We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be Realistic - Not Dennys Inn!”
Review of Denny Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Denny Apartments
SWScotland
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Be Realistic - Not Dennys Inn!”
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Stayed here for two weeks a few years ago now. Seems to be getting a worse name than it really deserves, some of it through no fault of the owners. We have been to Greece on a number of occasions and this was probably the best to date. A couple of reviews here are clearly for the Dennys Inn or elsewhere - Dennys Apartments I believe are unrelated - and they don't do food - so those should be disrerarded. Complaints about shower room - they are wetrooms - I think all of the places I have stayed in in Greece have had these - basic hand held shower head and no shower curtain - had no problem with it. Cooking facilities - yes they are two hot plates and a kettle - and no I wouldn't dream of cooking on them - but again standard for Greece. As said before all you need is the fridge for drinks and milk for your cereal. Twin beds - normal. Yes there is no air conditioning. Found Denise, the owner, to be nothing other than friendly. Walk to beach prob is 15 - 20 mins, we found beach to be nice, perhaps not the cleanest but certainly not dirty, perhaps this is seasonal like other places? Great location behind main road, close to restaurants/bars. Pool next door. Rooms clean and quiet but basic. We were a mid 20s couple and thoroughly enjoyed it - great for the money. Don't be put off if you have realistic expectations - and if you booked the wrong place that's your or the tour operators fault.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BazKA6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Ayrshire, South West Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2010

My husband and I stayed for a week at the Denny Apartments on our Honeymoon. The apartments were clean with an adequate supply of towels, linen and loo roll! Denise the owner was lovely. Some reviews I have read mentioned that she seemed to be shouting a lot, but personally I think this was due to her lack of English. When she found out we were on Honeymoon, she gave me roses from her garden everyday and always stopped to say hello and give us a wave. The rooms were swept and mopped everyday Towels changed 3 times and linen once, during our stay, however, if you required additional towels/linen/loo rolls, then this was provided if asked for. The rooms were slightly cramped, however, if the 3rd bed had been removed, then they would have been a lot more spacious. The apartments location was ideal. Just off the main strip, behind the Denise supermarket, which meant there was not a lot of noise. The apartments did not have a pool, however the pool next door was available to use, with loungers and parasols at no extra cost and had a nice bar area which served meals and snacks at reasonable prices.
The brochure stated that the beach was a short 5min stroll from the apartments, however, it was more like 20mins. But it was a pleasant stroll, with several taverna's and restaurants along the way, if you fancied stopping for a cool drink and to sit in the shade (any excuse!!)
On the main strip there was a great selection of restaurants and bars, catering for every taste. Prices in the restaurants were slightly cheaper than home, but not by much and the bars had the usual happy hours and free shots promo's. We liked P&P cocktail bar, Labaros the barman was superb. Also great was the Rose & Crown English pub, with Karaoke nights, bingo, etc. and Drunk Corner which was across the road from the the Denise Supermarket next door to the apartments, showed all the british football/sports channels. All the restaurants and bars were friendly and the service second to none. They always said hello as you walked by, even if you didn't want to dine/have a drink there, that particular night.
All in all, we had a wonderful Honeymoon in Kalamaki and would recommend the Denny Apartments to anyone looking for cheap, basic accommodation in a central location, close to shops, bars and restaurants (and only a short transfer from the airport too!). I'm going to be booking our return holiday to the Denny Apartments in the very near future.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsMurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2009

My boyfriend and I have just come back from staying at Denny's Appartments for a week. Our first impressions were some what disappointing as we were actually shown he pictures of Dennys Inn Hotel when we booked it,not Denny's Inn Appartments so what we thought we were getting was infact 300m or so down the road!Something to be weary of in the future perhaps!!
The room was nothing more than OK, the sheets (from what we could see) were clean but basic.The pillows were like sleeping on a sack of flour though!!The so called kitchenette was just a grim looking kettle and mobile electric hob,which neither of us ever wanted to take up the opportunity of cooking something on for fear of death!
The bathroom was perhaps the feature that put us off the most.The sink's tap was more like a drip rather than tap,there was no plug for it so you couldn't have a wash or anything like that.The shower head was broken when we got there but later was changed to a different one.There is no shower curtain,according to the lady who owns the appartments,its unhygenic (?) - this is questionnable as I don't think hygene was her top priority!Apart from that the balcony was nice,your usual plastic table and two chairs with a nice view. The mosquito's could get annoying if you left the outside lights on,but if you were careful you could get away with it with only a couple of bites!
Outside of the Appartments was good though,the positioning was ideal,with a good shop about 30 seconds walk away,no pool of it's own but the vast majority of pools are open to all so you can take your pick.We chose the closest to us,for pure convinience which was about 1 minutes walk away and it was nice. As for the main strip,we loved it.You have so many restuarants to chose from some authentic greek food to italian and just your normal english burger and chips!!Dias restuarant is nice if your looking for something a little upmarket and authentic,Heavens Kitchen was our favourite though.The staff were lovely,really welcoming and always treated you as their number one customer!!The food was great too.We also tried the Olive Tree and the italian Buon Amici which offered a huge selection and was great food.Everywhere seemed to offer a massive amount of choice also.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boo2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kalamaki hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
sunderland
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2009

Not a bad hotel staff ok very patronizing ( mary ) breakfast disgusting same crap everyday... Toast, eggs, ham&cheese. tinned fruit,cornflakes, coco pops with goats milk.
Bread which was hard !!! scrambled eggs which caused me to have food poison so id advise not to eat any kind of eggs whilst there.
The hotel overall wasnt that bad apart from what you pay is what you get very basic towels are a disgrace there a washed out white almost grey in colour...
location is very remote good for walking distance for the beach.. but can be very scarey on an evening. Three people were robbed the the time i was there due to poor street lighting and the hotel being surrounded by bushes and waste land...
So travellers be aware... would i return ???? definatley not......

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zippy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

Anyone who has been to Greece will know that most accomodation is basic but provides a good base from which to travel and enjoy your holiday. Dennys apartments are no different. They are situated behind the Denise Supermarket opposite Drunk Corner and back from the road so there is little noise at night.

The room we had (room 9) was on the first floor and consisted of two bedrooms, kitchenette and bathroom. The rooms were suprisingly large, clean and had everything we needed. The balcony had a great view of the mountains.

The rooms were very hot during the night and could benefit from air conditioning, but the fans which we hired did give a little relief. Denise is a friendly woman and can be a bit overbearing but that is just her manner, she was very helpful and a good laugh.

The rooms are cleaned frequently and towels, bedding changed twice a week (Thursday and Sunday) Please be aware that this is early about 8.30/9.00.

There is no pool but the Scorpio bar next door is free to use and very nice. The guys that run it are again very helpful anf friendly. Sunbeds were available all day (no need to rush out with towels).

Can recommend the Parthenon for a good meal. The Oceanic bar (say hello to Kevin) opposite the Cava Doro hotel is also a good place to go for a drink.

On the whole good accomodation, would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gtown116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2008

When we first arrived we knew it would not be as we hoped. As we entered the room it was very squalid, dark and very dindgy. We only stayed there one night and during that first night it was a nightmare, my daughter couldn't get to sleep. The room was mocked with fly's on every wall and celling. In the room there was no space to put your items and suitcases. It was such a small room for 3 of us to sleep in, eat, or chill out in. When we arrived we had just got of the plane and we were coming up to wear we were going to stay, and before we got off the bus we knew it was not the place we booked. It also smelt of damp. As we discovered the pool, bar and tennis courts as said in the description we got on the internet. Also the pictures we seen on Direct Holidays website was nothing compared to what we seen when we arrived. We thought we had booked the Denny's Inn and not the Dennys Inn Appartments. I would reccomend that you should not stay in Denny's Inn Appartments Ever! It Was A Disgrace.

Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jill196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GB
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2008

After reading all the other reviews I thought I would add my own. We paid £750 for 2 adults and 2 teenagers to go in October half term holidays. Other people in larger hotels had paid twice as much & as there hotels were busier they found them noisier. They are in a good location just off the main street and as there are only 14 rooms are very quiet. If like me the only 'cooking' you do on holiday is pour a bowl of cereal for breakfast and make a cup of tea then these apartments are fine as there werent really any cooking facilities.. The apartments were clean and according to denise who owns them get decorated each winter this certainly looked the case as we were in last week of season and still looked fresh. The bathroom again was typically Greek with no shower curtain and no hook to hang the shower head so it could get a bit messy if you have small children. There is no pool but you can use the one next door which was ok but as it was the last week the pool bar was closed, however every pool in Kalamaki is open to all so we tried a different pool each day, I asked if this was the case all season long and was told it was, so no problems there. I would recommend couples or families with older children to come her if they want a no frills bargain holiday dont let other reviews put you off. There were some people who came to these apartments who didnt want to stay and got moved to a larger hotel but had to pay extra. For the money we paid we couldnt go wrong if you do go I cant stress enough they are basic but comfortable and cheap (what I expected really). But for how long you are actually in them they are fine.

  • Liked — The cost
  • Disliked — The shower
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ST1GB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalamaki
0.2 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
693 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vanessa
Hotel Vanessa
#20 of 30 in Kalamaki
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Plessas Palace Hotel
Plessas Palace Hotel
#6 of 7 in Alykanas
404 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ionion Blue Hotel
Ionion Blue Hotel
#12 of 30 in Kalamaki
467 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
#6 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denny Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denny Apartments

Property: Denny Apartments
Address: Kalamaki, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Kalamaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Denny Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denny Apartments Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing