We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hotel macedonia kalamaki” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Macedonia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Macedonia
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“hotel macedonia kalamaki”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

just got back from yet another excellent holiday at this hotel. my wife and i travelled with 9 friends, 5 of which had not been to zante before and they all absolutely loved the hotel. nikos and his family made them all welcome and they are all intending to go back next year. two of our party had mobility problems and we were allocated rooms on the ground floor really close to the pool/bar. the rooms are cleaned every other day and the pool and the public areas are well kept. this was our 4th time at the macedonia and we will be going back

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    99
    51
    9
    17
See reviews for
126
120
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

6 of us just stayed here for a hen party and had a fantastic time. the rooms were clean and tidy and very modern. the hotel staff and guests were lovely and definatly good value for money. the Airplanes did land and take off very close to the airport but this did not bother us one bit. the photos that are on the website are what the rooms and pool side look like, the BBQ They do on a sumday is a mist do the food was amazing and greek dancing was brilliant. we would like to thank all the staff for our pleasent stay, we will be back xxx

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Candycane1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blyth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

first time there staff excellent food o/k close to airport no problem.easy walk to main drag .hotel spotless saw no beetles pool area always clean gardens very tidy. apart from airplane noise very quiet.not many guests, do not know what it will be like high season

Room Tip: first floor pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ken504060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from a fantastic week at the Macedonia.
Absolutely fantastic place, spotlessly clean, great owners, lovely pool and although the hotel is close to the airport and the planes are quite low over the apartments it really didn't affect my stay, in fact after a day I didn't notice the noise at all, it is quite a talking point.
The first night I stayed there I was a little tipsy and mislaid my purse with all my money/ credit cards etc. I ran down to the bar and the owner immediately drove me to where I last was and I found all my belongings, he was an absolute angel and I can't thank him enough.
I would definatly return to the Macedonia and would recommend these beautiful apartments to anyone.
Thankyou for a wonderful holiday, one I will not forget xx

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cazpops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lightwater
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

My partner, my 2 year old daughter and I stayed here June 2012 for 10 nights. I chose this hotel after reading reviews that it was very clean which is very, if not, the most important thing when travelling with a toddler. I am please to confirm that the room, pool area and bar were clean and tidy. We had a problem with ants in our room which were absolutely everywhere (we were on ground floor). So we asked for another room higher up. We were told there are ants in every room so there is no point moving and anyway they are fully booked with no other rooms available. After asking every day half way through our holiday they did find a room for us on the first floor which did improve the problem.
The drains are blocked in the showers so anytime you shower it floods the whole room. We got through this by having 2 min showers and using the shower by the pool to wash my hair. We informed staff and were told they have a problem with the drains.
Most of the time we were able to sleep without any problems but we had 2 nights where a group of teenagers were haning around on the balcony outside our room door being very loud. They knocked on our door one night around 3am and said oops wrong room laughed and ran off. I would say there was a half and half mix of family tourists and groups of young people.
The food in the bar was ready made microwave stuff. Edible but expensive for what it is. They have signs outside and in the bar with all the different food they serve but most of the stuff we asked for they didnt have...? We were told only on certain nights we have the grill deal ect. The drinks however were amazing and went down a little too well! Pina Colada! The girl that works in the bar doesnt speak much English and not exactly rude but just not very friendly.
The childrens play/park area is not shaded so most of the plastic is too hot to touch and unusable.
The airplane noise is extreme but you get used to it and I think this is reflected in the price.
The location couldnt get any better. Its a short walk to the beach and another short walk in the other direction to all bars, food places and mini supermarket shops. Its also a 5 min taxi drive from the airport so dont get transfers included in your holiday as it will only cost 12EUR for a taxi. Buses are very cheap I think 1.60EUR to the next town. We got a few buses to the surrounding towns and to Zante main town which is worth a visit where there is a small bakery which sell the most delightful treats at great prices. There is a Lidl a short bus ride away to get all your essentials at supermarket prices. One day we hired a speed boat for 110EUR for about 5 hours to vist all the secluded islands - something that is definately worth doing it was the highlight of our holiday! The submarine turtle tour is not worth doing as they take on too many passingers so you will be sqashed in a tight space for an hour getting to see 1 or 2 turtles for all of 2 minutes. Snorkeling at the closest beach is a must!
All in all the hotel is worth staying at if you can get it for very cheap and you dont mind the things I mentioned.

Room Tip: Anything above ground floor because of the ant problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank claireLightwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

this year our family stayed at the hotel. a great time was had by us all. friendly family and friendly atmosphere for the whole week. good value for money bar and restaurant. cant wait to return hopefully next year. LOVED IT. cant see us ever going anywhere else. thanks.

Room Tip: all rooms are equally fab due to small family run complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at the Macedonia for 3 weeks at the end of September / October 2012. First things first the weather was awesome.

The hotel is in a very good location. It's only 10 minutes from the main strip and 5 minutes from the fantastic beach. There are plenty of loungers free around the pool, which is kept nice and clean. The owners are very helpful and friendly with the bar food very fairly priced and the portions good. There is a supermarket 2 minutes walk away which is really handy.

The rooms are basic but clean and are a reasonble size. My old gripe (as always) is that I would have liked to have had a toaster to go with the kettle.

Watching the planes fly over during the day is great and a good talking point.

Overall good hotel and very good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamaki hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Vanessa
Hotel Vanessa
#19 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
#17 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sirocco Hotel
Sirocco Hotel
#22 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Daisy Apartments
Daisy Apartments
#25 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.8 mi away
Daniel Hotel
Daniel Hotel
#18 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#21 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Macedonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Macedonia

Property: Hotel Macedonia
Address: Kalamaki Zakynthos, Kalamaki 290 92, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Macedonia 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Macedonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macedonia Hotel Kalamaki
Hotel Macedonia Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing