We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Kalamaki”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalamaki
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Garden Village Apartments
Ranked #1 of 9 Kalamaki B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Just returned from another 2 weeks @ Garden Village. Carol, Justine, Corey & Gina are always on hand to offer help or information if required. Everybody is so friendly. Everywhere is so clean.
The greek nights & steak nights are not to be missed, Victor does a great job with steak & prawns.
Everybody there makes you feel so welcome & they work their little cotton socks off.
A truly wonderful, relaxing holiday. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tracy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 420 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband & I returned from GV just over 2 weeks ago. This accommodation is kept immaculate at all times, as are the pool area, bar & gardens. Carol & the team work very hard to make sure all the visitors get the most from their holidays. Nothing is too much trouble for any of them. The Greek night is not to be missed with plenty of wonderful food in a relaxed atmosphere.
We stayed in a Studio (No 2) which is one of the furthest from the bar & therefore possibly one of the quieter rooms however this is not to suggest that any of the rooms are noisy. The studio's are so quaint and obviously a lot of thought has gone into the design aspects of these apartments & studios.
The accommodation is situated just off the main road through Kalamaki and therefore makes it feel really secluded, but is also very close to 2 supermarkets & several good restaurants. We found Heaven's Kitchen & Contessina very good, but there are so many places to eat that it would take you a month to try them all (if not more).
As for the person who made some very derogatory statements regarding fleas, bed mites etc - please do not take this to heart as you can clearly see so many positive reviews. I can only guess that this individual thought she had booked into the Dorchester or the Ritz (& even if she had it's clear to us that she is one of those people who you just can't please) Yes, you may get bitten by mosquito's, but that is a hazard in a lot of places - and is no reflection on the cleanliness of GV. Finally, we would like to express our thanks to Carol, Justine & the rest of the lovely team for making our holiday memorable.

Room Tip: Studio's 1 to 6 would probably be the quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CheekyJBlyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Just returned from a 2 week stay at the garden village appts, this was our first visit, I chose these appts mainly due to the trip adviser reports. Can't really add much to the comments already made, the rooms are pleasant, the grounds and surrounding areas are swept every day, and the food made by Justin is very good, and carol is at the helm to make sure things run smoothly. The only down side for me was the sunbathing/pool area which is small and the loungers extremely close to one another, but having said that the loungers are very comfortable. Anybody wanting a chilled and relaxing holiday then these will be the appts for you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona2230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Just returned from our second stay at Garden Village and once again not disappointed!

We stayed at GV from 03.09.13 for 2 weeks, during that time there were 2 weddings taking place and even being amongst groups of families/friends we still didn’t ever feel left out.

Carol has way that helps people meet and strike up friendships. After dinning in for the steak and prawn night (which was great!) seating us with another couple we found we had not only an enjoyable night with them; we then went on to other great nights dinning/ drinking / quiz nights with them.

Once again the rooms (2 bed apartment) had everything we could need and cleaned daily to a very high standard. These rooms are not what I would ever call basic and have a very rustic style charm to them. The rooms are so much more than a 1 bed studio room that you get in most self-catering holidays.

We had a room by the bar and on quiz night and wedding nights you can still hear people but it’s a happy time, holiday time, you have to expect to hear people having fun on holiday and at weddings it’s the norm ! And it’s not every night ! It didn’t bother us.


The style and comfort provided by carol is everywhere from your room to the bar area even by the pool. It’s these homely touches that makes GV so special and unique.

As well as the rooms being cleaned to a high standard; the gardens/pool area is also maintained very well victor does a great job and works very hard. Even on Steak night too !

The bar team Gina & Corey were fantastic !! They were such fun, happy couple that even though young mixed well with all guests no matter what their age. The quiz nights they did were great ..such fun..and our team won !!!! We both found the bar staff change from last year refreshing in more ways than one !

Justine is great too such a lovely friendly person who makes great toasted sandwiches and scrambled egg just perfect!! So easy to approach if you like things cooked a certain way or don’t want something very happy to accommodate.

This is the general consensus of GV happy to accommodate everyone; Carol and team are happy to help you and answer any questions that I am sure they get asked over and over again!

We hired a jeep again like last year from Hermes; quite expensive hiring a vehicle and you do need to shop around but we found our chap at Hermes ok in the end and did us a good deal.


We ventured out most days to different beaches; we particularly like Banana Beach, Alikes and Gerakas.

We also took a walk from Kalamaki beach to Laganas one day which was an insight!

We dinned out most nights and enjoyed a number of different restaurants and found Kalamaki had a good choice.

Our favourites included Zepo’s and Heaven’s Kitchen.

We had good weather with the exception of the last day when it rained, but we still managed to enjoy ourselves; played crazy golf in the morning and spent the afternoon at GV bar with other guest’s playing cards.

From reading some of the other reviews it does make me wonder what some people’s expectations are of a holiday and some things people write about are general things that can happen anywhere and are non-specific to GV.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at GV once again, enjoyed the sun, the company and the wonderful island of Zakynthos.

See you again one day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tinakeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We came home on 1Sept so reluctantly. We had a whole week of wonderful relaxing holiday at the Garden Village. Carol & her staff team are praised in other reviews and we have to add our thanks too. We swam in the wonderful pool each morning before breakfast, then walked down to the beach (15 mins meander). We loved Stanis beach and rented sunbrella & sun beds for 7€. We went on a turtle cruise on a glass bottom boat (included swimming- brill) & a jeep safari (off the beaten track - terrific). Then back to Garden Village to find our room sparkling clean with lovely touches from the cleaner like fresh flowers on our pillows. We stayed in a 2 bed apartment. Total luxury. Big well equipped kitchen, good quality furniture, comfy double bed. My husband got no mosquito bites & I just got 3 little ones. We used A liquid plug in (from Boots), after sun with anti mosquito stuff in it (boots) and anti Mossi spray. I also carried antisan bite cream with me (pop it on as soon as you get bitten). So had a happy bite free holiday. We absolutely loved the GV and hope to return. I've just come home from 2 days in a 4* hotel in Leeds & was so disappointed with the place after feeling like a princess for a week!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chris_of_Durham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We've just returned from our 3rd trip to the Garden Village and it just gets better and better.
Everything about the village is exceptional, the atmosphere is one that allows you to truly unwind and relax and you can participate at whatever level you are comfortable with. Plenty of high quality pool furniture and if they are all in use just ask Carol and she'll get more.
The bar area serves wonderful food, fresh to order at all times of the day and from experience the menu is just a guideline, if you want homemade Moussaka, octopus, lobster just ask the team and they will arrange it! Special night or anniversary no problem candlelit dinners, flowers and champagne provide a touch of luxury you just wouldn't get anywhere else unless you wanted to spend an absolute fortune . The Greek night shouldn't be missed what a laugh, awesome food, awesome company, awesome family fun what more do you need on holiday. Steak night is fantastic, best steaks in the resort by miles.
Our daughter celebrated her 5th birthday while we there and Carol, Justine and Verity put on some wonderful food and a beautiful cake (which lasted about 5 minutes!) Gina and Corey controlled the party games and music and it was excellent, credit also to the 16 youngsters from 4-16 who came, you were brilliant and a credit to your parents/carers.
We met so many lovely people from all over the country on this trip it really made it for us and hopefully see you all next year.
Sometimes on holiday its the little touches that make it perfect, arranging a car or a boat, something special to eat, the cleaners tucking in teddy bears for a nap, we love it and already booked for next year, can't wait, thanks to Carol, Justine, Verity, Gina, Corey, all the cleaners, Victor and Nico for a truly memorable holiday.

Normally we wouldn't comment on other peoples reviews because ultimately opinions are personal and everyone is entitled to their own but..
We were in the Garden Village at the same time as Gillian 785 and I really feel sorry for her, some of the statements made are beyond belief, you chose to travel at stupid o'clock in the morning not the Garden Villages fault, you went to Greece in the height of summer - guess what, they have mosquitoes as does the rest of Europe!! Simple solution plugins which Carol provides, citronella candles which Carol provides and mossie spray, you'll still get bit but your on holiday so its a small price to pay! I've never seen a flea, bed bug or mite in all my time there, if I was Carol i'd sue you for this outrageous comment. In most civilised societies we refer to 'juveniles' as children and yes they, along with the adults were in the pool enjoying themselves, you travelled in the height of the school summer holidays what did you expect? You could have picked from any number of adults only hotels or alternatively gone somewhere that discourages 'juveniles' and free expression maybe North Korea or Siberia perhaps? We were in the room right next to the bar (by request) and we never needed earplugs, try joining in, socialising, smiling and enjoying the holiday you'll find that you sleep like a baby. You complained about the sea being choppy and the motorbikes, how the hell is this Carols fault and how is it a review of the Garden Village, think the only useful bit of information you provided was that the bus was cheap, here's another cost saving tip, smiles cost nothing.

Room Tip: The studios are in a quieter area, very romantic, perfect for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank SCBL0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

It's a shame that the previous reviewer Gillian785 didn't make the most of the warm hospitality and charming features of the Garden Village while she stayed. Myself and my partner stayed at Garden Village in the same week as she did and it seems we had polar opposite experiences!

Carol, the owner, is absolutely lovely and looks out for the welfare of all guests, from the smallest baby to the most elderly traveller. She fitted mosquito repellent plug-in devices in the rooms and citronella candles on the balcony/terraces but can't stop mosquitos from biting if they're really determined! She's always on the go and bustles about but while passing always asked if we were okay or if there was anything we needed.

I have a theory that the Garden Village team like to distance themselves a little from the Thomson reps, just in order to personalise their service and perhaps they're aware that Thomson trips are a rip-off. If you ask Carol, she's more than happy to find the best ways of getting to see the sights for you.

The bar prices are reasonable, maybe about 50 cents more expensive than elsewhere, but the quality is excellent and of course very convenient. Carol even placed myself and my partner on a table full of people our age and background so we had plenty in common and made new friends, whose company was great and made our holiday extra special.

Perhaps if Gillian785 had spent time in the pool bar she would have found the other tourists very willing to chat!!! Certainly I met noone in the pool area who 'kept themselves to themselves' - we were a sociable bunch!

I'm not a 'juvenile' myself but enjoyed the pool and free pool toys available and seeing some of the younger children get more confident in the water was an adorable sight.

The cleaners are excellent and tidy rooms to a very high standard. Our place was spotless every day.

Thank you so much to Carol and her team, if we do not return (although we really would like to in the future) I have recommended your place to all our friends, particularly those with families, as it's a wonderful place and the atmosphere is second to none! :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hannahhamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalamaki
0.4 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meandros Boutique Hotel
Meandros Boutique Hotel
#6 of 30 in Kalamaki
587 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Amaryllis Hotel
Amaryllis Hotel
#20 of 30 in Kalamaki
318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Daniel Hotel
Daniel Hotel
#22 of 30 in Kalamaki
168 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Lesante Luxury Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Village Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Village Apartments

Address: Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Kalamaki
Price Range: $123 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Garden Village Apartments Hotel Kalamaki
Garden Village Apartments Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing