We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“many returning customers”
Review of Roseland Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kalamaki
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Roseland Hotel
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was our 4th visit to the Roseland Hotel and we saw many familiar faces which is a good omen in itself September- early October was our time there. Plenty of sun beds ,rooms clean and well maintained nothing too much trouble Had a problem with the smell in the bathroom floor vent ,which we reported and was sorted straight away For anyone who choses to have the evening meal in the hotel be warned portions are enourmous and good value. Breakfast is a full english although a little repetative but not much else the hotel could offer as it's far superior to other hotels who do the bed and breakfast option The aircraft noise is not really a problem as it's mainly in the daytime Only real critisism if there is one is the price charged for the safe. air con and fridge as a package of 60 euros a week We did not need it so saved this to spend in the tavernas in kalamaki Will go again

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the playground
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank silvertopderby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (648)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 648 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

We have just returned from a week at this hotel was just as good as last year. The staff cannot do enough for you and if you have any sort of problem it is fixed straight away no hesitation. We asked for the same room as last year and we got it with a lovely bottle of wine and welcome card. We were a little disapointed with kalamaki itself as it seems to be in need of some attention pavements roads ect. Everyone seemed to be struggling a little to keep buisness going. But all in all we had a great time and will be booking for next year. Thankyou to everyone that made our holiday great. Mr and Mrs Turner

Room Tip: Top floor overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheryl121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed at The Roseland on a Thomson B&B package for ten nights in September 2013.
First the good:- This hotel is very clean and all the staff are very friendly and helpful. The barman Stefarno may come across as a bit surly but he's a good guy once you get to know him. The gardens are very well kept and the pool area was always clean and tidy with more than enough sunbeds for everyone. Bar prices were reasonable and there is also a 'happy hour' from 6pm until 9pm.
Check in was simple and quick. We were not happy with the room allocated to us ( ground floor overlooking the pool) so we were offered to change to one on the second floor overlooking the garden which we readily accepted. Plenty of space and coat hangers for your clothes.

Now the not so good:- Breakfast is buffet style but we found the choice a bit limited - only two cereals, some sort of cornflake and some sort of chocolate cornflake both a bit tasteless, orange, grapefruit and apple juice type drink, eggs fried one day, scrambled the next, also boiled. Bacon, spicy sausage, baked beans, bread for toasting, greek yogurt, tinned peaches and some times a little fresh fruit. Coffee was from a machine and tasted bitter so was best avoided. Also processed ham and cheese slices. It might sound good here but after four or five days we were left wanting a decent cup of coffee and some 'proper' cereal.
You can also eat evening meals in the restaurant which are reasonably priced but are very ordinary.
The beds are very hard. The hotel has Wi-Fi but it is not free ( I don't know why not- its free in most of the bars and restaurants everywhere else in town - come on Roseland its not costing you anything!)
Only one English channel on a very small TV in the rooms ( but they do show sport in the bar on larger TV's)
Noise from the bathroom next to yours. Room safes, air con. and fridges are all payable as extra.

All in all this is not a bad hotel, but after staying in 4 or 5 star accommodation elsewhere The Roseland felt a little bit 'basic' that's why I've only rated it as a 3 star. I should also add that most of the other guests were also very friendly, many of them returning year after year so that speaks for itself.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank redboyNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were at the Roseland in September 2013 following a break from there of 4 years, Previously we had returned 5 times.. testament to a very good hotel. The staff are so very welcoming, nothing is too much trouble for them. The rooms are basic yet extremely clean & well kept, cleaned every day, fresh towels are replaced if you leave them out everyday.. or at least 3 times a week. Beds changed twice a week. We have always opted for b&b, breakfast we found had changed this year, in the past there was always a delightful spread, consisting of fresh fruits, breads, ham, cheese. yoghurts, jams,cereals etc, this year we were pleasantly surprised to see bacon, eggs sausage, beans added to the lovely spread, together with fruit juices, expresso, latte etc etc. Buffet style & replenished time & again.

The pool is a delight & sunbeds & parasols are in plentiful supply, we were amused to see some guests scurrying down at the crack of dawn with their towels to reserve beds.. pointless, there are plenty for everyone.

5 minute walk to the beach, which has sadly been spoilt for us this year as it now offers sunbeds (at a cost) whereas before the beach was always very quiet & free of "vendors"! Not anymore!!

Leisurely 5/10 min walk to the main strip of Kalamaki offering bars restaurants mini markets etc & a HUGE EYESORE .. an all inclusive Blackpool like complex flourescent flashing lights included has sprung up in the last 2 years, this has destroyed so many tavernas & shops along the strip who sadly cannot compete with the Blackpool theme & are closing down!! What an eyesore!! Local businesses are being forced into compulsive purchase orders in order to make way for developers.. what a dreadful shame. Restaurants now "hassle" you to come into their establishments to eat , they can be VERY persistent! Very annoying! N ever experienced this at Kalamaki before the Blackpool Blot appeared. Sadly there is no longer any evening entertainment at Roseland, Greek nights, quizzes, bingo, etc no longer exists ...
Having said that - Do Not let that deter you from visiting the GLORIOUS Roseland, this is a very relaxing unspoilt "gem" in Kalamaki, go, see for yourself what this beautiful hotel & it's marvellous staff have to offer.
Room tip; overlooking the pool, 2nd/3rd floor rooms 206-210/306-310.

Do not listen to the reps who will tell you not to go out with local trips, they will tell you they're not insured. Go local!!! 1/3 of the price, far more fun & even better value.

Vicki (receptionist) is an absolute diamond, been ther for years & nothing is too much trouble for her.
Beware- safe in room is charged @ 30 Euro, fridge @ 30 Euro, air con (after August) @30 euro.

Room Tip: 3rd floor (no lifts) overlooking pool!! 304-310
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorothea E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here from the 23rd Sept for 1 week. The hotel was lovely and clean, all staff were very helpful and friendly. Stayed on bed and breakfast basis which was very good. Cooked breakfast, selections of fruit, cakes, ham cheese and breads. Very relaxing atmosphere around the pool and there were plenty of sun beds to choose from. No need to be up too early to get a sunbed. The restaurants in Kalamaki were wonderful, very reasonable and would highly recommended the Olive Tree & Escape. We had a great week here and would not hesitate in returning and would recommend this hotel to friends and family. Thank you to all at the hotel for making our stay really enjoyable.

Room Tip: All rooms face the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsgillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have recently returned from a fantastic two weeks holiday staying at the Roseland. Just what we both needed.... The accommodation was exactly as we expected, clean and comfortable. The fridge, air con and safe were well worth the 85 euros we paid, for peace of mind.
The staff were all very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
It was nice to see that a lot of people were on return visits which speaks volumes and we hope to return next year!
Restaurants and bars only a 5 minute walk away and did not have a bad meal during our stay. Would highly recommend that Pandesia and also Yamas as good places with a great atmosphere.
All in all fantastic relaxing break.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_Victoria2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Spent 10 nights at the Roseland with my girlfriend, returning on 27th Sept 13' and I have nothing but good things to say about the place. I really have no complaints whatsoever.

The rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious. The pool area the same. The food on sale throughout the day in the snack bar was good quality and the service from all the staff was brilliant. They couldn't do enough to help.

The location of the hotel was perfect, about a 5/10 min walk from the main heart of the resort, and tucked away in a quiet corner of Kalamaki.

Already planning next years trip.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig2273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalamaki
1.4 mi away
Poseidon Beach Hotel
Poseidon Beach Hotel
#11 of 73 in Laganas
715 reviews
0.1 mi away
Denny's Inn Hotel
Denny's Inn Hotel
#7 of 30 in Kalamaki
451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Sentido Alexandra Beach Resort
0 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
768 reviews
0.7 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#5 of 30 in Kalamaki
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roseland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roseland Hotel

Address: Kalamaki 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
#14 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
Hotel Class:3 star — Roseland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Also Known As:
Roseland Hotel Kalamaki
Roseland Hotel Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing