We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Helona Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Helona Resort
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had 3 days in the Doubletree in Kos as part of a 3 week trip round Greece. We hired a car from the airport and it's only about 15 minutes drive away. We did get a bit lost as some of the signs seem to point in the wrong direction but the locals soon pointed us in the right direction. The hotel and the staff were fantastic. Our room had as lovely sea view (no private pool but we didn't want that as we love the sea). The private beach is lovely, golden sand and clear water and plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas. For people that like pools that's a feature of the doubletree. Breakfast was amazing, I've stayed in loads of hotels and never seen such an amazing variety and the quality was great - really delicious. Patrick does twice daily exercise classes (afternoon one is in the pool) - I did the morning class and he really does his best to get rid of whatever calories you've consumed at breakfast. Hard work but very effective. There's also a gym which is better to visit in the morning (quieter). I had a lovely and reasonably priced massage in the spa as well. It's very quiet in the evening which is nice and relaxing (if that's what you enjoy) but on one of the evenings we were there there was some rather questionable entertainment. The local town of Kardemena is nothing special and a bit run down but Kos town is worth a trip. We had a lovely few days in the Doubletree and were amazed that we had such a lovely resort entirely paid for by Hilton honors pointsw

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakitira-Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Helona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is encouraging to read positive comments about our Resort. We thank you for taking the time to share your experience at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Kos-Helona with other travelers. We are very glad you enjoyed the hotel and the area and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (774)
There are newer reviews for Helona Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

184 - 190 of 775 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

Nice hotel, very spacious guestrooms, many of them with beautiful see view and some of the rooms have own swimming pool with private access! Good food in the restaurants, perfect service. The only minus were the sun umbrellas on the beach. First of all they were quite small, but the worst thing was that you have to keep umbrella closed when it is too windy. Unfortunately it is not possible to lay on the beach in July during the day with closed umbrella and there is no other chance to find a shadow place. I would suggest to consider buying some more stable umbrellas for the next season. Ptherwise everything was excellent! We enjoyed the hotel and the whole area very much and would definitely recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kvitochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakitira-Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Helona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Kos-Helona. We are very pleased to read that your stay with us was a very pleasant experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Sincerely,

The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

A strangely deigned Hotel on various individual levels, many rooms having a swimming pool outside. The overall appearance is somewhat bland on the outside. Much too square and rectangular to everything and not very pleasing to the eye. The rooms are all very well appointed, as they should be for 5*. Excellent food and staff, especially Katriana and Petra who work so very hard in the pool bar. Close to beach also. Access to Kardamena mainly via taxi.. 10 Euros one way for 3Km If you can get one and can afford it, then upgrade to a Villa, they are lovely. We had Villa 803...Great! DC.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank 1948MrC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakitira-Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Helona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. It is particularly warming to receive an evaluation like yours and to know that our efforts to provide superior service and hospitality are represented by all our team members.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Kos-Helona in the near future.

Sincerely,

The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a week in this hotel.
The room was great. Spacious, clean and nice decor.
Food was pretty good.
When we booked the vacation we were told that the hotel has internet! Well that is partially true. The hotel has internet..... Sometimes. If you need to work and need internet, this is not the hotel for you.
We were told by the staff that it is a problem that occurred recently, but as we found out later from other guests- this is an ongoing issue of this hotel and they know it.
Our room had a shared pool which was beautiful but after the second day, all of our white swimming suits bleached and turned yellow. Again the staff told us that we are the only guests that encountered this problem. Again prooved wrong after speaking to other guests.
One more thing is that if you come to this hotel with kids and want some excitement and animation, you should know that all the action happens in the next by hotel. It's a ten minute walk downhill (and uphill on the way back) and the kids can not go alone. On the other hand, this leaves the hotel very quiet and peaceful.
Breakfast (nice), is served from seven to ten thirty AM. As we are late sleepers, we came to eat at 9:45. By 10:15 everyday the AC would shut down as if to signal that we should get out so they can clean up....... Not too friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zoozman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakitira-Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Helona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Τhank you for taking the time to post your feedback from your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Kos-Helona. We value all our Guests' comments and we take them under serious consideration in order to improve the services we provide and achieve our 100% Guest Satisfaction goal.

With kind regards,

The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We would like to record our thanks and appreciation to your terrific staff....

We have travelled extensively around the world and there are always two parts to an hotel - the physical attributes i.e the building.... and the team of people.

The attention, kindness and friendship we received was truly impressive, the F+B, housekeeping and general hotel efficiency was faultless even though you were running at full capacity, the accommodation was spot on -

We did not have any bad experiences during our stay even though you were at times running at 100%...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mr f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakitira-Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Helona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. It is particularly warming to receive an evaluation like yours and to know that our efforts to provide superior service and hospitality are represented by all our team members.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Kos-Helona in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

After a very rocky start, our vacation became fun and relaxing. The hotel staff is very good and they go out of their way to make you feel at home. The hotel is beautiful, but far away from everything. The breakfast buffet is fresh, tasty and plentiful. Dinner buffet not so good. Very spotty wifi service. Worth the trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mdrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakitira-Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Helona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our DoubleTree by Hilton Kos Helona resort. We are very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel despite the difficult start.

We wish you all the best and we look forward to welcoming you back!

With kind regards,
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

A fine looking place. The stuff were kind although sometimes ineffective in granting our requests.
I didn't like the food so much but all the children loved it.
The meat was not tender in any shape which it came, the fish and seafood were at a low grade and I'm being kind.
The towel service was located at the beach so if you wanted to go to the beach you still had to take a walk to beach and same method was with the returning of them.
The pool is very nice and wasn't overcrowded thanks to the rooms with private pools (not recommended for little children).
Note to yourself to contact Andy the concierge he is a wonderful and helpful person.
Overall I enjoyed my stay inspite of the food and all of the above.
The hotel is a few minutes and 10€ taxi ride from the main village and about 40 min from Kos town.
Have a nice holiday ...

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rlavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakitira-Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Helona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Kos Helona. We are very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel.

We wish you all the best and we look forward to welcoming you back!

With kind regards,
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamena
14.7 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
11.5 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Lakitira Suites
Lakitira Suites
#14 of 39 in Kardamena
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
2.0 mi away
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
#4 of 39 in Kardamena
423 reviews
14.2 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helona Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helona Resort

Address: Akti Helona S.A | Gourniatis, Kardamena 853 02, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kardamena
#4 Spa Hotel in Kardamena
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#15 Family Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range: $85 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Helona Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Helona Resort is a beautiful establishment with an impressive architecture. Small buildings scattered in beautiful gardens, elegant domes, cobbled alleys and natural materials such as stone, wood and marble, allow the entire complex to blend harmoniously with the surrounding, peaceful landscape. Large windows and openings offer a fantastic view to the sunny Aegean Sea and lighten up all interior spaces. Twenty-one infinity pools enable water to flow from one to the other, inviting guests to dive into summer happiness. The resort sits on a gentle hill that overlooks the beautiful Helona beach, on the southern coast of Kos island, at a peaceful area called Gourniatis, only 11 km from Kos international airport (KGS) and 4 km off the lively village Kardamena. Kos town is about 35 km away.Helona Resort has a delightful collection of spacious guest rooms, cosy family rooms, luxurious suites and private villas. Many of the rooms enjoy the extra privilege of a shared swimming pool in front of their terrace whilst others have lovely gardens spreading in front of them. Each one of the suites and villas has its own private pool. The resort has two restaurants, three bars, a spa and a conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Helona Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helona Resort (Aka Doubletree By Hilton Resort Kos-Helona) Hotel Kardamena
Helona Hotel Kardamena
Helona Resort Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing