We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent all round holiday experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mitsis Norida Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mitsis Norida Beach Hotel
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An excellent all round holiday experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

Generally an excellent all round holiday experience once we got our room changed from the bungalow style appartment which is located approximately 100 metres uphill from the main hotel and which offers only very basic accomodation and views over the top of other bungalows to the front and the scrubby hillside to the rear. Thankfully we only had to stay in one of these for one night otherwise our review may well have been considerably different. We requested a change as soon as we arrived and this was accomodated the next morning with a change to a room in the main hotel and as a 'gesture' from the hotel they 'upgraded' our all inclusive status to VIP although we're not quite sure what benefits that gave us over any other status!
That's the negative out of the way as the rest of our stay was perfect, great weather helped of course with temperatures daily in the mid 30's. Beach is located close to the hotel with only a few steps down to it, passing the swimming pools and the Chinese restaurant and Taverna on the way. Beach side hut serves drinks and snacks all day, has a different cocktail of the day every day which we found to be very refreshing several times a day!
Warm clear sea, very safe to swim in especially for kids although it does get deep quite quickly. Water sports are available although at extra cost and include jetskis, banana boats, paragliding, wind surfing etc. You do need to provide a certificate of competency for the wind surfing so be advised before you go if you intend to use this activity.
Food at the hotel is very good with a good variety and plenty available. Try the Chinese restaurant at least once while you're there (we went twice)! The Taverna near the beach provided a great location for lunch and again the food was plentiful as were the drink options.
Didn't seem to be a lot to do in the evenings although some entertainment was provided for the kids which you were just about aware of from the adult bar area where cocktails and beer flow freely with a great waitress service coming to your table to take orders etc.
The hotel itself is very light and airy and a nice cool area to sit if you want a bit of time out of the heat. Rooms in the main hotel have good air conditioning so long as you keep the sliding glass doors closed.
We used the free shuttle bus to take us in to Kardamena which is no more than 10 minutes drive. It's a lively town with lots of bars and restaurants as well as having a small marina. This is a good place to find better deals on island trips, car hire, ferries to Turkey etc and appeared to be more competitive than the deals the holiday reps give you at the hotel.
Everything considered we had a great time, the time of year we went meant there were not many kids around and those that were there were mainly pre-school age so not a lot of them around in the evenings. I'm sure this would be different during peak season as there seemed to be quite a lot of kids facilities available. We would go back again but would make absolutely sure that we had a room in the main hotel as even one night in the bungalows located up cardiac hill was uncomfortable!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eves_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    565
    259
    122
    61
See reviews for
858
521
41
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2010

I arrived on 26th sept 2010, for 10 days, from the instant i saw the main reception foyer, i new i had chosen the right place, a beautifully open welcoming reception with friendly and helpful staff. I had a room in the main hotel building but after speaking to several other guests i heard that the other rooms out of the main building were just as nice. Spotlessly clean with all facilities working,( Fridge Aircon hairdryer). The fridge was replenished every 2 days with water soft drink and beer, clean towels and bed linen also. Shop, with everything you'd need and internet room were within hotel. Plus a supermarket 30 yards from the main reception.

Restaurante cannot be faulted ( i travelled with a health inspector) as there was plenty of variety to choose from and being all incl more than enough for several helpings. Presentaion and cleanliness were all very good, with staff polite and attentive. Tried the chinese restaurante which was ok, a little to hot and dark to eat comfortabley and not a huge choice but made a nice change.

Beach was clean well stocked with beds and umbrellas's as well as beach towels provided, from reception for a 5euro returnable deposit, changed every 2/3 days.
Beach bar was our local watering hole and the guys were happy to ply us from tea/coffee, beers, soft drinks, right through to the cocktail special of the day. snacks also avaliable (cake, hot dogs, cheese rolls, dognuts).

Pools were clean, have salt water not chlorine but mind your step as saw a few slips on the wet tiles surrounding the edge. Something that is at the attention of management however you are informed to where your foot wear. Spent most of our time in the sea, great for wind surfing ( must take valid cert of experience for surfing you will NOT be able to do it with out it ), jet ski, parasending, banana ride, pedalo or just a swim.

Evening entertainment was not great, location not a prob but not much happening unless your happy to watch the guests with families, adult bar was a great spot to enjoy drinks after dinner but not much by way of entertainment. A nightclub and pub is also on resort and ideal for the late night/ early morning party goer's as well as Kadamina town is just 8 mins away via transport for door to door bars if you want more night life.

Kos town is a 30 min bus journey and worth a visit, for light shopping, marrina, castle etc and we had a good day there.

All in all i had a brilliant holiday, i celebrated a birthday whilst there and could not have picked a better way to enjoy myself.

Mitsis complex's are either 4 5 or 5star+ resorts and you get that standard. Brilliant all round and would recomend anyone to go.

My compliments to the manager.

Mel, 36yrs from London

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mel74_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2010

We booked this hotel very cheaply. The food was great, one of the best all inclusive we have been to regarding the food. The Room service is only available when the restaurant is open. And men have to wear trousers (or below the knee shorts) for the evening Meal, no one told us this and my boyfriend had to sit out side while i eat dinner rather the face the long walk back up the hill. There is not much entertainment at night, but we just went back to the room after buying some beer from the shop on site or popped along to Big Mikes. Our room had a fantastic view of Turkey. The drinks in the hotel are not great. Most of the soft drinks have a funny after taste which left me thinking that they where watered down. All the pools are salt water but after a few days of our skin stinging we got use to it.
WARNING - Most of the rooms are up a massive hill or up a lot of stairs so not suitable for people with Kids etc. We really struggled getting our suitcases up to the room, we could have waited for some help from the hotel staff but we landed at 5am and had waited half an hour and all we wanted was our Bed.
The beach is fab, the sand is a little rough but the sea is lovely and clean

Just out side the hotel is a restaurant called Big Mikes. Its a short walk along the beach. Everyone should try it. The food is great, you can get most English drinks and they are all very friendly. They always have the football on and the cocktails are great and very cheap. Say Hi to Big Mike, Mamma and Pappa from Kim and Tony for us!

All in all we had a good holiday, i would go back to Kos but maybe stay in the sister hotel Blue Domes as that looked great.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimleaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

I found that the Norida Beach Hotel was a warm welcoming hotel with friendly staff and a presence that made me and my friends feel comfortable. The rooms were very modern and tidy and we generally found the hotel very clean too. The restaurant was very nice with a wide selection of foods freshly cooked morning, lunch, and evening. We also enjoyed the pool area as this was a good size and the animation team was also very friendly, polite and entertaining. I would definately return too this hotel and recommend it to others. It also has a nice stretch of beach with lovely clear waters and I would recommend snorkling to people as this is fantastic in these clear waters.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crawford14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2010

upon arrival we were greeted with the news that the hotel was over booked, a daily occurence i underatand, luckily we were not one of the eight couples (arrival time 23.00 hrs) who were being shipped out for the night to another hotel. The paths over the grounds have the most slippery tiles in the world , wet or dry, we were witness to a number of guests slipping over, except for one waiter everything is too much trouble for the staff, food medicore. I would not rate this hotel as a four star and the service is definately two star. Be prepared, as an English guest you are a second class citizen, ok if you are italian though! Very disappointing, not the luxurious hoilday we thought we had paid for.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsH020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2010

...the hotel is not bad. Its location is definitely beautiful. We stayed in the main hotel. Before we left, I emailed the manager and requested a room in the main hotel. When we arrived at Norida I mentioned it to the receptionist after she said our room was not in the main building and she changed it right away.
We booked a room with the sea view and that was what we got- a great view. Unfortunately we got the ants too... After caling the reception desk somebody came to spray the room but the next day the ants were back. We called again and received a bottle of ants spray which we actually apreciated. The room itself was basic: a desk, a chair, 2 twin beds pushed together, a TV (one channel in English). The closet is pretty big; lots of room to lay out your clothes, shoes. The bathroom was nice but there's not a standing shower...
The main restaurant serves breakfasts, lunches and dinners. The taverna at the beach is open for lunch only and the Chinese restaurant only for dinner- book it a day before at the reception desk. It's worth going!
We liked the food at the main restaurant but we prefer ordering from a menu than the buffet. The food was repetative- almost no difference between lunch and dinner.
Try the pizza- it's tasty and freshly made in front of you. The variety of desserts is pretty good. I'm a vegetarian and I had a hard time finding something for breakfast (although there are crepes, cereals etc.). My husband enjoyed eggs wth bacon and grilled vegetables.
There were dishes we really enjoyed like zuzchini pancakes so I can't say the food is bad- would appreciate more variety though.
Now the drinks- you can only choose between coffee/tea, red/white wine, soft drinks or beer. No brand alcohols!
We had no issues with the staff! Everybody was really nice and helpful.
The entertainment...Not much going on. Frisbie, waterpolo, water gimnastics etc.
The hotel has a free bus to Kardamena throughout the day. In case you missed one, there's also a local bus which stops in front of the hotel- very convenient.
Would we recommend this hotel to a friend? Yes but only if they don't expect any luxury...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PreciosaPl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2010

this hotel was comfortable and we found the staff friendly and efficient. however the food was not so good. we have been to other mitsis hotels and the standard of the food has been much higher. The animation team were severely undermotivated as they had not been paid for several months, however most of them were really friendly espescially Johnson and Adam who always made time to chat even though that usually meant that their miserable boss moaned at them! The hotel is well presentented ( at least in the areas we went) although the sewerage in the pool one day was more than a small concern! there is definetely better out there.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank inneedofanotherhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamena
2.9 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Mitsis Summer Palace
Mitsis Summer Palace
#17 of 39 in Kardamena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
The Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
3.5 mi away
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
#3 of 39 in Kardamena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
9.8 mi away
Kipriotis Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Norida Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Norida Beach Hotel

Property: Mitsis Norida Beach Hotel
Address: Kardamena 85302, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
#18 Family Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mitsis Norida Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NORIDA BEACH is a high standard all-inclusive resort where the good service meets the hospitality and the original smile. It is the right choice for couples and families seeking quality accommodation in a quiet location combines sea and Mountain View. ACCOMMODATION: comfort and warmth Totally renovated in 2012, Norida beach whether in the main Hotel or in one of 25 bungalow buildings all 455 comfortable and spacious guest rooms are carefully appointed and offer all the facilities of a 5-star resort. Hotel is surrounded by immense gardens and is decorated with warm gentle colors, marble floor and wooden furniture. The magnificent view of the Aegean Sea and of The Volcanic island of Nissiros will help you to relax while enjoying one of our nice cocktails in your Balcony! RESTAURANTS AND BARS: tasty treats all day and nightMITSIS NORIDA BEACH offers numerous gastronomic delights at no extra charge. At all bars a large variety of appetizers, snacks, ice cream, alcoholic and non drinks are richly offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelsClick and Despegar.com so you can book your Mitsis Norida Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsis Norida Beach Kardamena
Hotel Mitsis Norida Beach
Norida Beach Kos
Norida Beach Hotel Kos
Mitsis Norida Beach Hotel Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing