We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“far exceeded our expectations, we'll definitely be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Venus Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“far exceeded our expectations, we'll definitely be back!”
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Staff at the Venus are really genuinely warm and welcoming, check in was a breeze - very quick and easy and given instructions how to quickly get to our room. The room was fairly simple in contents - 2 twin beds and a baby travel cot as requested, dressing table, small portable TV and kettle and cups etc and more that ample hanging space for clothes, and a nice view from our balcony - a word of advice for all prospective guests....when we arrived there were lots of mosquito's flying about in the bedroom and particularly the bathroom COVER THE DRAIN on the bathroom floor at all times with the bath mat and this will almost completely eradicate this nuisance.

Breakfast in the hotel is good in terms of choices available and plentiful, meals generally are very reasonably priced and offer good variety and large portions. The beach is about a 15 minute stroll from the hotel, its clean and tidy and well kept as you would expect.

One thing that really impressed me was the fact that the owner Nick went out of his way to sort it for me to watch my football team in the lobby of the hotel even though a major premiership match was on at the same time, he arranged to have another feed put through another tv in the lobby FOR ME ONLY specifically - that in my mind is what is missing in a lot of hotels....going the extra mile for the customer, he did'nt have to go out of his way just to please one customer but he did - 1st class customer service!

Prices for drinks in the hotel bars are fairly priced and they offer an extensive choice of beers,spirits and cocktails. The pool area is fantastic - a fairly small pool, but well designed and tailored surroundings with more than adequate sun loungers, and an all important rule of no towels keeping a vacant sun lounger for longer than an hour - great rule! I travelled with my wife and our 7 month old son and the hotel staff absolutely adored him and greeted him so fondly every morning, overall the Venus exceeded our expectations on many different levels.

The only thing I'd like to see improve is a colder fridge in the rooms, ours was mildly cold (room 237) - not a major issue obviously but something that can definitely be improved upon, maybe the fact that it is encased in a locked wooden cupboard does'nt help matters because the natural heat that the fridges motor generates is retained in that wooden case thus creating a waft of noticeably hot air when you open that wooden cupboard.

The whole holiday experience of the Venus is a very positive one and we will certainly be back at some point in the not so distant future.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fraserrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,034
    115
    38
    3
    1
See reviews for
325
670
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2010

Disclaimer: I’ve copied and pasted portions of another review from Trip Advisor reviewer, CCVAle. His review is titled, “Number One Hotel In Kalamaki.” We recently met CCVale and his partner at Hotel Venus on this last trip in September and became fast friends.

This is a Greek family run business that is celebrating 20 years in business this year. Their standards and level of service of impeccable!
Check in and check out was seamless and there were no inconsistencies with billing. All communications via email with the hotel prior to our visit was friendly, professional and prompt.

The rooms are standard rooms and are clean. What you see on the Venus website is exactly how the hotel looks. If you want a nice clean, friendly authentic Greek island experience then this is the place to stay. This hotel is VERY good value; add in the complimentary daily buffet breakfast and it’s unbelievable how reasonable the rates are.

Rooms have safes, refrigerators and air conditioning (note there is an extra charge for these services – but if you book directly through the hotel Venus – which I strongly recommend, the charges are complimentary.) The rooms also have a desk, chair, 2 bedside tables (twin room) and telephone. Closet space is ample. As other posters have reported, yes, the beds are very firm.

Bathrooms are very small for North American standards. Water pressure is VERY good…so good in fact, it sort of hurt when I put my face into the spray! The bathroom fan did not clear the steam from the shower quickly, but once toweled off, I just cracked open the door and the steam dissipated quickly. *Please note that wash cloths are not provided.

Every room has a balcony or patio so that you can chill out in the morning or evening and have nice cocktail or snack and just take in all that is Kalamaki. We requested and received a balcony overlooking the pool - beautiful! (It can also be noisy due to heavy pool usage; however the pool is closed early in the evenings and does not affect nighttime sleep.

The breakfast is well stocked with a variety of hot and cold food options and was actually very good. It’s also included in the room rate! Hotel Venus also has half and full board options to use with lunch and or dinner which are really good value for money.

Everyone here is always smiling and the people appear to genuinely like their jobs – and they all work very hard to keep us vacationers happy. Nick, Luisa, Barbara on reception are always pleasant and helpful with recommendations of places to go and see. If there is anything that you require for your room – they always do their best to accommodate guest’s requests. (Thank you Nick, for tracking down the electrical converter for the outlet.)

The Pool is always refreshing and clean – and Zisis (the pool man) ensures that stays clean and to a very high standard. *Bring your own pool towel. We bought one from the store for 6 Euro, which wasn’t bad.)

Snack Bar: Angela (Daughter), Lynne, Chrysoula, Rosa, Maria, Eleni and Vanessa are always very kind and sweet – and they prepare consistently great food and keep everything around the snack bar well tidy! I highly recommend having dinner here at least one night when staying here. The food choices range from traditional Greek/Zakynthian food to bog standard English traditional meals like fish n chips. There are also special dinner choices most nights of the week.

We unfortunately did not attend the Wednesday evening BBQ, but the music by Ricky Valdez was awesome. It was magical listening to Ricky sing while we fell asleep. You honestly will make new friends at this hotel. I think in part because the hotel staff is so friendly that it promotes an even higher level of friendliness and welcomes among guests.

The bar – led by Spiro and his staff Andreas and Nick – are always a great laugh and provide the best drinks on the island at good prices! (Note to self: Next time I visit Hotel Venus, I will NOT imbibe in Ouzo on the last night before a very long trip home…especially when Spiro is behind the bar)

The hotel is located in the middle of Kalamaki beach resort area and means that nothing is far from this location. Everything is within walking distance – from the lovely beach with its turtles laying eggs to the restaurants, bars and retail options on the main strip. Another thing that I like about Kalamaki is that is has all the creature comforts of a larger resort area without the noise and over commercialism of a place like Lagana.

Thank you all at Hotel Venus for making this trip to Zakynthos (after a 30 year absense) a special one!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aohkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We have just come back from our first holiday away as a couple and we loved it. We booked through Thomas Cook and paid just under £600 for the both of us. Firstly the staff could not be more friendly, especially Barbara the receptionist who always had a smile on her face. the cleaning service is very good too. The pool is a perfect size, however we did go at a time when the children are back at school,so could be busier during Jul/Aug. Kalamaki Beach is just down the road and the hotel is situated just off a road from the main strip where all the restaurants/shops are. Drinks and food were well worth the money and the portioning is more than enough.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Just returned from another fantastic stay at The Venus, same fantastic standards and services and lovely to see all the old staff still their with a warm, genuine and lovely welcome and obviously still enjoying their work! it cannot be easy serving the great British public as they laze away and enjoy their holidays!!
How this Hotel continues to maintain it's extremely high standards is amazing and is testimant to Nick and his Families management and hard work and the tremendous relationship they obviously have with their staff.
Well done to you All, tmany hanks for a great week and keep doing what you are doing!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisgeezLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liversedge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2010

We booked with thomas cook to stay at the venus aug 2010 out of all the hotels we have stayed at in the last few years this is the best by far we have been to zante a few times now and always stayed in kalamaki. Any issues at all just spoke to Nick who is more than happy to help. I have always reviewed trip advisor before booking any holidays we reviewed the venus before we booked all the reviews appart from one person who was not happy the other reviews were true(brilliant hotel) but as nick commented on trip advisor its better to discuss issues face to face while your there than complaining behind a computer when you get home ??? its brilliant , clean, tidy, hotel excellent staff who are all more than happy to help and work all hours to make sure you have a fab holiday . We have just re-booked for aug 2011 at the venus to me if you are returning to the same hotel it must say something about the holiday you had and the hotel you stayed at . Thanks again nick and your team for a fab holiday see you next year .....Best hotel in kalamaki and only 10 mins from airport ...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BILLYBOY78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

We have just returned from a 7 night stay in the Venus Hotel. Wow ! What a wonderful experience. The staff are really lovely, the food is great and the Cocktails are great value for money! We have already booked for Summer 2011 as we enjoyed it so much...
We booked direct with Nick (the hotel manager) and it worked out cheaper for us... the air con, safe and mini fridge are already included in the price.
Breakfast was good, being meet with a smile each morning from the lovely waitresses made it even more enjoyable. A choice of breads, cheese, ham, cereals, fruits, honey, juices and hot breakfast items and much more.
Our room was really nice, it was cleaned everyday.
The quiz night with Barabra was so much fun, she is lovely!

I really have nothing bad or negative to say about the hotel, we had a truely wonderful time and are looking forward to next years visit, only 45 weeks to go!

Thanks to everyone at the Venus Hotel for making our first visit to the island so memorable! Looking forward to seeing you soon xx

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaynyc21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Very beautiful hotel with nice atmosphere and romantic notes!
I highly recommend this hotel to couples.
Everything was very clean and well organized.
We have a great time there!

Will be back
C

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolcLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalamaki
0.3 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
671 reviews
0.5 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#3 of 30 in Kalamaki
611 reviews
12.1 mi away
Mabely Grand Hotel
Mabely Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kampi
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Balcony Hotel
Balcony Hotel
#2 of 50 in Tsilivi
418 reviews
1.4 mi away
Louis Zante Beach
Louis Zante Beach
#1 of 74 in Laganas
1,580 reviews
2.2 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#4 of 27 in Argassi
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venus Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venus Hotel & Suites

Property: Venus Hotel & Suites
Address: Kalamaki Beach, Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kalamaki
#1 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kalamaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Venus Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Venus is dedicated to perfecting the travel experience through continuous innovation and true Greek hospitality. Hotel Venus embodies a true home away from home experience for those who know and appreciate a small and friendly hotel. Named after the ancient Greek goddess Aphrodite, who in roman is Venus, and symbolized "Love and Beauty." Whether you get married at home or in Zakynthos, the Venus Hotel caters for the newlywed couple. Enjoy our special honeymoon room with its elegant decor and service. We can even host your reception on our premises and provide you an excellent banquet meal. Every year, families and couples, who come back year after year, appreciate the hotel's fine service and truly experience a joyful holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Venus Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venus Hotel And Suites
Venus Hotel Kalamaki
Venus Hotel & Suites Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing