We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What an amazing holiday”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the Blue Domes and our experience has been amazing. Could not fault any aspect of it. All the staff are very friendly and willing to help. The choice of food is fantastic. If you did not want to go to the main restaurant every night then there was the option to book either the Mexican, Greek, Asian or Italian restaurants down near the beach. You have to book a table two nights before at the online booking system next to the main restaurant starting at 10.00pm but as we were Thomas Cook customers we were allowed to go straight to guest relations and book there without queuing which was excellent. There was also the other bars around the pool bar which did Sushi, Pita, Burger, Beeraria, Ouzerie and the Pastry corner, these were all open from 12.30 to 7.30 but the Pastry corner alwasy stayed open till midnight in case you wanted that crepe or ice cream after the entertainment.

The entertainment was excellent could not fault the animation team they were really friendly.

The resort is on a bit of a hill which we did not find too difficult being a young family but if you did struggle there were golf type buggies which you could call to take you wherever you wanted to go.

The grounds are stunning and are kept clean and tidy and there were always gardeners and maintenance people keeping it looking in top condition.

The rooms are well equipped and lovely and clean and you are provided with a mini bar which is stocked up every day which contains bottled water, beer, bottled fizzy drinks etc.

The weather was amazing 37 degrees every day. It got quite windy a couple of days but because it was so hot you were glad of the breeze.

Overall I could not fault the holiday one bit and cannot wait to go again - will definitely be going again soon.

Room Tip: Ideally a room in the centre of the complex as you will not have to walk too far to any of the amena...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,952
    766
    302
    92
    38
See reviews for
1,539
1,024
25
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (624)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were staying for two weeks and left more than satisfied! Every day was special and awesome! Best animation team from ever existed,we made a lot of friends and spent a lot of beautiful time with teenage club. Every animator is friendly and sociable. There were also a lot of nice activities like "Olimpic games day",unforgettable evening shows interesting for both children and adult. A lot of entertainment for the smallest,such as every-evening mini discos with smiling animators. To be honest it was a huge sorrow to return home.. But it was incredibly great time,I'm still missing,but that memories I have are some of the best in my life!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stacyucrainian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Overall great family resort.
Great restaurant choices: Italian/Greek/ Asian/Mexican/ Burgers/Crepes / Mezes / Sushi & Main restaurant is a buffet of all varieties
The main restaurant manager Antony was very hospitable & friendly and always assured the best food service and waiting staff who are over & above friendly.
My 5 year old son had an egg & nut allergy & was catered for very well.

Clean bedrooms which were serviced everyday & free mini bar restocked daily.
Mitsis Wonderland: the kids play area is great, kids have plenty of activities to keep them occupied whilst parents either relax poolside or can go off into town.

Small Criticisms:

Wifi is really only available in the main hotel, although its very intermittent at times.

No lifeguards by any pools.

Gym is non existent (dumbells & rack).

Very steep walk to main hotel for restaurant every day especially for young children.

Restaurant Booking system is not thought about for families with young children who can't stand in a queue after 10pm to book for 48 hours in advance.

Kids disco starts at 8.45pm with the kids show following at 9.45....that's just too late!

The worst part of our holiday was a receptionist called Anna Maria who was extremely rude. We were offered a shower room as we had to check out at 12noon & flight was at 10pm. The room was given to us immediately after another guest had used it. When we expressed our concern & asked for it to be cleaned before we showered ourselves & our children she was very rude & condescendingly told us that's not what they do!
Overall great resort & we will definitely be going back.


  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RPunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Lovely and clean hotel looks amazing at night with all the lights with a nice sea view which will only take a few minutes to walk too unfortunately the walk back can be demanding as the hotel is on a hill. Lots of pools doted around the hotel shame a lot of them are salt water although the kids pool is fresh water and has 2 water slides and a park. Food really good spent slot of time the in the burger in as they were really nice. The Animation team really do work hard, they done a great job always with a smile and so friendly, my lilttle girl loved them especially Ciulea who i think she had a crush on thanks guys

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Undertaker1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My family and I have jst returned from 2 weeks at the blue domes hotel. We are frequent travellers to this standard of hotel so would rate this high up the scale even though we are very fussy! The hotel is beautiful and cannot be faulted except for few things..... Drinks were not great ...cocktails tasted very sweet ,No Rose wine which is standard everywhere nowadays as well as a sparkly option again normally standard in a 5star hotel!. The food was good except for the booking system to visit the a la carte restaurants which is not acceptable as most of your evening could be spent in a queue to book via one screen! ..another point which we did not agree with is the brochure states men must wear long trousers in the restaurants in the evening which should be the case in a 5star ,this didn't seem to happen as the management allowed shorts to be worn a mistake if they want to keep it a 5star! We have been to many hotels who turn guests away if they have shorts on and quite rightly so. The staff were polite at all times especially at the pool bar where the staff numbers are limited and having to deal with a very busy bar. There was one female member of staff who works in the Mexican restaurant that we found to be quite unfriendly but she was the only one during our stay. Asfar as the overbooking ,that seems to be an ongoing problem which thank goodness didn't affect us and is totally unacceptable. Overall great holiday .

Room Tip: Pool room view would appeal to us as lite up beautifully in the evening
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry12623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was our first time at Blue Domes, and it did not disappoint. We've spent years at these family, all inclusive resorts, but this one certainly one of the best in its class.

Opened in 2010, the complex is fresh, clean and spacious. Many of the rooms share their own pools, which is great, and the large "public" pools are placed the entire length of the complex. There are 10 restaurants, some you need to book in advance and others specialise, with choices including Greek, Sushi, Burger, German, Italian, Aisian and Mexican. The large main dining room offers the usual fare, with a large and varied international buffet, and has seating inside and out, overlooking the sea and nearby islands.

There's a large animation team entertaining day and night, and a large private beach and beach bar.

The room was very good also, well appointed, though we only had BBC World News and the Fashion Channel in english. Free wifi helped make up for it. We had a terrace leading directly out onto a pool shared with other rooms in our block.

The local bus and tax service are good, running directly from the hotel to nearby Kardemena (€1.80pp single bus or €10 single taxt) or Kos town itself (€3.20pp single bus).

A couple of things to watch out for.

The service at the many bars is slow, and there is no pool-side waiter service, something you might expect from an hotel of this standard.

The site is on a steep hillside down to the sea, with lots of steep roads and paths and many, many steps. We didn't see any wheelchair users during our stay, and were not suprised given the terrain.

Two members of staff told us that the hotel does sometimes overbook, and guests are moved to other hotels! It did not happen to us, thankfully, but although the hotel was clearly full while we were there, the spacious pool, subathing, eating and other spaces means that the public areas never seem overcrowded.

All in all a hotel to recommend and one to revisit.

Room Tip: Try and get a terrace room with a swim up pool. Although your will share the pool with others, it of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is hopefully a short and sweet review. Hotel supposed to be 5*...it isn't !!!. However as its rated 5* I will do the short review as if it is. I won't sing the praises as you can read the good points in brochures, of which there are plenty..its the bad points which are important.
1. Depending on breeze direction there is often a stomach wrenching strong smell of sewage on one side if the hotel. Without doubt it would not be allowed to operate in the UK . I am not sure if it comes from the hotel itself, however common Blue Domes - sort it out !
2. Previously read about overbooking and witnessed it while there. 50 couples were bumped into the hotel next door for several days resulting in lost luggage and other complications. In my opinion this was because the hotel had a corporate event for about 100 Peugeot employees. They were treated like gods and some a LA carte restaurants were closed to normal guests to allow corporate dining. If Mr Joe public books the Blue Domes, that's what he should have.
3. General negatives...each comment on there own not a massive thing but clumped all together paints a picture of NOT 5* hotel/service.....paper napkins everywhere, even in a LA carte restaurants.....very small plastic galasses on beach and pool bar, and yes they have to be unbreakable but these were absolute rubbish' the type that if you hold them firmly they are so flexible the liquid squeezes over the top. We have been to many other hotels that use plastic but all 5* use very rigid plastic almost like normal glass. Mitsis use throw away plastic cheap rubbish. ...Food in main restaurant was of OK quality but hardly any variety and what i would call basic grub, nothing out the ordinary. There were no theme nights like Greek, fish etc which are the normal in all other 5* we have been to. ........Entertainment non existantant, apart from the site team who work very very hard but I would have expected the occasional professional act in the evenings, again which is the norm in other 5* ( top man from onsite team was Ninja, who kept us amused and entertained all week).....no top brand drinks that I was aware of....Grounds are very steep, making it difficult to get about for anyone with mobility issues, I think golf cars are available on demand however.

FAO manager ..if you spent less time answering trip advisor reviews and making excuses and more time managing it could be a very good hotel.

SUMMARY.....Would I go again - definitely not...there are much better hotels on Kos, try the Grecotel near Kos town.....leaves Mitsus Blue Domes standing

Like

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dustynwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamena
0.2 mi away
Mitsis Summer Palace
Mitsis Summer Palace
#19 of 39 in Kardamena
1,245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mitsis Norida Beach Hotel
6.2 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
#2 of 39 in Kardamena
310 reviews
9.5 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
8.8 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa

Property: Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
Address: | Tholari, Kardamena 85302, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kardamena
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
#6 Family Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mitsis Blue Domes Exclusive Resort & Spa in Kardamena is a 5* plus hotel opened in 2010 and is nestled at the foot of Mount Dikeos and overlooking a sweeping beach. An incredible range of leisure facilities, superb cuisine and 499 beautifully furnished guest rooms, bungalows, villas, family rooms and maisonettes, combine to make an ideal holiday hideaway for discerning ravelers. ACCOMMODATION: Tasteful and Elegant luxury The Mitsis Blue Domes Exclusive Resort & Spa offers a total of 499 luxurious and tastefully appointed rooms that combine simple elegance and sublime views catering to every wish. Rooms include 114 Double Rooms Sea View, 65 Double Rooms with Individual Pool, 235 Sea View & Pool View Bungalows, 48 Family Rooms, 32 maisonettes, 3 Villas and 2 Suites. All rooms are surrounded by incredible gardens and more than 12 shared pools to relax and enjoy. The room decoration and style uses earthy colours, marble floors, wooden furniture and wooden roofs in most rooms. This resort is designed to surpass the expectations of any customer. RESTAURANTS AND BARS: Tasty treats all day and night The hotel offers numerous gastronomic delights throughout the day (07:00-01:00) at no extra charge. At all bars, a large variety of alcoholic drinks, hors d'oeuvres, snacks, ice cream and soft drinks are offered generously. Also, at the restaurants, beer, wine, ouzo, as well as freshly squized juices and soft drinks are served. Main restaurant All meals in the main restaurant are served in a show cooking buffet style. Also every night, guests have the possibility to taste specialties from Greek and international cuisine, such as Italian, Asian and Mexican in the 4 à la carte restaurants. Furthermore, 6 more restaurants are available during day time offering a variety of meals such as burgers, pita gyro, sushi, traditional Greek delicacies, beer house and a pastry corner. Early breakfast: 04:00 - 07:00 Continental (upon request) Breakfast time: 07:00 - 10:00 American Buffet Late breakfast: 10:00 - 10:30 Continental BuffetBreakfast room service: 07:30 - 10:00 Lunch: 12:30 - 14:30 Complete Buffet Dinner: 18:30 - 21:30 Complete Buffet Late arrivals: 22:30 - 24:00 selection of salads & hot dishes 24:00 - 02:00 selection of salads • Espresso and cappuccino served during breakfast. • Freshly squeezed orange juice during breakfast. • Pita station at the beach offering traditional homemade pies. • Ice cream cart offering cone ice cream around the pools and the beach (Mid June- Mid Sept) Dinner dress code: formal is optional, casual smart is required, shorts, vests or open toe shoes for men are not allowed. Ellinadiko à la carte restaurant Ellinadiko offers our guests the opportunity to taste the Greek food culture. Opening hours: dinner (19:00-21:30) Table reservation: required Italian à la carte restaurant Freshly made Italian favourites! Opening hours: for lunch (12:30-14:30) and dinner (19:00-21:30) Table reservation: required Mexican à la carte restaurant Superb Tex-Mex cuisine! Opening hours: for dinner only (19:00-21:30) Table reservation: required Asian à la carte restaurant Indulge in authentic Asian cuisine! Opening hours: for dinner only (19:00-21:30) Table reservation: required Sushi Opening hours: 12:30 - 20:30 (last order 20:00) Burger Juicy burgers! Opening hours: 12:30 - 20:30 (last order 20:00) Beeraria Opening hours: 12:30 - 20:30 (last order 20:00) Ouzeri Taste the famous Greek “mezes” (tapas) with a glass of ouzo and a large variety of Sea food specialties! Opening hours: 12:30 - 20:30 (last order 20:00) Pitta corner Taste the traditional pitta bread souvlaki and gyros! Opening hours: 12:30 - 20:30 (last order 20:00) Traditional action cooking pitta station Opening hours: 10:30 - 17:30 Pastry corner Sweet pleasures! Opening hours: 10:30 - 01:30 (last order 01:00) Selected tea assortments are uniquely served on glass floor at the indoor pool from 16:00 till 19:00. Beach bar Opening hours: 10:00 - 18:00 (last order 17:30) Island pool bar Opening hours: 10:00 - 01:00 (last order 00:30) Garden pool bar Opening hours: 10:00 - 18:00 (last order 17:30) Lobby bar Opening hours: 10:00 - 23:00 (last order 22:30) Night bar with live music Opening hours: 18:00 - 01:00 (last order 00:30) Theatre bar Opening hours: during the animation shows Also we offer: • Traditional barbeque style “souvlaki” served at the tennis pool bar daily. • Waiter Service around the pools. • Waiter Service at the beach. Drinks In all the restaurants, during meals an unlimited selection of drinks is offered, such as wines, draft beer, soft drinks, water, etc. In the bars an unlimited variety of national and international alcoholic beverages, including ouzo, brandy, cocktails, draft beer, soft drinks, coffee, refreshments and juices are on offer. Lunch baskets & early breakfast • All guests on excursions can exchange their meal with a lunch basket. Please note that orders need to be placed before 20:00 the previous day at the main restaurant. • Continental breakfast is available for early departures between 04:00 and 07:00 only upon request. OTHER F&B SERVICES: always at your service Room service Opening hours: 07:30 - 24:00 (last order 23:30) Guests can order breakfast, lunch or dinner to be delivered in the room from the available menu at an extra charge of €10,00 per tray. Mini bar Wine and a selection of fruit are available upon arrival. Also, the mini bar is refilled daily with beers, soft drinks and bottles of mineral water free of charge. SPORTS & ENTERTAINMENT: moments of spontaneous fun and adventure A variety of facilities for the whole family is available. Built with families in mind, we offer a range of free sports and recreational facilities within the hotel’s grounds. SWIMMING: splash around…. Guests of all ages can choose between the 12 outdoor seawater pools and the beautiful pebble beach. Umbrellas and sun beds are available free of charge. Beach towels are also available, however a refundable deposit of €20,00 per towel is required. JUST FOR KIDS: a complimentary programme for kids No matter how old your children are they are sure to have a great time at the Blue Domes Wonderland, the place where also our mascots, live. The Mini Club keeps children entertained during the day, providing a safe and friendly atmosphere with supervision. Daily games for the young ones from 4 to 7 years old from 10:00 to 17:00 and during the evenings the children’s fun continues with Mini Disco from 20:00 to 21:30. The Maxi Club (8 to 12 years old) and The Junior Club (13 to 15 years old) operating during July and August allow the children to meet and spend time with others of their age and give the parents the opportunity to relax. Children facilities include • Integrated fresh water pool and a playground with water slides. • Library, painting room, music room, puppet show, rest area and movie room, all available for the entertainment of the little ones while the parents relax and rest. • Free carousel every night as well as the games and internet room. • High chairs and baby cots available for infants. FACILITIES & ACTIVITIES free of charge Tennis Court Mini Soccer Court Pedal Boats & canoes Beach Volley Water Polo Table Tennis Billiards Darts Gymnastics, Aerobics Games Room Waterslides Bridge Room Windsurfing (with certificate) Activities/gymnastics shaded deck at the beach FACILITIES & ACTIVITIES at an extra charge Water Skiing Paragliding Rings Banana Boat Jet Ski Horse & Pony Riding (external contractor upon request) Paint Ball games (external contractor upon request) Motor & yacht rental for private cruises ENTERTAINMENT A multilingual animation team provides throughout day and night various activities and games such as musicals, karaoke nights, cabarets, sketches, shows, competition games, demonstrations and many other in order to amuse the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort And Spa
Mitsis Blue Domes Hotel Kardamena
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing