We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kalamaki
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dionysis & Tonia Studios
Ranked #28 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Have just returned from a week at the Dionysis and Tonia studios (29th July - 5th August) and must say that it is a great place to stay. As most of the other reviews have said, the rooms are basic but clean and as long as you don't go expecting 5 star luxury you won't be disappointed.
The only thing missing is air-con but you can hire a fan (15 euros for the week) which made things bearable. The pool and bar area are great, food and drink reasonably priced and the hosts are always glad to help and as it is a family run business they really appreciate your custom. The location is great with the main strip just 50m away (although you wouldn't really know it) and the beach just a 10 minute walk in the opposite direction. The airport is only a 5 minute drive away so no long transfer and although you see and hear the planes landing when you are on the beach they are not a bother at all.
As a final point, when eating out at night on the strip try Yamas (free garlic bread, free round of drinks after your meal and free bottle of champagne) Duon Amici (great italian, situated up above the main road so benefits from a great breeze - they offer free kids meals before 8pm and other weekly offers).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    34
    21
    12
    5
See reviews for
37
67
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

just got back from these apartments,stayed her 15/7/12 to 29/7/12 had a fantastic holiday the resort of kalimaki is excellent.The apartments them selfs are very basic but tbh how much time do you spend in there, the bedroom area is very spacious and nice , the kitchen area you would be hard pressed to make more than a snack in but hey who goes on holiday to cook not me !!!The pool and bar area is very good and thay have sky sports ect for when it gets too warm .these apartments could not be in a better position they are just off the main bar/resteraunt strip one way and 5 mins walk to the beautiful beach the other ,i am not a beach or sea person but even i went in !!!!! we had two twenty year olds and two eighteen year olds with us so this resort was perfect thay loved venue bar ect in resort but they were only 5 mins away from party cenral laganas so everyone was happy . all in all i definatley return to The Dionysis and Tonia Studios as they are in a perfect position

Room Tip: The Dionysis rooms prob have the better balcony views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shellmck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Stayed last week June 2012...

The Dionysis & Tonia apartments...so much to say! We booked a one bed apartment and were pleasantly surprised when we arrived and had a 2 bedroom apartment. The facilities are typically Grecian with a shower you have to lift over yoursefl (akin to a shower in the bath tub that is attached to the taps and ordinarily used for washing hair). The apartment itself was fantastic, with a little sitting area, a balcony and 2 rooms and a kitchen with fridge, electric 2 hob cooker and sink. The only annoyance (expecially during very hot nights) was that the rooms do not have double beds but 2 singles. If you are there for a romantic holiday then this works out ok :)
The pool was clean and very close to the bar, which made it fantastic. The food was basic but nice. The owners were very friendly and helpful, provided you are polite.
On arrival, your key is left in your door so you let yourself in. I thought this was fantastic as it saves having to go to a reception and checking in! When you leave, you leave your key in the door.
Kalamaki is pretty nice, there are lots of restaurants to choose from and the beach is about 500m from the apartments. Where we were fortunate enough to see many turtles!
The scuba diving experience is very good (and can be purchased from many individuals). We found the guy by the Driftwood pub (on the beach by Laganas) to be very good!

The round the island boat tour was also very good, albeit the weather was a little barmy and the boat we were in had a pool BUT it was broken!

For what you pay, it is a fantastic holiday. It is not 5* all inclusive but allows you the freedom to explore and eat at your own leisure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Queen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Stayed 14 nights from 10 June first time here but met repeat stayers. Rooms are basic but you dont come on holiday to cook or stay in your room. Roos cleaned Sun,Tues & Thur Clean towels /sheets sun & thur Pool kept clean & was quiet as most seem to prefer the Beach

Bar area great & food the same with friendly servis
Came with Olympic but roumer next year might go independent as well

The only fault was NO AIR CON difficult to sleep at night How guests cope in July/Aug but apart from that great place to stay great location & we would certainly go back but only if AIR CON installed

Room Tip: Choose the TONIA building first floor more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Cleveley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Great simple place to stay. Basic accommodation, but clean and roomy. Ideal if you just need somewhere to sleep and want to cook simple things. The owners are very helpful, and run an excellent bar where food (Greek & English) is available all through the day. Highly recommended. Would certainlt stay again without question.

Room Tip: No aircon here, but fans are available. Ground floor rroms are cooler than upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank k155pom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Have just returned from another great holiday in Kalamaki,didn't stay here this year but used the pool and snack bar every day and returned every nite to use the bar.What can I say Yannis Spyros and Dennis are all great hosts nothing is to much trouble for then,my partner is a picky eater and they made and cooked every thing they way he asked.Going back in Sept and will no doubt be here every day and nite

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carolynn1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

My Wife and I have just got back back from a 2 week stay at the Dionysis and Tonia (3rd -17th June). We're 31 years old with no kids. Like everybody else we did check some of the reviews out and were initially a little concerned, however it was a cheap get away and can honestly say that we were over the moon with our choice. To put this in to context, the apartments are basic (which is reflected in the excellent price) but no more basic than the Exotica, where we stayed 4 years ago. They are cleaned every day with a clean change of linen and towels every 2-3 days.

We've stayed in many hotels all over the world but I have to say that this place is probably one of the best family run businesses I've stayed at on one of the Greek islands. The 3 brothers Spiros, Dennis and Yiannis take care of the excellent bar customer service (my fave brekkie out of the many restaurants on offer), while the wives look after the cleaning and up keep of the rooms, which they did impeccably. The pool was a lovely clean and relaxed environment, and the bar was equally as pleasant. Naturally the other guests had a lot to do with this, as they were all also very pleasant people all looking for the same thing... to relax, unwind and forget the stresses of work back home.

The prices of food and drink were in line with the main bars down the strip (in some cases it was even cheaper !). If you go on holiday to cook your own meals, then I'd suggest a camping holiday. If you're coming away on holiday to sample the many greek dishes on offer then the 2 hobs, kettle & toaster are fine to make light snacks. If you're expecting the Burj Al Arab 7* in Dubai, then prepare to be disappointed. However if you're looking for a happy, pleasant, basic but very clean place to sleep and get showered then you won't be disappointed. It is Greece remember ! We will be going back for sure.

Restaurants - Michaelo's (ask the locals as it is off the main strip), Georgia's (great value for money), Ambrosia (good for some Greek fire dancing).

Bars - For me there's really only one - The Drunken Corner for your sports and WiFi. There is a cracking bar called Mojito in the old town that is very relaxed and the ambience is chilled. Iguana bar towards the beach is also good for a change and has a lovely roof terrace, that a lot of people forget.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Tim340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamaki hotels
0.0 mi away
Ionion Blue Hotel
Ionion Blue Hotel
#12 of 30 in Kalamaki
477 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Macedonia
Hotel Macedonia
#24 of 30 in Kalamaki
386 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amaryllis Hotel
Amaryllis Hotel
#21 of 30 in Kalamaki
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cronulla Hotel
Cronulla Hotel
#11 of 30 in Kalamaki
193 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vanessa
Hotel Vanessa
#20 of 30 in Kalamaki
190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
#16 of 30 in Kalamaki
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dionysis & Tonia Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dionysis & Tonia Studios

Property: Dionysis & Tonia Studios
Address: Kalamaki, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
#22 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Dionysis And Tonia Studios
Dionysis & Tonia Studios Hotel Kalamaki
Dionysis Tonia Studios Kalamaki
Dionysis & Tonia Studios Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing