We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel & Staff”
Review of Pelouzo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pelouzo Hotel
Ranked #30 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Just returned from a week in the Pelouzo. We stayed self catering, . The rooms were lovely, modern and cleaned every day. Showers were hot and the air conditioning was good(extra). The pool area was clean and we always got sunbeds. Loukas and Xristos at the pool bar are good company . The hotel is a couple of mins walk to the strip and a ten min walk to the beach. and yes the hotel is under the flight path but so are most the hotels in kalamaki but to get used to the noise !!! I have been to a few hotels here & would go back to The Pelouzo

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grumpygranny21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 31 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

4 of us checked in on the 4th of August into 2 rooms self catering and then checked out on the 5th and moved to the Rainbow. The reason for this was the fire in the fuse box at 3am in one of are rooms filling the room with acrid smoke and completely melting the wires and fuse box. There was no fire extinguisher but we managed to get it out. When we managed to get some one from hotel to come to the room he just looked at it and said he could do nothing and wait till the morning. We all move into one room and I spent the night checking the other room just in case. We where then told in the morning we could go back into the room but we weren`t too happy about that. Lucky for us the Thomas cook rep Laura was on the case and got us moved. We can`t praise Laura enough for what she did.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank mjd196712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Just returned from a week in the Pelouzo. We stayed B&B and the breakfast was a mix of cereal, fruit and eggs. The rooms were lovely, modern and clean. Showers were hot every day and the air conditioning was good. The pool area was clean and we always got sunbeds. Loukas and Xristos at the pool bar made our holiday. They were so friendly to our 1 year old daughter. The hotel is a couple of mins walk to the strip and a ten min walk to the beach. I want to go back already, had the best most relaxing week.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank loueez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The description of this hotel fails to mention that you are actually at the end of the runway and when planes start to take off at around 5am this is your wake up call!!

If you plan to visit this hotel on a bed and breakfast basis be aware that although Thomas Cooks description is of a self catering apartment with B&B that is not the case. Upon arrival we were shown to our room with nothing more than a fridge, no kettle, cooker or anything. We were then told that we would have to pay 4Euros per day to use it. Unfortunately we had no option but to pay for it as I needed to keep medication in it. After much negotiation from our rep they agreed to a reduced price. The air conditioning was charged at 6Euros per day, but didn't work properly the entire 2 weeks. We pointed out to management that it wasn't working and that water was running down the wall from the air con unit directly towards the light switch. There response was to wash the wall and put a towel on the wooden pelmet to catch the drips.

The breakfasts was monotonous and boring with absolutely no variation for the entire 2 weeks. There is also no option buy additional items for breakfast unless you want to go to the pool bar.
Although in there pictures the pool looks idyllic, during our 2 week stay we were able to actually use the pool for 2-3 days. The pool was never cleaned and the pump stopped working. There was no effort to repair it or clean it. On the day we left you couldn't even see the rungs on the ladder to get into the pool. Nobody was able to swim in it at all it looked like a murky pond.

The only good thing to report about this hotel is Christine who works tirelessly to try and keep all the customers happy although she is constantly battling with the owners. Christos and Loukas who run the pool bar are great and will remember your favourite tipple and alway have a smile for everyone.

Room Tip: Book into the hotel Amaryllis which is directly opposite but clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DizzyMoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Just returned from 10 days at Peluzo,very pleasant stay,our second time in kalamaki love it everyone very friendly,plenty of great places to eat.A big thank you to Loukas& Xristos at the hotel bar ,always had a laugh and joke with them ,i would definitely recommend this hotel.Anne & pete

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank a m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

just returned from 10 days at Pelouzo. very basic no frills. staff very friendly and work very hard but will not be coming back. we hired a scooter and went to laganas daily fantastic beach. Heavens kitchen is the only place to eat in Kalamaki superb food great service and fantastic value. don't pay for coach transfer as only 13 euro's (set price) per taxi to Kalamaki from airport and only takes 5 mins to get to your hotel. Mosquitoes we're a real problem but I took my Avon skin so soft dry oil spray and this kept them away. I have already ordered 3 bottles for next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zante4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

A group of us came to this resort 10/09/12. We booked around 6 weeks before, and requested 2 appartments, one with a seperate bedroom. When we arrived, we found that we had just the appartments, and no seperate bedroom, just 3 beds in one room. It did, but was not ideal. The hotel is litterally 10 minutes from the airport, and they fly in low, right by the hotel, and beach, but you do get used to it. You have to pay for air con, and safety deposit boxes.
The room is very basic, and although there were 3 of us in the room, we only had plates, and cuttlery for 2 people, so had to go down and ask for more. The shower room is quite small, the shower is tiny, and only a hand held shower. The shower curtain was useless, so the floor got flooded every time you had a shower, and the drainage in the middle of the floor, kept blocking, so water got walked through out the appartment. The cleaners came in every day, but only to make the bed, and change the bins, they were friendly though.
There are plenty of restaurants, bars, shops on the main street, which is just a short walk away, plent of night life, although if you wany night clubs, you want the nerxt resort along, Laganas, which is around 20 mins away (18-30's) The first 4 days were very hot, but two days were torrential rian, and electrical storms, and very windy. This is apparently typical at this time of year (normally go to Turkey, which is still hot).
Beware of when you check out. We paid for 7 nights, the 7th night being the night before we flew home, but was told we still had to vacate the room at 12pm on Sunday, even though we were being picked up at 4.15am Monday, so we had to pay 30 euro's to keep the room on. Thanks Thomas Cook for ripping us off, we paid twice. We complained to the rep in resort, but was fobbed off, and told we should take it up with the store we booked from. Look around for car hire, as there are deals to be had, we found cheaper at the other end of the main road. The food in the restaurants is ok, nothing special. The waiters will bring you bread, this is not free, but they don't tell you this, so if you don't want to pay, then just refuse it.
The beach is just a 10 mins walk away, and it is a turtle conservation area, so you will be told where you can sun bathe, because of nests on the beach. There are no late flights to or from the airport, as it disturbs the turtles. The water park was ok, but not worth the money, its quite small, and we were surprised to be turfed out at 5pm, when they close. In all, the holiday was ok, if it wasn't for the 2 days of crap weather. Would I come back to Zante? No, I don't think so, as there are plenty of Greek Islands that are better.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chippychatsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamaki hotels
0.0 mi away
Daniel Hotel
Daniel Hotel
#21 of 30 in Kalamaki
168 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cronulla Hotel
Cronulla Hotel
#11 of 30 in Kalamaki
212 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sirocco Hotel
Sirocco Hotel
#24 of 30 in Kalamaki
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
#18 of 30 in Kalamaki
261 reviews
0.0 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,276 reviews
0.0 mi away
Exotica Hotel & Spa by Zante Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelouzo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelouzo Hotel

Address: Kalamaki 29092, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Hotel Class:2 star — Pelouzo Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pelouzo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelouzo Hotel Kalamaki
Pelouzo Hotel Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing