We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just a snack” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captains Restaurant

Captains Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 71 Restaurants in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Captains is situated on the harbour front, which allows you to enjoy a delicious meal whilst looking out at a perfect view. The restaurant is famous for it’s extensive menu of Greek and International Cuisine, built around finest fresh ingredients, with an emphasis on organic local produce, fresh fish from the surrounding waters and traditional favorites. Our wine selection focuses on exciting Greek varieties, with an extensive bar to match complete with a good variety of soft drinks.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“just a snack”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

A quick lunch,Jacket spud with tuna OK would have liked to have seen a bit of salad for presentation in.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    755
    193
    70
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Food to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Captain's has a very extensive menu but don't be put off by this. Every dish that comes out is to die for!! The staff are the friendliest I have ever come across in a restaurant. They soon know what you want and where you would like to sit. They are fully knowledgeable about the menu and make excellent recommendations. The restaurant is spotlessly clean. The harbour view makes for a relaxing evening and the staff are in no hurry to move you on. We had a varied selection of food from Captains including Moussaka, swordfish santorini, chicken empire for main dishes. We tried a variety of starters but the star of the day for me was the red pepper and feta cheese starter. Desserts included baklava and cheesecake. All our meals were accompanied by half a carafe of wine and for 2 or 3 course meals the prices averaged about 30 euros.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yvette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, good portions, great people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

We were made very welcome... You were treated to very good food... Brilliant waiters... Even got a magic trick as well... This is the best restaurant in kos!

Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service, Brilliant Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We visited the restaurant on weds evening 28/5, its right on the sea front, and eating looking out to sea was great. Hats off to the staff,excellent personal service. This coupled with very good fresh food,my sirloin steak was huge and cooked to perfection, and my partner and daughter also thoroughly enjoyed their meals,would have no hesitation returning for a further meal.To be fair all the restaurants we visited in Kos were excellent,we did not have a meal we didnt enjoy. We were attracted here by the location and the fact that the locals eat here during the daytime.Excellent atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 497Suzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“By the harbour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Great setting and buzzing with people. The food is great as are the staff, ask Theo's for a card trick! The staff are friendly and won't hesitate in or recommending the catch of the day.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank StamsMate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captains Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Captains Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing