We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful resort - very relaxing, a little quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lagas Aegean Village
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2010

My family and I just returned from the Aegean Village in Kardamena and had a wonderful time. We stayed for 10 days had two young children (2yrs and 9m) and grandparents.

Food - Buffet breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was of good quality with cereals, cooked breakfast and continental options. Very little variation day to day (beans one day, grilled tomatos the next) but to be honest, its breakfast and the range was large enough to meet all tastes. Dinner was more grand with soup of the day, cold starters (various salads, dolmades, tzatziki, grilled vegetables), 4-5 mains including a roast of the day and vegetables, and desert (a large range of puddings plus ice cream and fresh fruit). Good selection of bread too. Overall the quality was very good and we never got bored during the 10 days.

Room - we had two adjacent rooms (251 and 252). As mentioned in previous reviews, the rooms have been recently refurbished to a very high standard. The rooms were a good size - not excessively spacious though. Each had a balcony though with two families we'd have preferred to have adjoining balconies for the evenings when the kids were asleep. We'd requested a cot in one room and a kids bed in the other and these were both ready on arrival. The cot was a travel cot, a little old but quite sturdy and did the job - they provided linen for the cot too. Aircondintioning was effective, easy to control and set the temperature you want. Get a second room key from reception to leave in the key slot inside the room which controls the power if you aren't going out for long to keep the room cool. No carpets so floors cleaned with mop every day. Bathrooms were clean, strong water pressure and hot water available 24hours. Free amenities only included soap bars, bubble bath and moisturiser so take your own shampoo and shower gel (or buy locally). Safe in each room, but need to pay to get a code. Mini fridge very useful. Limited English tv channels (BBC World, Life Movies) - hotel mainly caters for Germans here. Was able to watch world cup matches (including one with live sounds but without any commentary which was weird). Linen and towels changed every day. Very friendly cleaners - though they don't knock before coming in so lock your door to avoid any awkward situations!

Entertainment - very friendly animation team, tried their best to get people involved without being too pushy, evening entertainment a bit limited. Hotel advertises greek nights but these didn't happen while we were there as we were told it was out of season (in June??). There is a disco / show room with bar for some of the entertainment which did not benefit from the refurb and was a little tired. Kids play area and min golf near children's pool which are good for kids before the 9pm mini disco. They played the same 7-8 songs every night which for young children is great as our 2 year old had all the dance routines perfected by the last night.

Bars - Pool bar convenient. Recommend the 1€ for homemade ice cream in a cone! Snack bar open for lunch, reasonably priced with grill option on Sunday. Make sure you ask for kids portion / prices if needed. Would benefit from opening a little longer than 3pm. Ropey cocktails (especially mojitos) from pool bar / disco bar. Recommend the main bar by the reception.with experienced bar tender (mojitos are not bad).

Location - to make it clear, there is a beach opposite the hotel which is sand, but where the sea comes in, turns to rock - there is a small strech of sand only on the left. For sand only beaches walk in either direction for up to 10 minutes. Loungers cost €6 per day. Hotel is a 15 minute comfortable walk from Kardamena town centre where there are supermarkets, tour operators, car hire (all much cheaper than hotel / tour company). Otherwise bus every 1-2 hours €1.60 or taxi €6. No shops en route. Hotel is close to the airport so transfers are quick (usually first to be dropped off / last to be picked up for tours too).

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mburby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,047)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

534 - 540 of 1,047 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2010

This reviewer is a representative of a holiday company who specialise in holidays for the single traveller. I stay in many hotels across Europe but very few can meet the standards set by the Aegean Village. From the time you arrive at this Village style hotel you will feel very much at home the staff have an attitude of "the answer is yes so what is the question". You will be taken to your room by the free shuttle bus and will find your room (most with views across the Aegean with a Plasma tv, bath with shower which has an adjustable head,free use of the fridge, direct dial telephone and all rooms have been recently redecorated. Call the free shuttle bus or take the short walk down the steps to breakfast( this reviewer never used the shuttle because it was just a short walk down some steps) which serves a very good selection of just about everything you want.The waiters always with a smile will keep topping up your coffee cup (or tea) and help yourself to the good quality fruit juices.

The large pool has several beds with plenty of shade and at no time did i see towels reserving beds as there were plenty to go around. Take a drink at the pool bar and take lunch which is also by the pool and is self service, pay for your selection and a waiter will carry your tray to your table.

The food is excellent and how the Cheff manages to cook beef, lamb, pork turkey etc and keep it tasting fresh with juices running from it makes him worth his weight in gold. A very good selection of salad, fish and pasta is also served each evening and the soup is not the watered down stuff which some hotels offer,The bread is baked in the kitchen and is always fresh.Try a selection of the deserts as they are to die for. If you want burgers and chips this is not the hotel for you

If you want a hotel with great views, excellent food and staff who just want to please try the Aegean Village Hotel you wont regret it.

My only regret is that I will only be able to stay here for 14 weeks this season.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CEBUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

What is so special about this hotel?

Firstly, the people, from the family who own and run it, to all the staff, who work together to maintain a beautiful complex. You are assured of a warm and friendly welcome from all.

Secondly, the location. A beautiful hotel located just 10 minutes from the airport with spectacular views overlooking the aegean.

Thirdly, the complex itself and what it offers. It is not a souless tower block it is a collectionof two storey buildings located on a winding road which meanders in a spiral fashion around a hillside creating a picturesque complex. The beautiful palm trees and gardens grace the complex . If the walk to your room is too daunting a minibus is on hand 24hrs. a day - yet another example of attention to detail. There is a magnificent pool and childrens pool at the centre of the complex which offers an alternative to the enchanting turquoise agean sea just a few steps away. The food is exemplary and in abundance with something for everyone including home baked bread baked daily. The recent refurbishment has undoubtedly served to enhance the overall experience and quality of the hotel which we have visited for the fifth consecutive year this year and hope to continue to do so.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarryStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2010

stayed here 2nd june 1 week, absolutely great, good choice of food (men need to take a pair of long trousers to wear at dinner) rooms fantastic, all revamped contemporary style. fresh .towels & cleaned daily. pool great, sun beds €6.00 on beach but if you go further into kardamena the tavernas let you use them free if you buy food and drink. go to the taverna called olive press, right hand side into kardamena, great food. the beach/sea in front of this tav erna is a delight. TOP TIP there are showers where you can wash/change ready for the flight back at the hotel by the pool so no need to book room if you have a late flight. staff were fantastic, v iews superb it was one of our best hols. the rooms are up a steep hill but there is a mini bus to drive you from foyer to your rooms at any time

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marchhare1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

We stayed here from 27th May with our 5 year old daughter. We loved it and our only complaint was the location. Its about a good ten minute walk to Kardamena but its mostly walking on the side of the road with the odd wonky path thrown in. We only did this once as our daughter was tired and it was hot. Could imagine it be difficult in the dark.
Rooms were recently refurbished and were great. Everything new. We had previously emailed the hotel and asked for a lowish down room as id read it was based on a hillside. This we got and it was a perfect spot with just one big cardiac hill as we called it!

Food - Fantastic, best ive ever had on holiday. No chips, fishfingers or typical kids food if you have fussy eaters but our daughter ate loads of other stuff. In fact it made a nice change not to see burgers and chips.

Entertainment - hotel was very quiet when we were there, they have an animation team who tried their hardest to get people to play darts, water polo, volley ball etc and they put on a mini disco and a couple of shows which were quite enjoyable. Only about 50 or so people went to these though, a lot of others were quite happy sitting in the bar and talking. Animation team were really friendly and put so much work in trying to entertain people.

Staff- despite reviews written several months ago complaining about grumpy staff, every single person we met was friendly, chatty and always smiling.

The best part was the sunbeds, with it being only about half full, we had the same 3 every single day and didnt have to get up early to get them for a change! fantastic

Would i visit again? not sure, normally holiday with my two older boys of 15 and 12 and i personally think it would be too quiet for them. The only thing that let it down for us was we love lively holidays and this wasnt one of them. But if anyone wants a nice peaceful holiday then this would be fantastic

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyley69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Me and my partner booked this hotel and looked at the reviews and was a little worried at the comments when arriving to hotel it was absolutely spotless and had a lovely friendly atmosphere, A small mini bus took us to the room and as soon as we opened the door you could tell it had all been newly refurbished, very modern and very comfortable with everything you need.
The main thing about this hotel that was so lovely were the staff from the cleaners to the chef , reception and bar staff especially mohammed what a top guy.
The animation team made our holiday a very special one , such good fun especially will always cheerful, upbeat even after a hangover ha ha

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poolemaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

We are just home from this hotel after a two week break.
In my opinion the hotel was one of the best I have ever stayed in and certainly best value for money ever £500 each for two weeks.
The food was excellent something for everyone and I never had any problems finding something I liked. The selection of sweet courses was top notch you could have any of about half a dozen kind of sweet dishes (pity I'm diabetic)
Breakfast was probably even better than dinner plenty of choice for everyone and I just loved the choice of fruit on display. The waiters were always on hand to top you up with tea/coffee.The restaurant staff were terrific and genuinely wanted to be friendly .The manager in the restaurant went out of his way to look after people and was a gent.
The rooms were cleaned everyday and I mean cleaned the standard never dropped from the minute we arrived till the minute we left.The towels were changed every day and soap and other toiletries also supplied. The bathroom was really nice with a large bath
and powerful shower.
Reception staff were businesslike and helpful and were pleased to be able to arrange for us to keep our room a little longer on departure day(for a small charge).
The one suggestion I would make to any of the management who read these reviews would be to offer an all inclusive option.My reasoning for this is because of the location of the hotel which is not the best and to be honest I was not taken by Kardamena and the beach was quite frankly terrible . It was almost impossible to get in the water without running the risk of injury from stones and this seemed to be the case right along this stretch of the coast..

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jambojohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamena
3.6 mi away
Akti Beach Club Hotel
Akti Beach Club Hotel
#9 of 39 in Kardamena
1,477 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
#4 of 39 in Kardamena
488 reviews
10.2 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
4.1 mi away
Mitsis Norida Beach Hotel
13.5 mi away
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Agios Fokas
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagas Aegean Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagas Aegean Village

Address: Kardamena | Kos Island, Kardamena 853 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#11 Family Hotel in Kardamena
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range: $74 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lagas Aegean Village 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lagas Aegean Village is a hotel resort located on the golden sandy shores of the south coast of Kos Island, Greece. It's layout and use of space is characteristic of the distinctive Aegean architecture. Built on a slope, every corner offers magnificent views of the endless deep blue Aegean Sea.The main building lounges, restaurants, bars and facilities are located at the bottom of the slope, while all 330 rooms are situated on the hillside, which are accessed by the 24hour complimentary minibus service. It is worth mentioning that the hotel underwent a complete renovation in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, bedfinder AG, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lagas Aegean Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagas Aegean Village Hotel Kardamena
Hotel Aegean Village
Aegean Village Kardamena
Aegean Village Kos
Lagas Aegean Village Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing