We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cash cow” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Metaxa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Metaxa
Ranked #3 of 7 Kalamaki B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cash cow”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Love Greece...hated here! Have visitied many times and know what to expect but was not expecting this. Rooms was a reasonable size and hotel location good but thats where it ends. I am a uk size 10 and could shower in the smallest shower I have ever seen. Breakfast was dry bread and cake or yoghurt. No milk for cereal. Place was a cash cow. Had to pay for air con,fridge, internet....no facilities in room! Pool was tiny. All and I mean ALL the sunbeds were broken. Used the pool at the Cronulla up the road which was fantatsic with great staff, would thoroughly recommend there. Avoid Metaxa at all costs.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SpoiltPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    29
    18
    12
    2
See reviews for
22
48
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iasi, Iasi, Romania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

The good:
* Location - very close to the beach, 4-5 minutes away.
* Cheap.

The bad:
* Breakfast was pretty dull.
* WiFi wasn't really working (and you have to pay for it).
* You need to pay for AC - some days you can't sleep from the heat.
* Reception was a bit annoying and condescending.

Would not recommend it to someone to be honest.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pavkam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We've just returned from our 7day stay at hotel Metaxa.
It's the third time in Greece for us so we are used to greek hotels.
Metaxa hotel is run by Mr. Stelios and his family, all very nice and friendly.
Metaxa is a 3 star hotel (as the travel agency told us). I always tend to compare 3 star hotels with the well known Ibis Hotels (also 3 stars). Metaxa hotel is more like a 2 star hotel compared to Ibis.

The hotel is really clean, the area is nice and relaxing. I cannot complain about the aircraft noise as the other reviewers because the only time which we stayed at the hotel was at night for sleep. We didn't hear any aircraft noise at all.

Metaxa hotel has a nice and very clean pool, huge palm trees which are really nice and friendly staff.

Breakfast was same as any 2-3 star hotel in Greece: cheese and ham, boiled eggs or sometimes fried, butter and gem. tea/coffe/juice.

Regarding the location, Kalamaki is a quiet place with plenty of restaurants but with few bars and no clubs. This makes it a quiet and relaxing location but you can get easily to the vivid Laganas (things go really crazy there) with a taxi. (8 euro).

What i didn't like:
- the bathroom (very small and looks oldish, 1 person can barely fit in the shower).
- it took some time when we got to the hotel until we could take our luggage to the rooms. After a long journey we had to wait for ~30 minutes to be in our rooms because mrs. Stelios insisted to explain every small obvious detail (like how to open the door, how to open the window, how to pull the mosquito net) and how much we would have to pay if we broke anything :) ).

I reccommend anyone to stay at Metaxa hotel and i thank the Metaxa family for having us there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dandinu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Hi there,

I stayed here in August 2012 with a friend for a week. We went with Cosmos, I think it was £515 each from Gatwick, which on reflection and now knowing Kalamaki alot better we could have done just as easily going independantly.

It's ok. The staff and management are nice and helpful. The rooms were acceptable, small but negotiable, clean and cleaned each day. Mossie screens on the windows and our room had a balcony which over looked the pool which was nice. The beds were a bit narrow and uncomfortable. I woke up a couple of times at least once a night sensing I would fall off the bed. The bathroom was tiny and showering was uncomfortable but doable. It was fine for the money and fine for a week. Very close to a supermarket and a 10/15 minute walk to the beach. There are extra charges for aircon and fridge which in August are pretty necessary.

The pool is lovely and sitting around it is very pleasant when it's quiet.

The most unfortunate thing about Metaxa which is not really mentioned in the reviews here is the noise from aircraft.

It is literally over the road from the end of the run way. I live on a flight path so could just about handle it but it really upset my friend. Expecially as alot of planes come in very early in the morning. She couldn't get a decent nights sleep. Not only do you have them flying very low overhead, as they come in and go out, but also the revving noise from the engines during the taxying up and down the runway.

She found it so unbearable she asked to be moved which took ages and by the time they had sorted something out in Tsilivi it was more than half way through our week's holiday.

We retreated to the beach which was alot more fun in any case and has beautiful water.

I wouldn't stay here again becasue of the noise and knowing what else is available in Kalamaki.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tandiweLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Just returned from Metaxa Hotel--Wot a lovely place to chill--typical greek-not many english but this made it all the better as you really felt that you were abroad !!!!!!Quiet hotel down quiet lane,taxi rank outside hotel,short walk to village and beach and very good restaurants[all meals were good]Try MICHAELOS restaurant 30min walk or get taxi-well worth it.hotel has great pool which was never crowded-good poolside food-ask Stelios wot day he has fresh fish and order it- €9 it was delicious!!!!!!!

Room Tip: we had corner room, ground floor overlooking pool which was cool in the mornings and sunny late afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pat187062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have just returned from a relazing week in Zakynthos, staying at Metaxa between 27 Sep - 4 Oct.

Stelios, Irena and the family were fantastic. This is a charming family run hotel with a great pool. And a well stocked beer fridge even this late in the season.

We visited the Island and hotel for our first time, on the recommendation of friends and really enjoyed it.

Exactly as you would expect from a 2 / 3 star hotel, clean and modest rooms, with fridge and air conditioning and TV. Breakfast was simple, but plenty.

We really could not argue with the value for money.

We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Iona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Good things:
- Stelios and Irena were very helpful and friendly
- the pool was extremely clean
- beers were always cold
- there are 2 supermarkets nearby

Not so good:
- the remote for the TV in our room was missing. when I asked Stelios, he told me that maybe the remote was broken, but he didn't solved the problem somehow.
- breakfast was exactly the same for 7 days, except 2 mornings when the eggs were fried, not boiled
- for lunch or dinner you could eat only some small things like fries, eggs, salad, spaghetti

Bad things:
- we had lots of problems with mosquitoes since the mosquito net in our room was completly broken

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank subtzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamaki hotels
0.2 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#22 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#3 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vanessa
Hotel Vanessa
#19 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Macedonia
Hotel Macedonia
#25 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metaxa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metaxa

Property: Hotel Metaxa
Address: Kalamaki 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kalamaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Metaxa 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Metaxa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Metaxa Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing