We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5* Hotel...!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mitsis Norida Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
South West
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not a 5* Hotel...!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I have just returned from a weeks holiday at this hotel. I was a lover, up until this stay, of the Mtsis brand having visited 3 others in their portfolio in the last 3 years, both 5* hotels in Rhodes and Crete and completely deserving of that title. Thomson have this hotel listed as a 4* and that is probably right depending on the level of service you encounter from some members of the hotel staff. I have to say I've stayed at far better 4* hotels that do not benefit from a 5* star label given by other companies and that the Hotel advertises itself as. The room as expected with a Mtsis Hotel was a good standard and the hotel always kept the mini-bar fairly well stocked and for free. The air-conditioning could have been better as it was 31 degrees all week and still very hot in the evenings. The hallways weren't air-conditioned and sometimes it was quite uncomfortable walking in them, I know the maids found it hard to work in them.

The hotel grounds are quite lovely with the setting of the cliffs behind and being in close vicinity to the beach. Their were some fantastic views over some of small islands close and the southern end of Kos itself. The resort is in a cluster of 4 Mtsis Hotels which does work well as the Mtsis village. The beach is nice, and the pools are of good quality and size. I did notice the top pool had no Lifeguard, I can't be sure about the second pool, but for the amount of children in this hotel that did seem strange. The one thing I have to mention is that throughout the swimming pool areas, the terrace sun-bathing area, and the beach, there was a complete lack of sunbeds. If you arrived at any point after 9 am it was unlikely you would get a sun bed much before early afternoon. Not a problem but there were a lot of rather large black sort of sand ants that did bite my partner a few times. (Also watch out for the massive hornets they have there, I saw someone pretty upset after getting stung by one) The hotel did nothing to limit people reserving sunbeds on the beach and some people wouldn't arrive till early or mid afternoon to use them. Out of interest there is no cash point on site, the closest is in kadamena 5 or so miles away. The supermarkets do accept cards though.

The biggest downside to this Hotel was that some of the staff were rude, unhelpful, and in need of complete retraining in how to look after and deal with customers courteously. For a lot of people it's the service that really makes a hotel and I feel that it is extremely important. There was one member of the bar staff who was totally unbelievable. He was so rude, not only to people staying at the hotel but to his co-workers also. He argued and shouted with many of them. He could get quite angry with the customers no matter if you were polite or rude to him. Then, unbelievably, he would tell you to give him a tip and point to the tip-bowl. Where I come from a tip is deserved and for good service and that is far from what this barman gave. This was unless you gave him what he felt was a decent tip then he warmed to you, after being rude to you until you put your hand in your pocket. He was not the only member of staff that had atrocious service, the staff at the beach bar and the adults only bar were poor but that earlier individual really sticks out. I would like to balance this up by saying that the staff in the main restaurant were excellent. They work very hard and the food is of good quality. The food is varied very much from day to day and they have a proper, old fashioned pizza baking oven, along with show cooking, salads, fruits and much more. Plenty for even a fussy eater like myself. The main hostess was fantastic, she was most helpful and accommodating. Also Florien at the main desk was extremely helpful and very knowledgeable.

Overall I would not return to this hotel simply because of the service and the frustration at lack of sunbeds every single day. Everything else about this hotel is typical of the good quality Mtsis brand except some of the staff. Out of interest there is no cash point on site, the closest is in kadamena 5 or so miles away. The supermarkets do accept cards though.

A footnote that I feel is possibly the most important part of this post is about booking a holiday to Kos, and through Thomson. Although the arrival was effortless baggage reclaim was quick and easy and the airport (being very small) is very clean the departure is quite simply the worst I have ever experienced in many years of holidaying anywhere in the world. The airport cannot deal with the amount of departures and has too many flights leaving too close together. This is hugely down to Thomson rather than the airport as the company completely overwhelm the airport and its staff. My departure date was a total nightmare as Thomson had arranged multiple flights leaving the airport in extremely short periods, 3 within 40 minutes. Completely ridiculous. It is important to remember that if you have children you need to be prepared to queue in the baking hot sun for at least an hour.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbla1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    896
    580
    261
    122
    61
See reviews for
883
537
43
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week in June 2013 With 3 adults and a 2year old. On arrival staff were very polite and friendly. Our rooms were all lovely and clean :) Maids came everyday and were really friendly. Mini bar was stocked every other day. Food was lovely apart from our last day there was a lot of queuing goin on and very rude Germans thinking they could push in were ever they want all the time .. But the staff did try and sort that out. And it seemed that the hotel was getting very very busy. There was always lots of lovely food and deserts to choose from... And lovely freshly made stone baked pizzas :)) we also went to the Chinese restaurant on a few occasion the food was absolutely beautiful... But make sure you book in advance :) Drinks were very nice lots to choose from. Pools and sunbathing area were always nice and clean... Beach was lovely :) my 2year old son loved the games room :) animation team are brilliant. And Nena who works on reception was absolutely lovely such a lovely polite lady. There are plenty of snacks throughout the day - ice creams, hotdogs, cakes, sausage rolls, ham and cheese rolls! Air con and the fridge in our room could have been better. All in all had a lovely holiday and I would defiantly recommend and would love to go back next year :))

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tasha138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was our second stay at the hotel (first stay July 2008), recent stay late June 2013.

I found the hotel to have gone way downhill since our last visit. It was severely overcrowded, at full capacity (1500 guests) which we were surprised about since its not yet ever school holidays.
While the facilities are relatively good, some things are rather outdated like the main pool & shower area, general upkeep looks a little tired. It seems all efforts have gone in to the new Blue Domes Mitsis hotel. We did not feel that our custom was in any way valued. There was a shortage of staff, staff that were there seemed stressed and generally too busy to be polite and friendly to guests. Having said this Nena on reception and the restaurant hostess were always fantastic. Other than that the standards were very low in the service department. Everything was a battle at this hotel, from meal times to drinks at the bar and even having to wrestle at the crack of dawn for the last two available sun loungers. Everything involved queuing, this was very annoying and stressful. Everytime we wanted to get drinks (just water!) we had to queue up for 5-10 mins. The beach was absolutely packed out, we decided three days into our stay that we didn't want to spend time in the hotel, so left each morning and returned in the evenings. It was really frustrating doing anything in the hotel with so many people. Not many guests seemed to be English and not all staff even spoke English (to their credit, they did seem to speak German, Italian, Russian etc). Our room was in the main hotel and overlooked the front (rather than pool or sea as requested) and instead of a double bed we were given twin beds. Anyway, a very disappointing second stay - I won't be returning. It certainly wasn't worth what we paid for it. There are lots of smaller, nicer places to stay in the area - you might have a more relaxing time somewhere like that where you will be more valued as customers and guests.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D_E_ROB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Mitsis Norida Beach in the first week of May 2013. It was a very cheap last minute deal (all inclusive for 7 ngts with flights for approx. £300 each) via icelolly.com. We were not sure what to expect but were thrilled with our whole holiday.

The hotel was relatively quiet when we arrived although it got much, much busier during the week - I think it was the proper start of their season. We had a lovely large room over looking the main pool and the sea. It was clean and the mini bar was restocked every other day at least. The housekeeping team were superb as was every member of staff. The waiters and bar staff are all amazing and work incredibly hard (7 days a week, 15 hrs a day or more)! Everyone was still smiling and attentive though.

We were amazed at how generous the all inclusive deal is. We literally could have not taken a single Euro with us and been well catered for all week. The food for lunch and dinner was superb - fresh grill every day, and everything from pasta and freshly cooked pizza to crepes, fruit, endless salads and desserts and everything in between. It got a little repetitive but was very high quality and all cooked fresh in front of you. There was a lot of choice so we only ate out of the hotel a couple of times. The restaurant gets busy so sometimes there was a wait to sit outside on the balcony. We were a little perplexed as to why they insisted on trousers and shoes for men at dinner when it was blisteringly hot outside and in the restaurant. They also seemed to tell you off when you wore shorts but then half the men in the room were in shorts - it seemed a bit pointless. Do try the Chinese restaurant onsite (you need to book) - it made a nice change.

Everything was great - the pedalo's and kayaks were included in the price too! The beach was a bit stoney (shingle) for my liking but there was a nice beach bar and you could drink as much as you liked all day - no restrictions on anything really when it came to food. This being said no one was drunk and the mix of guests was good. No young groups really which kept the atmosphere quite relaxed and calm.

There is entertainment if you want it (not for us) and a supermarket outside the front door. Everything was so handy - you literally didn't need to go far for anything. If you wanted to there was tennis and lots of sports like beach volleyball or aqua aerobics. We visited Kardamena twice but was very let down - its very tatty these days and not terribly appealing to someone in their late 20's / early 30's (it was mostly shut still which was understandable given the time of year).

All in all however I'd say this hotel was an absolute bargain and service was of the highest calibre. Couldn't have asked for a better holiday. The staff couldn't be more helpful and were so good at remembering you personally, making sure to always say hi and remember your preferences and where you were from.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank indiacarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Myself and my Husband have just returned from Norida Beach. We had a very enjoyable 10 day stay. The rooms were very clean and were cleaned every day. We had a room on the second floor of the hotel with a view towards the mountains, although it would have been nice to have a sea/pool view it was still a nice view. The food was very good, plenty of choice for all ages, we also had one night at the asian restaurant which was also very good. The beach was very clean and there is a bar on the beach. All the staff from all areas were very nice and friendly. My only gripe (being British) there was no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, you can borrow a kettle but they dont have enough to go around, I did reserve one but when it arrived (after 4 days) it didnt work so decided to go without. We did some excursions, the best one was a tour of the island Nissyros absolutely brilliant! We went into the islands volcano and visited the small village on the side and top of the island and the tour guide - Costas - really knew his stuff so would definitely recommend this tour.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brenanddave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We got to the Norida which was overbooked so we had one night in the Blue Domes, which is 5 stars. Unfortunately we didn't have time to enjoy as we checked in late and had to leave to go back to Norida the next afternoon, so couldn't enjoy the Blue Domes. My husband broke his toe halfway through the trip, and the day we were leaving he was sitting in a chair in the foyer waiting to leave on the transfer bus, he had his bad foot elevated, as advised by the doctor on a chair, we did advise the front desk who were fine. The manager came through to the desk a very rude Michael Giorntamilakis, told a reception staff member, Floriaan, to tell him to put his foot down, we explained what had happened, he said 'take of your shoe'! We said it took and hour to get on!! He was very rude, I cried, I'm not used to such rudeness, I work in customer services, and usually the customer comes first. The desk said he has standards, we said, people eat in the restaurant in shorts, nor shirts, men walk thru the foyer in speedo's and nothing else, and he has standards about an elderley gentleman who had his broken foot on a chair! You would think he would have said, oh please sit in my air conditioned office! As there is nor aircon in the foyer.
We would not recommend this hotel, or go back, obviously!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We originally booked to stay at the blue domes hotel however due to over booking we had to stay here. I can't comment much on the hotel as we only slept here as we used all the facilities at the blue domes but what I can say is Nena on reception was fantastic she made what could of been a very stressful start to our holiday very relaxed and she advised us we had a room upgrade and it was no problem to use all the facilities at the blue domes hotel. Great member of staff and a real asset to the hotel, thank you

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennylw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamena
0.1 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Mitsis Summer Palace
Mitsis Summer Palace
#19 of 39 in Kardamena
1,221 reviews
9.7 mi away
Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel
3.5 mi away
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
#2 of 39 in Kardamena
260 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sovereign Beach Hotel
Sovereign Beach Hotel
#17 of 39 in Kardamena
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Norida Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Norida Beach Hotel

Property: Mitsis Norida Beach Hotel
Address: Kardamena 85302, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
#18 Family Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mitsis Norida Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NORIDA BEACH is a high standard all-inclusive resort where the good service meets the hospitality and the original smile. It is the right choice for couples and families seeking quality accommodation in a quiet location combines sea and Mountain View. ACCOMMODATION: comfort and warmth Totally renovated in 2012, Norida beach whether in the main Hotel or in one of 25 bungalow buildings all 455 comfortable and spacious guest rooms are carefully appointed and offer all the facilities of a 5-star resort. Hotel is surrounded by immense gardens and is decorated with warm gentle colors, marble floor and wooden furniture. The magnificent view of the Aegean Sea and of The Volcanic island of Nissiros will help you to relax while enjoying one of our nice cocktails in your Balcony! RESTAURANTS AND BARS: tasty treats all day and nightMITSIS NORIDA BEACH offers numerous gastronomic delights at no extra charge. At all bars a large variety of appetizers, snacks, ice cream, alcoholic and non drinks are richly offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mitsis Norida Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsis Norida Beach Kardamena
Hotel Mitsis Norida Beach
Norida Beach Kos
Norida Beach Hotel Kos
Mitsis Norida Beach Hotel Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing