We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amaryllis Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Cronulla Hotel(Kalamaki)(Great Value!)
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$44
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$104
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Daniel Hotel(Kalamaki)(Great Value!)
$43
$40
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ionion Blue Hotel(Kalamaki)(Great Value!)
$32
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Macedonia(Kalamaki)(Great Value!)
$30
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveler rating
192
92
28
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
92
28
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgood sizeair conplenty of sunbedsexcellent poolpool areasingle beds pushed togetherclose to the airportdrunken cornercannot faultmin walk to the beachrelaxing holidayamazing hotelsoft drinkskalamaki stripcleaned every dayzanteshutters
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
225 - 230 of 320 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2011

we went to the amaryllis september 2010 as a group of 6 adults and 3 children, our youngest being 9 months old. The entire place was spotless, the cleaners were fantastic and even though the lady who cleaned our room (every day) couldnt speak english she went out of her way to be polite and friendly to us and the children ! The rooms were of good size, we took a baby walker and our daughter was happy enough running up and down the room while we got changed at night, the shutters on the balcony doors were a god send, the room was in complete darkness at 9 in the morning while the sun was blazing! The pool was clean by the owner every evening and the water was crystal clear, which was great for us as our oldest daughter practically lived in the pool all holiday. The pool bar was clean, the cocktails were gorgeous.... try the zombi ! And Maggi, who worked hard day and night, was amazing, she made us feel at home along with the rest of the staff and owners! The food was lovely, the only problem was that they didnt serve food on an evening, there were plenty of places in town however. I can honestly say that from the moment we got there till the time we left we all had an amazing holiday and will definatley be returning!!!!!!!!!!!!
Our thanks to every one at the Amaryllis especially Maggi and we hope to see you all again soon xxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicdave14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the Amaryllis and were less than impressed. Our family group was of 2 adults and a 4 year old. The main reason for this was the feeling off being totally ripped off by this hotel. To begin (and this is the major one) the price of the air conditioning. 150 euros for 2 weeks!!! This was for a 2 aircon unit apartment. In comparison our friends staying in Argassi (5 miles up the road) at the same time with a similar 2 aircon unit apartment were charged 75 euros for 2 weeks (the staff in this hotel were shocked at how much we were paying and said it was far too much). Whilst I competely understand there will be some variation in cost this is just a blatant RIP OFF because the owner knows perfectly well that with temperatures over 40 and small children you cannot manage without it. Secondly, the costs of anything bought at the snack bar at the pool - completely over inlated in comparison to other local pricing and you were not allowed to eat/drink anything not bought from the snack bar. Drinks from the main bar were of a standard price to elsewhere but warm and flat.
Jonny the rep is pleasant and helpful as are the ladies in the snack bar. We required assistance on one occassion to make a phone call requiring help from a greek speaker - the owner was completely dismissive and unhelpful.
The apartments themselves are typically what you would expect in Greece. Ours was particularly dark with a very overlooked balcony. The apartments are quite spacious but with very little furniture providing any storage - hanging space was good, but no hangers, and very little drawer space. The kitchen area provided 2 rings, kettle and fridge. The balcony had a table and 4 of the most uncomfortable chairs. It was cleaned nearly every day with frequent towel/bedding changes.
The main swimming pool was clean and we experinced no problems. The childrens pool is much much smaller than it appears in any brochure, and we did not let our child go in it for the 2 weeks as it never once appeared clean - the water was alway cloudy and murky. We had no problem getting a sunbed on any occassion.
The Olive Tree resturant warrants a particular recommendation. The food was absolutely great - all types and the staff lovely.
For general info if you are just about to travel to Kalamaki - take all toiletries/suncreams with you. Consider buying 'duty free' alcohol at the airport on your way out. Expect to pay about £26 for branded spirits in Kalamaki 'supermarkets' and £4 for shaving foam etc. You definately need mosi spray for Kalamaki. From 1st Sept 2011 the 'Greek VAT' was raised to 23% and I do accept this contributes to the expense of a Greek holiday.
I have travelled to Greece many times visiting Lefkada, Thassos, Kefalonia, and Crete. I have never done this on an AI basis as it is not our style and you miss out on a lot of local culture - however if Greece are still in the euro next summer this will definately be the way to go - or if not elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank BucksFamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed at the Amaryllis for a week - just back, and wish we had booked two weeks. This hotel isn't a luxurious 5 star affair. It is a beautifully run, well located, friendly clean hotel. Yes, it is situated close to the airport with some aircraft noise, yes the accomodation is typically Greek (ie a little bit basic), yes the air con is a tad expensive, but everything that you need for a lovely stay on a beautiful island is in place. The staff are friendly, the snack bar and supermarket are reasonably priced, the pool area is well maintained and pretty and the rooms are generously sized and kept tidy with fresh towels and sheets several times a week. A few tips - take mosquito repellant, speak with Jonny the rep (he's lovely! - hope your wasp sting has healed!), grab a metaxa from Panos behind the bar, sit back and relax. Thank you for a wonderful holiday!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PaddyOTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

my wife and i love this place been 3 times now stratos the owner is a good chap very helpful and maggie and lola at the pool bar are always freindly and smileing the food they do is nice and good value maid came every day apart from 1. always plenty of sunbeds nice and clean pool we stopped in c4 an apartment on its own nice and quiet would recomend amaryllis to any 1 we will be going back next june loads of nice resturants mr c hodgkinson

Room Tip: basic nice and clean
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayclarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed as a family group - 3 adults, 2 children in July 2011. The apartments are very clean, bright and comfortable. The staff are friendly and efficient. The pool area is very good although the pool was quite deep and you had to keep a close eye on the little ones, even though there was a boundary between the toddlers pool and the main pool, it was very easy for them to walk around. The sunbeds by the pool were of good standard and if there were none available, you could ask for more although we didn't have too. There is a shortcut to the beach via the gate at the back of the hotel. The beach is closed at night times as the turtles come up to nest and lay their eggs. There is usually a warden on the beach to make sure the nests are not disturbed during the day. They are friendly and eager to advise you what to do. I was lucky enough one morning to see 2 baby turtles making their way to the ocean. The beach is clean and there are sunbeds although you have to get down their early to get one for the day or be very lucky to get one later on. The water is lovely and clear and is shallow for a long way out to sea so it is good for children to swim in. You can see the small fish in the sea and they come up and nibble your ankles- this might make you jump but it doesn't hurt.
I was surprised at the cost of local food. There are quite a few local supermarkets you can walk to but even local bread and olives are very expensive. It would have been better for us if we had gone all-inclusive, but we were self-catering.
There are plenty of restaurants in the local town within walking distance but the best one is THE OLIVE TREE. Most restaurants have someone outside all evening trying to get you to come in and eat there and it really gets on your nerves in the end. The Olive Tree doesn't need anyone outside as it has a great reputation. Good food, excellent service and reasonably priced. We found that if we had a large bottle of water with out meal rather than individual soft drinks, that it brought the price down a lot. You can buy soft drinks from the supermarket for almost the same price as the UK.
The weather is HOT HOT HOT. Most days 40+. Best to stay out of the sun during the hottest time. The rooms had air conditioning at an extra cost but we found if we left the doors and shutters open we didn't need it. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom clean with the basic shower. In Zante you cannot flush toilet paper down the loo and you have to always put it in the bin next to the toilet.
There were plenty of mosquitoes and we had to use insect repellent constantly - but still got bitten quite a lot.
The First Choice excursions were expensive. If you walk down the town there are a few different tour operators who offer the same thing for half the price. We used Pat and we went to Laganas on the Yellow Submarine boat tour to turtle island. Although the transport (very dodgy mini bus from Kalamaki to Laganas) was hair raising and I was glad I didn't take my 3-year old on it, the boat trip was great and we saw one of the turtles swimming out at sea and we got to get off the boat and have a swim. The waters are most definitely crystal clear around turtle island and so salty that you don't have to move much to stay afloat. However, I wouldn't recommend the boat trips for small children. Even though the yellow submarine had plastic around it, it didn't look too safe, and whilst on that trip we saw a larger boat which looked like it was about to topple over!!
The locals and tourists like to zoom around on motorbikes, quadbikes and really old bangers. Watch out when crossing the road as although there are speed limits, they don't take any notice.
Good points: great family holiday, lovely apartments and cafe in hotel, friendly and helpful staff, air conditioning if required, excellent beach, The Olive Tree Restaurante was good. And Pandesia (not sure of spelling) - try Pork Gyros. There is a takeaway further up the road so when looking for food places to eat, carry on walking. There is a bouncy castle in the hotel grounds when it gets cooler in the evening.
Not so good: entertainment from another close hotel was way too loud although it did stop before midnight, do not go to Paulo restaurant which is known for food poisoning which we experienced first hand, food is expensive, be prepared to pay extra, First choice's rep's knowledge was limited and didn't really help us at all, Kalamaki beach restaurant was unfriendly and overpriced. Although we booked together, we had two rooms - one at the front of the hotel and one at the back. We didn't complain about this at the time as it actually suited us but other families may not have liked it.
Would we go back.....yes but only all inclusive. And to the hotel owner : thank you for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceejai1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews