We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Honest Family Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amaryllis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amaryllis Hotel
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Honest Family Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

This used to be our favorite restaurant when we visited in 2003 so when we returned to holiday on the island last year, we decided to give them a go. Our one bedroom apartment was typically furnished and clean. Air-conditioning was an expensive extra, though definitely needed in August. All staff were friendly and very helpful. There is a small on-site shop geared for pool-side toys and gifts though there is a small supermarket just 100 yds away. We always hire a car to get about the island and though this is not needed it is recommended. The beach is a short 10min walk, the main town center with family orientated bars and restaurants about a 15 min walk though there are a few closer restaurants. There is a pool side bar and restaurant, we enjoyed both! All in all if you want a cosy family holiday with a family run helpful hotel, within minutes of what Kalamaki can offer...then this is the one for you. We are returning in 2013.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Boffy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    86
    24
    4
    2
See reviews for
139
99
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed in Block C 1st floor at end of Sept 2012. Very happy with room, pool area, pool bar all fab! Since it was end of season the town was a bit quieter but this didn't bother us. Loads of choice for food and drink in town, highly recommend Artemis, Bad Apple cocktail bar and the Italian that is upstairs (I forget it's name!). The beach is beautiful and a short jaunt round from the back of the hotel. The staff at the Amarylis are superb and always very helpful. I'd definitely return! Ps don't worry about airport noise, it's only a few flights a day and you become used to it very quickly! Watching the planes fly directly over the beach is pretty cool!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank catl0ver2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Nice clean hotel, the rooms were a good size, the floor was awful, kind of crazy paving which had been painted, the beds were very very hard, linen was changed regular. There was no hairdryer or toasters in the rooms, just a small electric kettle.
Don't be put off by the aircrafts overhead you do get used to it. The prices in the hotel were very competitive to out side. Food was OK.
The beach was lovely just a short walk, sunbeds were 7 euros but only one beach bar which was a bit on the dear side.
There was a supermarket just across the road, you could buy most of your essential there.

Room Tip: All the rooms faced the pool area, but beware there is no lift, so if your on the 3rd floor it can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrsseepee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed in a 1 bedroomed apartment at the Amaryllis at the end of July.

We found the hotel generally to be good for the price we paid. Our apartment was on the 1st floor and was a good size for the 4 of us with a twin bedroom and 2 sofa beds in the lounge area. The kitchen was tiny but ideal for making drinks and snacks - which is all you really want when you are on holiday. Bathroom was just as expected for Greece.

We found that there was not enough storage in the aparment for 4 people and we ended up living out of the suitcases for the duration of our holiday. There was one thing that I really did not like about the apartments and that was the really odd flooring. It was crazy paving style and although the cleaners came in every day, I felt that it was impossible for them to clean it properly due the deep grooves around the tiles. You could actually see the discolouration there - not nice!

We paid for the safe and air conditioning (a must in July) and found the air con to be excellent.

The pool was a good size but very crowded (it was peak season) Lots of reserving of beds and several very large family groups (15 people+) staying there who all seemed to take over the sunbed terraces and pool. We ended up at the beach and the pool of the Peluzzo a good few days because we could not get beds. The Peluzzo is right opposite and the pool was really good - just buy a drink/snack and they are happy to let you use their pool.

Kalamaki is fab! Loads of great restaurants (we liked Heavens Kitchen and Artemis the best) and good bars (our favourites are Drunk Corner and Oceanic)

We would definitely return to Kalamaki but probably not the Amaryllis due to the dodgy flooring and lack of space around the pool.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Oclamfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnybridge, Falkirk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

This was our first visit to Zante and we had a great time. The Amaryllis offered great service. Staff were very friendly, especially the barman. Bedrooms and areas round the hotel were kept very clean. The only thing we felt the room lacked was some drawers for storing clothes and another rail in the bathroom for hanging wet towels but this was not much of a problem. The location of the hotel is good, handy for the beach, shops and restaurants. If we go back to Kalamaki we would definitely stay at the Amaryllis and would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

A good set up arranged in 4 blocks all facing onto the pool area which is kept clean and the pool is tested every day..Close to the main drag and 5 minute walk to the beach. Very clean and friendly, the staff are obviously happy as they have been there for the last 3 years that we know of.Many guests return and are instantly recognised and welcomed. The pool bar has extended its hours to 9pm and we would recommend you try the home cooking on offer. You cannot get more authentic greek food anywhere in Kalamaki.If you get the chance to purchase tickets at the bar for the BBQ and greek night, it is not to be missed with many greek dishes to try, one of our best nights.

Room Tip: higher floor blocks C&D have less surrounding noise from other hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Just returned from the Amaryliss what a lovely greek adventure first visit to Greece the amaryliss was a super location to spend 2 weeks .The staff were excellent nothing too much trouble
The location was excellent a few mornings the aeroplanes gave you and early morning call but really cannot fault the Amaryliss lovely setting

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalamaki
0.1 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.3 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
0.8 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#3 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
#4 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
1.1 mi away
Louis Zante Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Macedonia
Hotel Macedonia
#26 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaryllis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaryllis Hotel

Property: Amaryllis Hotel
Address: Kalamaki 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
#11 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
Hotel Class:3 star — Amaryllis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amaryllis Hotel is a stylish, friendly traditional architecture 3*** star hotel situated in Kalamaki, Zakynthos, only 400m from the sandy beach of Kalamaki and 5km from Zante town, port and airport. Amaryllis hotel consists of spacius double and family rooms of one seperate bedroom. Our unique aesthetics and amenities rooms include Satellite Tv, Air conditioning, Fridge, Direct Telephone, Hairdryer, Bathroom with shower, bathrodes & pool towels, Balcony or Veranta. In Amaryllis Hotel you can find also: restaurant, snack bar by the pool, lobby bar, 24 hours reception desh, wifi in public areas and in rooms, free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Amaryllis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Amaryllis Apart
Amaryllis Hotel Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing