We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mammis Beach Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mammis Beach Studios
Ranked #30 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
staffordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Me and my husband stayed at manmis beach for a week. We wished we could of stayed longer. We had a welcome drink on arrival. George shook our hands and made us feel very welcome. Rooms were clean, food was lovely, prices were fair. We hired push bikes for the week, so we was able to ride in to town within 10 minuets. Would recommend the tajmahal Indian restaurant , it was delicious , very friendly staff. All in all we loved our stay had lots of laughs with George and his wife is such a lovely lady, his daughter and son both work there, they r a credit to them both. The staff also were helpful and gave us there best service.was sad to say goodbye . We will defiantly go back again and again. Paulene and Jim

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fattypig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    45
    16
    14
    14
See reviews for
24
71
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We are going back to Mammis in 2 weeks for the 3rd time. We really enjoy here, you need to stay at Mammis. It is situated about a mile from the town but if you enjoy walking and stopping on the way to have a dip in the sea and have a snack in the places along the way. Ok you cannot fry in your room but George and Renata's cooking is excellent, good food. Anyway who wants to cook on holiday. We cannot fault the place. George is a remarkable person and him and Renata work hard. People want different things on holiday but for us it is a place to switch off, relax and enjoy a lovely friendly place.
John and Hazel from Wales

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

me and my boyfriend stayed here for first time in the summer and loved every minute of it. George and his wife really made you feel at home, George even put on a mini buffet and quiz for the two of us when we left. The comments i've read about him i think are a bit unfair, George is very straight talking and says what he thinks, but i like that in people so didn't bother me.
It is quite far to walk every day to centre thou so we hired a quad for nearly the whole holiday to make it easier, but that wouldn't stop us from coming back here again. If anything the only reason we would want to come back here for would be to see George and his wife again, and all the other lovely people we met while staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sanchez1883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Have just returned from a week at Mammis Beach Complex.

Cons:
Has stated in previous reports, there are no cooking faculties, a fridge, a kettle and some basic cutlery.
George wants you to spend your money at his restaurant. He also wants you to pay 25 Euros to keep you room till 18.00 on the day of departure, and does not provide a room for you to shower in. There is a notice in your room saying "no room sharing or leaving your case in other peoples room". Another money making scheme.
Don't run a tab, pay for your drink and food has you go a long. Has your bill the next day seems to more that what you think, this happened a few time in my stay and not just to me.

Pros:
All said this is a great resort and the above should not put you off staying a Mammis.
Clean fresh apartments, all rooms have sea and pool views. Rooms were cleaned every 2/3 days, pool area is very clean has is the restaurant. 2.5 Euros for a pint of draught beer, and 2 Euros for a local wine. Large English breakfast was 6 Euros.
The walk into town will take 25 minutes, the bus is 1.8 Euros and stops outside Mammis and takes 5 minutes. If you want a taxi it will cost 8 Euros.

George is ok to get on with, the more you spend the nicer he becomes. He will not tolerate bad behaviour. If you come home very late and bring guest back to your room and start to make too much noise, he will escort your guests off the complex. You have been warned.

I would go back Mammis, it’s a great place to stay. Most of the people I spoke to, this was their 3rd or 4th time back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jinxes66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Siamo state l'ultima settimana di luglio, il nostro volo è atterrato di notte e con ritardo, ma quando siamo arrivate c'erano ancora un paio di persone ad aspettarci!
La mattina dopo sono stati molto gentili e ci hanno messo in contatto con un signore per affittare un mezzo per spostarci durante la vacanza.
Credo sia impossibile andare in giro solamente a piedi o con i mezzi pubblici (c'è un autobus che ferma di fronte al complesso, ma passa ogni ora e mezza se va bene).

[We went there the last week of july, our flight landed late by night, but when we arrived at the complex, there was still someone waiting for us!
In the morning they helped us get in contact with a man to rent a motorbike.
I think it's impossible to visit the island on foot or with the public transport (there is a bus that stops in front of the complex, but it's only every other hour and a half)]

Quando siamo arrivate ci aspettavamo di trovare le piastre per cucinare (come avevamo letto nelle altre recensioni) invece non c'erano e quando le abbiamo chieste George ci ha detto che non c'erano proprio!! Se non altro lui e la moglie sono degli ottimi cuochi!!! In camera c'è un lavello, il frigo e delle posate con i piatti.

[We expected to find some kind of stove (like we saw in the pictures), but there was nothing and when we asked George he said "Here very good cooking, no stove" ...at least it's true, him and his wife are great cooks!!! In the room there's a sink, a fridge, flatware and dishes.]

Tira costantemente vento, la maggior parte del tempo è un sollievo, ma nonostante la finestra del balcone aperta non passava molta aria in camera, che però è fornita di condizionatore!

[It's always windy, most of the time it was nice, but despite the open window at night it was kind of hot...anyway there's air conditioning if you want]

Per via della piscina ci sono molte zanzare lì intorno, specialmente la sera. Abbiamo avuto un problemino con le formiche gli ultimi 2 giorni (la signora delle pulizie sembra stare proprio su un altro pianeta, è impossibile parlarle anche in inglese!!)

[Because of the pool there are a lot of mosquitoes especially at night. We also had a problem with ants the last couple of days (the cleaning lady seems to be on another planet, it's impossible to talk to her even in english)]

Il lunedì c'è la serata barbeque ed è stata molto carina. Il costo è moderato e ci sono un sacco di cose dal buffet oltre a carne e salsicce!

[On monday it's the "barbeque night", very nice. Cheap considering the big buffet, meat and sausages!]

Se non si pretende di stare l'intera giornata nel complesso, è un ottima soluzione (noi tornavamo a fare la doccia, mangiare qualcosa a pranzo - siamo andate al supermercato - e dormire).

[If you don't spend the entire day in the complex, it's a nice solution (we just got back to take a shower, eat something for lunch - we went to the market - and to sleep]

Se volete bere i prezzi sono bassi, ma Kardamena lo sono di più!!
[If you want to drink there are low prices, but in Kardàmena are lower!!]

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noemi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horsham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Cant understand what went on with the last review, we had a great time staying at the Mammis beach with my two grandchildren. George and his staff were very good and everything was very clean and food very good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allenHorsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Where do I start?!
This accommodation is most definitely NOT self catering, it literally involves a sink, fridge and kettle. Great if you want a cuppa tea in the heat but there is no way you can make any food in there, let alone cut a melon. On arrival we were shocked and asked if we got the wrong room, but we were informed that we should eat at their restaurant as its just outside. Awful money making scheme as there food was commercialised and over priced.

Secondly if you google this hotel it places its location in the middle of Kardamena town. WRONG its at least a 20 - 25 minute walk. AGAIN we tried to ask the owner George and the rude woman Renata about it yet they seemed to approach it in the wrong way and got frustrated with us.

So we went back to the room and wow what can I say. The glasses were covered in grease and hand prints, the cutlery was rusting and the sides were all dirty. The shower has hairs in it!!!! It also had some left over shower gel from previous people. Nice. You wonder how long it would have taken to wipe that down? Ridiculous. If our room was this filthy, I would have hated to wonder what the kitchen was like. The sheets on our bed had holes in and was as hard as a brick and in general the whole room and bathroom looked very run down. They were obviously struggling yet a bit of hygiene wouldn't go a miss.

So after confusion and a very un friendly welcome we decided to rent a quad bike to explore the island.
As the days were passing I noticed the maid was around every morning yet our room wasn't being cleaned, I kept assuming that she would just do it when we left as we spent all day out. 5 days had passed and thankfully it was the end of out stay at this crummy hotel.
However our room was not cleaned ONCE. DISGUSTING.
So when we returned our keys I asked Crazy George (as the locals call him) why our room hadn't been cleaned in 5 days. They hadn't even taken the bin out in our kitchen or bathroom. Now remember you can't flush loo roll down the toilet in Greece, so to not have that changed in 5 days still makes me feel sick.
I asked him and as I had thought he had no reason. He even did an act that he couldn't speak english. Amazing. He was a coward and he obviously knows he's running poor service to get max profit. What a caring man. We talked to others staying there and they found him intimidating and rude, yet if you drink and eat at his bar he's more than welcoming. Again If your face fits.....

Unfortunately this all happened and more. I hope no one has to go through this or spend another penny on going here. There is much nicer places dotted around the island.
Thankfully that was the end of crazy George and am relieved I will never have to see that place again!

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank iyapoppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kardamena hotels
0.0 mi away
Kalimera Mare Hotel
Kalimera Mare Hotel
#12 of 39 in Kardamena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.0 mi away
Agrelli Hotel
Agrelli Hotel
#25 of 39 in Kardamena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunny View Hotel
Sunny View Hotel
#28 of 39 in Kardamena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Argiri Hotel
Argiri Hotel
#27 of 39 in Kardamena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nissia Kamares Hotel Apartments
0.0 mi away
Cleopatra Superior Hotel
Cleopatra Superior Hotel
#19 of 39 in Kardamena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mammis Beach Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammis Beach Studios

Property: Mammis Beach Studios
Address: Holy Barbara, Kardamena 853 02, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#22 Family Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mammis Beach Studios 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated by a quiet road about 2 km from the centre of Kardamena, these bright, modern rooms are right on the beach in a beautiful setting. There's a swimming pool and a pool bar with music and satellite TV. Breakfast, snacks and delicious meals to suit all tastes are available in the evening and a BBQ is organized weekly. Entertainment include disco music, quizzes and videos shown at the pool bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Mammis Beach Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammis Beach Studios Hotel Kardamena
Mammis Beach Studios kós
Mammis Beach Studios Hotel kós
Mammis Beach Studios Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing