We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely dreadful - fake room pictures - don't book” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kardamena Holidays Apartments & Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kardamena Holidays Apartments & Studios
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely dreadful - fake room pictures - don't book”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We booked this apartment after having seen pictures of the rooms, but left immediately upon arrival to find a different hotel. The rooms bore no resemblance whatsoever to the pictures, which I can only imagine must have been fake. We had booked a two bedroom apartment through travel republic, but were told when we got there that there were not any two bed apartments and that the travel company had been told this. When we were shown to the room, which turned out to have one bedroom with two single beds, our hearts sank - it was absolutely awful, dingy, thoroughly depressing and our first thoughts were that we could not possibly stay there. I know it is cheap, and I have stayed in some basic apartments before, but it honestly looked like a slum.

The manager was rude and dismissive, and demanded to know why we had wanted a two bedroom apartment anyway. After speaking with locals, we found out that many people have been fooled by the photos shown of these apartments, but most are young and can't afford to go and find somewhere else to stay. Thankfully, we could, although in high season it was hard (and expensive) to find somewhere else, but it would have been grim to stay there for even one night. I am not in the habit of trying to destroy small business owners' livelihoods, but to show pictures which could not possibly be of the accommodation is simply a scam, let alone not being given the type of apartment which was booked, ie two bedroom. I will be taking it up with Travel Republic when I get home, but I just wanted to warn people what they might be getting.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 609Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    5
    2
    18
See reviews for
5
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

These apartments are excellent value for money, booked these on line even though we had not stayed there before.
we were really pleased with our three week stay, and Christopher is so helpfull, and can not do enough to help.
As for other people complaining in reviews, about the cleanliness they are talking crap.
This place is absolutely spotless, apartments are cleaned regularly and clean bedding supplied. Nadia the cleaner is a real Gem and keeps the place spotless both inside and out
We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian_and_Kim_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

After reading all of the mixed reviews I was slightly apprehensive at first. 13 of us stayed here between the ages of 17-19 so I think Chris (the owner) was a bit apprehensive too, but we aren't the rowdy sort anyway.
The owner himself was a strange man, some days he'd be cheery and wonderful and other days he'd yell at us because a door slammed with the wind or we went to the glow party and he didn't want the paint to go on the towels. He made it clear from the start that if you are bad you will be gone, which is fair enough but paying 15 euros for a broken bowl is a bit much.
The rooms were pretty spacious considering, some of them have smaller balconies than others but overall they were a good size for a room of 3. My boyfriend and I had a room of three for the two of us because he ran out of 2's which was lucky, but the rest of my friends in 3's had no problems with the size. You get a kettle, a toastie maker, a pretty shoddy hob and a toaster which is great, but you can only plug one in at a time, and they have utensils and cutlery, you just need to buy soap and washing up liquid, and a towel to dry up with. You don't get a floor towel for the bathroom and if you use one of their normal ones for the floor then you have to pay for the damages. There was loads of wardrobe and cupboard space, and the bathrooms are basic, I gave this an average because we got along with it but I can see how people may not like it, for example the toilet seat was broken and you only get air con in the bedroom so whoever is sleeping in the living area will be hot, but for what we paid for it was great.

Immediately next door was a shop which had the basics but there were loads of supermarkets nearby. It was literally a minute away from the beach and 5 minutes away from the main strip but it seemed to be a safe walk. The only problem is all the motorbikes but no one can help that. The main clubs were far out no matter where you stayed but there were loads of signs and it wasn't a difficult walk. If you're not going for a clubbing holiday then I should probably mention there's loadssss of restaurants nearby, it was in a great location because you can't hear all the drunkards but if you want to go somewhere nicer you're able to. In the daytime it's close to shops as well.

Things you might need to know: The safe is 7 euros for the week, aircon was 5 euros a day. You only get one toilet roll, then you have to buy the rest, but you can get them in the supermarket next door. There's no swimming pool but the Cleopatra opposite has one that is public from 10:00 - 18:00. The bins are changed every day, the beds are changed twice a week, and the rooms are tidied every other day. You can't be in the room while the maid does a full clean out, but you can sit on the balcony. You can't bring people back or you get a warning, and lastly, get on the RIGHT side of Chris and you'll be fine. If you're on the bottom floor in rooms 18-19 then you're very unlucky as he lives underneath and it's next to the main desk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I really can't understand why there are such conflicting reviews for Kardamena Holiday Apartments. I'm a regular there having stayed 11 times to date. In fact I'm taking friends there in May (2013). I've always found the owner Christopher to be a caring and helpful host. The apartments are the usual Greek, no frills standard but on all my trips I've had a clean bed which has been changed twice a week along with the towels. The toilet bin is changed at least every other day. The rooms are clean and in good repair. I'm not sure how many rooms are equipped with free satellite television but I've always had that available. Additional payments are required for the use of the in room safe and air con but wherever I've stayed in Greece it's always been an extra. Every time I return to Kardamena Apartments I'm made to feel very welcome, in fact I'm treated like one of the family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

When we arrived at our hotel there was no one on reception rep showed us our room as soon as the door opened the smell hit us it was filthy dirty really dated, bed sheets were covered in stains which did not get changed the week we were there and it was a heat wave even the locals were complaining how hot it was ,room had loads of ants everywhere the towels supplied I would not even dry my dog with them no toilet roll in bathroom told we have to pay extra for them after traveling all day we were gutted, woken up early by shop next door blowing up inflatables with a generator no hot water so had to have cold showers all after little sleep on a broken bed, informed rep we wanted to move as soon as the manager found out he started shouting at us asking why so we told him so he phoned his cleaner and sacked her in front of us!! For her to later turn up banging on our door shouting, we are not the type of people to complain or be confrontational just wanted a clean room to put our heads down was not expecting much but it was a total nightmare ruined the first week of our holiday it was that bad it has totally put us off returning to Greece

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angus777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kardamena hotels

Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed here with 6 other mates. Its really close to the beach and clubs but there are better apartments around. You also don't want to get on the bad side of the owner Christopher. The beds arent the best if your 6ft + and they say they regularly change the covers but i don't think so. Only one free roll of tissue and then you have to purchase it but it isnt too expensive. Its right next to a shop if you wish to buy basic necessities but if you wish to go to bars and restaurants you must walk for approx 5-7mins but that isnt really a problem when you are accompanied by mates. Overall the apartment is decent but i wouldnt really want to use the utensils etc. Also you must pay for air conditioning and the safe if you wish to use it. I would rate it 5/10. Finally the Kardamena is a wonderful place for people who like to party hard!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't have more than 2 staying in a room. It will be very uncomfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zzzillionaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

i cannot say a bad word about the place
stayed here a few times, and never had anything to gripe about. the guys peice above this, cant see what your moaning about, christopher moved you didnt he ???
yes its basic, but most of the accomodation is in greece, its cleaned daily, bins emptied, and towels changed every other day.
christopher stays in the hotel all summer, (only owner i know that does), he is a true gent, and if you have any problems is always there to lend a hand and help sort out the problem.
the times we have stayed here we have never had any problems and if we had a litle niggle christopher was there right away.
yes i have heard him growl, but , tell me, if you were woken in the early hours , by drunken idiots, slamming doors, and shouting , you wouldnt be happy either, so there ya have it. and if there was no one to sort out the problem you again wouldnt be amused.
i think the word respect comes in here, you earn it by giving it......simples.
we have no problems staying here, and dont think anyone else would, as long as you know its basic accomodation and not the ritz............
i have had many chats with christopher in my times staying here and he is only to pleased to talk about the culture of greece, and advice you on some lovely places to go and see.
stella his wife is a lovely lady and very good chef,
we have even had a lovely bbq with the family, and enjoyed a good few beers with them too.
dont have worries about booking the hotel,
its clean and friendly, and safe and secure, and the cleaners you can trust leaving what ever you want laying about the place, even euros, and its still there when you return.
as the saying goes....you cannot please everyone, and everyone expects diffirent for there money
we have become a friend of the family, and they are lovely
see for yourself..............

Room Tip: you want a front facing room that faces the road, to watch the world go by....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jomarLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kardamena hotels
0.0 mi away
Andavis Hotel
Andavis Hotel
#31 of 39 in Kardamena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stergia Apartments
Stergia Apartments
#32 of 39 in Kardamena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Origin Hotel Apartments
Origin Hotel Apartments
#20 of 39 in Kardamena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nissia Kamares Hotel Apartments
0.0 mi away
Cleopatra Classic Hotel
Cleopatra Classic Hotel
#16 of 39 in Kardamena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mamouzelos
Hotel Mamouzelos
#22 of 29 in Kardamena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kardamena Holidays Apartments & Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kardamena Holidays Apartments & Studios

Property: Kardamena Holidays Apartments & Studios
Address: Kardamena 95302, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kardamena Holidays Apartments & Studios 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Kardamena Holidays Apartments & Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kardamena Holidays Apartments & Studios Kos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing