We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel”
Review of Hotel Macedonia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Macedonia
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A great hotel”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Stayed here last week with my wife and three kids. Check in was speedy and given clear directions to room.

Room was immaculate, well maintained, cool and spacious. Fridge, hob, kettle and decent crockery, cutlery and utensils.

Bed was firm but not uncomfortable. Bathroom was decent with an overhead shower as well as an additional removable shower head. Decent shower curtain allthough still managed to soak the floor but have stayed in Greece before and this is the norm. I would however say the bathroom was better than in most hotels I have visited in Greece. Gallons of hot water and good pressure.

Large enclosed terrace / balcony with decent table and chairs (not plastic) this area was great to keep kids happy whilst we were getting ready. Decent small clothes dryer and pegs attached to wall. Metal shutters on balcony doors give good black out.

The pool area again was immaculate, watched the chap out there every morning cleaning the pool and hosing down entire terrace area where sun loungers are. The pool itself was lovely and clean and they obviously take great pride in it.

I did not see one bit of rubbish anywhere in the complex and the communal pathways and gardens were so tidy.

The pool toilets have been newly refurbed and are cleaned to a very high standard. The cleaners mopped the floors as soon as wet people from the pool had been in and out.

Kids loved the play park which is one of the better ones in kalamaki and kept them amused for hours.

Pool bar was well furnished and a pleasure to chill in. Food and drink very reasonable and good quality. Nikos the bar manager was very friendly and welcoming (if you took the time to be polite and speak to him)

I really don't know what people expect but I found this hotel to be a more than suitable base for a family holiday. I have stayed in some very high quality hotels and experienced the great service etc.

This is a clean friendly family run hotel which is as good as any 3* in Greece.

If I had to be incredibly picky I would say the kitchen could do with a draining board on the work surface (you know it must be good if this is the only criticism)

Hotel is 5 minute walk from beach, 10 mins from the main drag and 5 mins to nearest supermarket which sells milk, nappies, wet wipes, baby food and all the usual stuff.

The staff were all very courteous and friendly and helped us with calling taxis / holiday rep when we had issues.

If you want a decent good value break away you should stay here.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Holidayplod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    105
    52
    9
    17
See reviews for
132
124
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bicester
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We've just got back from a week in Kalamaki and we stayed at the Macedonia.

It's early in the season and it was very quiet but I have to say that the rooms were very spacious and very clean, cleaned everyday except Wednesday. The pool side toilet facilities should be nominated for a "Loo of the Year" award!

The pool might be on the small side at the height of the season but there are plenty of sunbeds to go around

The bar is well priced as are the meals they serve.

I should mention it's proximity to the airport, it is very close but there aren't that many flights and it's highly entertaining watching the planes come in.

It is only a short walk down to the beach which is very child friendly and there is the Kalamaki Beach Taverna which does reasonably price food and drink.

It's a short walk to the strip and again everywhere seems to be well priced.

The Macedonia and Kalamaki come highly recommended.

Room Tip: I think almost all rooms have a pool view but it might be worth emailing them to be sure you get one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pooley-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We went to the BBQ they organise on a regular basis and my boyfriend got food poisoning from this. He was sick for the entire holiday. He had to get a prescription from the local GP but had gastroenteritis so it takes a while for it to settle down. The BBQ was prepaid so you would expect the quality of the food to be better or at least fit for human consumption which it certainly was not!!!

As a couple we were also annoyed at the fact that they gave us an apartment that had 2 single beds instead of a double.

There was no atmosphere in the complex either.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonQuirke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Went at the start of August, When we arrived at greek airport, we were soon to find out taxi's were on strike, therefore we got on a mini-bus. Mini-bus cost 20 euro which was very peeving as hotel was literally at the end of the run way ( less then a mile from the airport ) when we arrived at the hotel (mid-day) we were given our room key and guided to our room, no offer to carry the suitcases but not a big deal! When we got into the appartment (1 bedroom) as we looked around the room looked very basic ( most greek hotel/appartments are) however had everything needed in, 2 beds in living area, 2 beds in bedroom. Balcony good size. Bathroom small however provided everything needed, although the shower was very small and would slightly flood a bit ( small drain in the bathroom solved the problem however) As the 4 of us ( me, my friend and my parents) went down to the pool area, there were always sunbeds spair, the general pool area was compact yet good sized. Many english people. Also there was a small park next to pool area, good to keep younger kids entertained! The bar, during the day provided good lunchtime meals, ice creams drinks and a telly. A family run resort, however all staff friendly! We later on decided to have a look round the area, the appartments in a very good location, right next to the main strip, however not so close you can here all the clubbers at night! As it was self-catering we bought food in, which isn't hard as there are many good food stores on the strip! For Dinner we went for about 8PM all bars/restaurants seemed very friendly however I would highly recomend Mermaids, great service great food great atmosphere! I would also recomend you visit one of the many greek nights held in most bars! When we headed to bed usually between 11-12, there wasn't too much noise appart from the first night (sunday=karoke night, what a laugh listening to the drunken brits singing!!!) however all other nights quiet, Only concern, as the hotel was literally at the end of the hotel runway you would often wake up to the sounds of aeroplanes however you were only disturbed for a couple of seconds then it was easy to get back to sleep, also aeroplanes only ran from 5am-11pm. When visiting the beach beach was excellent, you could hire a pedalo for 1-2 hours for just 15 euro! man who ran the pedalo's was very friendly!!! Me and my friend also bought a snorkel set and had so much fun in the sea, there were so many fish at even the shallow parts! Also one day we went for a boat trip, (you can organise day trips in many shops along the main strip) this entitles you too transport to the dock, the boat trip itself, 2 stops to get off and swim, guarentee's the sight of turtles, and transport back to hotel! One day however i had a minor issue.. ants!!! I had read reviews saying there were ants so i got worried, however it was easily solved as we used boiling kettle water which soon killed them off! Hotel was cleaned every other day and i personally think the maids done a very good job and were very friendly!

As the days went on however, the days were getting hotter... as were the nights! the nights were so hot and stuffy, although reading reviews we had acknowledged the price of the aircon and decided to buy some small sized fans (ebay- 5er!!!) which i am so glad we did! also luckily by the end of the holiday, the taxis were back running!

All in all, if you're easily pleased by the basics, and arn't looking for something flash, this accquired most needs for our holidays, no majour issues, great location and friendly enough staff!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank loise111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mildred
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

I have absolutely no idea what hotel some of these people having been staying in....it cant be the same as mine! Everyone has their own opinions and experiences of course but i really can not get my head around some of the complaints...maybe i just had a great room, with top class service and wonderful food with a sparkling clean pool and surroundings??? I honestly can not fault any of it. Our room was cleaned and linen was changed every other other day. The staff couldn't do enough for us...carried our cases and made sure the room suited us etc....the food was great value for money if you chose to eat at the hotel that is... the pool was spotless! or as i read below someone winging about leaves in the pool! get a life!..... and mosquito's are all over the world dude...by a mozzi ball or stay in England.
The hotel is very well suited for wheelchairs and people with walking disabilities which was nice to see as many are not. And as mentioned already the hotel is a 5 min walk to the beach and the main strip where there are plenty of lovely restaurants and fair amount of bars to choose from.
Personally i cant wait to book up to go back. loved every minute of it, and despite the negative reviews i am so glad they never put me off coming here!

Room Tip: all rooms are away from any main road so no noise, poolside views are very pretty too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank itsthatmadmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Just returned from 2 weeks at the Macedonia and would have no hesitatation in recommending this to family and friends.
Clean sheets and towels every other day. The accommodation was very clean and the staff friendly if you made the effort to talk to them.( This is a family run complex)Yes its true about the planes getting very close to the complex as it is on the flight path to the airport but we had no problem with this.
Come out of the hotel and turn right 5 mins to the beach.
Come out of the hotel turn left go to the top of the road turn right and a supermarket opposite (this the first of 3 in a very short distance)again less than 5 mins. This then brings you to the start of the main strip with some fantastic restaurants.
Rooms are spacious and have a fridge, kettle and two electric rings.
The pool area always had plenty of beds available and was kept clean.
The bar had a good choice of drinks and food was typical of a pool bar.
The only slight complaint is about the size of the shower but we still managed to get washed every day.
Hoping to return next year.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PaulJillHexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

This place was awful. On arrival we were told our room was not ready and to return in an hour. The man on reception then allowed my pregnant sister and I to carry our luggage all the way to the other side of the complex without so much as lifting a finger. We found the room dark with broken lights, it smelt of damp and was full of mosquitos. We were unable to air the room with the doors open as they were not equipped with fly screens and therefore encouraged more mosquitos. Air con was available for the extortionate price of 50 Euros a week and even then only on at certain times of the day. The proximity of the hotel to the airport was great for transfers but not so good being positioned below the flightpath. The sound of incoming aircraft was deafening and with the accompanied crowing of roosters to the rear of our room it was impossible to sleep. The bathroom was disgusting with a tiny shower cubicle and ill-fitting curtain. Every time we showered the floor would become soaked and add to the damp smell of the place. We never felt clean throughout our entire stay, our room was serviced once and I ended up covered in mosquito bites. We attempted to contact reception on 4 occasions; the phone in our room did not work and the desk was unmanned every time we went. We spent most of our time at the hotel our parents were in, Roseland, located 5 minutes away and far superior for only a few pounds more. I have travelled Greece extensively and do know to expect basic accommodation but this hotel is well below par and we will never return.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angelmouse1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamaki hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Vanessa
Hotel Vanessa
#19 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
#16 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.9 mi away
Daisy Apartments
Daisy Apartments
#26 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Daniel Hotel
Daniel Hotel
#18 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.4 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cronulla Hotel
Cronulla Hotel
#13 of 30 in Kalamaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Macedonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Macedonia

Property: Hotel Macedonia
Address: Kalamaki Zakynthos, Kalamaki 290 92, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Macedonia 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Macedonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macedonia Hotel Kalamaki
Hotel Macedonia Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing