We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good looking but boy what a joke”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2010

I am in the hotel as I type and must say the hotel looks great but the food and service is shocking. Stay away

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ilovetheearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,195 - 2,201 of 3,365 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2010

We originally booked into the Summer Palace next door and weren't told of our hotel change until we picked up the transfer coach at Kos Airport. As both were rated 5* and as we have experienced Mitsis Hotels before - we weren't too concerned.

After a 10 minute coach transfer we arrived at reception, checked in quickly and efficiently and were taken by golf buggy with our luggage to our room - which someone else was in! Never mind after a quick call to reception we were then transferred to another room - which only had 3 beds for the 4 of us! Never mind, after a quick call to reception, we were eventually taken to our superb room with an amazing blue dome for a ceiling, two single beds pushed together for us and a separate room for the kids.

Both rooms had their own balcony, TV (though only two English speaking channels - both News) and air con. The main room had a well stocked fridge, which unlike some, was re-stocked every day. The bathroom was large with a shower cubicle and over bath shower. We did however have to ask for additional pillows and some bed covers, as we were only provided with sheets and one pillow per bed. The fixtures and fittings in the rooms were all first rate. Towels were changed daily and the bedding once in our weeks stay.

The Blue Domes opened in May 2010 and it would appear that no expense has been spared in its design and construction. Unfortunately, some of the build quality is questionable and I expect without a higher level of maintenance over the coming years it will begin to look tatty at an early age. Some of the stairlighting was already coming away from it's fixings, cracks were already appearing to the roadways and walling and some of the wooden bridges and walkways weren't coping well with the ladies who wore high heels.

The complex is laid out beautifully on a steeply sloping site, with several different sized salt water pools (all freezing!) and lovely lit walkways in between. The walk upto the main reception, dining room and entertainment areas was very steep with nearly 200 steps from our room - not for the unfit! The pool nearest our room had at the most, 10 people around it - and that was when our group of 6 was there. Plenty of lovely wooden adjustable sunbeds (although two or three had broken already) and each pair of beds had a parasol, though again a couple of these were broken, mainly due to the occaisional strong breeze.

With eleven different restaurants - the main dining room in the hotel, a sushi bar, pitta restaurant, german beer bar, burger bar, greek tapas bar and a creperie halfway down to the sea around the main pool bar; and four specialist restaurants where you were waited on, right on the beach serving Italian, Greek, Mexican and Asian - you certainly have a myriad of choices. The quality of the food was OK, some surprisingly good, some not so good, but there was always something for someone at any time of day - indeed, the creperie stayed open until 2.00am.

The bars were OK and the service improved distinctly, when you made the effort to smile or show an interest in the (mainly) Bulgarian girls who worked behind them. They worked very hard throughout their sessions and waiting for more than 5 minutes was rare. More staff in the higher season, I'm sure would alleviate some other peoples problems. The choice of spirits was wide (though all local), there were plenty of licquers as well as 'champagne' and the cocktails excellent - you could chose your own strength of drink, so never any short measures! Only wine and beer with evening meals though - not a problem for us.

The real disappointement was the entertainment. The Mitsis Kids Club was, again, excellent - including the carousel, though as we were in the penultimate week of the season, some of the activities were limited. Unfortunately, the adult entertainment was virtually non existent. Theere was the head animation guy, who did nothing but MC the poor evening entertainment, with a couple of helpers and a DJ. There was nothing going on during the day that we saw or was advertised and the evening 'gig' in the sperarate open air theatre was poorly attended, mainly due to the quality of the entertainment on offer. However the 'lets make the most of this' attitude of the Brits abroad, raised a smile most evenings!!!

We then come to our keyboard 'player' in the piano bar. Always well attended, mainly as his wide variety of songs and ability to 'play' virtually any request and any style was truely awesome. Actually his ability to programme his impressive Roalnd keyboard to do this for him, without him actually playing a single note, yet pretending to play a Rachmaninov Piano Concerto was inspiring. His voice wasn't too bad, but he didn't look to happy when anyboardy stared at his fingers for too long.

We did not try the spa facilities as we felt that they were a bit expensive.

All in all a fantastic value for money holiday. I paid £1,500 for 4 adults and two kids, including flights and transfers - I'm sure we all had more than £250 each in drinks (alcoholic, soft drinks, teas, coffees and hot chocolates), food, icecream and more food alone. I don't think I'll be having another crepe for sometime! I know this was coming to the end of the season and we were able to get bookings for the specialist restaurants easily and there was no long waits at the other bar side restaurants, but it is one of the main reasons we booked up at this time of year.

I would certainly recommend Mitsis to other people as yet, they have failed to disappoint.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank addickted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

We arrived at Blue Domes late on a Wednesday evening this month. Our check in was great and we were taken to the restaurant where there was a nice meal waiting for us, after we had eaten we were taken to our rooms by golf buggy. Rooms were beautiful- clean and spacious with a lovely bathroom with shower over bath and separate shower room and wc. The next morning we realised we didnt have shower gel, body lotion or conditioner, neither did we have any face cloths we rang reception and were assured they would be brought to the room straight away - it took 4 days and many calls to reception. We were eager to book into the al a carte restaurants and looked forward to our meals, the first one being in the 'asian' restaurant, to say we were disappointed was an understatement - the food was bland and resembled nothing asian we had eaten before, our next evening was in the 'greek' restaurant, the service was very lacking and yet again the food was more 3 star standard, one of our friends ordered a greek salad - it arrived without the usual feta cheese and when he asked its whereabouts he was brought 4 pieces of cheese on a small plate to add to his starter. The buffet restaurant was lovely and we looked forward on an evening to getting dressed for dinner, unfortunately not everyone had the same idea and a lot of guests came for dinner dressed as though they were going to a beach barbecue!! When we questioned one of the managers about this and mentioned that it states in the hotel information that no shorts should be worn in the dining room, he just shrugged his shoulders. There was a shortage of glasses in the inside bar areas and many times people were having to drink from plastic beakers. Guests were also allowed to smoke in the reception and bar area, as our week progressed more and more people took advantage of this. Entertainment consisted of a man playing the organ every evening singing the same tunes. When it rained day or night the small restaurants around the pool bar were closed as the rain got in, so the only place to eat was the buffet dining area, when the small restuarants were open the food was good although some of the staff needed 'customer service' training, particularly the girls in the creperie who were the most surly waitresses we had ever come across and made you feel they were doing you a favour just being there (unless you were russian) which seemed to put a different slant on things!!! No bar snacks were available from the reception bar at any time, not even nuts, crisps or pastries.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joomoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

We were booked for a week at the Mitsis Family Village but got offered an upgrade after two days to the Blue Domes as the Family Village was closing for end of season. The hotel was opened in May and has been very well designed- lots of lovely wood all around and classy fixtures and fittings. The way all the pools have been designed with boardwalks is also very scenic and looks lovely lit up at night. There were one or two areas which have been mentioned by other reviewers which if attended to would just make that tiny difference. At night time some of the steps down from the boardwalk areas are not clearly defined despite small uplighters which don't actually make the step very clear to see so some care is needed. Also in the bedrooms- again the fixtures & fittings are very tasteful but the shower door in the shower area was not effective as water ended up on the floor and there was no drainhole. Also the shower screen in the bathroom area did not have a seal so water again ended up on the floor. There was a leak in the shower area from the room above which had caused water damage to the ceiling and black stains had appeared and the ceiling had started to bulge. I did report this to reception but nothing had been done two days later-we were offered a change of room but as we only had another couple of days it was not an issue as we just used the shower in the bath-but if the leak had been left much longer then a bit of the ceiling could well have collapsed. Also the air conditioning unit in our room did not seem to be working properly and we ended up having the patio door open at night. The themed restaurants are a good idea- we tried the Asian, Italian & Greek. You have to book the day before but the food is very good here. It would help if they had a menu in the window as otherwise you do not know what is on offer without having to go in and ask. All the staff were friendly and helpful. One other area they could improve in the main restaurant at breakfast time is for coffee to be more easily obtained- for some reson you have to wait for them to serve you coffee but you can go and help yourself to tea. Plenty of choice at all meals times with something to suit everyone. My top tip is don't have the ice cream at the beach bar or in the main restaurant as that stuff is cheap & tasteless-get it from the ice cream & cake pastry area near the main pool bar- it is of a far better quality & flavour (more like Italian ice cream).

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GARYLE57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

When i read the vast difference in the reviews i regreted booking this holiday, as they were quite damming. I shouldn't have worried, this resort is one of the best i have been to and i would be more than happy to both recommend it and return myself (out of seson of course)
The hotel was plush, spectacular resort with wonderful views.
Our room was an open plan maisonette of two floors, decoracted cleanly with comfortable furniture, and the bathrooms were spacious and clean. LCD televisions both upstairs and downstairs and a mini bar that was free and also replenished daily.

The resort pools were sea water, cleaned daily and thats quite a feat as there are so many, with long pools infront of apartments and also infinity pools winding there way down to the sea front. Edged by brick pathways and lush green grass. More than enough sunbeds to go around and people didn't get up at 5am to put there towels on them, which is a bonus. Went down at about 9.30 each morning and they were still virtually all free, however that maybe because we went out of season slightly.

The weather at this time of year was beautiful a little windy in the evening, but perfect really for a relaxing holiday.

The main restaurant was busy, but there was a good variety of food there and no real waiting. The speciality restaurants were beautiful and the food was absolutely wonderful. If you wanted to reserve a table at one of these you would have to book the day before, but it would not cost you extra and was included in the all inclusive price.
There were more restaurants by the pools serving foods from different cultures, just the same quality.

We have travelled extensively and this resort and holiday is one of the best we have had. I have really enjoyed everything here and would highly recommend this resort to anyone travelling just out of season.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salcatpaulcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

Just have come back from Blue Domes and it was great-the room (I emailed hotel before we went and asked if we could have a room next to one of sharing pools and they emailed back saying they would put this down as a request and thats what we got and what a lovely room it was too), the service, the food, the weather everything. I suggest to folk to maybe go out of season if possible as everything was second to none.
We stayed at Voyage Torba in Turkey same time last year which is all inclusive and that was good, but this place was far better.
If I had to grumble about something it would be like other people have put- which is about the entertainment, but the fella on the piano was so bad he was good and he could certainly belt out some tunes!!
Would recommend this to anyone and would happily go again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emli78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

We have just returned from a week at this hotel. The room was great, looked out straight onto one of the pools, bed very comfortable two singles put together at our request. The room was cleaned every day, towels changed and mini bar stocked daily, only one disappointment the toiletries as advertised were not replenished as hoped. The staff were very attentive and polite. There was a great choice of food in the main restaurant, although not always very hot. The other restaurants could be booked the day before at a set time, very popular. The numerous pools made the hotel look spectacular but quite difficult to swim in because of the salt water. We had a couple of treatments at the Spa, lovely friendly staff, we were able to use the pool and hammam for free, Disappointed with temperature of the pool water - it was cold!!. Don't forget to ask in the main restaurant for a packed lunch the day you leave. We had one (water, juice, sandwiches, cake and fruit) and we were able to take it on board our flight home!! One suggestion would be to put more information in the room about all the acivities the hotel provide for free, we only found out about them on the last day of our holiday. On the whole we had a brilliant time, would certainly recommend this hotel, not bad considering it has only been open for 6 months.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fran072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamena
0.1 mi away
Mitsis Norida Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Mitsis Summer Palace Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
9.7 mi away
Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
9.5 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa

Address: | Tholari, Kardamena 85302, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#2 Spa Hotel in Kardamena
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#6 Family Hotel in Kardamena
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range: $161 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mitsis Blue Domes Exclusive Resort & Spa in Kardamena is a 5* plus hotel opened in 2010 and is nestled at the foot of Mount Dikeos and overlooking a sweeping beach. An incredible range of leisure facilities, superb cuisine and 499 beautifully furnished guest rooms, bungalows, villas, family rooms and maisonettes, combine to make an ideal holiday hideaway for discerning ravelers. ACCOMMODATION: Tasteful and Elegant luxury The Mitsis Blue Domes Exclusive Resort & Spa offers a total of 499 luxurious and tastefully appointed rooms that combine simple elegance and sublime views catering to every wish. Rooms include 114 Double Rooms Sea View, 65 Double Rooms with Individual Pool, 235 Sea View & Pool View Bungalows, 48 Family Rooms, 32 maisonettes, 3 Villas and 2 Suites. All rooms are surrounded by incredible gardens and more than 12 shared pools to relax and enjoy. The room decoration and style uses earthy colours, marble floors, wooden furniture and wooden roofs in most rooms. This resort is designed to surpass the expectations of any customer. RESTAURANTS AND BARS: Tasty treats all day and night The hotel offers numerous gastronomic delights throughout the day (07:00-01:00) at no extra charge. At all bars, a large variety of alcoholic drinks, hors d'oeuvres, snacks, ice cream and soft drinks are offered generously. Also, at the restaurants, beer, wine, ouzo, as well as freshly squized juices and soft drinks are served. Main restaurant All meals in the main restaurant are served in a show cooking buffet style. Also every night, guests have the possibility to taste specialties from Greek and international cuisine, such as Italian, Asian and Mexican in the 4 à la carte restaurants. Furthermore, 6 more restaurants are available during day time offering a variety of meals such as burgers, pita gyro, sushi, traditional Greek delicacies, beer house and a pastry corner. Early breakfast: 04:00 - 07:00 Continental (upon request) Breakfast time: 07:00 - 10:00 American Buffet Late breakfast: 10:00 - 10:30 Continental BuffetBreakfast room service: 07:30 - 10:00 Lunch: 12:30 - 14:30 Complete Buffet Dinner: 18:30 - 21:30 Complete Buffet Late arrivals: 22:30 - 24:00 selection of salads & hot dishes 24:00 - 02:00 selection of salads • Espresso and cappuccino served during breakfast. • Freshly squeezed orange juice during breakfast. • Pita station at the beach offering traditional homemade pies. • Ice cream cart offering cone ice cream around the pools and the beach (Mid June- Mid Sept) Dinner dress code: formal is optional, casual smart is required, shorts, vests or open toe shoes for men are not allowed. Ellinadiko à la carte restaurant Ellinadiko offers our guests the opportunity to taste the Greek food culture. Opening hours: dinner (19:00-21:30) Table reservation: required Italian à la carte restaurant Freshly made Italian favourites! Opening hours: for lunch (12:30-14:30) and dinner (19:00-21:30) Table reservation: required Mexican à la carte restaurant Superb Tex-Mex cuisine! Opening hours: for dinner only (19:00-21:30) Table reservation: required Asian à la carte restaurant Indulge in authentic Asian cuisine! Opening hours: for dinner only (19:00-21:30) Table reservation: required Sushi Opening hours: 12:30 - 20:30 (last order 20:00) Burger Juicy burgers! Opening hours: 12:30 - 20:30 (last order 20:00) Beeraria Opening hours: 12:30 - 20:30 (last order 20:00) Ouzeri Taste the famous Greek “mezes” (tapas) with a glass of ouzo and a large variety of Sea food specialties! Opening hours: 12:30 - 20:30 (last order 20:00) Pitta corner Taste the traditional pitta bread souvlaki and gyros! Opening hours: 12:30 - 20:30 (last order 20:00) Traditional action cooking pitta station Opening hours: 10:30 - 17:30 Pastry corner Sweet pleasures! Opening hours: 10:30 - 01:30 (last order 01:00) Selected tea assortments are uniquely served on glass floor at the indoor pool from 16:00 till 19:00. Beach bar Opening hours: 10:00 - 18:00 (last order 17:30) Island pool bar Opening hours: 10:00 - 01:00 (last order 00:30) Garden pool bar Opening hours: 10:00 - 18:00 (last order 17:30) Lobby bar Opening hours: 10:00 - 23:00 (last order 22:30) Night bar with live music Opening hours: 18:00 - 01:00 (last order 00:30) Theatre bar Opening hours: during the animation shows Also we offer: • Traditional barbeque style “souvlaki” served at the tennis pool bar daily. • Waiter Service around the pools. • Waiter Service at the beach. Drinks In all the restaurants, during meals an unlimited selection of drinks is offered, such as wines, draft beer, soft drinks, water, etc. In the bars an unlimited variety of national and international alcoholic beverages, including ouzo, brandy, cocktails, draft beer, soft drinks, coffee, refreshments and juices are on offer. Lunch baskets & early breakfast • All guests on excursions can exchange their meal with a lunch basket. Please note that orders need to be placed before 20:00 the previous day at the main restaurant. • Continental breakfast is available for early departures between 04:00 and 07:00 only upon request. OTHER F&B SERVICES: always at your service Room service Opening hours: 07:30 - 24:00 (last order 23:30) Guests can order breakfast, lunch or dinner to be delivered in the room from the available menu at an extra charge of €10,00 per tray. Mini bar Wine and a selection of fruit are available upon arrival. Also, the mini bar is refilled daily with beers, soft drinks and bottles of mineral water free of charge. SPORTS & ENTERTAINMENT: moments of spontaneous fun and adventure A variety of facilities for the whole family is available. Built with families in mind, we offer a range of free sports and recreational facilities within the hotel’s grounds. SWIMMING: splash around…. Guests of all ages can choose between the 12 outdoor seawater pools and the beautiful pebble beach. Umbrellas and sun beds are available free of charge. Beach towels are also available, however a refundable deposit of €20,00 per towel is required. JUST FOR KIDS: a complimentary programme for kids No matter how old your children are they are sure to have a great time at the Blue Domes Wonderland, the place where also our mascots, live. The Mini Club keeps children entertained during the day, providing a safe and friendly atmosphere with supervision. Daily games for the young ones from 4 to 7 years old from 10:00 to 17:00 and during the evenings the children’s fun continues with Mini Disco from 20:00 to 21:30. The Maxi Club (8 to 12 years old) and The Junior Club (13 to 15 years old) operating during July and August allow the children to meet and spend time with others of their age and give the parents the opportunity to relax. Children facilities include • Integrated fresh water pool and a playground with water slides. • Library, painting room, music room, puppet show, rest area and movie room, all available for the entertainment of the little ones while the parents relax and rest. • Free carousel every night as well as the games and internet room. • High chairs and baby cots available for infants. FACILITIES & ACTIVITIES free of charge Tennis Court Mini Soccer Court Pedal Boats & canoes Beach Volley Water Polo Table Tennis Billiards Darts Gymnastics, Aerobics Games Room Waterslides Bridge Room Windsurfing (with certificate) Activities/gymnastics shaded deck at the beach FACILITIES & ACTIVITIES at an extra charge Water Skiing Paragliding Rings Banana Boat Jet Ski Horse & Pony Riding (external contractor upon request) Paint Ball games (external contractor upon request) Motor & yacht rental for private cruises ENTERTAINMENT A multilingual animation team provides throughout day and night various activities and games such as musicals, karaoke nights, cabarets, sketches, shows, competition games, demonstrations and many other in order to amuse the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort And Spa
Mitsis Blue Domes Hotel Kardamena
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing