We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with great staff near lovely beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Meandros Boutique Hotel
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good hotel with great staff near lovely beach”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and 8 year old daughter and I stayed here in mid August. The staff at the hotel which includes the cooks, entertainment and bar staff, waiters and cleaners really make this a great hotel. Our room was lovely and clean with good firm beds and new towels daily and we really appreciated the air conditioning with quiet sleep setting. The restaurant and bar staff work tirelessly to make your stay at the hotel wonderful, our daughter loved Mario and his games in the lovely pool (he is the Marmite factor of this hotel!) Maria and Jason were fantastic bar staff and our waiters Peter and George were particularly attentive and hard working. The beach nearby has lovely clear water and the sand is kept clean by the Crystal Beach hotel team where we had a great meal and great views at sunset. The food at Meandros was mixed and we ate out at various bars and restaurants during the week even though we were on half board option. The Greek night and bbq was the highlight of the week along with the turtle boat trip where we swam in beautiful clear water and caves. Kalamaki itself is a little run down in places and certainly some of the restaurants and bars were not to our taste.Thank you to all at our hotel for a lovely relaxing week.

Room Tip: Our room was 304 and we had noise from the bar behind our hotel the rooms overlooking our hotel pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 04EmmaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Meandros Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hello Emma!

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Meandros hotel and for choosing to share your holiday memories with the rest of us here.

It was a big pleasure for us to have you and your family here in our home and it makes us feel very happy to know that you all had a brilliant time at the meandros.

It is great to know that you also took the chance to explore the resort of Kalamaki and the island of Zakynthos and we hope that you took some great memories back with you at home to remember.

On behalf of everyone at the hotel I would like to say a very big thank you for your kind words on our staff and for giving them such a praise on their work and character.

We all hope that we will have the chance to accommodate you once again in our home for another round of relaxing and worry free holiday with your family. Our staff will be right here on the spot to welcome you back with a smile from the heart.

Until then, have a great time back home and always take care of each other. Love from all..xxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    107
    39
    11
    2
See reviews for
141
280
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pagham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Well we have just returned from a two week holiday at the Meandros and I have to say we have had a lovely time. From the moment we arrived the reception staff were lovely and we got a good vibe about the place. Myself, my husband and 3 daughters aged 19,17 and 11 all loved it - staff were so friendly - Mario was a little full on to start with but once you get to know him he is a real good guy and is brilliant with all the kids. Jason is the best barman ever and an ace table tennis player!! Peter and George in the restaurant are lovely people too. Hotel itself is spotlessly clean - the maids do a brilliant job - rooms cleaned every day! We had two rooms between us and they were both large and spacious - the only thing I would say negatively was that one of our rooms bathrooms was a little tired - I think some have been revamped and others not. Having said that it was still ok and everything worked!! Pool was lovely - many a diving competition and volley ball challenge were had. Plenty of sunbeds and a nice shady bar area for when it gets too hot. Food overall very good - breakfast choice excellent. The dinners were a liitle samey but all very good quality. We certainly never went hungry!! This was our last proper family holiday as our older two will be doing their own thing next year and I am glad we picked the Meandros - We certainly would stay there again and I know my girls would too!!!!

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the hotel so balcony was nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Meandros Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hello Jo!

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on meandros hotel and for choosing to share your holiday memories with the rest of us here.

It is a great pleasure for us to know that you had such a wonderful time here in our hotel and that our hotel succeeded on meeting your needs and expectations.

We would also like to thank you for sharing your ideas and advice on our hotel facilities. We would like you to know that we will take all of your comments into serious consideration so as to improve ourselves in all levels.

On behalf of all the staff and family I would like to pass our appreciation for your kind comments on our people and for giving them a special credit on the work they do and the way they took care of you.

We all hope that we will have the chance to see you back again with us in the near future and of course your children too if they wish so. Until then, have a great time back home and always take care of each other. Love from all..xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned home from the most wonderful two week holiday at the meandros hotel. The hotel is perfectly situated being a short walk away from crystal beach, shops, and restaurants. The hotel itself is beautifully designed and we were very happy to spend much of our time by the pool although we did venture out on a few excursions including shipwreck island, turtle spotting and the St Dennis festival which were fabulous! As previously stated by so many satisfied people, the heartbeat of this hotel is the staff, who made us feel like we were a part of their big family from the moment we arrived. All the staff were hard working and helpful and would always exceed our expectations. Mario is a very young man with a huge heart who is fantastic with everyone especially the children. He has a great sense of fun and is a dynamic member of staff.... He is a great asset to the hotel. Jason, who works on the bar in the evenings always has a smile and is probably one of the warmest, most genuine people we have ever met. Maria, will always do whatever it takes to meet the needs of guests and has the most wonderful infectious smile and laugh. Panajotis (my husband used to tease him and call him Panayogi!) was always keen to talk to us and showed a genuine interest in us as a family, as did George who also was a member of waiting staff, he and my husband had an ongoing joke running about his poor attempt at speaking Greek. The two chef,s produced a very good standard of food throughout the holiday and were always very friendly. As previously stated on another review, a rotation of the menu selection for week two may be beneficial but this is not a criticism, simply a suggestion. The reception staff were great, especially Matina who always had a smile on her face and was happy to help. The pool attendant maintained the pool area well and it was always clean and tidy. We plan to return to The Meandros hotel next year, please keep your current staff structure as it is, my 13 year old daughter was crying on our return flight home because she felt as we all do a part of the Meandros family.

See you next year!

Linda, Nick, Elliott and Liberty.xxxx

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Meandros Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hello Linda, Nick, Elliot and Liberty!

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Meandros hotel and for choosing to share your holiday memories with the rest of us here.

It was a pleasure for us to have you here as a part of our family and it makes us very happy that our hotel succeeded on meeting your every need and expectation.

Most of all we would like to say a huge thank you for your kind comments on our lovely staff and for giving them such a big praise for their work and personality. Your rewarding comments is a treasure for us and it makes us love what we do more and more each day.

It is also great to hear that you took the chance to explore Zakynthos and it’s beauties and indeed you have picked to visit the most wonderful hallmarks in the island. We hope that those places gave you the best memories to take back home with you.

Well, we are all looking forward on your next visit to our home and it will be a great pleasure for us to accommodate your family once again. Please know that our staff will be here once more to welcome you with a big smile from the heart.

Until we get to meet each other again, have a lovely winter back home and always take care of each other.. Love from all..xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks holiday with my husband and 14 year old daughter. The hotel was so accommodating to your every need and the staff were so friendly. The rooms were large and clean . The room we had ,had a lovely pool and sea view . The area around the pool was very clean and there was plenty of sunbeds to choose from. The food was lovely and there was a good variety. The staff are really the making of this hotel and work hard to make your stay the best it can possibly be! The entertainment was great and Mario definitely put his everything into it ! I'm sure we will be returning to this hotel in the future , would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swend789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Meandros Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hello Swend!

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Meandros hotel and for choosing to share your holiday memories with the rest of us here.

We are very happy to know that you and your family had such a great time here with us and that our hotel succeeded on meeting your needs and standards. Thank you so much for giving a mention to our hotel.

On behalf of all the staff and family, I would like to pass our appreciation for your kind comments on our people and for giving them a special praise for their work and the way they took care of you. Your rewarding feedback is very valuable to us and for sure it has put a smile on everyone’s face.

It will be a big pleasure of ours if we had the chance to see you back again with us in the near future, for a second round of relaxing and worry free holiday.

Our staff will be right here on the spot to welcome you back on your next visit. Until then, take care back home and always smile because we do.. Love from all..xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

29.8.2013

Just returned back from a weeks holiday with my son aged 10, husband , 17year old daughter and her two friends. This hotel has been by far the friendliest and most accommodating hotel we have ever stayed in. The staff here cannot do enough for you. The rooms and large and clean within a pictureque setting. The pool area is clean and weren't fighting for sunbeds. Mario, Jason ,Peter and Matina have to be the most hardworking people ever. the were so friendly without being too over the top and considering all the guests that they have seen during the season they remembered everyones names.The daytime entertainment was just enough without being too pushy along with the evening entertainment. I would highly recommend the greek barbaque as this was delicous variety of food and good fun entertainment. We are all going to be suffering from the holidays blues and my son really cried when he had to say his goodbyes to the friends, (staff) he had made. This little hotel is really very very special and the people who work there even more so. Will definately be returning to visit again.

Love to all at the Meandros Fiona,Glyn, Hannah Ben Issabella and Gemmaxxxxx

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Meandros Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hello Fiona, Glyn, Hannah, Ben, Issabella and Gemma!

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Meandros hotel and for choosing to share your holiday memories with the rest of us here.

First of all we would like you to tell your son not to cry because his friends will be waiting for him and all the family to come back again for another round of fantastic holidays! On behalf of everyone please give him a big hug!

It makes us feel very happy to know that you and all the family had such a great time with us. It was our pleasure to have you all here and we would like to thank you from the heart for expressing your positive comments on our staff members. That means a lot to all of us!

We would like you to know that Meandros will have it’s doors always open for you and of course our people will be right here on the spot to greet you back with a big smile!

Until that day comes close, we wish you all have a fantastic winter back home and always keep smiling cause we do. Love from all..xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a 10 night stay at the Meandros, myself, husband and our 5 year old son. We have had an amazing holiday. Loved this hotel. On arrival we were taken to our room and told that we hd been upgraded to a family room which was on the ground floor at the back of the hotel. This was a lovely surprise and the room could not have been better for us as it was quiet, away from the pool and bar area.
The food we thought was lovely,lots of choice and healthy. We especially liked the BBQ night. We did not feel the need to eat out. Breakfasts wonderful one morning freshly made pancakes with chocolate sauce to our son's delight! Swimming pool always clean and always found beds but we didn't use it that much as we are more beach people. Snack pool bar was great and Maria working there was very plesant and friendly playing table tennis with our son. Mario and other staff also very pleasant and welcoming but not too pushy we found. Mario was great with the kids and appears to put 100 percent into his job. We were delighted to find 3 little kittens on our balcony on arrival. Lots of guests including us feeding them, I think they put weight on during the time we were there. I worry about their fate once the summer season is over and hope the locals will adopt and look after them. All in all fantastic holiday. We've already booked elsewhere for next year but hope to return in 2015. Thank you for a wonderful stay. Paula, Craig & Thomas xx

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Meandros Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hello Paula, Craig and Thomas!

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Meandros hotel and for choosing to share your holiday memories with the rest of us here.

It was a great pleasure to have you here and we are very happy to know that our hotel succeeded on meeting your every need. Thank you so much for giving that a mention.

As for the kittens, i have good news for you. They have put on much weight and they are now residents of the hotel! Most of the neighbors are looking after them and our guests seem to love animals so much that many of them want to adopt them. God bless them all..

On behalf of all the staff and the family we would like to say a very big thank you for your kind comments to our staff and for giving them such a credit for their work and the way they took care of you.

We are all looking forward to have you back again with us, hopefully during 2015. We would like you to know that our people will be right here on the spot to welcome you back with a big smile from the heart and hopefully our little cats will still be here.

Until then, enjoy your time back home and take care of each other.. Love from all..xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We travelled with our 2 children aged 13 & 15 (1 a coeliac) (July 27th for 2 weeks)Our first time in Zante. From the moment we arrived at The Meandros, we were made to feel very welcome. Maria greeted us with a complementary drink & showed us to our large, clean room.
Our room was on the ground floor facing the back of the hotel. The airplanes were never a problem for us & we actually liked them. Also people have complained about the cats, well i loved them there & encouraged them as i love cats.
The cleaners came everyday which was a bonus & changed the towels daily. The kitchenette was one of the reasons we choose this hotel so we could make lunch for our son with coeliac if needed. It is well equipt & clean. My only plus to add to the kitchen would be to add toasters, much easier for refreshing gluten free bread although when asked for either a toaster/microwave the staff had brought a microwave straight away. Oh also big bonus was the free aircon which was very quiet.
The pool is lovely & clean & we always got a sunbed. You did have to get towels out at 8am though! There could be a few more to be honest. One day we had visitors from another hotel & they took a lot of beds when really there is only enough for hotel residents.

Right on to the best bits... the staff here are amazing. Mario is a very special person & gets everyone (who wishes too) involved playing water polo/volleyball, darts etc during the day. He is a very motivated hard working, fun member of this hotel, what a star. All the kids, teens, well everyone love him to bits & he always makes the time personally to get to know you & get things happening. I think he along with Jason & Peter made our holiday fantastic.
Jason is amazing we all, specially my daughter & I loved him ;-) Am missing his "Jason special cocktail" & his smile. He's such great fun & always happy.
There is entertainment most nights at the hotel with a weekly music quiz & singing etc. mmm could improve Deanos song choices though?? stick to Swing Frank Sinatra etc??
The Greek night is a great night & way to get involved if you wish too, which off course we did.
It was great fun & got everyone up dancing. Jason, Mario & Peter always danced & had fun with us. Another night after one of the singers, there's a chance to have a go at karaoke!! Normally im a bit of a snob, looking down on karaoke, but after a few cocktails, well...... we all preferred to sing in the group sing along, led by Mario ( Bob Marley hahaha) & dancing on the bar was a hilarious night.
Michael Buble, not the real thing sadly, is well worth a visit next door at Antonios, he's a very good singer & much like the real man to listen to. A visit to the Cave bar opposite is a must. Really lovely cocktails & go when the sun sets. Great views from there too.
The food at the hotel was good, always plenty of choice & i liked the fact that there were only chips on offer at dinner on Greek night.
Kleio & Niko were fantastic & worked so hard in an extremely hot kitchen. They were always so helpful with my sons gluten free diet & he felt confident to just ask for there help. There was always plenty to chose from for both gluten free & regular food.
My only improvement would be to have a 2 week menu as by week 2, the food was samey. We ate out a few times but the kids were having such a great time with new found friends they didn't want to leave the hotel, incase they missed something!!

Kalamaki is a great fairly quiet resort. I did think when i arrived at the hotel OMG where are we! as its 5 minutes away from the airport & not the prettiest 5 minutes. But the Meandros is a lovely pretty hotel. To the right of the hotel are restaurants & bars leading down to the beach. To the left is a busier road with lots of bars, restaurants, shops, chemists, supermarkets etc which you dont see on your journey from the airport. Sun cream is expensive here so bring plenty with you 18 euros for nivea!! The resort has everything you need & is easily accessible.

We were very lucky to meet such amazing people during our 2 week holiday. They along with Super Mario, Jason, Peter made our holiday the most fantastic 2 weeks. Everyone got on so well it felt like we'd met before the holiday. Always lots of laughs, drinking, fun i really can't put in to words how great the holiday, people & specially staff were. We even have made a Zante facebook page & plan a reunion for 2015. Am already looking forward to returning. We've never had holiday blues like it!!

Meandros, Thank You so much. Your staff are an asset please do not change. You make the hotel what is.

Room Tip: We were room 103 ground floor it was quiet. We had the kittens visit daily but we encouraged them &a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjt4631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Meandros Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Hello sjt4631!

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on meandros hotel and for choosing to share your holiday memories with the rest of us here.

First of all we would like to say that we are very proud to have the opportunity to accommodate people like you who spread their positive character around, creating this family, friendly atmosphere between our guests and of course our staff. Big respect for that.

We are so happy to see that you had such a wonderful time here in our home and that our hotel succeeded on meeting yours and you family’s needs.
Most of all, we would like to say a huge thank you for your kind comments on our staff and for giving them such a credit for the way they took care of you all. Your lovely memories is the biggest reward we can have and that makes us love what we do more and more each day.

We would like you to know that our doors will be always open for you, your family and friends and our staff will be right here on the spot to greet you back again with a big hug and a smile from the heart.

Until we meet each other again, have a wonderful winter back home and always remember us and smile because we do! Sending love and hugs from all the staff and family..xxxxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalamaki
0.5 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.2 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#3 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#21 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Bay Hotel & Suites
The Bay Hotel & Suites
#1 of 19 in Vasilikos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
12.5 mi away
Mabely Grand Hotel
Mabely Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kampi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meandros Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meandros Boutique Hotel

Property: Meandros Boutique Hotel
Address: Kalamaki, Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Meandros Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious rooms with pool and garden view designed with a unique a modern character, a swimming pool for adults surrounded by a relaxed atmosphere and a children's swimming pool for our young guests is a small sample of what Meandros offers to our guests. A Jacuzzi situated next to the main swimming pool, invites you to experience total relaxation while enjoying your favorite cocktail under the sun. The snack bar is open to all guests, offering local and international dishes, carefully prepared by our staff always serving you with the biggest smile from the heart, making you feel like home. After a warm day under the sun, Meandros buffet is open to all, offering a pleasant dining experience. Our experienced staff is there to personally take care of you, serving Greek and Zakynthian dishes, along with an international taste and vegetarian options. Theme nights are taking place in our restaurant on a weekly basis, with live kitchen from our chef and plenty of choices for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Meandros Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meandros Hotel Kalamaki
Meandros Boutique Hotel Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing