we were surprised to find that we had been given an upgrade to a junior suite with sea view which was amazing (room 718), i have to agree that it was a little difficult finding it in the dark at half three in the morning but once we got our bearings it was pretty easy to get around the complex, we too suffered a little with the flying ants but didn't let it spoil our holiday, the food was very good with always something for everyones tastes, the restaurant manager never seems to go home, he should be applauded for all his hard work, and his staff were a pure pleasure, such happy and hardworking group of people i have ever seen, nothing was too much for them.
ne down side was having to vacate the room at 12 noon, when your flight isn't until half four the next morning, i know you can opt to keep the room on but for 55 and 110 euros i thought that was a little expensive for anyones tastes.
All in all though a great holiday and a great hotel, many many thanks for such a great week, i will surely revisit this splendid hotel
Thank you to you all

Room Tip: room 718 was great, such a lovely sea view, and very quiet too
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gordyrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Pros: amazingly beautiful , a lot of swims pools, close to the beach, all inclusive that includes tasty food, lovely employees, especially the entertainment ones :)

Cons: you need to ask specifically a double bed to not get a single one,the bed mattress is hard, they take deposit for the pool towels, the food is mostly great but sometimes some things are missing like soft white cheese, or watermelon, the swimming pools are salty and none heated.

But all in all I would suggest it to anyone that thinks about a vecation in Greece/kos.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozba1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Spent a week here 11/5/13. Hotel is amazing - clean& staff very friendly and helpful.You will never be hungy here - Huge variety of food to suit all tastes. we booked into the orinetal restaurant one evening - the food was average but it was lovely to be waited on. We also tried the Greek Taverna - again we felt the food was only average. The all-inclusive was excellent - all drinks included. We upgraded to a sea view room (318) - the view over the bay was amazing but we were a little disappointed that there were no coffee making facilities in the room and only water in the fridge (5* ??) . The room was spotless - could not fault the cleaning staff. We spent most of our time around the pool - plenty of sunbeds although people did start putting their towels out from about 8am. The Thomsons rep "Nick" is great - I would recommend going to the welcome meeting - we learnt a lot about the hotel from him. no hard sell - just a really friendly and helpful person who wants you to have a great holiday.
The main down sides for us were - The hotel is secluded. It does run a shuttle bus to Kardemena - we walked in which took 40 minutes at a fair pace. There are the usual "tat" shops and bars, but there is a lovely harbour if you fancy a stroll.
The evening entertainment was average and the wait for a drink in the lounge bar could be rather long. (It was quite breezy in the pool bar in the evenings so take a couple of jackets!!)
We arrived at 10pm at night -it was dark - and we were given a map to find our room - this was a complete nightmare and not how we expected to be treated at a 5* hotel.
THE MAIN DOWNSIDE IS THAT THE HOTEL IS ON THE FLIGHT PATH IN & OUT OF KOS - WE WERE NOT AWARE OF THIS - THE FLIGHTS ARE PRETTY RELENTLESS DAY AND NIGHT!!!
We had a great time - possibly the nicest 5* hotel we have tried - however it is not so relaxing because of the aircraft noise!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Having spent two fabulous weeks at this hotel in October 2012, we decided for a quick one break break in May 2013 and weren't disappointed. Great service, facilities, food and together with perfect weather for us averaging around 27c-31c during the day and 20c-18c at night, we had a very relaxing time.

This hotel is situated in a quiet part of Kos and generally speaking is frequented by couples and is not big on entertainment, which suits us fine.

That said, we did notice a marked increase in the number of visitors from Russia, most of whom would benefit from a weeks course in etiquette.

The staff here are amazing without exception, but a special thanks must go out to Karina in the beach bar who always has a smile and happy approach to the guests and her work.

The summarise, if you are looking for a value for money break you would be hard pushed to beat a visit to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank indianoceanexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoBelloBeach, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Royal, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your summer holidays with us, especially for the second year in the row.
I will forward my personal thank to Karina for the way she is approaching our guests.
We all hope to see you again in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Upon arrival we both immediately relaxed but the lovely hotel and surroundings, what a lovely place. The restaurants and food were amazing and staff could not do enough for you.
If you have trouble with stairs do not book this hotel, the hotel is built into the hills in layers and there are four sets of stairs to beach and lots of steps to get to rooms. Rooms were lovely, clean and very large and nice. Kardamena is a young resort in July and August but off peak a lovely sleepy fishing village. The beach is small and rocky but lovely all the same. The hotel is under the flight path so expect a few planes. We loved Kos and this hotel so much we would go back.
Hotel needs to work on its entertainment but it did not worry us as we sipped a cocktail and watched the sun go down.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank drury1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoBelloBeach, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Royal, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your valuable review.
We are glad you found us to be above average and recommendations worthy.
Regarding the entertainment issue we have made some changes by adding a Beach Bar Disco Evenings to our activity program.
We look forward to serving you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Porto Bello Royal hotel for seven days, from May 12th until May 19th.
With 14 or 15 swimming pools (some of which have jacuzzis), a private beach, five restaurants and three bars, this resort is the perfect place for a carefree all-inclusive getaway.
The location is perfect: at about 10 minutes from the airport and if you rent a car like we did, everything worth seeing on the island of Kos is less than 20 miles away.
The buffet food in the main restaurant was so good we never even cared to try one of the a la carte restaurants. The (cocktail) bars were amazing. The service everywhere was stylish but warm and always came with a smile. Even the room maids were very jovial.
Any minuses? No, except perhaps that our room (116) was anything but soundproof which was not really an issue between 11pm and 7am as the whole place was very quiet then, except for one or two loud boozy conversations of some of the numerous Russian hotel guests.
Every night we could hear music and cheering from the open-air theatre not too far from our room but everything stopped at 10:30, 11pm. At 7 in the morning it sounded like all the furniture in the entire breakfast room which was located right above our heads was moved around by poltergeists, so we never needed to set the alarm.
Anyway, do not let this keep you from staying at the Porto Bello Royal if you want to visit Kos. It is in many ways the finest hotel we have ever been to and it is likely to stay at the top of our all-time favourites list forever. Efharisto, Atlantica!

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the left wing of the main building (open-air theatre and breakfast room) unles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoBelloBeach, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Royal, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
On behalf of the management and all the staff I would like to thank you for your review.
Your opinion makes us feel very proud, as we are trying very hard to fulfill our guests’ expectations.
I want to apologize for any inconvenient caused by the fact that your room was quite noisy during the mealtime in the Main Restaurant. I’ve already informed our Maintenance Manager to stick some soundproofing pads to the chairs in order to reduce the noise.
Thank you ones again- your comment was very helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamena
4.9 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
5.0 mi away
Mitsis Summer Palace
Mitsis Summer Palace
#18 of 39 in Kardamena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
#4 of 39 in Kardamena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Nissia Kamares Hotel Apartments
3.5 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lakitira Suites
Lakitira Suites
#9 of 39 in Kardamena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantica Porto Bello Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Porto Bello Royal

Property: Atlantica Porto Bello Royal
Address: Kardamena 85302, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kardamena
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kardamena
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
#3 Family Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlantica Porto Bello Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Atlantica Porto Bello Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Bello Royal Hotel Kardamena
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal Kardamena
Porto Bello Beach
Kos Porto Bello Beach
Porto Bella Beach
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal Hotel
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing