We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base”
Review of Hotel Macedonia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Macedonia
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Reviewed April 15, 2009

I went in the first week of June last year with my fiance after booking last minute through Thomas Cook. We arrived about 3am and the person on the desk couldn't really speak English, but we managed to get our room keys in the end. The room itself was very basic but we wasn't planning on cooking in it so it was fine for us. The bathroom was very small and you should be aware that you can't put any toilet roll down the toilet in Zante.

The hotel itself was small but cute, we were by the pool a couple of days and didn't have any trouble getting a sun lounger but most of the time we just used it as somewhere to sleep and went out. It is perfectly located - to the left there is a whole long strip full of bars and restaurants. Our favourites were the Oasis bar (good for cocktails) for evening drinks, the resonably priced Zakanoh for evening meals (the houmous is amazing!!!) and a little bar/cafe called Cronulla bar (opposite Zahanoh) for lunch. There is also a cute little bakery further down the strip in amongst some restaurants and tourist shops that does very nice sausage rolls and cakes if you want a snack.

If you turn right from the hotel you end up at the beach, again close by, which we often walked right round to either Laganas (took about 30mins) or just to get away from the crowds - between Kalamaki and Laganas the beach was empty and the sea was lovely. I would also recommend the turtle boat tours in Laganas.

We went on various excursions round the island and you definately need to see the North part of the island, Zante town and also the blue caves.

It was our first time away together and neither of us are huge party animals so the hotel was perfect as it was far enough away from Laganas and the strip of bars to be quiet and relaxing in the evenings. Perfect first holiday, so long as you don't mind budget accommodation.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank awayfromhome16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Macedonia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 399 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2008

Hotel Macedonia was very well maintained this includes the grounds and rooms. The maid services was really good, we had our beds changed and clean towels on a regular basis during our two week stay. The beach was situated just a few minutes walk from the hotel and is suitable for all ages. It was nice to have a sandy beach that went for miles, rather than sand and shingle. There are a lot of great resturants to choose from on the main Kalamaki road, but I HIGHLY RECOMMEND TRESORS, the quality of the service, the food, value for money was fantastic, whilst we were there one evening, it rained very heavley, and the staff in the resturant ran us and two other couples back to our individual hotels, they certainly went out of there way and that is what i call customer service.
The only down fall was that the hotel was very near to the airport, and we did have disturbed sleep on a few occassions, but it does not put me off going again, but earlier in the season, it was end of season when we went and a lot of places shut. No entertainment at the hotel in the evening, but you could play pool if you liked.

MR & MRS HICKEN, CASTLE BROMWICH, BIRMINGHAM

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawnnigel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2008

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noleafclover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2008

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank neashamouston58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2008

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bettykitten2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2008

Stayed: July 2008
1  Thank RoomOneOneTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2008

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TessDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamaki hotels
0.3 mi away
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
#19 of 30 in Kalamaki
255 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ionion Blue Hotel
Ionion Blue Hotel
#13 of 30 in Kalamaki
487 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amaryllis Hotel
Amaryllis Hotel
#20 of 30 in Kalamaki
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Vanessa
Hotel Vanessa
#18 of 30 in Kalamaki
196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Denny's Inn Hotel
Denny's Inn Hotel
#6 of 30 in Kalamaki
440 reviews
0.4 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Macedonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Macedonia

Address: Kalamaki Zakynthos, Kalamaki 290 92, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Price Range: $21 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Macedonia 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Macedonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macedonia Hotel Kalamaki
Hotel Macedonia Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing