We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, Quiet Hotel.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sirocco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sirocco Hotel
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice, Quiet Hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at the Sirocco Hotel. It is a very quiet hotel with friendly staff. The rooms are very basic but clean. Good size swimming pool and a great location, a short stroll from the beach. The beach is also quiet, it leads onto Laganas beach (the more lively side to Zante). There is no entertainment at the hotel. There is a lovely pub along the road called the Iguana Bar, which has a big Iguana living in a tank. Overall a nice hotel and Kalamaki is a beautiful quiet destination.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    79
    23
    13
    4
See reviews for
31
105
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Just returned from our stay at the Sirocco.
Lovely quiet hotel. Nice, big, clean and comfortable room (we were in the annex).
Friendly and helpful staff. Fantastic pool area. Breakfast is fine.
Perfectly located for the beach (which is wonderful - just don't make camp on the dry sand, as that's where the turtle nests are. A 10 minute walk will take you to a lovely deserted stretch of sand); and also for a stroll to local tavernas (Pandesia and Michelos are big favourites of ours!).
A major bonus for us was that there was no evening entertainment - something a lot of the hotels seem to think they need to bring people in. Much more relaxing without!
Also being able to go out of school holidays for the first time made it generally quieter all round.

The only negative to our whole holiday was that we flew with Thomas Cook. The outbound flight was overnight, arriving at around 6:30am. Thos Cook's policy is to reserve a room for the night that you are travelling. This means checking out early on your last day and not having a room available on the last night. A very strange policy! We were able to arrange to keep our room for the last night by paying extra to the hotel, but it would have been better to have the 7 nights booked for the 7 nights we were actually there. (Not an issue with the hotel, just the travel operator, but good to be prewarned)

Loved the Sirocco Hotel and will use it again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StevieFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We booked this hotel because it's not too big and known being clean. It's relatively quiet, so not much noise from music or traffic (except a few planes a day but they start/land in a distance to the Sirocco). Pool and environment are rather simple but well-kept.
Service level is ok but not exciting. Same for their own restaurant: ok but not more. At least it's not expensive. We would recommend the restaurant Zepos instead (10-15 min. walk).
It can be really hot on Zakynthos. We had some 32/33° and high humidity beginning of September. Note that the tourism business stops all across the island by mid of October, so it's not a winter destination.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Strategy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

The perfect stay if you are looking for a quiet friendly and efficiently run hotel. Very close to the beach and close enough to the main street without hearing all hustle and bustle. Fantastic pool, great staff , wonderful location and great escape. Only reason not for full marks is we had asked for double bed but original and upgraded room had twins ; also breakfast could have had more choice of fruit etc. Sirocco has to be one of the best hotels in Kalamaki.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justyna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elgin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from Zante (16/08/12 - 30/08/12) We stayed at the Sirocco, which we have been to many times before, but not in the last 5 years so we expected some changes, and there were. They were all for the good. We were greeted by the same smiling faces as we meet the first time round, Mama and her son and daughter Nicholas and Mary behind the desk, who welcomed us back with open arms. I did not think they would remember us, but they did. Then Nico appeared from the bar area with a big cheesey grin with the biggest of welcomes. He is the manager of the bar and resteraunt, with his other two staff Paulo and Dennis. The rooms are the upper class of basic, with t.v. fridge and a.c. at an extra cost, but worth it in the high season (we had 4 days of 43c) they will also offer you an upgrade which is a little more expensive but way it up against the cost of adding on then it will balance itself out. The food is excellant but not to everyones taste. Breakfast is very continental but with ham,cheese and scrambled or bolied eggs every morning plus yoghurt and jams and honey. Lunch and dinner are very good with well cooked meals of ample quantity. They have added a play area for the kids with a big plastic castle and climbing frame and ball pit. The pool is massive with ample sun loungers. You are only a 5 minute walk from turtle beach which is very safe indeed. You can wade out 25 yards and the water still has not reached your chest. Come in late August early Sept and see the young turtles hatch (i have enclosed a photo)
Down side, only one, we found that there were too many commercial sized eateries rather than the traditional taverna had been built on the main street of Kalamaki, a 10 minute walk, with the old village main street with it's traditional tavernas and tourist shops very quiet.
Would we go back, you bet your life we will every year if I can. You will find when you come home from Zante you will be so chilled you are looking forward to going back to work.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElginIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, UK
Level Contributor
118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

I have just got back from this Hotel after a stay away with a mate and as it was the first time to Zante I was not disapointed with it. We stayed here from 6th August - 13th August 2012 and it was a very good holiday.

As I didnt know what to expect when we arrived to the hotel the surrounding grounds and the frontage looked very nice indeed. We then went to the reception to check in, we had heard from reviews that we had to pay for aircon and a room upgrade which we would have avoided but this wasnt offered to us so we proceeded to our room. The receptionists dont speak english very well so it can be hard to distinguish what they are saying at the best of times.

When we got into the room it had everything we expected, it is a basic room with two twin beds, air con, tv and shower room. It wasnt a bad room but it is only very basic. It wasnt a problem however. The beds and the room was cleaned every single day but the towels were only changed twice during our stay which wasnt great as usually towels are changed everyday. That wasnt too good but only a minor issue. We didnt have to pay extra for the air con in the room which was a plus.

The location of this hotel is fantastic as it is a 5 minute walk to the beautiful Kalamaki Beach which is one of the nicest I have ever been too. Also it is a 10 min walk to the Kalamaki strip where all the bars, restaurants and shops are. There is always something to do here which kept us entertained.

The hotel facilities are not bad either and the pool is very clean and usually very quiet, it is also easy to get a sun lounger as nobody seems to reserve them with towels here. The usual people around the pool seemed to be families and couples so it was a good atmosphere. The food at the hotel was pretty good and cheap too, the cheeseburgers here are epic so definatly try one.

We went to Laganas which was pretty crazy and it was only an 8 euro taxi ride away so its not too far, it is actually walkable at night from the hotel. We also hired a quad bike and explored the island which is a must for anyone. ( Zante Town & Augussi have some gorgeous sights )

I really loved the island of Zante as it is a beautiful place and I would go back again

Room Tip: Dont ask for room upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesbailey999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

I have just come back from a week stay here (6th august - 13th august) with my friend and wasn't dissapointed. The hotel is a nice basic hotel run by friendly staff - the receptionist cannot speak fluent english which is abit of a pain, the aircon we found was free which was a nice surprise after reading many reviews that say you have to pay. The fridge does have a lock on it so I assume this is taken off once you've paid for the use of it, which we didnt as we chose to eat out every night. I do have to mention the amazing cheeseburgers the hotel do, a definite to try for dinner.

After this holiday I have come to realise that I love greek food, i tried all the traditional meals, beef stamnas, beef stifado and lamb kleftiko and they were all very tasty! I also tried rabbit which i would not recommend from abrosia - horrible all on the bones, very chewy yuk! All in all i would never go all inclusive i enjoyed eating out too much and apart from the rabbit all meals were spot on. Heavens Kitchen and Parthenon in particular are very good, Stanis does a greek night on a sunday which is good entertaining.

The location was ideal for families or couples, 5 minutes from the gorgous beach and 5 minutes from the main strip in kalamaki full of restuarants and bars.
The beach is the nicest beach i have ever experienced and i have travelled to quite a few places, the water is warm, clear and clean, the sand is how you want it not that pebbly shackle stuff! You can walk in the sea really far before you have to swim and the views are gorgeous. You do have to pay for sunbeds 3.50euros each but worth not getting sand everywhere. We went on a pedalo for an hour which cost us 10euros for both of us.

A must for anyone is to hire a quad bike we did this on the last day and wish we had done it sooner. 25 euros we paid and filled the tank up for 13euros which we only used half of and we went all over the island exploring. The roads are easier to drive on than you expect, Zante Town is beautiful next to the harbour and has a few shops and places to eat, we had the most amazing waffles in the middle of town.

We went to Laganas twice during the week for a night out the taxi costs 8euros each way for both of us which is not too bad at all. Personally when i come back to Zante i will be going back to Laganas to stay as i prefer to be in the middle of all the nightlife, it is a brilliant night out and cheap!
Overall the hotel is nothing special but in my opinion abit more than average, in a very good location and friendly staff, I would look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Talia16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamaki hotels
0.3 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#22 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Daisy Apartments
Daisy Apartments
#24 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vanessa
Hotel Vanessa
#19 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Macedonia
Hotel Macedonia
#25 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.4 mi away
Daniel Hotel
Daniel Hotel
#18 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#3 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sirocco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirocco Hotel

Property: Sirocco Hotel
Address: Kalamaki Beach, Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
#24 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sirocco Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
sirooco its a small , attactive white-washed hotel in the beach of Kalamaki , is located 250 m from the see and 450m from the centre of the vilage . Rooms are air-coditioned and there is free inernet acces at the lobby Restaurant serves food prepared from traditional recipes ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sirocco Hotel Kalamaki
Sirocco Hotel Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing