We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST HOTEL IN KALAMAKI”
Review of Roseland Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kalamaki
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Roseland Hotel
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“BEST HOTEL IN KALAMAKI”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My partner & I have just returned from our 2nd visit to The Roseland Hotel. We cannot praise this hotel enough, both times we have stayed there our visit has been nothing short of perfect.
The hotel is immaculately clean, the staff are extremely friendly & professional, The pool area is perfect for folks wishing to relax and enjoy the sun. There is a designated shallow pool for small children which is ideal.
On both of our visits we chose to eat at the hotel several evenings, the prices are extremely competitive & the food is always well cooked & well presented. An English waitress "Meg" works late afternoon & into the evening, she is always pleasant & attentive.
The breakfast is ideal, a choice of cooked breakfast, fruits, yoghurt, cereal, toast, all of which is served buffet style so you can eat as much as you wish.
Every evening after visiting the main street in Kalamaki, we would return to the hotel bar. It has a lovely indoor area & the perfect outdoor area to enjoy your evening, The barman "Dennis" is the perfect host, a real gem, friendly, funny & always keen to get you to try different shot type drinks ( on the house I might add ) We would have no hesitation in recommending The Roseland to anyone,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jak159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    152
    52
    8
    3
See reviews for
170
319
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Stow-on-the-Wold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Hotel lovely and clean, breakfast was ok but dont bother with the evening meals.
It's a shame the pool was freezing cold perhaps if it had been heated more people would have gone in. we only had our towels changed once during our second week, but twice the first week. it cost 85 euros for air conditioning, fridge and safe for the fortnight
the staff were very friendly
this was our first trip to Zante and it was amazing,, the best places to eat along the main strip are Pandesia which has traditional greek night tuesday and saturday brilliant staff and a good night out. boun amici italian restaurant best food on the strip.
drunk corner is okay for a burger and chips etc
went on various excusions cruise around the island and coach trip around island brilliant days out.

Room Tip: we had the room above the main entrance and it was lovely, much quieter and bigger than the other ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed here with my girlfriend and my family. An all round great stay. Rooms clean and spacious. The hotel bar was great, with Dennis serving up the best cocktails in Greece!

Great location, you can make the holiday what you want. laganas is a 8euro cab ride away for nightlife. Just at the end of the road is the Kalamaki strip for great food. and only 5 mins from the beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gregor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Just back from a week at the Roseland Hotel in Kalamaki. Much of what has been said before I agree with, hotel is clean and well maintained, bit mean to charge for a fridge when it's on all the time anyway. Breakfast was good compared to my previous experiences in Greece but overall I would say the hotel was average, nothing out of the ordinary and can't really see why so many people go back unless they've had horrific holidays in other places. Noise from the local karaoke is also annoying at night and goes on very late.

We stayed in Kefalonia last year and that is a much nicer island, far prettier and has more cosmopolitan resorts. The beach at Kalamaki is a dump and the resort overall is like something from the Costas in the 1970s. We hired a car and went all over the island but nowhere really stood out as being somewhere I'd like to stay. Took one of the boat trips, all day round the island - DO NOT BOTHER WITH THIS - the sea was really rough and we couldn't stop in half the places that they advertise, the food and drinks are fortunes also as you are a captive audience. On a more positive note some of the food in the restaurants was wonderful, the Olive Tree restaurant and Fanaris both offer excellent food at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Our first visit to Kalmaki in Zakynthos and we fell on our feet with the Roseland - friendly staff, lovely surroundings, and just the right distance from the town and the beach. The place has an easy going but efficient atmosphere which contributed a lot to our enjoyment. One recommendation - free wifi for guests would be a great move. Most of the bars in town offer it. Great cocktails by the way!

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the pool which was great - I think they all do. However there was quite a bit of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank splod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have just returned from our first holiday on the lovely island of Zakynthos. We stayed at the Roseland Hotel in Kalamaki, where the staff are very helpful and friendly. Nothing too much trouble. Breakfast and lunches very good, and excellent choice for dinner. We are not surprised that people return to this peaceful little oasis time after time, we hope to do so too! The only down side for us was that the beds and the pillows were a little too hard, but that is probably personal choice. Julie from the car hire company Merlis, was a great font of information and had many recommendations for places to see and restaurants to eat in, all of which has made our first visit here really memorable. We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjmdrayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is the third time that we have stayed at the Roseland Hotel. All the staff were very helpful and friendly and even remembered us from previous visits. The hotel was very clean and the room serviced every day. The breakfast (included) was excellent with a wide choice of hot and cold food. Will return again in 2014.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RogerSheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalamaki
0.3 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
672 reviews
1.4 mi away
Poseidon Beach Hotel
Poseidon Beach Hotel
#12 of 74 in Laganas
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hotel Mavrikos
Hotel Mavrikos
#23 of 50 in Tsilivi
721 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
#6 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,368 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ionion Blue Hotel
Ionion Blue Hotel
#12 of 30 in Kalamaki
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roseland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roseland Hotel

Property: Roseland Hotel
Address: Kalamaki 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kalamaki
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
#18 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Roseland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Also Known As:
Roseland Hotel Kalamaki
Roseland Hotel Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing