We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You could not get much better for the money.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Buckinghamshire
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“You could not get much better for the money.”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Having spent a considerable length of time researching our holiday destination we actually had originally booked the Norida Hotel next door as the Blue Domes would have worked out so much more expensive for our week away for the four of us. We had read in previous Trip Advisor reviews that holidays makers had sometimes been upgraded to the Blue Domes and had raved how good it was. Anyhow we had it planned we were in the Norida and that was to be our holiday. However on check in we got told " Good news you have been upgraded to our sister hotel The Blue Domes !" our initial thought was , Here we go !! BUT disappointed we were not.
We had two rooms our daughters stayed in one and we stayed in the other ours being within a stones throw of the beach. The Hotel is spotlessly clean , The rooms are equally well maintained sheets are crisp and beds are comfortable. Both rooms had two showers one within the bath and a wet room attached with shower, enabling the two of us to shower at the same time . The rooms are well air conditioned and the mini bar is stocked daily of beer , water, pepsi and seven up. As far as a previous comment on here states " we found opened bottle of wine in the room" Had these people been educated in 5* Hotels they would have realised that this was a complimentary bottle of red wine left in the room along side the complimentary fruit. The rooms were not equipped with a bottle opener so the cork had been removed and placed back in enabling the wine to be drunk ! complimentary wine was in both rooms , a nice touch !

The food was amazing with plenty of choice breakfast lunch and dinner .People have stated its repetitive maybe, but every night there was a choice of chicken, pork, beef ( which was amazing !) fish, pizza, pasta, rice, potatoes, always a vegetarian hot dish , chips and a salad bar which was fresh and plentiful . Deserts which consisted of a variety of cakes, fruit and ice cream. What do these people eat at home ? what more could you ask for ? breakfast was equally hard to choose from with freshly cooked omelets to your liking by the most smiley happy chef, pancakes, everything you could possibly want. Yes sometime the queue for the restaurant was busy but we waited no more than 5 minutes throughout the whole week .They have 3 speciality restaurants and it is hard to get a reservation but allocation slots are open from 10pm so if you really want a table your get one! . The Hotel does have alot of Russians and German that can be quiet rude and pushy!.
Sun beds are few and far between but we managed always to get one , be it round the pool or the beach whichever we fancied that day.
The bar staff where fantastic Kostas and the whole team where just lovely thank you all so much. The animation team worked hard and the show every night was not the best , but they looked like they where enjoying themselves and where so enthusiastic.
A highlight of the night was a 1am pancake made freshly for you. Thank you Jimmy for looking after us and bringing us our evening tipple !
The only slight downside of the holiday is that the island is quite windy which I had never read in any previous reviews... apparently they are having unusual high winds there this year, and also there are lots of steps ( 48 ! ) up to reception and the main restaurant , but this didn't cause us a problem.
All in all the hotel is very good, would I go ahead and book this hotel first off next time ?,most defiantly .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sonzzell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,995
    787
    313
    97
    40
See reviews for
1,597
1,044
25
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The hotel is a large complex with stunning views, endless amounts of pools and beautiful clean rooms. Just a few tips tips to note for new arrivals
1. The booking system for the a la carte restaurants was ridiculous. To avoid disappointment simply stop by at reception and say you have booked through Thomas Cook and they will book you in for the week.
2. If you find the buffet food quite monotonous and cant get booked in at the a la cartes, pop on a bus into kardamena (10 min journey) and find a little family run restaurant called Alvi. Its beautiful!! The staff and food are amazing!!
3. Do not expect a perfect beach. If you need a beach fix, book the 'paradise beach' day trip. Its a 30 min coach trip and takes you to a beautiful white sandy beach!
4. Pop into kos town for a day by bus - if you fancy quaint cobled streets and markets its a good day out!
5. The animation team run football matches every day at 4pm. My boyfriend loved it and met some amazing people!
6. Be prepared for lots of children. We found the quietist pools were the ones at the very top of the resort near reception. But make sure you secure your beds with towels before breakfast - they go fast!
7. If you have a late flight, check out is 12. Pop to Reception the day before to book a freshen up room.
8. Enjoy your holiday! ! And dont forget to try the crepes - by far the best deserts on the resort!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My impressions from the hotel are mostly negative due to the arogant and unhelpfull staff.Also the cleaning service was not good,when we checked in,we found opened bottle od wine in the room,bed sheets were not ironed etc..The only good thing was food and spa facilities.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monika87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I booked a double room with a shared pool in November 2012 for our stay 29 June to 6 July 2013. It was a very good deal and on arrival we were shown to room 309 (on same level as reception and main restaurant). The room was very spacious, clean and the bed was so comfortable we got a very good night's sleep. There were two showers (one over a bath and the other in a wet room area with the toilet) and a minibar with soft drinks and beer. During our stay it was very windy, and the saltwater pools were quite cold so we stayed mainly on the sunbeds. There was a lot of food for different tases and it was fresh and good quality. We ate breakfast and dinner in the main restaurant and had lunch in one of the pool side eateries. The favourites were Sushi, Ouzerie (meze), Pita and Creperie. So why a rating of four and not five? There are some improvements that are needed to make this truly a five star hotel - compared to other five star hotels we've stayed at in Greece.

More sun beds around the pools. It is true, people were laying out towels as early as 5am!
More fresh towels. There was a queue and they ran out. Fortunately, due to the strong breeze and cooler pools we didn't need to change them often.
More 'life' at the pool bar. It was a functional bar rather than a place to meet up and have drinks. Perhaps some music (doesn't have to be loud) better quality plastic cups, and bar snacks would help as it could be a great place to take a break.
A la carte restaurants booking and food. We were sorely disappointed with the Mexican and as a result did not book for any of the other a al carte restaurants.
Fitness centre. Small does not cover it. There was one cross trainer, a rack of 1-10kg dumbells and some mats. That's it. AND, there is a charge of 10E for one hour!!

Should mention that we were joined on our holiday by our families, which included four over 60s, two over 40s, and a mother with two children under 4. Fair to say that this is not a resort for walking around with young kids in buggies as it's very hilly.

Overall, would recommend it for a good value all inclusive break for a family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vijay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed from 23 June to 7 July and was worried due to previous reviews but really didn't need to be. This was our first time all inclusive and the Blue Domes was amazing. Right from check in all the staff were fantastic. The bedrooms and bathrooms were beautiful - we stayed in 225 and had a stunning view of the sea and other Greek islands. The whole hotel and the grounds were immaculate with cleaning going on all day and through the evening. The food in the restaurants was great and with the buffet, 4 a la cartes and 6 others we were never bored. The kids absolutely loved the ice-cream and pancake house - especially Jimmy who was such a nice man. The pools were saltwater but this didn't bother us, although you did need to be up early to get a sun lounger by the pool. Although in saying that we spent most of our time on the beach which was lovely with a great beach bar and you could always get a sun lounger. I must mention the animation Team who work their socks off keeping everyone entertained - the kids adored them especiall ZuZu ( who they followed around most of our 2nd week), Claudio, Ninja, Valentina, Katia, Hanna, Rado and the rest of the fab team - thanks for making Ollie, Alice and Katy's holiday such fun. I must also mention Stefanita in the Beereria, Achilles in the main bar, Vili in the Mexican and the lovely security guard in reception who were all so welcoming. We did not come across one unfriendly member of staff throughout the entire hotel, they were all lovely and went out of their way to help you. We travelled as a family party of 7, had a brilliant holiday and would not hesitate to travel to Mitsis Blue Domes in the future. If you have booked here you will have an amazing holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed here as a group of 7 (4 adults and 3 children) from 23.6.2013 for 2 weeks. We too were a little worried having read the reviews before we arrived, however we shouldn,t have.
The hotel is beautiful we were checked in quickly and taken to our rooms on a golf buggy (kids loved it). Rooms were immaculate and a lovely size with maids coming in every day to clean, make beds and replace towels. Minibar also restocked every day with beer, soft drinks and water.
If I had to be picky, the drinks were a little flat at some of the eateries and it would be nice to have some international brands but not a huge problem.
Pools are beautiful and yes are salt water, but it didn't stop us using them and certainly didn't spoil our holiday. Sunbeds are difficult to find if you leave it late, most people have towells on them by 7.30am but we tended to use the beach most days and it was never difficult to find a sunbed. Beach is lovely too although shingly but not a problem.
Food was fantastic in all areas, don't have a single complaint. They do use a computer to book your a la cartes the evening before but if you are with Thomas Cook as we were you just use Guest Relations to book, much easier.
Animation team are fab, kids adored them, loved the mini disco and shows and followed them around everywhere.
All in all it is a beautiful hotel with fantastic scenery, yes steep in places but not so much as to ruin your holiday. The staff work around the clock and so hard for everyone making sure you enjoy your holiday, so special thanks to Ninja, Zhu Zhu, Valentina, Claudio, Matt, Katya, Hannah and all the rest of the animation team, also Jimmy in the icecream parlour for keeping our children well stocked on icecream and pancakes, also Stefanitia for keeping our husbands well fed on chicken wings in the Beeraria, all the staff at the Beach Bar and Main Bar especially Achillies, who served us most evenings. The list is endless, from the reception staff, restaurant staff to maintenance staff thankyou for a great holiday. We would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to friends and family and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kag40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2013

One of the best holidays I've been on, lovely hotel and the entertainers were really good! Ninja is my bestfriend, I wish I Could be back there now, everything was great:) I hope to come back again, had lots of amazing and unforgettable memories that I couldn't have at home in Scotland. I would recommend this hotel to anyone:)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chloeeex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamena
0.1 mi away
Mitsis Norida Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Mitsis Summer Palace
Mitsis Summer Palace
#18 of 39 in Kardamena
1,284 reviews
6.2 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
#3 of 39 in Kardamena
365 reviews
9.5 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa

Property: Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
Address: | Tholari, Kardamena 85302, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kardamena
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
#6 Family Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mitsis Blue Domes Exclusive Resort & Spa in Kardamena is a 5* plus hotel opened in 2010 and is nestled at the foot of Mount Dikeos and overlooking a sweeping beach. An incredible range of leisure facilities, superb cuisine and 499 beautifully furnished guest rooms, bungalows, villas, family rooms and maisonettes, combine to make an ideal holiday hideaway for discerning ravelers. ACCOMMODATION: Tasteful and Elegant luxury The Mitsis Blue Domes Exclusive Resort & Spa offers a total of 499 luxurious and tastefully appointed rooms that combine simple elegance and sublime views catering to every wish. Rooms include 114 Double Rooms Sea View, 65 Double Rooms with Individual Pool, 235 Sea View & Pool View Bungalows, 48 Family Rooms, 32 maisonettes, 3 Villas and 2 Suites. All rooms are surrounded by incredible gardens and more than 12 shared pools to relax and enjoy. The room decoration and style uses earthy colours, marble floors, wooden furniture and wooden roofs in most rooms. This resort is designed to surpass the expectations of any customer. RESTAURANTS AND BARS: Tasty treats all day and night The hotel offers numerous gastronomic delights throughout the day (07:00-01:00) at no extra charge. At all bars, a large variety of alcoholic drinks, hors d'oeuvres, snacks, ice cream and soft drinks are offered generously. Also, at the restaurants, beer, wine, ouzo, as well as freshly squized juices and soft drinks are served. Main restaurant All meals in the main restaurant are served in a show cooking buffet style. Also every night, guests have the possibility to taste specialties from Greek and international cuisine, such as Italian, Asian and Mexican in the 4 à la carte restaurants. Furthermore, 6 more restaurants are available during day time offering a variety of meals such as burgers, pita gyro, sushi, traditional Greek delicacies, beer house and a pastry corner. Early breakfast: 04:00 - 07:00 Continental (upon request) Breakfast time: 07:00 - 10:00 American Buffet Late breakfast: 10:00 - 10:30 Continental BuffetBreakfast room service: 07:30 - 10:00 Lunch: 12:30 - 14:30 Complete Buffet Dinner: 18:30 - 21:30 Complete Buffet Late arrivals: 22:30 - 24:00 selection of salads & hot dishes 24:00 - 02:00 selection of salads • Espresso and cappuccino served during breakfast. • Freshly squeezed orange juice during breakfast. • Pita station at the beach offering traditional homemade pies. • Ice cream cart offering cone ice cream around the pools and the beach (Mid June- Mid Sept) Dinner dress code: formal is optional, casual smart is required, shorts, vests or open toe shoes for men are not allowed. Ellinadiko à la carte restaurant Ellinadiko offers our guests the opportunity to taste the Greek food culture. Opening hours: dinner (19:00-21:30) Table reservation: required Italian à la carte restaurant Freshly made Italian favourites! Opening hours: for lunch (12:30-14:30) and dinner (19:00-21:30) Table reservation: required Mexican à la carte restaurant Superb Tex-Mex cuisine! Opening hours: for dinner only (19:00-21:30) Table reservation: required Asian à la carte restaurant Indulge in authentic Asian cuisine! Opening hours: for dinner only (19:00-21:30) Table reservation: required Sushi Opening hours: 12:30 - 20:30 (last order 20:00) Burger Juicy burgers! Opening hours: 12:30 - 20:30 (last order 20:00) Beeraria Opening hours: 12:30 - 20:30 (last order 20:00) Ouzeri Taste the famous Greek “mezes” (tapas) with a glass of ouzo and a large variety of Sea food specialties! Opening hours: 12:30 - 20:30 (last order 20:00) Pitta corner Taste the traditional pitta bread souvlaki and gyros! Opening hours: 12:30 - 20:30 (last order 20:00) Traditional action cooking pitta station Opening hours: 10:30 - 17:30 Pastry corner Sweet pleasures! Opening hours: 10:30 - 01:30 (last order 01:00) Selected tea assortments are uniquely served on glass floor at the indoor pool from 16:00 till 19:00. Beach bar Opening hours: 10:00 - 18:00 (last order 17:30) Island pool bar Opening hours: 10:00 - 01:00 (last order 00:30) Garden pool bar Opening hours: 10:00 - 18:00 (last order 17:30) Lobby bar Opening hours: 10:00 - 23:00 (last order 22:30) Night bar with live music Opening hours: 18:00 - 01:00 (last order 00:30) Theatre bar Opening hours: during the animation shows Also we offer: • Traditional barbeque style “souvlaki” served at the tennis pool bar daily. • Waiter Service around the pools. • Waiter Service at the beach. Drinks In all the restaurants, during meals an unlimited selection of drinks is offered, such as wines, draft beer, soft drinks, water, etc. In the bars an unlimited variety of national and international alcoholic beverages, including ouzo, brandy, cocktails, draft beer, soft drinks, coffee, refreshments and juices are on offer. Lunch baskets & early breakfast • All guests on excursions can exchange their meal with a lunch basket. Please note that orders need to be placed before 20:00 the previous day at the main restaurant. • Continental breakfast is available for early departures between 04:00 and 07:00 only upon request. OTHER F&B SERVICES: always at your service Room service Opening hours: 07:30 - 24:00 (last order 23:30) Guests can order breakfast, lunch or dinner to be delivered in the room from the available menu at an extra charge of €10,00 per tray. Mini bar Wine and a selection of fruit are available upon arrival. Also, the mini bar is refilled daily with beers, soft drinks and bottles of mineral water free of charge. SPORTS & ENTERTAINMENT: moments of spontaneous fun and adventure A variety of facilities for the whole family is available. Built with families in mind, we offer a range of free sports and recreational facilities within the hotel’s grounds. SWIMMING: splash around…. Guests of all ages can choose between the 12 outdoor seawater pools and the beautiful pebble beach. Umbrellas and sun beds are available free of charge. Beach towels are also available, however a refundable deposit of €20,00 per towel is required. JUST FOR KIDS: a complimentary programme for kids No matter how old your children are they are sure to have a great time at the Blue Domes Wonderland, the place where also our mascots, live. The Mini Club keeps children entertained during the day, providing a safe and friendly atmosphere with supervision. Daily games for the young ones from 4 to 7 years old from 10:00 to 17:00 and during the evenings the children’s fun continues with Mini Disco from 20:00 to 21:30. The Maxi Club (8 to 12 years old) and The Junior Club (13 to 15 years old) operating during July and August allow the children to meet and spend time with others of their age and give the parents the opportunity to relax. Children facilities include • Integrated fresh water pool and a playground with water slides. • Library, painting room, music room, puppet show, rest area and movie room, all available for the entertainment of the little ones while the parents relax and rest. • Free carousel every night as well as the games and internet room. • High chairs and baby cots available for infants. FACILITIES & ACTIVITIES free of charge Tennis Court Mini Soccer Court Pedal Boats & canoes Beach Volley Water Polo Table Tennis Billiards Darts Gymnastics, Aerobics Games Room Waterslides Bridge Room Windsurfing (with certificate) Activities/gymnastics shaded deck at the beach FACILITIES & ACTIVITIES at an extra charge Water Skiing Paragliding Rings Banana Boat Jet Ski Horse & Pony Riding (external contractor upon request) Paint Ball games (external contractor upon request) Motor & yacht rental for private cruises ENTERTAINMENT A multilingual animation team provides throughout day and night various activities and games such as musicals, karaoke nights, cabarets, sketches, shows, competition games, demonstrations and many other in order to amuse the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsis Blue Domes Hotel Kardamena
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort And Spa
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing